3 photos
Audio Technica ATH-M40x

Audio Technica ATH-M40x

4.6 from 31 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Wired Headphones in 2022 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for Audio Technica? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

4.6
31 reviews
  • Build Quality
    4.3 (4)
  • Value for Money
    4.5 (4)
  • Sound Quality
    5.0 (4)
  • Bass
    4.5 (4)
  • Comfort
    4.3 (4)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
kcd1961
kcd1961Illawarra, NSW
  • 21 reviews
  • 16 likes
  • Verified

Great sound, poor build

published

I used these for a year and a half. Treated kindly. No abuse. After 15 months the swivel attachment just shattered. Very disappointed. They were comfortable and sounded great, but I expect better durability.

Purchased in May 2020 at Haworth Guitar for $129.

Build Quality
2/5
Value for Money
4/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Charles
CharlesSouth East Queensland, QLD

About to pick up my second pair

published

Purchased in June 2015 for $150.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Hazel
HazelGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 2 reviews
  • Verified

Highly recommended!

published
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in May 2020 at Addicted to Audio Online store for $129.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Ben
BenBrisbane
  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Excellent design and sound quality

published

Bought these a couple years ago when they released. Haven't turned back since. The high fidelity this produces is perfection. Only thing I've had to do is replace the ear pads from using them so often

Purchased in January 2014 at Store DJ for $250.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Wired Headphones

Find out how Audio Technica ATH-M40x compares to other Wired Headphones

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
RGT
RGTGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC
  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified

Excellent sound quality, good built, affordable. Look no further.

published

I listen to spotify (reggae, easy listening), use these for netflix also. Perfect for me. Cable detachable, which means if broken you can replace it, sound quality very good - these are flat lined which is to my liking. I compared side by side with M50x which seemed dampened and 'altered'. I wouldnt take these for running/mowing, i have my 20 dlrs ones for that.

Date PurchasedJan 2019
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
A_Nother-Consumer
A_Nother-ConsumerPerth, WA
  • 16 reviews
  • 8 likes

OMG

published

OMG - that's the only way to describe these headphones ! Bang for your buck. For $170 these headphones are absolutely amazing. Crystal clear, great midrange, not too bassy. Very comfortable, not too heavy on your head. Lovely leather pads that sit perfectly around your ears and block out external noises (traffic, kids, wife etc). Do yourself a favour - get in your favourite comfy chair, chuck on Pink Floyd's Dark Side of the moon (or The Wall), kick back and enjoy ! You'll hear things you've never heard before ! Blown away. Simply amazing. I'd give it 6 stars if it were possible.

Date PurchasedJuly 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Abe A
Abe AMelbourne
  • 3 reviews

One of the best headsets I've ever used

published

I've gone through maybe 30 headsets like this in the last 10 years but these audio technica's are by far the best ones I've ever used. I bought it about a year ago and the headset is still in top condition, and the sound quality is a clear jump up from the sennheisers I was using before, 5 stars

Date PurchasedApr 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Related Articles

Previous
Smart shopping tips to help you make the most of Black Friday sales

With Black Friday coming up on the 26th of November (and some deals starting well before), we’ve got some smart shopping tips to help you make the most of sales.

Clara V.
Clara V.15 Nov 2021
smart-shopping-tips-to-help-you-make-the-most-of-black-friday-sales
Christmas Gift Ideas for Mum

Since many mothers tend to spout selfless phrases like ‘please don’t spend any money on me,’ Christmas is a great opportunity to spoil your Mum. However, this can be a tricky feat if your mum hasn’t told you what kind of gift she’d be happy with.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.29 Nov 2021
christmas-gift-ideas-for-mum
The right to repair: which brands are making it easier for you to fix their products?

The right to repair movement in Australia is calling for companies to make it easier for their products to be repaired. Here are some electronics and appliance manufacturers who are starting to listen and make it more feasible for consumers to repair, rather than replace, their items.

Clara V.
Clara V.14 Feb 2022
the-right-to-repair-which-brands-are-making-it-easier-for-you-to-fix-their-products
Next
s1Lence
s1LencePerth, WA
  • 10 reviews
  • 1 like

Good headphones

published

Good headphones for the price ($129), has very good noise cancelling thanks to the closed-back design and the sound quality is good. It isn't as good as I thought it would be when compared to the HyperX Cloud II. It's definitely better in terms of sound quality, bass (not a whole lot of bass but I prefer it that way) and noise cancellation but in every other area the HyperX Cloud II wins out, it's more comfortable. is physically built a lot better and is more durable and can fit a bigger head better.

Overall it is worth the price but next time I might go for something with better build quality, will see how well this lasts.

Date PurchasedMay 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Aaron S
Aaron SMelbourne
  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified

If you're considering it and can afford it, just get it

published

I was hesitant about purchasing the ATH-M40x, surely it can't be that good, I bet it's just another overhyped product like Beats by Dre. Oh, how wrong I was. These headphones are just as great as they say. Are they perfect? Not by any measure; the cable is too long unless you use the horribly cumbersome curled one and the earpads are certainly not meant for periods of extended listening (I suggest replacing them with a comfier pair if you can) but the sound quality is great and they are probably the best pair of headphones in the market at this price point

Date PurchasedNov 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Wired Headphones

Find out how Audio Technica ATH-M40x compares to other Wired Headphones

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Kelly
Kelly
  • 5 reviews

Perfect

published

Awesome headphones. Great sound quality and flat responses too. Lovely to hear the music how it was intended to be heard. Durable also, I’ve dropped mine quite a few times with no breakages. The two cords provided are great too. Best headphones for the money at the moment with great value.

Date PurchasedDec 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Mal I
Mal IPerth
  • 4 reviews

Great Headphones.

published

The Audio Technica ATH-M40x is perfect for anyone who doesn't want to break the bank when buying quality headphones. The sound on these are brilliant and they keep up with the quality of the M50x. The sound is also even better when you use an amplifier. Or a mini amplifier. The only gripe I have with these is that they don't have an option of removable stereo cord. This means that if you break the cord, you will not be able to replace it unless you open your headphones and solder a new cord in.

Overall a wonderful pair of headphones.

Date PurchasedMay 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Lisa
LisaSydney
  • 4 reviews

Great sound and quite comfortable

published

These are one of my first headphones and i absolutely love them. The sound on this is excellent and quite comfy to wear. The base is very good. The cable is quite long so you can easily move around with it.The only negative is that the top of the head step may start to peel off overtime.

Date PurchasedFeb 2014
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Wired Headphones

Find out how Audio Technica ATH-M40x compares to other Wired Headphones

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Kevin
KevinBrisbane
  • 5 reviews

Great headphones for a decent price

published
Date PurchasedJan 2015
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Curtis
CurtisErskineville
  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Excellent all-round pair of headphones.

published

The Audio Technica M40x is undoubtedly one of the best pairs of studio-quality headphones on the market. Affordable and also very diverse, they provide a great range of power that is not reflected in its price. The bass is incredible and comfort wise they are some of the best headphones i've owned. Perfect for long sessions!

Date PurchasedSept 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
ben
benGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Comfortable headphones for home

published

I found these head phones to have great sound quality for music and movies, also was very comfortable to wear for extended periods of time,the only set back is that it was a bit too bulky for travel and commuting. And the wire would get in the way if using while mobile

Date PurchasedMay 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Questions & Answers

Sorry, there are no questions yet.

Get an answer from our members

Details

CategoryWired Headphones
Price (RRP) $169.00
TypeOver-Ear
FeaturesGaming Headset
Frequency Response15 - 24,000 Hz
Weight240 g
Jack Plug3.5mm and 6.3mm
Cord Length3 m
Manufacturer Warranty1 year(s)
Colour / FinishBlack, Matte Grey
Visit official website
  • GTIN14: 04961310125424

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.