??!
1 photo
Australia Post Travel Insurance - International Comprehensive Plan (Single Trip)

Australia Post Travel Insurance - International Comprehensive Plan (Single Trip)

3.2 from 21 reviews

Reviews

3.2

21 reviews
5
(11)
4
(0)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(9)
  • Value for Money
    3.3 (15)
  • Transparency
    3.1 (14)
  • Customer Service
    3.1 (16)
Previous
Next
Peter

PeterMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

Australia Post Travel Insurance excellent service

published

My wife became ill in Bali with Influenza, owing to the build up of the Covid 19 situation we were unable to get suitable help and cancelled our holiday early to head home for medical care.. Australia Post were excellent in their understanding and the claim for unused accommodation costs and the costs associated in changing flights etc were paid for. All it took was for a little documentation to justify the claim and it was settled. Thanks again Australia Post ...certainly worthwhile cover.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationSouth-East Asia (e.g. Bali, Vietnam, Thailand)
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimTravel Delays/Cancellations
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim DateApril 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
Paul

PaulSydney, NSW

Warning; Australia Post Travel Insurance = TERRIBLE.

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationNorth America (inc. Hawaii)
Claim MadeNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
Max Kerley

Max KerleyGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Read every single word of the PDS to avoid disappointment

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationSouth-East Asia (e.g. Bali, Vietnam, Thailand)
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimMedical and Other
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim DateMarch 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Insurance Cover ForSenior
See all answers
Travel Insurance

Find out how Australia Post Travel Insurance - International Comprehensive Plan (Single Trip) compares to other Travel Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

The Worst Travel Insurance

published

I made a claim for cancellation of travel to Europe on account of coronavirus. I was told after a very long time that my insurance doesn't cover pandemic. My loss was $10,000. I bought the policy in January 2020 and we were to travel in April 2020. I did not anticipate a pandemic situation when I bought the policy. What is the use of a policy when it doesn't cover unexpected events? Further, my travel agency went into liquidation and Australia Post informed me that travel insurance doesn't cover the loss in case of liquidation. Australia post always has an excuse when it comes to honouring a claim. This is lousy and inconsiderate service. I shall never recommend Australia Post to anyone for travel insurance.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationEurope
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimTravel Delays/Cancellations
Claim ApprovedNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult, Child, Senior and Teenager
See all answers
Shell

ShellNew South Wales

  • 2 reviews

Unethical, neglecting to treat customers with any respect

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationSouth-East Asia (e.g. Bali, Vietnam, Thailand)
Claim MadeNo
See all answers

Well worth purchasing

published

Excellent! We had cancellation as an extra, and due to my asthma we couldn’t travel; and they paid the full amount within 3 days of the claim being approved. Really happy with how quick & easy it happened.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationSouth-East Asia (e.g. Bali, Vietnam, Thailand)
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimTravel Delays/Cancellations
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim DateMarch 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
MatyD

MatyD

  • 6 reviews

Don't bother even tho they offer a money back guarantee

published

Australia Post travel offers a money back guarantee but are absolutely Impossible to contact to claim it. Numerous emails and phone calls are not answered, been trying to contact them for weeks as travel plans have obviously changed. Wont bother again.
Update - Finally got hold of someone on the phone. Requested a refund, was not given the full amount which I thought was quite rude considering I've wasted hours ringing and emailing. Will write this off as a learning experience.

Transparency
Customer Service
DestinationSouth-East Asia (e.g. Bali, Vietnam, Thailand)
Claim MadeNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
Kathryn

KathrynGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Never again

published

For over a month I have tried to contact aus post travel insurance. I have tried online, emails, calls. We always use them and never again! Please don’t make the same mistake we did, find another company. I’m still waiting, I’m patient but over 15 hours of my life now wasted for nothing. Don’t even bother with the online chats. They are a joke.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationSouth-East Asia (e.g. Bali, Vietnam, Thailand)
Claim MadeNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
Peter

PeterPerth, WA

Bloody useless

published

This policy turned out to be not worth one cent. Arrived in China a week before the virus was public knowledge. Had to buy additional tickets at $6000 to get family home, Singapore Air refused refund on dishonoured travel, had to stay overnight in HK and again in Melbourne on the way home to Perth. Not one cent was covered by this "comprehensive international" policy - neatly covered by policy exclusions. Absolute crap policy - these are the reasons people buy travel insurance; its not an exclusions game.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationEast Asia (e.g. China, Japan, South Korea)
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimTravel Delays/Cancellations
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim DateFebruary 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult and Child
See all answers
Travel Insurance

Find out how Australia Post Travel Insurance - International Comprehensive Plan (Single Trip) compares to other Travel Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Bribie 3

Bribie 3South East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Very eficient and very helpful

published

We have insured with Australia Post previously but this was our first experience in making a claim. The staff were very helpful, with Registered Nures telephoning us on two occasions while my wife was receiving medical assistance during our Thailand trip. They provided guidance and advice to ensure my wife was fit to travel s well as advice to ensure we had necessary reports to support our claim for medical expenses.
We could not have asked for more helpful advice. Our claim was settled very quickly once we submitted the supporting documentation upon our return.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationSouth-East Asia (e.g. Bali, Vietnam, Thailand)
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimMedical
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim DateFebruary 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Insurance Cover ForSenior
See all answers
Wendy

WendyCentral Queensland, QLD

Peace of Mind Travel Insurance

published

Policy was very good value for money and I listed pre existing conditions in original application.
A migraine on our cruise on a US ship cost us more than our cruise. Travel insurance paid out our costs. Will use them again,

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationSouth-East Asia (e.g. Bali, Vietnam, Thailand)
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimMedical
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim ApprovedYes
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
Jenny Momirovska

Jenny MomirovskaGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Never use this company

published

Post office travel insurance have caused me nothing but stress. I was diagnosed with cancer 4 days before I was due to travel. I sent in all the appropriate information regarding the diagnosis. The company has sent a form to my doctor asking for my full medical history. Surely me sending the results of my tests along with pictures confirming the diagnosis would be enough to say that i was unaware that i was sick when I took out the policy. My trip was booked for the end of September and I have still not been reimbursed and don't know when I will. Never again post office travel insurance.

Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationSouth-East Asia (e.g. Bali, Vietnam, Thailand)
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimTravel Delays/Cancellations
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateOctober 2019
Claim ApprovedNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
4 comments
Australia Post
Priscila L.Australia Post
Jenny Momirovska
Jenny Momirovska
Australia Post
Priscila L.Australia Post

So sorry about this Jenny, have you been in touch with them recently to find out what's going on?

Priscila

Libby

LibbyMid North Coast, NSW

Exceeded our expectations

published

Having planned our overseas trip over 12 mths ago, we had very unexpected news only 5 days into our trip! My husbands father had passed away suddenly. We had to return home, leaving two thirds of our trip uncompleted. We submitted our claim through our travel agent & we received a full refund for the unused portion of our trip. Australia Post Travel Ins kept us well informed as to where our claim was up to & settled our claim quite swiftly. We have used them a couple of times now & would not hesitate to recommend them. Thank you Australia Post Travel Insurance

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationNorth America (inc. Hawaii)
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimTravel Delays/Cancellations
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateSeptember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
1 comment
Australia Post
Priscila L.Australia Post

Thanks so much for sharing Libby!!

Priscila :)

Nannie R

Nannie RNorth Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews

Exceeded our expectations

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationEast Asia (e.g. China, Japan, South Korea)
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimMedical
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateNovember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Insurance Cover ForSenior
See all answers
2 comments
Australia Post
Priscila L.Australia Post

Thanks so much for taking the time to share this with us. I'm so glad it was such an easy process and please do tell your friends and family!

Priscila

Nannie R
Nannie R

Absolutely Priscila. We will be singing your praises from the rooftops.

Steve Y - ExArmy

Steve Y - ExArmyGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Fantastic - Easy to Obtain before Travelling, Easy to Claim and Claim Processed Quickly

published

Highly Recommend - Great Value
The policy was easy to obtain online before travelling overseas.
It was very easy to submit a claim online upon my return and the claim was processed quickly.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationNew Zealand, North America (inc. Hawaii) and Pacific Islands (e.g. Fiji, Vanuatu)
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimMedical
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateOctober 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
1 comment
Australia Post
Priscila L.Australia Post

Thanks for your review Steve, it means a lot :)

Priscila

Travel Insurance

Find out how Australia Post Travel Insurance - International Comprehensive Plan (Single Trip) compares to other Travel Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Grandma

GrandmaWestern District, VIC

Great Service - A Complete Surprise

published
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationSouth-East Asia (e.g. Bali, Vietnam, Thailand)
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim DateSeptember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Insurance Cover ForSenior
See all answers
1 comment
Australia Post
Priscila L.Australia Post

Heart attack in Italy

published

Choosing this product was the best decision I have made this year. Other insurers did not wish to accept my custom being over 65. The policy was easy to set up and when required the staff were fantastic, especially the medical team.

Insurance claim madeYes
1 comment
Australia Post
Australia P.Australia Post
Kar28

Kar28Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great service!

published

Have used Aust Post travel insurance for many years now. Have always found them to be very competitive in price and very easy to apply and set up online. They have excellent customer support and making a claim has been problem free. Would highly recommend.

Insurance claim madeYes
1 comment
Australia Post
Australia P.Australia Post

Thanks for sharing! :)

Roxy

Lost property never got paid for

published

Worst travel insurer ever, lost my $2500 camera, and nothing got done, just a money making scheme, can come up with million excuses not to pay out, asked for documents to show me to that my house is a public place, nothing provided, infact no contacts back from aus post. Some one stole my camera from my room and auspost said i was careless for leaving my camera in my room at my home which was friken on charge, how silly. Got police report, did all run around for nothing.

Insurance claim madeYes
1 comment
Australia Post
Australia P.Australia Post

Perfect Travel Insurance

published

Whilst overseas I was encountered a life threatening medical problem and consequently had to contact Australia Post travel insurance who where able to send me to a Private Hospital for treatment. They were able to rebooked my return flights back to Australia. I was very impressed with the professionalism and availability being on different time zones. I would to thank the staff for all the great help they provided; and assurances they given in my difficult time. Will definitely use then again.

Insurance claim madeYes
1 comment
Australia Post
Australia P.Australia Post
Page 1 of 2
See all Australia Post Travel Insurance reviews

Questions & Answers

Sorry, there are no questions about Australia Post Travel Insurance - International Comprehensive Plan (Single Trip) but you can read 54 questions about Australia Post Travel Insurance.

Get an answer from our members and Australia Post representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.