??!
2 photos
Australian Warranty Network Mechanical Breakdown Insurance

Australian Warranty Network Mechanical Breakdown Insurance

4.6 from 275 reviews · View Statistics

How to compare car insurance to find the best policy for you

With so many car insurance providers and policies on the market, dipping into the policy pool can be confusing. Use this guide for tips on how to find the car insurance that's ideal for you.

Read now

Reviews

  • Value for Money
    4.6 (164)
  • Transparency
    4.7 (161)
  • Customer Service
    4.7 (166)
  • Claim Resolution Time<1 week (116), 1-2 weeks (18), 2-4 weeks (6), 3+ months (4) and 1-2 months (3)
  • Claim ApprovedYes (144) · No (1)
Previous
Next

So impressed with their efficiency!!

published

After submitting a claim online over the weekend, I received a call from AWN first thing Monday morning! Immediately my problem was addressed and that afternoon I was already getting my car looked at by the approved auto electrician! From the time I submitted the claim, to the time that my car has been repaired, it’s not even been a week! I’m very impressed

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelMazda CX-7
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateNovember 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Australian Warranty Network
AWNAustralian Warranty Network

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Land Rover Lover

Land Rover LoverSouth East Queensland, QLD

100% recommend this policy / company

published

I recently lodged a claim for a failed transmission. I put the claim in and it was accepted the same day! So HAPPY with the prompt, easy, comprehensive service! Fantastic

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelLand Rover Discovery 4 (No Badge) 3.0L V6
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateNovember 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Australian Warranty Network
AWNAustralian Warranty Network
Abdul

AbdulGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 3 reviews

Exceptional service and followup

published

AWN breakdown service is exceptional, my claims have been processed in 4 hours and the follow up from the customer care is top. I am very happy with the AWN service.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelJeep Cherokee
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateNovember 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Australian Warranty Network
AWNAustralian Warranty Network

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Car Insurance

Find out how Australian Warranty Network Mechanical Breakdown Insurance compares to other Car Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
nick53

nick53Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 4 reviews

A great company to deal with

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
1 comment
Australian Warranty Network
AWNAustralian Warranty Network

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Paul

PaulNorth Queensland, QLD

Very professional company

published

Very easy to deal with, very prompt approval. They are really friendly over the phone and understand my needs, i have recommended them to my friends. It is good to deal with a professional company. thanks for the great service.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelLand Rover Range Rover Sport L320
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateOctober 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Australian Warranty Network
AWNAustralian Warranty Network
Davie Kay

Davie KayGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Fast and Efficient service

published

Have been with AWN for 5 months.
Not long after joining I had to make a claim.
Nothing short of friendly and courteous.
All my questions were answered with aplomb.
Big Thank you.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelVolkswagen Polo AW GTI
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateApril 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Australian Warranty Network
AWNAustralian Warranty Network

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Caitlyn

CaitlynMurrumbidgee Region, NSW

Great Experience

published

I recently had to make a claim as my engine light was showing in my car. AWN were easy to deal with, the preferred provider was close by, and the job was completed with no hassles. AWN dealt directly with the mechanic and paid the cost of replacing which would have been very expensive otherwise.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelHolden Captiva
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateNovember 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Australian Warranty Network
AWNAustralian Warranty Network

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

ess

essPerth, WA

traffic light intersection breakdown

published

Thank goodness for AWN & Mikaela the phone operator whom last week provided reassurance & direction assisting me from beginning to end with claim referral, tow truck assistance to the nominated garage. I have had insurance for one year & waited 3 days to have claim accepted while waiting for a part. I had to push the car through the intersection then call AWN. They were awesome and I felt cared for in a stressful situation.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelMini 3-Door Hatch F56 Cooper S Manual
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateOctober 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Australian Warranty Network
AWNAustralian Warranty Network
Chrysler 300

Chrysler 300Perth, WA

Torque convert replacement

published

This is my second claim for the 2012 Chrysler (I have top cover) , this time it was for the torque converter replacement. AWN paid almost everything apart from tranny oil And filter which wasn’t a big deal for me I won’t argue nor have I seen the T&Cs.
Overall process was excellent from AWN , however the mechanic took 9days it was bit to excessive. I would never use another car warranty it has to be AWN. For past several years it has always been AWN!

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelChrysler 300
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateOctober 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Australian Warranty Network
AWNAustralian Warranty Network
Car Insurance

Find out how Australian Warranty Network Mechanical Breakdown Insurance compares to other Car Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Peter

Peter

  • 2 reviews

Great response

published

It took my Mechanic three weeks and four visits to finally pinpoint where the "phantom" noise (nobody else could hear it) was coming from in my Territory. Yep, the diff! It took AWN less than one hour to approve the claim for a replacement. I cannot fault that. Job completed in two days, and the warranty has more than paid for itself in less than twelve months.,

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelFord Territory SZ Titanium
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateOctober 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Australian Warranty Network
AWNAustralian Warranty Network
Shane

ShaneHobart, TAS

I am so pleased that I was offered and took up the offer of AWN warranty

published

the claim process was simple and efficient, I contacted customer service (Jordan) who sent me the details,
the process is still underway as the first diagnosis partially fixed the problem, I am waiting on new authorization to conclude the process

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelHyundai Santa Fe CM
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateOctober 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Australian Warranty Network
AWNAustralian Warranty Network

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

clive m.

clive m.South East Queensland, QLD

AWN warranty - Highly recommended!

published

I am so happy that the AWN warranty was included in my used car purchase - I've had to use the claim service a couple of times and again with this recent claim last week, the claim process was simple and the AWN staff very helpful when I called to ask about the process - I contacted the mechanic who organised and sent the quote to AWN, I booked my car in to have the work done, and the claim was processed and the work approved straight away. I highly recommend the AWN warranty, and I'm trying to get my kids to make sure they have a policy when they buy their first cars soon!

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeNo
Car ModelFord Focus
See all answers
1 comment
Australian Warranty Network
AWNAustralian Warranty Network

Hi Clive,
Thank you for sharing your claims experiences, our team members appreciate your feedback and your recommendation of our products and services.
All the best,
AWN Customer Support

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

clinton

clintonPerth, WA

Fantastic turn around time and friendly service, I wouldn't purchase a vehicle without it, Great value!

published

The policy is great value and was really easy to submit service vouchers as well as claims. Communication was prompt. When lodging a claim it was approved within hours allowing us to get back on the road quickly. Thank you AWN for all the assistance and help.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeNo
Car ModelCrafter 2nd Gen TDI340 LWB
See all answers
1 comment
Australian Warranty Network
AWNAustralian Warranty Network

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Kelly W.

Kelly W.South East Queensland, QLD

Speedy wonderful service

published

Thankful to AWN for saving me from unexpected mechanical bills due to worn down parts. The claim was put through and a response came fast allowing for the parts to be ordered the same day.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelFord Escape
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claimant is the policy holderNo
Claim DateOctober 2020
See all answers
1 comment
Australian Warranty Network
AWNAustralian Warranty Network

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Ridge P.

Ridge P.Sydney Surrounds, NSW

The Warranty I Needed

published

Policy was for 5000km/3 months which came with the purchase of vehicle.
Was covered for $2200 which covered all parts and labour minus oils. Saved me from being stuck with issues.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelNissan Navara NP300 4x4 ST-X
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claimant is the policy holderNo
Claim DateSeptember 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Australian Warranty Network
AWNAustralian Warranty Network

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Car Insurance

Find out how Australian Warranty Network Mechanical Breakdown Insurance compares to other Car Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Mr T

Mr TSydney, NSW

Fast and Outstanding customer service

published

Grateful for AWN! Saved us from paying a huge mechanic fee to repair the worn out part. Lodged claim on Friday and got car back following Tuesday. Customer service was excellent.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelMazda CX-9
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateOctober 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Australian Warranty Network
AWNAustralian Warranty Network

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

My experience was pleasant and helpful .

published

Sally was easy to deal with .
I found her pleasant and courteous . She was efficient in resolving the claim and made the bterms and conditions of the claim easy to understand

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car Model2007-2014 Volkswagen Eos
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateOctober 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Australian Warranty Network
AWNAustralian Warranty Network

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Harry

HarryHobart, TAS

Really efficient and great communication

published

I have been with AWN for nearly one year now. I would say I would never own a car without AWN insurance now. It’s definitely worth having it. I had to use road side assistance once and was able to get the help straight away. And I also have had a big mechanical breakdown recently which would have put me out of pocket heaps without having AWN. So, Thankyou so much to AWN for helping me out.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateMay 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Australian Warranty Network
AWNAustralian Warranty Network

Hi Harry,
Thank you for sharing your claims experiences, our team members appreciate your feedback and your recommendation of our products and services.
All the best,
AWN Customer Support

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Stephanie Y.

Stephanie Y.Central Queensland, QLD

Great service and very fast response

published

The policy is great value . The claims process was really easy to do and the claim went though straight away . Staff dealt with me in a good way and very helpful We've had this policy for month I was approved for $2000 repairs with really helped as my motor had blown up I'm very thankful I have mechanical warrenty

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeNo
Car ModelMitsubishi Outlander
See all answers
1 comment
Australian Warranty Network
AWNAustralian Warranty Network

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Chelsea

ChelseaGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Best and easiest company to deal with!!

published

This policy was easy to set up, I’ve had a couple of claims. Every claim I’ve had has been easy to make, resolved quickly, all mechanics I’ve seen have been great as well! I’ve been with AWN almost a year and I’m so happy with them!!

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelHolden Cruze JH (Hatchback) SRi-V
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateSeptember 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Australian Warranty Network
AWNAustralian Warranty Network

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Page 1 of 14
See all Australian Warranty Network reviews

Questions & Answers

Raj

Rajasked

Mechanical Breakdown Insurance

Hi. I need an extended warranty on a pre-owned car. How do I contact AWN?

1 answer
Australian Warranty Network
AWNAustralian Warranty Network

Hi Raj,

AWN do not sell direct to the public, our breakdown insurance products are only available to be purchased through our 3000 selected licensed and authorised agents; motor dealerships, caravan dealerships, motorbike dealerships, finance brokers etc. throughout Australia.

If you would like to call us on 07 38025577 during business hours and we can direct you to an authorised agent that can assist you in the purchase of a new breakdown insurance.

Prior to purchasing a breakdown insurance product please insure you read and understand the Product Disclosure Statement. A (PDS) contains all the information you require to make an informed decision whether the product you are considering is the right product for you.

Kind Regards,
AWN Customer Support

Rob

Robasked

Mechanical Breakdown Insurance

Looking at buying a Merc Benz 1985 280 CE one owner (said to be deceased estate} from a major Melbourne dealer with RWC and Club permit plates to issue. Vehicle has 255000km recorded has service records and some service invoices . Vehicle appears to have been accident free and clean for a 35 yo car. Please advise the premium for 12 months to cover mechanical breakdown Rob

1 answer
Australian Warranty Network
AWNAustralian Warranty Network

Hi Rob,

AWN do not sell direct to the public, our breakdown insurance products are only available to be purchased through our 3000 selected licensed and authorised agents; motor dealerships, caravan dealerships, motorbike dealerships, finance brokers etc. throughout Australia.

If you would like to call us on 07 38025577 and we can direct you to an authorised agent that can assist you in the purchase of a new breakdown insurance.

Prior to purchasing a breakdown insurance product please insure you read and understand the Product Disclosure Statement. A (PDS) contains all the information you require to make an informed decision whether the product you are considering is the right product for you.

Kind Regards,
AWN Customer Support

Get an answer from our members and Australian Warranty Network representatives

Details

Compare all 3 Australian Warranty Network
CategoryCar Insurance
Coverage TypeMechanical Breakdown / Extended Warranty
UnderwriterLloyd's
Legal Liability Cover Not Included
Roadside Assistance Optional Extra
Reduced or Zero Excess Windscreen CoverNot Offered
Choice of RepairerNot Allowed
After Accident Care
Hire Car after an Incident

Included up to $100 per claim where you are more than 400km from your registered residence and the repair will take more than 48 hours

Emergency Transport & AccommodationIncluded up to $100 per claim if you are more than 400kms from your registered residence and the repair will take more than 48 hours
Towing Costs Included up to $100 per claim where your asset is unable to be quickly mechanically repaired or safely driven to an AWN Approved Repairer
Hire Car after a No Fault Accident

Not Applicable

Essential / Emergency RepairsNot Applicable
Benefits
Pay As You Drive / Fixed Kilometre DiscountNot Applicable
Hire Car after Theft

Not Applicable

Lock and Key ReplacementNot Applicable
Transit Cover Not Applicable
Trailer & Caravan CoverNot Applicable
Child Safety Seats and PramsNot Applicable
New-for-old Car Replacement

Not Applicable

Personal Property CoverNot Applicable
Uninsured Motorist Benefit Not Applicable
Accidental Loss or Damage
Malicious Damage / VandalismNot Applicable
FireNot Applicable
CollisionNot Applicable
Natural EventsNot Applicable
Theft or Attempted TheftNot Applicable
Compare all 3 Australian Warranty Network

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.