??!
1 photo
Barefoot Telecom
4.4 from 484 reviews

Reviews

1.7

19 reviews
5
(0)
4
(3)
3
(1)
2
(3)
1
(12)
  • Value for Money
    2.3 (16)
  • Transparency
    2.5 (13)
  • Customer Service
    2.7 (17)
  • Adequate Speeds Yes · No (15%)
Previous
Next
dguillot.54

dguillot.54Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Good customer service and reliable connection

published

Local customer service is easy to deal with but often requires waiting for a callback. The connection is reliable and speeds are good but I frequently get less than half of the 50 Mbps.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeFTTB (Fibre to the Building)
Start DateFebruary 2020
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
1 comment
Barefoot Telecom
Rebecca J.Barefoot Telecom

Review collected in partnership with Barefoot Telecom

Great Service - Poor Speeds

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeFTTC (Fibre to the Curb)
Start DateJanuary 2020
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
4 comments
Barefoot Telecom
Rebecca J.Barefoot Telecom
groperfish1
groperfish1

659253

Barefoot Telecom
Rebecca J.Barefoot Telecom

Review collected in partnership with Barefoot Telecom

costak

costak

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Not bad but not great

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeFTTN (Fibre to the Node)
Start DateMarch 2020
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
1 comment
Barefoot Telecom
Rebecca J.Barefoot Telecom

Review collected in partnership with Barefoot Telecom

Internet Service Providers

Find out how Barefoot Telecom compares to other Internet Service Providers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Bilse

BilseMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 2 reviews
  • ADSL
  • Verified customer

Utterly useless at fixing issues

published

Connection has been unstable for months, we now have ~40% packet loss making browsing or working impossible, we've gone through several rounds of back and forth over support tickets and they're unable to either fix anything or tell us what/where the problem is.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Start DateJune 2019
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
1 comment
Barefoot Telecom
Rebecca J.Barefoot Telecom
mitch

mitchGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Absolutely absurd customer "service" despite them failing to provide broadband for over 3 weeks without contact

published

My god. Barefoot telecom is woeful. Be very careful considering to use them. They do not care about their customers AT ALL. If it wasn't my connection not working, it was spam marketing from them or outages.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeFTTC (Fibre to the Curb)
Start DateFebruary 2017
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract Type12-month contract
Data TypeUnlimited Data
1 comment
Barefoot Telecom
Rebecca J.Barefoot Telecom
Dissappointed

DissappointedPerth

  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes
  • NBN
  • Verified customer

Wireless NBN ? Not so good

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeWireless
Start DateJanuary 2020
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Data TypeUnlimited Data
1 comment
Barefoot Telecom
Rebecca J.Barefoot Telecom

Review collected in partnership with Barefoot Telecom

Manu

ManuGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • ADSL
  • Verified customer

Extremely poor service

published

Extremely poor service. Only had them for 1.5 months and went through constant agony even after cancelation.

The speed I got was between 1 and 1.5 Mbps at all times and the blame was always placed on the distance from the exchange. If I was too far then the services should have been denied.

Made me pay the connection fee and the entire months charge even when account was canceled in less than 10 days into the new month.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Start DateJanuary 2019
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
1 comment
Barefoot Telecom
Rebecca J.Barefoot Telecom
Cheated internet user.

Cheated internet user.Illawarra, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Dishonest

published

BEWARE. While claiming no exit fees, Barefoot is still operating strict monthly cycle charging with no pro-rate refund. Like most people, my transfer to another ISP was initiated part-way through the monthly billing cycle. Barefoot will continue to charge me for the service not provided for the rest of the month. That is an effective exit fee, which can be close to $90. BEWARE the false claim of no exit fee.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeFTTN (Fibre to the Node)
Start DateJune 2019
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
4 comments
Barefoot Telecom
Rebecca J.Barefoot Telecom

Any charge as you exit that relates to a service not provided is an exit fee. Ask any customer. Better still, all reader, if you think this is an exit fee, 'Like' this review and expose Barefoot for what they are.

Barefoot Telecom
Rebecca J.Barefoot Telecom
Jordan B.

Jordan B.Sydney, NSW

Unreliable and constantly dropping packets, often doesn't work at all!

published

The connection is constantly dropping packets and often doesn't work completely. At best the line is very noisy but often no working to any degree. Internet has hardly worked since its instillation, if no improvement can be seen for next month I will be leaving the service completely. Completely unreliable internet connection.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeHFC (Cable)
Start DateJuly 2019
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
1 comment
Barefoot Telecom
Rebecca J.Barefoot Telecom

Review collected in partnership with Barefoot Telecom

Internet Service Providers

Find out how Barefoot Telecom compares to other Internet Service Providers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Michael P.

Michael P.South East Queensland, QLD

Great customer service

published

The two or three times I've spoken to the staff they have been extremely friendly and helpful. They seem to genuinely care about the support they provide. They are also easy to understand.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeFTTN (Fibre to the Node)
Start DateMarch 2019
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
1 comment
Barefoot Telecom
Rebecca J.Barefoot Telecom

Review collected in partnership with Barefoot Telecom

Rickdove

RickdoveSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Absolutely unequivocally the worst service ever in the history of the service industry

published

It says to state facts and be objective. :-)

When dealing with Barefoot Telecom and their staff that is a difficult thing to do.

More than a month to get connected !! And then once connected the service is appalling and they have nothing to offer other than excuses.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeFTTC (Fibre to the Curb)
Start DateApril 2018
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
1 comment
Barefoot Telecom
Rebecca J.Barefoot Telecom
Harsimran Singh

Harsimran SinghSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews
  • 4 likes

Was good but now can’t hold enough customers

published

Bad connection
No solutions
Rude tech staff
Was good but not anymore try to contact tech staff but just wait and wait.

Hope do well in future.
All weekends and holidays speed like 2mbps

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeFTTN (Fibre to the Node)
Start DateJanuary 2017
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
2 comments
Barefoot Telecom
Rebecca J.Barefoot Telecom
Harsimran Singh
Harsimran Singh

Ac no 550395
Warner

Distressed

DistressedSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

The worst company I have ever dealt with Bar none.

published

The worst company I have ever dealt with. Even the managers don’t call back when they promise to. New connection, now at end of second week and nothing. Blame everybody else but themselves. Spend more time blaming people than trying to resolve the issue. Their staff and management talk to you as if you are idiots. Rude, talk over you constantly and call you MATE all the time. AUSTRALIAs broadband connectivity and the whole industry is a joke. Every time I’m out with friends I hear another NBN anas provider joke. How do you spend this much money and still not get it right.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeFTTC (Fibre to the Curb)
Start DateJune 2018
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
5 comments
Barefoot Telecom
Rebecca J.Barefoot Telecom
Distressed
Distressed

Hmm, Do I really think this will help my case ? Amazing the quickest response I have had so far in two weeks is when you start going to social media and review sites.

Distressed
Distressed
Adrian

AdrianSydney

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • ADSL
  • Verified customer

ADSL down again for days

published
Customer Service
Start DateOctober 2018
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
5 comments
Barefoot Telecom
Rebecca J.Barefoot Telecom
Adrian
Adrian
Adrian
Adrian
  • ADSL
  • Verified customer

Constant dropouts

published

My internet constantly drops out, especially at night and I have to tether my phone. I called about it and it seems like an overly complicated process to see what the problem was including me having a Ethernet cable which I don’t have.

Customer Service
Value for Money
Start DateMarch 2019
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
1 comment
Barefoot Telecom
Rebecca J.Barefoot Telecom
Internet Service Providers

Find out how Barefoot Telecom compares to other Internet Service Providers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Adrian

AdrianSydney, NSW

  • 8 reviews
  • 3 likes

Poor Barefoot service

published
Start DateOctober 2018
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
4 comments
Barefoot Telecom
Rebecca J.Barefoot Telecom
Adrian
Adrian
Barefoot Telecom
Rebecca J.Barefoot Telecom
Nico VDM

Nico VDMSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • ADSL
  • Verified customer

No thrills, No Fuzz, No Buzz but it is Cheap

published

I have been with a barefoot for a few months now after shopping around for a good broadband deal until NBN arrives. On the price they are very competitive and for service we have not had any outages but my word the service is sooooo slow. I have not had a slower of any provider compared to them.

Customer Service
Value for Money
Start DateNovember 2018
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
1 comment
Barefoot Telecom
Rebecca J.Barefoot Telecom

Review collected in partnership with Barefoot Telecom

  • ADSL
  • Verified customer

Terrible speeds every night

published

My internet is basically unusable at night, slowing down to <1mbps (speed test) and then sometimes gets stuck on this speed during the day too. Customer service is only available until 7pm which is extremely frustrating for those who work long hours and means I can never call when the speeds go down. Repeated troubleshooting hasn't worked. I understand they rent the lines so their customers get booted off the bandwidth first. I'm not organising to change providers.

Connection TypeI don't know
Start DateJune 2018
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
1 comment
Barefoot Telecom
Rebecca J.Barefoot Telecom

Review collected in partnership with Barefoot Telecom

  • ADSL
  • Verified customer

Worst Experience ever with ADSL barefoot

published
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeFTTB (Fibre to the Building)
Start DateDecember 2018
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
1 comment
Barefoot Telecom
Rebecca J.Barefoot Telecom
See all Barefoot Telecom reviews

Questions & Answers

Henny Smith

Henny Smithasked

Barefoot Telecom

What type of Modem do you guys sell for NBN 100?

1 answer
Barefoot Telecom
Rebecca J.Barefoot Telecom

Hi Henny,

We sell a NetComm NF18AC Wi-Fi modem for $149 which includes delivery and pre-configuration.

Rachel

Rachelasked

Barefoot Telecom

Hi I would like to join if I buy your modem on the 69 dollar a month plan how much would I pay for my first Month bill

3 answers
Happy Chap
Happy Chap

Hi Rachel. I am uncertain, so will leave that for Barefoot.
My guess is $69 plus price of modem...?
No matter which service provider you have, you will need a modem. (-:

Barefoot Telecom
Rebecca J.Barefoot Telecom

Hi Rachel,

Before we order your service we would process the modem fee ($149) upfront.

We can confirm that your bill cycle does not commence until your service is active. We utilise anniversary billing, so your bill cycle is the date that your service is activated.

Your first month would be $69.00 in this case.

Regards,

The Barefoot team

Ravinder B.
Ravinder B.

Go with kogan internet, on $69 plan they will provide modem free of cost. Have look on website. Better than Barefoot

Jack

Jackasked

Barefoot Telecom

My home address is 489 Redland Bay Road Capalaba QLD 4157.
- do you provide ADSL in this area?
- what is the average speed at peak hours in this area?

Thanks,

Jack

2 answers
Barefoot Telecom
Rebecca J.Barefoot Telecom

Hi Jack,

In order for us to see what Internet services we can provide you, we will need to perform a full service qualification check on your address.

Could you please send your full address including any unit/street numbers, state and postcode to support@barefoottelecom.com.au so we can check and advise?

Jacqui Steadman
Jacqui Steadman

156/368 oxley dr.runaway bay queensland 4216

Get an answer from our members and Barefoot Telecom representatives

Other Internet Service Providers

Previous
Launtel

Launtel

4.9
(436)
Mint Telecom

Mint Telecom

4.9
(407)
MATE

MATE

4.4
(2,311)
Harbour ISP

Harbour ISP

4.2
(1,108)
Bordernet

Bordernet

4.7
(65)
OntheNet

OntheNet

4.7
(58)
OptiComm

OptiComm

4.0
(360)
Lizzy

Lizzy

4.5
(58)
Next

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.