??!
6 photos
Baumr-AG SX62

Baumr-AG SX62 (page 2 of 5)

MPN: SX62
3.2 from 98 reviews

See the Best Petrol Chainsaws in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

(22)
(30)
(16)
(8)
(22)
  • Build Quality
    3.7 (7)
  • Value for Money
    4.9 (7)
  • Ease of Use
    4.4 (7)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.1 (7)
  • Safety
    3.7 (6)

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • More

greg303

greg303

  • 2 reviews

Was Terrible Now OK

published

I think it depends on who assembles your saw at the factory. Mine would start, run for 30 second and then stop. Found cylinder barrel loose, bolts hand tight. The plastic elbow for crankcase vacuum to carby had melted. I made a new elbow and fitted a new vacuum hose to carby. The pipe I used had thicker walls as the original looked as though it could close up under vacuum. Replaced the fuel line to the tank. It now runs well.
Greg303

Date PurchasedFeb 2014

8 years and still going strong

published

i've had my sx 62 for 8 years now and its still going strong its been used and abused all that time and won't die its been run over dropped out of trees had trees dropped on it and looks like a piece of crap and leaks bar oil but its still going i;ve replaced the clutch, pull start and chain brake over the years which amounts to about $60 which can be expected for the amount of work it has done for the price i payed i think it is pretty good value for money

Date PurchasedMar 2008

sx62 calamity of a piece of crap.. old one great.. new one dogs vomit

published

I've had buamrs for years and years two sx62 old ones and a sx66 which was my favourite .. This year I bought a new one and now it's going back to the only company I could buy it through as it didn't last two weeks of cutting light branches.. Funny enough when talking to the parts guy in Penrith nsw he said oh we never have any problems with this saw.. I said that's rubbish as parts wear out even on the better older saws which I've replaced over the time.. This new saw is going back and I won't be buying another one ever.. plus I paid heaps more for it than I should of.. Geoff is right they have gone for profit over product and in time they won't have either of any.. Good one Baumr ag pro.. Way to destroy a business..

Date PurchasedJul 2017
bomber

bomberSouth West, WA

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

cheap saw

published

first saw sx62 I purchase the best cut a lot of hard wood jarrah(10tons a year) so brought second sx62 saw was rubbish now use as spare parts for first saw also brought a sx72 even more disappointing given I cut a lot of wood the first saw performance carried the other two saws . I say I am in front overall due to the fact the total purchase price of the three saws is about half of a good quality saw, neverless I have a old good quality saw as back up when I go bush

Date PurchasedFeb 2010

Adi

AdiAU

  • 2 reviews

Baumr ag 62 cc

published

I bought this saw and i love it cuts so nice perfect to start i love it so much i bought a bigger one the 76 cc 24 inch bar its even better i would recommend this saw to anyone not over expensive and light weight love it love it

Date PurchasedMay 2017

Not impressed

published

bought the 20 inch and 10 inch saws and both are crap..both lasted one week,fortunalrty i had two of the older version so i transferred parts onto them and good as Gold..dont buy theses pieces of crap ,they went for profit instead of maintaining an ok machine ..the old machines are good

Date PurchasedMar 2017

Julian ..Perth WA

Julian ..Perth WAPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews

Great useful saw

published

Have a 72 now discontinued- near 10 years now, cuts white gum - very dense/ hard wood every year..approx 7- 10 tonne every year uses a bit more fuel, bit heavier but still starts every 3rd pull.. after market chain.. did send it back 2 months in & they rebuilt the engine & sent extra bar & chains ... love it

Date PurchasedMar 2007

GIL

GILMelbourne

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Perfect for Me

published

Had mine for 2 months now and it's been great. I use mine at least 2-3 times a week and it starts easily every time. I have to sharpen the chain more than I thought I would but I have been advised by an expert that when I replace the chain I spend a few extra dollars and get a quality chain and I won't have to sharpen as often. I clean it after every use, make sure its always got chain oil. Cheap to buy and so far reliable, absolutely love it.

Date PurchasedFeb 2017
Mika

MikaPatterson Lakes

  • 3 reviews
  • 9 likes

Very Good So Far

published
Date PurchasedNov 2016
Frank. M

Frank. MNorth-West & West coast, TAS

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Has been reliable for me.

published

I bought mine five years ago off EBay, about $120.00. It works fine. Best to get a quality chain as that is where the maintenance is with Baumr chain, stretches, requires frequent sharpening and the best edge is not as good as that of good chain.
But, it goes well. I change the fuel first up if the saw sits for 6 months and it fires by third pull.
I also gave a Baumr post digger. It is more finicky to start, it may be the carby design. tomorrow's task is to get it running.

Date PurchasedOct 2011

Telaroth

TelarothIpswich

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Does what it says on the tin

published
Date PurchasedAug 2016

Mick

MickMt Barker

Cheap for a reason

published

Used twice and thought I was onto a winner. Was only sitting in the shed for 3 weeks before the next use and won't fire, tried new fuel, checked the spark plug and all the basics still nothing. Steer clear unless you like fixing your gear all the time....not impressed.

Date PurchasedSep 2016

Stash RICHIES

Stash RICHIESSouthwest, VIC

  • 7 reviews

Piece of junk ... avoid Baur

published

Bought on eBay. .. great price ... used twice in three months ..n won't start .... no spark ......drove 2 hours to cut wood n it's shot ....... mechanic says coil pack ..... do yourself a favour and buy quality ... these are junk ..rubbish.... good for landfill

Date PurchasedJun 2016
1 comment
Stash RICHIES
Stash RICHIES

Follow up . . . replaced the coil pack - bang it started. Coil pack failure after two uses. Hopeless.


Mike T

Mike TAdelaide

Overheating issue and running lean

published

Have a Baum SX62 and have had my moneys worth from it. Recently became hard to start. Pulled it apart and the piston was scored from overheating. Found that the rubber pipe connected to the crank case was apparently blocked. When we pulled off the rubber hose we found the black plastic fitting to the crank was still solid plastic and had never been drilled out. I am told this provides the pulse for the carburetor when the saw is under load. We believe this may have made the saw run lean and overheat. If you are having trouble starting and tuning your saw, check the plug in the crank case. (You get to the plug by removing the carburetor).

Date PurchasedSep 2013

Great saw. Just buy a decent bar and chain combo.

published

Got new carlton bar and archer chains. great saw not to bloody heavy and cuts anything iv hit. even had a 24" bar on. Mostly run my 19" carlton bar due to shop getting wrong order but i got cost price

Date PurchasedAug 2016

Great saw for the price, excellent for a standby second saw if your main one fails.

published
Date PurchasedJul 2010

Wayne

Waynesydney

bad saw bad company in edisons

published

Bought brand new, arrived on time etc but spent three days trying to start it. Followed instructions to the letter and was advised that Edisons would send me the tuning instructions. I advised them I wanted a refund but was advised they needed it to be sent back to them and if faulty would repair or replace however if just out of tune would charge me $95 for the tune up. Are you kidding it should start straight out of the box. I went and bought a ryobi from Bunnings which started third pull out of the box. Don't go near Edisons company or Baumr

Date PurchasedJul 2016

braap

braapHobart, TAS

  • 2 reviews

good for money if cutting softwood

published

have 2 of these ... good points .. starts easily, well priced, once tuned runs well. bad points... chain brake breaks down quite quickly, chain, blunts out quickly, constant chain adjustment, heavy on fuel, very heavy on oil, doesn’t maintain power when cutting. opinion.. buy a stihl or husqvarna the cheap price is not worth it..


Eats Trees

published

speedyd

speedydspeedyd73@dodo.com.au, stanthorpe

tune it

published

tune it i tune every one i buy i have 1- 62cc @ $120 7 years old 4- 66cc @ $109 1- 76cc @ $176 changed bar and chain from 38 chain 24 in bar to .325 chain and 20 in bar icut near 20 ton Avery year and big trees 24 in across
but u must tune them fine out if u dont know how ( warm it up get little screw driver rev to around full throttle
with screw drive in h for high not low tune ether way u will hear revs go up dont go to far that can hert power


Page 2 of 5

See all Baumr-AG SX62 reviews

Questions & Answers

Richard

Richardasked

How can I replace the chain sprocket on a baumr-ag sx 62 chainsaw

No answers

Belly

Bellyasked

Has anyone done exhaust mod on the sx62 62

No answers

Belly

Bellyasked

Has anyone done exhaust mod on the sx62

2 answers
acerace
acerace

Why?? Is it going on the DYNO??

Belly
Belly

Don't need ears and handing can tell me 30 odd years experience brought two at garage sale did modes they fire


Get an answer from our members and Baumr-AG representatives


Download manual

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.