??!
4 photos
Beats Solo3

Beats Solo3

MPNs: KHBBDDSOL3BLK, KHBBDDSOL3GBL, KHBBDDSOL3GLD and 5 more
4.2 from 125 reviews

See the Best Wireless Headphones in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
63
4 star
43
3 star
9
2 star
3
1 star
7

Nat

NatGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Not worth the money

published

I purchased the small size earphones, they are still too big. Constantly fall off my head during gym sessions. Cant use them for longer than 30 mins at a time due to the pressure it puts on my ears. sound quality I expected better for the price I paid.

Purchased in September 2019 at JB Hi-Fi for $360.00.

Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
Bluetooth
See all answers

bridget16

bridget16Central Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

poor quality ear covers

published

Not hardly used them and the ear cover fabrics come out, my daughter in laws are the same. ive a cheap 20.00 pair i wear every night on my computer, my grandson uses them, 2 years old and still like new. Beats also 2 years old lucky to have had 50 hours use

Purchased in December 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
Battery Life
Bluetooth
See all answers
Kaytlyn

KaytlynSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Not made for exercise

published

I love my beats headphones, however, I bought them specifically for the gym and exercise. Unfortunately when you sweat in them it creates a putrid stained smell in the fabric. They are also to oversized for my head, and will fall down when I’m running or doing burpees. Great for someone just listen to music while studying or on a plane

Purchased in June 2018 at Harvey Norman.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
Battery Life
Bluetooth
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Nathan V.

Nathan V.Sydney, NSW

  • 17 reviews

Beats Solo 3 perfect purchase

published

Purchased in March 2018 at JB Hi-Fi for $400.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
Battery Life
Bluetooth
See all answers

Ash Australia

Ash AustraliaCanberra

  • 11 reviews
  • 13 likes

Hot dayum! That battery life though!

published

These headphones found me. I got them as a promotional gift when I upgraded my phone. Prior to I was sporting a very cheap pair of wireless headphones from Typo. I am not sure how much these bad boys go for, but I am pretty accustomed to them now and would struggle to revert back to my el cheapo pair, or heaven forbid, sans wireless. I mostly use my headphones at the gym. Running, weights, even when doing yoga - they don't get in the way or fall off. Sound quality is very good (best I have ever known). Oh and the battery life. I literally never charge these. It's astounding.

Purchased in July 2019.

Build Quality
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
Battery Life
Bluetooth
See all answers

SYDHarry

SYDHarrySydney

  • 19 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified purchase

Good head phone

published

I use Beats Solo 3 headphone daily. Switching between iPhone Xs or Mac Book Pro is super easy.
Excellent battery life. Sound quality is great but not the best.

On-ear controls such as volume up, down and play, pause are easy to use.

One and only my complaint is wearing this head phone long time makes little pain in the auricle.

Purchased in May 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
Battery Life
Bluetooth
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


Jody

Jody

  • 2 reviews

Heavy and totally impractical for gym use

published

I have used these headphones at the gym on two occassions now and have found them to be heavy and fall off my head when lying on my back or leaning forward to exercise. The sound is ok but overall these are horrible for the gym and a complete waste of money. They are ok if exercising in an upright position but forget it for any other position. I spend more time putting the damn things back on my ears/head than exercising. Unless you have a larger than average headsize I would strongly suggest you try these on your head before buying.....wish I had. In summary, these are not suitable for general gym use.

Purchased in June 2019 at Harvey Norman for $300.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
Battery Life
Bluetooth
See all answers

Sarah S.

Sarah S.Northeast, VIC

  • 6 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Love it! Great for listening to music while excising

published

Great for listening to a wide variety of music. Have had absolutely no quality issues. Being wireless I really enjoy using the Beats headphones while excising. The ear pieces themselves are quite small but they do fit securely.

Purchased in October 2018 at Kogan.com for $299.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
Battery Life
Bluetooth
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

CC Alberto

CC AlbertoGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 5 reviews

Excellent

published

This heaphones are really amazing! We bought it for our son but ended up using it most of the time. Just loving it especially when watching movies at night using our phone.

Purchased in August 2018 at Myer for $420.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
Battery Life
Bluetooth
See all answers
Maddideakin

MaddideakinIllawarra, NSW

  • 7 reviews
  • 6 likes

Great product - Just highly priced

published

Great all around. Sound isolating is good but not what it's priced at. Quality of music is fantastic.
I would recommend getting a similar product for a better price, you will find plenty of the same quality. You pay for the brand name with this one.

Purchased in November 2018 at JB Hi-Fi.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
Battery Life
Bluetooth
See all answers

Kaluwa

KaluwaGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

overall great product

published

I used these headphones for everything and almost everyday, sound quality is great, its what i expected it to be, but can be uncomfortable when wearing it for a long time

Purchased in June 2018 at JB Hi-Fi for $150.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
Battery Life
Bluetooth
See all answers

Anna L

Anna LPerth, WA

  • 7 reviews
  • 4 likes
  • Verified purchase

Stylish and sounds great

published

It took me forever to find the right wireless headphones for me as I’m picky with sound quality. The Beats were a little bit out of my price range but I have no regrets. The Beats have the best bass in my opinion and they also look great and aren’t bulky looking as well. Works perfectly with my iPhone and the battery seems to last forever. I use it when exercising, at the gym, and on flights. After a while though they tend to hurt my ears as the padding doesn’t sit over the ears but on them. This is if you wear the headphones for long hours such as on a flight. But otherwise highly recommend them .

Purchased in January 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
Battery Life
Bluetooth
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


Bbee

BbeeGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 6 reviews
  • Verified purchase

In my own world with my beats on!

published

These provide awesome sound quality and while I’m working out at the gym I never have an issue. I listen to a variety of music and the sound quality is great. They fold up for easy storage too.
Charge lasts well!

Purchased in November 2018 at Officeworks Online store for $197.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
Battery Life
Bluetooth
See all answers

Kade T

Kade TGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Beats are over rated but theyre still decent headphones just not as good as the hype around them.

published

For high end headphones they arent that great youre probably better off going with bose or something like that these are more of a middle class headphone if you compared them to say sony there wouldnt be much difference.

Purchased in April 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
Bluetooth
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Banu

BanuGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Long battery life. stylish colours and reasonably sized not too bulky

published

I listen to music as well as youtube
I use them when exercising, cycling but not for running
wireless range and sound quality are amazing
not too bulky and very feel lightweight

Purchased in January 2019 for $199.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
Battery Life
Bluetooth
See all answers
Milad M.

Milad M.Sydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

enjoy music to the fullest

published

i bought my beats solo 3 almost 6 month ago. from the moment i got this headphone my understanding of music have changed. its perfect for anyone who likes music. i'd certainly recommend this to my friends.

Purchased in October 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
Battery Life
Bluetooth
See all answers

Akash

AkashSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Not worth the price

published

These headphones are average, they are definitely not worth the price. I listen to rap and heavy metal. I got them free from Optus and so far they work fine. Definitely, prefer bose though. They also put a lot of pressure on your ears and after a while, your ears get red and hurt. Other than that, the volume and wireless are range is fine.

Purchased in May 2019 at Optus.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
Battery Life
Bluetooth
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


graham barber

graham barberSydney, NSW

badly made, and don't last long

published

bought two set for my kids. paid a fortune for them, and with normal use both didn't last one year. One side in both sets stopped working. it was the left side in both. took them back to "The good guys" and they only replaced one set, as the other was just out of warrantee. I was furious ! and yep....a short time later the replacement set failed as well! I just gave up in the end! will never buy Beats again...!

Purchased in March 2017 at The Good Guys for $399.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
See all answers

R Skinner

R SkinnerSouth East Queensland, QLD

APPLE GARBAGE

published

Absolutely the worst wireless headphones you could purchase. They worked perfect for 1 year and 1 month. It was then that one speaker cut out and then they stopped connecting to bluetooth. Aux worked well for about a month then it started to cut out. I contacted Beats by Dre and after 3 weeks of back and fourth they told me there was nothing they could do for me and didn't even offer a discounted pair for the crappy ones they sold me! So I decided to take the broken headphones to my IT shop where they pulled them apart and reviled that the 2 wires were completed severed and that the quality of the gauge they used was garbage. I have sold all my Apple products and will never purchase from this company again!!

Purchased in December 2018 at JB Hi-Fi for $500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
Battery Life
Bluetooth
See all answers

Joey Am

Joey Am

  • 3 reviews

Good sound quality

published

It has a really great sound quality, the noise cancelling works really well. It can folds it into so small, so it’s pretty convenient to bring it around. Quite expensive tho.

Purchased in July 2018.


Page 1 of 7

Questions & Answers

Charmaine Coogan

Charmaine Cooganasked

I have the beats set and the right hand side has some sort of a wire problem. It cuts in and out like the wire isn't connected correctly.

1 answer
Nathan V.
Nathan V.

Hi Charmaine,

I too have the same issue but it may just be wear/tear depending on how long you have them.

If the beats are fairly new you should be able to go back to the manufacture and get a replacement wire should it still be under warranty.


Abby

Abbyasked

Is it worth buying and how long do they headphones last before breaking?

1 answer
seandouglas
seandouglas

It’s worth it, haven’t broken them and I’ve trained in them for a while


Sue

Sueasked

Can you use these with a TV and can others still hear the TV without headphones if you are using the headphones?

2 answers
Mummy Lisa
Mummy Lisa

Hi i can definitely use these with my TV but i am unsure about the sound still coming out of the TV whilst you are using them while i have mine on the sound only comes through my headphones great when the kiddies are sleeping.

Steve
Steve

These are a Bluetooth headphone with the following:
Connections and Expansion:
•Bluetooth®
•Wireless
Power:
•Rechargeable Lithium-Ion
Other Features:
• Bluetooth®
• On-Board Call and Music Controls
• On-Board Volume Control
• Beam-Forming Mic for Optimal Call Clarity
• Noise Isolation
• Stereo Bluetooth®
• Passive Playback via RemoteTalk cable
• RemoteTalk Cable with inline Controls
• LED Fuel Gauge
• Charge via Micro-USB cable

Once you pair these to your smart-TV (if it has Bluetooth?) then the sound comes out of your TV also. If you don't want the TV sound then just turn the TV volume down.


Get an answer from our members and Beats by Dr. Dre representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.