??!
1 photo
Bellamy's Organic Formula Step 1

Bellamy's Organic Formula Step 1

4.1 from 377 reviews

Reviews

(206)
(83)
(42)
(19)
(27)
  • Value for Money
    3.5 (23)
  • Breastfed Child Yes (48%) · No (52%)
  • Easy to PrepareYes (96%) · No (4%)
  • Caused Unease / Sickness Yes (32%) · No (68%)
Nathanial Stengewis

Nathanial StengewisMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Was good but now Chinese sell outs

published

This formula was good for our baby although it didn't help her constipation much. But at $32 a tin and now Chinese owned I wouldnt touch it ever again. There are better more budget friendly brands out there.

Purchased in November 2019 at Woolworths for $32.00.

Value for Money
Breastfed Child No
Easy to PrepareYes
Caused Unease / Sickness No
See all answers
1 comment
Bellamy's Organic
Bellamy's OrganicBellamy's Organic
Imme

ImmeGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 5 reviews

Awful. Organic and full of GOS and nasties

published

makes your kid not poo for ages. Gas never ends. Go for NAN comfort if breastfeeding
Try breastfeeding (yes it's hard at first ) but they will sleep better with melatonin and no sore tummy

Purchased in October 2019 at Woolworths for $38.00.

Value for Money
Breastfed Child Yes
Easy to PrepareYes
Caused Unease / Sickness Yes
See all answers
3 comments
Bellamy's Organic
Bellamy's OrganicBellamy's Organic
Imme
Imme

Im referring to the Bellamy's rep comment on this site stating "GOS is added to regulate stool frequency in newborns" in previous comments 2018 on this site. That causes newborns great discomfort and seems really unhealthy.

Bellamy's Organic
Bellamy's OrganicBellamy's Organic
Fear F.

Fear F.South East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Baby loves it

published

Baby is bright and energetic , thanks Bellamy.it is organic which gives us assurance it is the best for our baby.She is older now but still loves it so she still gets a bottle of it.

Purchased in January 2019 at Woolworths for $30.00.

Value for Money
Breastfed Child No
Easy to PrepareYes
Caused Unease / Sickness No
See all answers
1 comment
Bellamy's Organic
Bellamy's OrganicBellamy's Organic

Thanks for the positive feedback! We are glad to hear your little one enjoys Bellamy's Organic!

Baby Formulas

Find out how Bellamy's Organic Formula Step 1 compares to other Baby Formulas

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Haji

HajiGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 10 reviews

Best formula milk for your loved one

published

Tried it first time for our new addition. He really loves it. There is no colic issue. Another benefit is that it doesn't sticks to the feeders and cleaning them is very easy.

Purchased in December 2019 at Coles for $30.00.

Value for Money
Breastfed Child Yes
Easy to PrepareYes
Caused Unease / Sickness No
See all answers
Jamie

Jamie

  • 5 reviews

Chinese owned no more Australian

published

Other than ongoing supply issues, how can we trust Bellamy's anymore since they sold out to the Chinese. I spoke to a friend who is Chinese and he told me that even Chinese people won't trust Bellamy's after teh takeover by China. There was some signifncant share price manipulation before the take over which needs to be investigated.
Even Chinese people don't trust their chinese company that is why demand is growing towards A2 and other australian brands. Real shame Bellamy sold out their soul to China. China dairy companies are known for manipulating their products for the sake of profits. I will never trust Bellamy's anymore what a shame making the switch to Aussie or Swiss brands if you care for your baby

Purchased in January 2019 for $35.00.

Breastfed Child No
Easy to PrepareNo
Caused Unease / Sickness No
1 comment
Bellamy's Organic
Bellamy's OrganicBellamy's Organic
Swas

SwasGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

I would not recommend anyone this formula

published

For 2 days my baby struggle to open his bowl smell really bad. I feed him only twice and struggle for 2 days bad for new born babies not good.

Purchased in December 2019 at Alliance Pharmancy for $39.00.

Value for Money
Breastfed Child Yes
Easy to PrepareYes
Caused Unease / Sickness Yes
See all answers
1 comment
Bellamy's Organic
Bellamy's OrganicBellamy's Organic
Neil B

Neil BSydney, NSW

Unsafe

published
Breastfed Child Yes
1 comment
Bellamy's Organic
Bellamy's OrganicBellamy's Organic
Rabia Z

Rabia ZMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 48 reviews
  • 1 like

Excellent formula

published

Purchased in May 2019 at Chemist Australia for $29.49.

Value for Money
Breastfed Child No
Easy to PrepareYes
Caused Unease / Sickness No
See all answers
Suhail Anu

Suhail AnuSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 15 reviews

My husband loved hahha

published

We bought for my son.. But he doesn't like bottles... We tried feeding this through other ways but doesn't like formula as well... We now this is used by my husband hhaha and he loves it...

Purchased at Woolworths for $29.00.

Value for Money
Breastfed Child Yes
Easy to PrepareYes
1 comment
Bellamy's Organic
Bellamy's OrganicBellamy's Organic
Baby Formulas

Find out how Bellamy's Organic Formula Step 1 compares to other Baby Formulas

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Lauren

LaurenGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Very disappointed in this company.

published
5 comments
Bellamy's Organic
Bellamy's OrganicBellamy's Organic
Lauren
Lauren
Bellamy's Organic
Bellamy's OrganicBellamy's Organic
Manas R.

Manas R.Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

Old formula good. New formula the worst

published

I bought 3 packs of Bellamy baby formula stage one. One of them was a new formula. I have to admit the old formula (0-6 months) was amazing no issue no problems. But the third I bought from the company was based on new formula0-12 months) it’s the worst. Baby is constipated heavily, irritated, not easy to digest constant spitting and lot of FROTH when you make the formula. I had to stop in the middle and throw it away. Won’t be buying anymore if this is the formula they are going with.

Purchased in August 2019 at Bellamy site for $89.00.

Breastfed Child No
Easy to PrepareYes
Caused Unease / Sickness Yes
3 comments
Bellamy's Organic
Bellamy's OrganicBellamy's Organic
Manas R.
Manas R.

It’s not the 0-6 formula, I purchased from your site and it’s the 0-12 formula which you guys stated on the site as new and improved and that’s the one which is bad.

Bellamy's Organic
Bellamy's OrganicBellamy's Organic
Marco

Marco

  • 2 reviews

Nice formula

published

Easy to prepare. Baby drinks with no problem and no side effects. A bit expensive but overall inline with the other organic formula price. I only have tried this formula so not sure about any other formula

Purchased in June 2019 at Coles for $30.00.

Value for Money
Breastfed Child No
Easy to PrepareYes
Caused Unease / Sickness No
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Nicola W.

Nicola W.Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

Gentle on baby's gut

published

Bubs enjoys drinking this formula, i tried others when i ran out and couldn't get it at Coles & Woolies but she didn't like them. Best way I've found to get your hands on it, is to order online as it's also free delivery and same price as in shops.

Purchased in August 2019 for $30.00.

Value for Money
Breastfed Child Yes
Easy to PrepareYes
Caused Unease / Sickness No
See all answers
1 comment
Bellamy's Organic
Bellamy's OrganicBellamy's Organic

Hi Nicola,
Thanks for your feedback, we're glad you and your bub are enjoying it!
Kind regards,
Bellamy's Organic

CFlowers

CFlowersSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Best formula

published

Fantastic product. Baby thrives on this formula. No side effects. It dissolves well in water (some formulas get quite globby). Also you use less product to make the same quality as other formulas. Good quality.

Purchased at Woolworths Online store for $28.00.

Simply the best!

published

No bad side effect on bub, she loves this formula.
I have done some research on baby formula and the ingredients of Bellamy's is very good, although I do wish it had higher DHA content, but at least they have add it now, as the old formula did not have it. I also love the way the formula powder milky smell, as opposed to some other baby formulas that smell weird.

In addition it is very easy to prepare, I dont even have to shake the bottle, I just need to slightly stir the bottle and the formula disolve beautifully

Purchased in April 2019 at Woolworths Physical store for $30.00.

Value for Money
Breastfed Child Yes
Easy to PrepareYes
Caused Unease / Sickness No
See all answers
1 comment
Bellamy's Organic
Bellamy's OrganicBellamy's Organic
Baby Formulas

Find out how Bellamy's Organic Formula Step 1 compares to other Baby Formulas

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Olive

OliveHunter Region, NSW

  • 4 reviews

Didn’t work well for my reflux bub.

published

Didn’t work well for my reflux bub. I loved the idea of this formula. But my reflux bub would bring up so much of this formula that it became a problem for us to continue. I tried calling Bellamys customer service to ask if there is a Bellamys ‘AR’ reflux formula, but the girl I spoke to was uninterested. Bellamys, please consider making a thicker ‘AR’ formula for reflux bubs!

Purchased in July 2019 for $30.00.

Breastfed Child No
Easy to PrepareYes
1 comment
Bellamy's Organic
Bellamy's OrganicBellamy's Organic
Marnie Smith

Marnie SmithIllawarra, NSW

  • 6 reviews

This was a life saver

published

Nothing agreed with my refluxey baby, but this formula was great, we tried so many and this was amazing. Sometimes found it hard to find in stock, so use to always try and keep a few extra tins at home.

Purchased in April 2018 at Woolworths for $28.00.

Value for Money
Breastfed Child No
Easy to PrepareYes
Caused Unease / Sickness No
See all answers
1 comment
Bellamy's Organic
Bellamy's OrganicBellamy's Organic

Thanks for your feedback!
Kind regards,
Bellamy's Organic

Brenno H.

Brenno H.Illawarra, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Over priced

published

This formula was way over priced, my son was wanting more after every bottle, a non organic baby formula has the same nutritional value for a lesser price and seemed to keep my son more satisfied than buying the over priced Bellamy’s organic formula

Purchased in April 2019 at Woolworths.

Value for Money
Breastfed Child No
Caused Unease / Sickness Yes
Jackie23

Jackie23

  • 6 reviews

My baby is very windy

published

I was recommended this product from a friend so I thought I would try, however ever since the transition to this formula my baby is windy and is very unsettled after every feed. I’ve been reading other comments to find that Bellamy’s Organics have changed their formula. We will be searching for another alternative.

Purchased in June 2019 at Coles for $30.00.

Breastfed Child No
Easy to PrepareYes
Caused Unease / Sickness Yes
1 comment
Bellamy's Organic
Bellamy's OrganicBellamy's Organic
Jess

Jess

  • 2 reviews

Love the formula... however it's so hard to find..

published

I love the formula however have sadly had to switch as over the last 2 months it has Been so hard to find. I live in an inner melb superb where Coles, Woolworths and chemist warehouse are all out of stock. With a baby and a toddler it's so frustrating having to go to multiple places and still not find any. I know ordering online is an option however this is just not practical

Purchased in May 2019 at Chemist Warehouse for $29.00.

Breastfed Child Yes
Easy to PrepareYes
Caused Unease / Sickness No
1 comment
Bellamy's Organic
Bellamy's OrganicBellamy's Organic
Page 1 of 19
See all Bellamy's Organic Formula reviews

Questions & Answers

chenz p.

chenz p.asked

Formula Step 1

Does it give baby gas and also Constipation

2 answers
Imme
Imme

Yes gas, very bad gas. Delays the bowel movement by a day or so then comes all out at once. Soft but very painful for baby to have a full tummy and passing so much wind.

Bellamy's Organic
Bellamy's OrganicBellamy's Organic

Bellamy’s Organic do not manufacture an infant formula specifically for anti-reflux. However, in some circumstances under the strict guidance of a health professional or doctor, you may be able to thicken your baby formula with commercially available thickeners. You may wish to seek further advice from your health professional about this. Reflux in infants can sometimes be due to a poorly coordinated gastrointestinal tract and may still occur regardless of what non-specific infant formula you use. Generally treatment consists of various things including:
Elevating the head of the baby’s crib or bassinet
Holding the baby upright for 30 minutes after feeding
Thicken bottle feedings with cereal (do not do this without a doctor’s supervision)
Change feeding schedules (discuss with the child’s doctor first)
Try solid food (discuss with the child’s doctor first)

Constipation is often misdiagnosed. If you think that your baby is experiencing constipation, you should seek medical advice to rule out anything serious. It is not uncommon for formula fed babies to pass stool less frequently than breast fed infants. Stool can often be a different colour and consistency.
Any changes in diet can cause changes in stool movements; frequency, consistency and colour. In Australia it is a requirement that all formulas are fortified with mineral iron for healthy growth and development of babies. The added iron can cause some stools to be green in colour and may cause some transient constipation, particularly when compared against stools from breastfed babies. Babies go through amazing transitions in digestive function as they grow. Their tummy’s can be affected by all sorts of things including sickness, teething, and different and new foods or drinks being introduced. All in all however, you know your little one best so if you are worried, you should seek advice from your medical practitioner.

Jenny K.

Jenny K.asked

Formula Step 1

Hi there,

my baby just turned 7 months and i m wondering if i can continue to use stage 1 Formula as i have 6 tins left. Or is it necessary to switch to stage 2?

Regards
Jenny

3 answers
Bellamy's Organic
Bellamy's OrganicBellamy's Organic

Hi Jenny,
At 6 months it is recommended that you commence our Step 2 follow on formula as it contains the appropriate quantity of vitamins and minerals that are best suited for a child of this age group. If you do wish to stick to Step 1, we would advise seeking medical advise to see whether this is suitable for your child.
Kind regards,
Bellamy's Organic

Jenny K.
Jenny K.

Good morning, hmmm i read in the previous posts several times, that stage 1 is suitable till 12months.
How come you are recommending me to switch to the follow up formula if previous posts stated its ok to use stage 1 formula till 12months.
I m very confused now.

This is one statement from one of your previous posts :

Both our Infant Formula and Follow-On Formula are nutritionally complete and will provide your baby with all the nutrition required for healthy development until they are about 12 months of age.

Bellamy's Organic
Bellamy's OrganicBellamy's Organic

Good morning Jenny,
My apologies for any confusion. The paragraph you have quoted above is intended to explain that the Formula fed to the corresponding age groups will provide the nutrition required. We still encourage you to transition to Step 2 as the formula has been crafted to suit the nutritional needs of an infant within a defined age group. By continuing on Step 1, your infant may not receive all the required nutrients to support their needs from 6-12 months. It may be suitable for you to use up the Step 1 you have assuming your child is receiving enough nutrients from other sources, we would still encourage you to seek medical advice.

Please see below the advice we provide on how to best transition.
While most babies and toddlers would be expected to experience a smooth transition between the old and new formulations, it’s important to remember that every child reacts differently when changing formulas. Because of the addition of new ingredients to our formula, your baby or toddler may initially experience some digestive changes. Whilst this is completely normal when transitioning to a new food or formula, we recommend that you transition slowly from one formula to the other at around 75% original formula with the addition of 25% new formula and increase the new formula over the course of 1-2 weeks. For a bottle using 4 scoops of formula, this would equate to 3 scoops of original formula and 1 scoop of the new formula. Always ensure that both formulas have the same scoop to water ratio. If you are worried about any persistent symptoms, please seek professional medical advice.
Please let me know if you have any further queries.
Kind Regards,
Jacqui

Misz azmi

Misz azmiasked

Formula Step 1

Hi, I'm from malaysia
The doctor says that my daughter can start solid already and she's 4 months+ now. It's hard to find Bellamy's rice cereal for 4 months. Is it OK if I buy for 6 months ones. What's the difference actually?

1 answer
Bellamy's Organic
Bellamy's OrganicBellamy's Organic

Hi there,

The formulation of ingredients for the 4 month baby rice is more suited for infants of this age group who intend to begin solids. The 6 month baby rices have additional ingredients that are more suited for an older infant. It is advised to start at the 4 month baby rice if your child is less than 6 months to avoid any possible tummy upset when starting solids.

Kind regards,
Bellamy's Organic

Get an answer from our members and Bellamy's Organic representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.