??!
2 photos
Black & Decker Dustbuster Flexi PD1820LF-XE (18V)

Black & Decker Dustbuster Flexi PD1820LF-XE (18V)

MPN: BND-PD1820LF-XE
4.0 from 15 reviews

See the Best Handheld Vacuum Cleaners in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
8
4 star
3
3 star
1
2 star
2
1 star
1

Steve

SteveCoffs Harbour

Great unit

published

Love the longer hose. Powerful and works great. Would suggest getting this one over the 14 volt model. Good suction, last a reasonable time, does all of the jobs I want it to. Easy to empty and useful tools and holder. Got mine from Harvey Norman as they hold the more powerful model.

Date PurchasedFeb 2018

aryan_iust

aryan_iustSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews

Ok for the price

published

Bought this from myer store on ebay on spacial. It has a decent battery life for about 15min continues run. The suction is also Ok for cleaning the floor just in case there is a small mess. The flexible tube should be always removed from its place while using otherwise the strong wind from its fan will push the rubish away from the unit. It is also a bit noisy. Otherwise as I said it is Ok for a short run.

Date PurchasedJun 2017
Grant Stock

Grant StockBrisbane

  • 14 reviews

Fantastic Portable vacuum!

published

Very happy with this nifty little vacuum. It cleans wuickly and efficiently and the battery hold enough charge for a
quick vacuum of our small house. It is little fairly quiet and easy to handle. I wouldn't rely on it for a deep pile rug, but for a quick vacuum around carpeted and tiled areas it is great.

Date PurchasedSep 2016
Pickle

PickleAdelaide, 5155

  • 14 reviews
  • 11 likes
  • Verified purchase

Does not work well at all

published

I looked at a lot of reviews and did my research on dustbuster type vacuums before purchasing this one. I really wanted it to be good and usually rate Black and Decker products. It has a Li-on battery and 18V should be able to do the job. I've had it for a while now and rarely use it as it has almost zero suction. It won't even pull up basic dirt. I spilt 100s and 1000s the other day and it couldn't even suck them up. Filters have been cleaned and changed, but it hasn't helped. Unfortunately, I've probably waited too long to organise a replacement.

Date PurchasedApr 2016

bloomer

bloomerGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 11 reviews
  • 1 like

Very good, but has just developed a fault

published

I've been surprisingly happy with this device. I use it mostly on wooden floors. My mum bought one for herself after trying mine, and she uses it a lot to clean her car.

It sucks fairly well and the floor-extension works remarkably well for what it is, even though the suction from that head feels pretty weak. All of these devices are fairly noisy, but this one is tolerable (better than a Dyson and a simpler Dustbuster I've tried). The flexible hose is very useful. It's a pity the bristles on the main head become so misshapen so quickly.

After 20mths of ownership, the device has stopped charging (there's a fault in the baseplate), so I'm going to have to take it for repair under warranty. Frustrating.

Date PurchasedJul 2015

fanaticcook

fanaticcookMelbourne

  • 28 reviews
  • 18 likes

i love my dustbuster

published

what a performance and thank you product reviews for helping me find this excellent portable vacuum cleaner! it is so light weight, powerful and easy to clean! fantastic that it has a flexible hose, not available in other brands which makes all the difference in getting to hard to reach areas. great for the car too!

Date PurchasedJan 2017

Perfect for travelling

published

Purchased this for our camper as we have limited space. I think the suction is great for our camper, lightweight and easy to use. I haven't had any problems with the door opening. If anything, I have found that it does take a long time to fully recharge but don't see this as a problem as I just leave plugged in overnight.

Date PurchasedAug 2016

Mem

MemAdelaide

  • 8 reviews
  • 10 likes
  • Verified purchase

Dust bowl door release design poor

published

Excellent performance and easy to use however the dust bowl door opens way too easily resulting in spillage and mess. This detracts from an otherwise good product, powerful and efficient. Very disappointed that even the slightest touch or knock opens the flap. Having paid close to $150. had expected better.

Date PurchasedMay 2016
Louie

LouieBrisbane

Good Vacuum but..

published

..they don't sell the filter anywhere. Not a single place. So you have to call and buy it directly from black and decker. I just got off the phone with them (1800 654 155) and they quoted roughly $28 including shipping then reduced the price by $10 when I complained. I still didn't buy it in the end - im gonna throw it the dirty one in the dish washer and see what happens.

Date PurchasedJan 2015
Abbyintransit

AbbyintransitSydney

  • 6 reviews
  • 10 likes

Favourite appliance!

published

I bought this dustbuster to replace my old-school dustbuster. I love using the nozzle to get into difficult places (including the bench top) and it makes vacuuming the car and cleaning up after my 3 year old very easy. In my opinion, the suction is very good, even on carpet. I think the reviews depend to some extent on expectations. I might have been starting with low expectations, just wanting something better than the last dustbuster! This definitely fits the bill, and I've had no issues with it.

1 comment
Black & Decker
Phillippa H.Black & Decker

eyebrella

eyebrellaGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 23 reviews
  • 15 likes
  • Verified purchase

One of my favourite appliances

published

Excellent suction and wonderful for quick cleans of wood floors in the kitchen/dining room, especially after breakfast. All those crumbs! Compact, fast charging and long handle floor attachment is great. You MUST clean the filters regularly for best results but this is a favourite in my house. I have a second one, different model, in the laundry and would not be without it.

1 comment
Black & Decker
Phillippa H.Black & Decker

littlewheel

littlewheelSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 9 reviews
  • 8 likes

Super handy !

published

Bought late last year. Very happy with purchase. Suction is quite strong - far superior to any of the cheaper hand held vacuum cleaners which never lived up to my expectations. Easy to use, light, ergonomically comfortable and looks nice. I use it to vacuum along the skirting boards, windowsills, on my carpeted stairs, the car, small messes anywhere. It is not too noisy but sounds and is powerful. Easy to empty and put back together. It stores easily on a small shelf. Battery charger turns off when battery full - less fear of overheating. The charge seems to last a long time, although I tend to recharge straight after using it for longer times e.g. after doing the stairs. Best thing I bought in ages.

2 comments
Black & Decker
Phillippa H.Black & Decker
littlewheel
littlewheel

adiw

adiwSydney

  • 4 reviews

Mixed Bag Result

published
4 comments
Black & Decker
Phillippa H.Black & Decker
adiw
adiw

Hi, thanks for following up. Much appreciated. I will bring it down to Godfreys asap for inspection.

adiw
adiw

RickO

RickOMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 29 reviews
  • 19 likes

Got the Flexi this time.

published

Mum borrowed the first one I bought and keeps forgetting to return it, so I think I won't ever be getting that back. This time it's the PD1820LF-XE: 2 for the price of one small Dyson. Great for getting into tight spots in the car, around the sides of the seats and the centre console and over head jobs around the house but not as good as the previous one for whizzing over the carpet and large areas. Still the same good sucking power and powerful battery but watch how you put it back in the charging cradle, as it doesn't settle down on the charging contacts as well as the other model because the plastic key adjacent the contacts are not very tall. I leave the flexi hose off to the side while charging - works every time now.

Joey D

Joey DMelbourne

Is it perfection?

published

This little guy is pretty close to perfect. Just seeing it side by side with the Dyson dustbuster had me convinced. Its light weight, far more comfortable to hold, has incredible suction, easy to empty and with the handy 1.5m hose it reaches into everywhere!!
It's not exactly cheap, but it feels very well made so i think it will be a great investment in the long run.
This little guy makes dust busting a breeze. I could not speak more fondly of it...
Powerful, easy to use, compact
Loud


See all Black & Decker Dustbuster Flexi reviews

Questions & Answers

julie

julieasked

I have been using my B&D Dustbuster for about a year now and very happy with it. However, today I could not get the filter compartment open to clean the filter. It seems to have jammed and I don't want to force it too much or it may break. Any suggestions? I have done the obvious i.e. holding down the button and rotating the casing, but it won't budge.

1 answer
Andrew
Andrew

I've had exactly the same problem, several times in fact! I'm on my 3rd unit after 2 replacements from Amazon, but I've owned it over 2 years so they won't replace it anymore. Without being able to clear the filter it effectively becomes useless as it has no suction at all when the filter is full of dust.

However... I've just managed to get mine open. I detached the hose at the end where it attaches to the main unit. There are a couple of tabs that need pushing in to pull the hose out. I completely failed to do this though, so just used a screwdriver to scrape the tabs flat with the rest of the hose tube (easy as it's soft plastic). Once I removed the hose, the filter compartment rotated again and opened easily. I guess something on the hose was sticking inside? Anyway I just cleaned the filter and it works fine again now. The hose comes out fairly easily now having scraped the tabs flat, but it's not falling out while I'm using it. If it becomes a problem in the future I can just tape it back on, so not a biggy and I can remove it easily in the future. I'll hopefully get a few more years out of the dustbuster now.


Steve

Steveasked

How do you disconnect the nozzle from the pipe? I have tried rotating as indicated, but cannot shift it.

1 answer
Stiggy 1
Stiggy 1

There is a small catch which locates in the small dents around the circumference of the nozzle. Press the catch to disengage the nozzle and pull it out.


sten

stenasked

how do you clean the filter? not sure I want to run water into the machine like the instruction manual suggests

1 answer
Black & Decker
Phillippa H.Black & Decker

Hi Sten, thank you for your question.

To clean the filter rotate the bowl around 3 times, remove the filter with the handle and empty the canister. From here, the filter can be washed under running water and reused after it has dried. If you are still having issues, please do contact our Service Centre on 1800 654 155 and we can talk you through it.

Thanks B+D


Get an answer from our members and Black & Decker representatives

Details

CategoryHandheld Vacuum Cleaners
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)
Compare all Black & Decker Dustbuster Flexi

  • MPN: BND-PD1820LF-XE

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.