??!
1 photo
Black Hawk Original Range

Black Hawk Original Range

4.0 from 28 reviews

See the Best Dog Foods in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
18
4 star
2
3 star
1
2 star
5
1 star
2

Rachelle P.

Rachelle P.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Will never buy again

published

My Poodles tried it as per recommendation by one of the sales person from Pet Circle and made them poo everywhere around the house. I mean WET Poop .. I have never tried dry food that made them poop this bad! One also threw up in the middle of the night whilst the other two had a bad diarrhoea. I will just go back to Royal Canin Poodle. I will never buy any Black Hawk brand!

Purchased in December 2019 at Pet Circle for $120.00.

Value for Money
Smell
Pet's Life StagePuppy/Kitten
Side Effects Yes
See all answers

Allie R.

Allie R.Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

Not a good product anymore.

published

My puppy was extremely ill after eating this food, pooing blood and vomiting for nearly three weeks. The vet suspected either giardiasis infection or an intolerance. Treatment for giardiasis did nothing, and after finishing the course she came off of plain boiled chicken and back onto the black hawk and is now ill again. Something has definitely changed with the formula. I also fed my cat their cat version and she was allergic to it.

Purchased in October 2019 at Pet Circle for $105.00.

Value for Money
Smell
Pet's Life StagePuppy/Kitten
Side Effects Yes
See all answers
Eveth C.

Eveth C.Central Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

Bully wouldn't eat it.

published

Ingredients were good for the price but my American bully wouldn't eat it! I have been trying on different brands of kibble and he has been eating well until this one. He has lost weight and inconsistent poos with this brand, particularly the one for large pups. Now I don't know what to do with a 18+kg bag of kibble.

Purchased in October 2019 at Pet Circle.

Value for Money
Pet's Life StagePuppy/Kitten
Side Effects Yes

Poo is soft and smells like hell

published

I have not tried other dog food. But I wonder if other dog foods when pooed is very nasty in smell. Also my dog often have no good consistency in the poo. Common that he gets very soft poo. I dont trust this brand, I feel that it only have good marketing.

Purchased in August 2019 at PetStock Physical store.

Smell
Pet's Life StagePuppy/Kitten
Side Effects Yes

Carrieh

CarriehGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Clean bowl every night!

published

My dog loves this - scoffs it down every night. Just be careful what on the amount you feed the need less than Hill Science diet. I didn’t realise this until we checked after our dog put on weight.

Purchased in September 2019 at Pet barn for $60.00.

Value for Money
Smell
Pet's Life StageAdult
Side Effects No
See all answers

Moving to another brand!

published

Used to use meals for mutts but only changed to black hawk as it was hard to source in western Australia. Since using black hawk my dog's used to like it now they blatantly REFUSE to touch it!? They are both now itchy and have the back end squirts. Never had allergies before nor are they fussy dog's. I raw feed at night but in the morning they get a cup or dry with the raw feed mix.
But even the new puppy is now itchy, won't eat it and has the back end squirts!
Will Not support this brand anymore. Very disappointed to pay so much money for something such poor quality.
What other dog food can I try?

Purchased in January 2019 at PetStock Physical store for $138.00.

Value for Money
Smell
Pet's Life StageAdult
Side Effects Yes
See all answers

Iza Brown

Iza Brown

  • 5 reviews

Top Notch Dry Dog Food

published

After having tried an array of quality dog food, Black Hawk stands out for its health, like and digest, ability. For fussy eaters and those amongst us who want our dogs to get the best meal product, then Black Hawk is the one!

Pet's Life StageAdult
Side Effects No

Stephen

StephenGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 4 reviews

Great product, dogs love it but increasingly more expensive

published

This is one of the few products that will not upset my dogs tummies and is certainly easier than preparing it myself. Would otherwise rank as 5 stars but I have noticed the price steadily increasing across various suppliers in the last 12 to 18months

Purchased in August 2019 at Pet Circle for $103.00.

Value for Money
Pet's Life StageAdult
Side Effects No
Missc

MisscAustralia

  • 3 reviews

Although it’s pricy, best food you can get for your dog.

published

Decided to try Blackhawk as with my previous dog I had him on supercoat - wish I had have tried it sooner! Due to passing of old mate to cancer we got the new puppy and decided to start him straight onto Blackhawk puppy chicken and rice. We mix it thru minced meat twice a day...He loves it!! He is one very healthy, strong pup! Although it’s pricy it is definitely worth it if you buy the large bags, lasts up to 6/7 weeks. Definitely recommend Blackhawk.

Purchased in July 2019.

Value for Money
Pet's Life StagePuppy/Kitten
Side Effects No
Alison T.

Alison T.Mid North Coast, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Black Hawk has everything my dog needs nutritionally ... my dog just loves the Black Hawk.

published

No adverse effects. My little bubble came to me one hell of a farting machine, different brands have not changed this ... advised this is an individual problem due to mixed breeding and it doesn’t matter what my dog is fed ... a minute or two walk in the yard clears any issues. Besides, the nightly fart is outweighed by the nutrition of Black Hawk.

Purchased in October 2017 at PetBarn for $83.00.

Value for Money
Pet's Life StagePuppy/Kitten
Side Effects No

Jac

JacHunter Region, NSW

  • 41 reviews
  • 16 likes

Recommended by a family member who is a vet...but dogs won't touch these!!

published

Purchased on recommendation from our daughter a veterinarian. Sadly the dogs.. a pom and a moodle do not agree with her choice...can't get them to eat this no matter how much I try!!!

Purchased in January 2019 at PetBarn for $34.99.

Value for Money
Smell
Pet's Life StageAdult
Side Effects No
See all answers

No more ear infection for my scotty dog on Blackhawk fish & potato

published

My 8yr old Archie loves Blackhawk fish & potato.
My vet said he’s in excellent health, spent $1000 on ear infections until I took him off all meat products, now just dry kibble, veggies, fruit, tuna & rice. Perfect weight for a scotty even though he loves his food and clean teeth thanks to a whole carrot each day.


2 sick Labradors

published

Thought I would try an Aussie all natural product, dogs loved the smell and the taste,
But after a couple of days I noticed them scratching my female lost a tonne of hair and all her skin was flaking poor girl it was horrible.
My male started eating grass and then vomiting also itching.
After a total of 9 days I took them off the food and back on to their original purina super coat and things are slowly getting back to normal.
So I would not recommend this food I have learnt a lesson if it works don’t change it.


S. Gillam

S. Gillam

  • 2 reviews

My Mini Schnauzerz love it.

published

My dogs love these biscuits. As a dog owner I expect a holistic diet and the Black Hawk range provide wholesome biscuits with all natural ingrediants.

Bigted

Bigted

  • 25 reviews
  • 11 likes

Great food for all dogs. You wont buy better

published

My German Shepherd loves it and is in perfect condition. Beautiful food. I just add a little MSM to complete the deal.

AverageDude

AverageDudeGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 11 reviews
  • 8 likes

Find a better dog food. I'll wait

published

Emzindy

EmzindySYDNEY

EVEN FUSSY DOGS LOVE IT

published

Ariel

ArielMackay

  • 12 reviews

My pups love it

published

For a treat I will give my dogs black hawk it’s great value money and my dogs just love it.


MrKenny

MrKennyCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

  • 17 reviews
  • 29 likes

My veterinary surgeon yelled at me because of the state of my dogs teeth

published

I couldn't get my 2 year old dog to eat any of the other commercial dry foods,so I opted to just feeding her "My dog" canned food,until I took her for her annual check up & the vet noticed a black line on her teeth from Inadequate dental hygiene from not having dry food In her dietary regime.
I mentioned that to the vet that she's a fussy lil' basturd & that she refuses to eat the dry food I offer her.
I heeded the vets feedback though & found Black Hawk dry dog food at my local produce store.
Thankfully my dog loves both the fish & potato & the lamb & rice dry food & nowadays her teeth,body weight & coat all look fantastic


MandaJ

MandaJSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 11 reviews
  • 9 likes

My doggies love it!

published

Currently using the puppy chicken, but next bag they will be on adult food. Both of my spoodles love it and eat it all! They love the size of the kibble compared to other brands we tried when they were younger! Will continue to use :)


Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Craig W.

Craig W.asked

Hi can any tell me why after 5 months of using Black Hawk Large Puppy Dry Food my Bull Arab puppy is getting extra soft to watery poo we take him of the dry food put him on Turkey and rice his stool go back to normal .Return Black hawk food into his diet slowly and as soon as he is on just the dry food he get runny poo.Hre has been on the same food from day dot thganks

1 answer
Marita B.
Marita B.

When we got our puppy the breeder had her on BlackHawk puppy and we continued with it but she started to go off it and got bad diarrhoea and scratching quite a lot. We switched to Performadog on vet recommendation. Started with 10% new food as well as boiled rice and small amount of old food and within two days having normal poos again and she is finishing all her food. Now feeding straight Performadog and she is much happier. Also only need half the quantity compared to BlackHawk and its an Aussie company & locally made.


Baylee

Bayleeasked

My 4 month old lab has been on black hawk puppy and has developed bad diarrhoea that just wont quit.. have had her back at the vet twice and when we stop feeding the black hawk puppy dry food it clears up so must be the food. Has anyone else had tgis problem?

2 answers
Marija
Marija

Hi,
Same here. Our 4-month-old lab has a very upset tummy when he eats Black Hawk. We were advised by the breeder to go for it but poor puppy has been twice to see a vet and it is was prescribed with special food that soothes his tummy.
Tried to put him back to Black Hawk and the problem comes back again. He is still on a special type of food and we are now thinking which one to use instead of Black Hawk. Any advice?

Baylee
Baylee

Hi
We have been using Royal Canin Hypoallergenic and the tummy problems have totally gone. We are going to try the blackhawk again after a full month on the RC and first sight of diarrohea returning it is going in the bin. I am going to try RC for labradors as my 2nd choice if the Blackhawk is a no.good. I am only trying it again as i have a $100 bag sitting there to use. RC have a guarantee to refund if food isn't suitable.
We were using chicken flavour and vet did say that puppies can be allergic to chicken due to the amount of hormones added to it these days.but the can grow out of it..
Good luck as we know there is nothing worse than a puppy with diarrhoea especially if you are house training.


Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.