?
? !
18 photos
BMW 1 Series

BMW 1 Series (page 2 of 3)

E81, E82, E87, etc...
4.3 from 46 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.9 (8)
  • Value for Money
    4.3 (8)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.7 (7)
  • Noise Level
    4.0 (7)
  • Braking
    4.4 (7)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.6 (7)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.6 (7)
  • Suspension
    4.6 (7)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.3 (8)
  • Handling
    4.6 (8)
  • Interior Design
    4.8 (8)
  • Boot Size
    4.1 (8)
  • Comfort
    4.4 (8)
  • Features
    4.5 (8)
Previous
Next
Anna G

Anna GPerth

  • 4 reviews

Love this car

published

It has the best navigation system I have ever used in a car. It has all the functionality that a new car has - the automatic features like lights, windows, windscreens, voice control, electric seats, sensors and rear cameras. Would not go to another car brand since hopping on the BMW wagon.

BodyHatch
Badge118i
LineSport
Engine Size1.6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
David Perth

David PerthPerth, WA

  • 9 reviews
  • 2 likes

A ripper

published

The 125i has about 160kw and handles like a go kart. Great fun to drive and can be pushed Sadly RWD is being replaced with FWD and I don't think they will be the same. Leather interior is well finished, outside trim is a step up from the 120i and looks really smart. The car is a pleasure to drive short and longer distances. Road and wind noise well within reasonable limits. Suspension handles the car will.
The not so good..nothing! We really enjoy the car. It's fun, looks great, and is well put together (so far anyway).

BodyHatch
Badge125i
LineM Sport
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSept 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Simon66

Simon66Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 11 reviews
  • 16 likes

Great handling, otherwise rubbish. Dont buy the hype about German Engineering...get a Toyota or Mazd

published
BodyHatch
Badge120i
Line(No Line)
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMay 2015
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Cars

Find out how BMW 1 Series compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Nick

NickNewcastle

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

An exceptionally accomplished car. Best in class.

published
BodyHatch
Badge116i
LineSport
Engine Size1.6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2015
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Charlie66

Charlie66Perth, Western Australia

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

The perfect small, "family" sports car

published
BodyCoupe
Badge135i
LineM Sport
Engine Size3.0
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMar 2015
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Kia Alinejad

Kia AlinejadSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Worst car ever!!!

published
BodyHatch
Badge120i
LineSport
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2007
Engine Size2.0
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Andypoo

AndypooLane cove

  • 34 reviews
  • 19 likes

Flawed

published

Great N55 3 litre six in a bad chassis that creaks and moans, very patchy build quality, very un-cohesive to drive, DCT twin clutch is horrid, it's a very heavy and complex system and it clunked on downshifts, BMW have lost their way on this one, current products aren't much better.

BodyCoupe
Badge135i
LineM Performance
TransmissionDCT 7 speed
Date PurchasedJune 2013
Engine Size3.0
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Rich

Rich

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

125i M Sport 5 Door Hatch - Brilliant to drive

published
BodyHatch
Badge125i
LineM Sport
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size3.0
Date PurchasedMay 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Martin

MartinSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Very good car for one or two people

published

Handles exceptionally well - I test drove the a-class and the A3 before deciding on the 1 series. A3 had better interior but the front wheel drive skidded out during the wet and didn't feel as planted or safe on the roads. A-class felt cramped and the interior was a bit crap. 1 series felt much safer in the same conditions (tested back to back) and cornered a lot better. Standard equipment is poor against rivals, must be heavily optioned to get a decent level of spec. Residual value takes a hard hit because of this. Back seat is really only for short journeys with the poor leg room and tiny windows. Servicing costs are average. Seems to get a lot of brake dust. Styling is kinda ugly.

BodyHatch
Badge118i
LineSport Line
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size2.0
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Cars

Find out how BMW 1 Series compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Steve K

Steve KMelbourne

  • 15 reviews
  • 14 likes

My perfect car

published

I had 9 cars in my life and I feel this car fits me perfectly . A great 3 litre 6 cylinder car for a single, good grunt and power. Very sturdy sporty look without the over show off looks of other try hard attention seekers
Pick up is true to the point 6.8 seconds to 100 kmh,high torque sounds and feels great . Nifty ,not overbearing , yet plenty of room at the back for 2 adults , and surprisingly large booth
Sticks well to the road and smooth handling ,
regardless of how wet the road is .Petrol consumption fantastic 10.3 km per 1 litre premium.
Paint work is excellent, still new after 4 years .
They don't make the same shape anymore , just the hatchback look which spoils the good name of the originals 125i coupe .how silly of BMW

BodyCoupe
Badge125i
LineM Sport
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size3.0
Date PurchasedDec 2015
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Manny

Manny

  • 3 reviews
  • 5 likes

annoyed

published
BodyHatch
Badge120i
Line(No Line)
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size2.0
Date PurchasedNov 2014
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Luv it

published

Best handling ever for such amount of money. Very economy and cheap spare parts. You need a runway to enjoy it, only thing to have don't start race everyone as it will attract u to. Just need to have w speed tyres to be in safe
God bless
BMW ALWAYS

BodyHatch
Badge116i
LineM Sport
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size1.6
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
John

JohnRichmond-Tweed, NSW

  • 10 reviews
  • 10 likes

Very good for some

published
Incentivised ReviewNo
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Get one now!

published
BodyHatch
BadgeM135i
Line(No Line)
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size3.0
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
AM

AMCentral Coast, New South Wales

  • 5 reviews
  • 5 likes

M135i - Best car I have driven

published
BodyHatch
BadgeM135i
LineM Sport
TransmissionManual
Engine Size3.0
Date PurchasedMar 2014
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Cars

Find out how BMW 1 Series compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Jeff

JeffPerth

  • 6 reviews
  • 5 likes

Best Car I have ever driven

published

The BMW series 1 M had a very short production run 2011 to 2012 and around 4,000 or so were produced with Australia being allocated around 200 cars only.
I absolutely LOVE this vehicle, as they are not making any more I would definitely recommend you pick up a well looked after/ low mileage second hand one, The car looks amazing without being over the top and the Performance is exceptional.
A lot of car for the money, handling of the road is the best I have experienced for any car by far.
The GPS navigation system takes a while to load when first turning the thing on.

Engine Size3.0
TransmissionManual
BodyCoupe
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Zaks

ZaksGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 12 reviews
  • 29 likes

F20 116i good prestige car but with flaws

published

I enjoyed the first 500 kms until the issues surfaced: rattles, AC noise, creaks all round when driving over uneven roads. Requires premium 98 for optimal performance otherwise lags. Poor standard equipment: no PDC, no auto lights nor climate control - all cost extra. Fuel economy is average 8 litres/100 km on 95 RON. Still waiting for first service to have my complaints fixed. Otherwise comfort is great and no fatigue or backaches in the drivers seat. The automatic has four modes to select from: eco, comfort, sport and manual.
Atypical look, comfortable seats, great auto transmission, long service intervals.
Very little standard features, some noise inside cabin, requires 98 octane petrol.

Engine Size1.6
TransmissionAutomatic
Badge116i
BodyHatch
LineSport Line
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Counter

CounterAU

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Grips the Corners

published

I can't really fault the current model (from late 2011). With just 100kw the base model shouldn't perform as well as it does but a flat torque curve and great transmission deliver the goods. Economy is very good for the performance and considering this is a real BMW with RWD.
Brilliant handling, performance, sufficient space and functionality.
Needs better speakers and iPod connectivity on the base model. Run flats instead of a spare.

Engine Size1.6
Badge116i
BodyHatch
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
justice14

justice14AU

  • 2 reviews
  • 7 likes

Ok for city living

published

We have had this car for 3 years now and don't really like it, but it does the job. You feel all the bumps in the road with this car. It's a bit pokey (the Hyundai which looks like it is much more roomier). Every time some red warning light is flashing in the car that is another $1000-$2000 we got to pay to get it fixed!! Not cheap. We appreciate the car much more when we can squeeze into a tight car spot!
Small, strong car (in accidents), easy to park
Hard suspension, expensive servicing

Engine Size2.0
BodyHatch
Badge118i
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Stephanie C

Stephanie CSydney

  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes

Lovely car!

published

I owned a BMW Series 118d Sports hatch when I lived in Europe and loved it. It's a really great car, which makes you enjoy driving to work. The start-stop system works great, and will automatically switch off the engine when you're in traffic. As soon as you touch the clutch the engine turns on automatically again. Really regret I didn't ship this car over when we moved to Australia, as they are way too expensive here!! :-(

Some options I really enjoyed:
- sunroof
- cruise control
- cupholders :-) (yes, this is an option for BMW!)

Too expensive in Australia!!

BodyHatch
Badge118d
LineSport
Engine Size2.0
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Page 2 of 3
See all BMW 1 Series reviews

Questions & Answers

Dee

Deeasked

1 Series

Hi my 2005 120i with 140k on clock has started to blow blue smoke on acceleration once car is warm. Car has been regularly serviced and does not seem to be using oil. Any ideas?

1 answer
Max
Max

Sorry Dee, I'm not an expert but if it's blowing smoke it usually Indicates some cylinder wear but my understanding it is usually associated with oil usage as well...have a mechanic look at it before it gets worse.

Rod

Rodasked

1 Series

We have a 120i 2009 m sport (purchased new). The drivers side seat heater has stopped working. I pulled out seat and dismantled, but the pad looks fine and buzzes out (back and seat) on an ohm meter. Replaced, but led's turn on then go off after about 6 or 7 seconds. Swapped connector block from passenger side (which works), but same issue. Checked and only #3 and 10 fuses are in the fuse box. According to the fuse chart the others, (45/46 & 68) are missing and I have never taken them out. Would just 3 and 10 be enough to power up both seats? or should I put in relevant fuses to locations indicated on fuse chart?

1 answer
Max
Max

Sorry Rod, mine never had seat warmers and I not much on electrical

Andy

Andyasked

1 Series

Does anyone know if the 56 plate bmw 1 series 2.0l msport is the N47 or M57 engine ?

No answers
See all BMW 1 Series questions

Get an answer from our members

BMW 1 Series

Details

Compare all 15 BMW 1 Series
CategoryCars and HatchbacksCars and HatchbacksCars and HatchbacksCars and Hatchbacks
Starting Price $42,990$63,990$39,000
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT)Semi-AutomaticAutomatic and Manual
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)All Wheel Drive (AWD)Rear Wheel Drive (RWD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolDiesel and Petrol
Wheels18" Alloy19" Alloy16" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars4 Stars
Fuel Consumption5.9 L/100km7.5 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 50 L50 L
Engine3 Cylinder 1.5L4 Cylinder 2L
Max Power103kW @ 4200-6500rpm225kW @ 4500-6250rpm
Max Torque220Nm @ 1480-4600rpm450Nm @ 1750-5000
Country of ManufactureGermanyGermany
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)3 year(s)
Release dateSept 2019Sept 2019May 2008Oct 2004
Discontinuation dateAug 2013Sept 2011
Compare all 15 BMW 1 Series

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.