??!
24 photos
BMW 1 Series

BMW 1 Series (page 2 of 3)

E81, F20, E82, etc...
4.3 from 42 reviews

See the Best Cars in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

(27)
(8)
(3)
(2)
(2)
  • Incentivised Review Yes (0%) · No (100%)
  • Build Quality
    4.8 (4)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.7 (3)
  • Value for Money
    4.8 (4)
  • Noise Level
    3.8 (4)

Charlie66

Charlie66Perth, Western Australia

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

The perfect small, "family" sports car

published
BodyCoupe
Badge135i
LineM Sport
Engine Size3.0
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMar 2015

Worst car ever!!!

published
BodyHatch
Badge120i
LineSport
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2007
Engine Size2.0

Andypoo

AndypooLane cove

  • 27 reviews

Flawed

published

Great N55 3 litre six in a bad chassis that creaks and moans, very patchy build quality, very un-cohesive to drive, DCT twin clutch is horrid, it's a very heavy and complex system and it clunked on downshifts, BMW have lost their way on this one, current products aren't much better.

BodyCoupe
Badge135i
LineM Performance
TransmissionDCT 7 speed
Date PurchasedJun 2013
Engine Size3.0
Rich

Rich

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

125i M Sport 5 Door Hatch - Brilliant to drive

published
BodyHatch
Badge125i
LineM Sport
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size3.0
Date PurchasedMay 2016

Martin

Martin

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Very good car for one or two people

published

Handles exceptionally well - I test drove the a-class and the A3 before deciding on the 1 series. A3 had better interior but the front wheel drive skidded out during the wet and didn't feel as planted or safe on the roads. A-class felt cramped and the interior was a bit crap. 1 series felt much safer in the same conditions (tested back to back) and cornered a lot better. Standard equipment is poor against rivals, must be heavily optioned to get a decent level of spec. Residual value takes a hard hit because of this. Back seat is really only for short journeys with the poor leg room and tiny windows. Servicing costs are average. Seems to get a lot of brake dust. Styling is kinda ugly.

BodyHatch
Badge118i
LineSport Line
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size2.0

Steve K

Steve KMelbourne

  • 12 reviews

My perfect car

published

I had 9 cars in my life and I feel this car fits me perfectly . A great 3 litre 6 cylinder car for a single, good grunt and power. Very sturdy sporty look without the over show off looks of other try hard attention seekers
Pick up is true to the point 6.8 seconds to 100 kmh,high torque sounds and feels great . Nifty ,not overbearing , yet plenty of room at the back for 2 adults , and surprisingly large booth
Sticks well to the road and smooth handling ,
regardless of how wet the road is .Petrol consumption fantastic 10.3 km per 1 litre premium.
Paint work is excellent, still new after 4 years .
They don't make the same shape anymore , just the hatchback look which spoils the good name of the originals 125i coupe .how silly of BMW

BodyCoupe
Badge125i
LineM Sport
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size3.0
Date PurchasedDec 2015

Manny

Manny

  • 3 reviews
  • 5 likes

annoyed

published
BodyHatch
Badge120i
Line(No Line)
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size2.0
Date PurchasedNov 2014

Luv it

published

Best handling ever for such amount of money. Very economy and cheap spare parts. You need a runway to enjoy it, only thing to have don't start race everyone as it will attract u to. Just need to have w speed tyres to be in safe
God bless
BMW ALWAYS

BodyHatch
Badge116i
LineM Sport
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size1.6

John

John

  • 9 reviews

Very good for some

published
BodyHatch
Badge116i
LineUrban Line
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedSep 2011
Engine Size1.6

Get one now!

published
BodyHatch
BadgeM135i
Line(No Line)
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size3.0

AM

AMCentral Coast, New South Wales

  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes

M135i - Best car I have driven

published
BodyHatch
BadgeM135i
LineM Sport
TransmissionManual
Engine Size3.0
Date PurchasedMar 2014

Jeff

JeffPerth

  • 6 reviews

Best Car I have ever driven

published

The BMW series 1 M had a very short production run 2011 to 2012 and around 4,000 or so were produced with Australia being allocated around 200 cars only.
I absolutely LOVE this vehicle, as they are not making any more I would definitely recommend you pick up a well looked after/ low mileage second hand one, The car looks amazing without being over the top and the Performance is exceptional.
A lot of car for the money, handling of the road is the best I have experienced for any car by far.
The GPS navigation system takes a while to load when first turning the thing on.

Engine Size3.0
TransmissionManual
BodyCoupe

Zaks

ZaksGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 11 reviews
  • 27 likes

F20 116i good prestige car but with flaws

published

I enjoyed the first 500 kms until the issues surfaced: rattles, AC noise, creaks all round when driving over uneven roads. Requires premium 98 for optimal performance otherwise lags. Poor standard equipment: no PDC, no auto lights nor climate control - all cost extra. Fuel economy is average 8 litres/100 km on 95 RON. Still waiting for first service to have my complaints fixed. Otherwise comfort is great and no fatigue or backaches in the drivers seat. The automatic has four modes to select from: eco, comfort, sport and manual.
Atypical look, comfortable seats, great auto transmission, long service intervals.
Very little standard features, some noise inside cabin, requires 98 octane petrol.

Engine Size1.6
TransmissionAutomatic
Badge116i
BodyHatch
LineSport Line

Counter

CounterAU

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Grips the Corners

published

I can't really fault the current model (from late 2011). With just 100kw the base model shouldn't perform as well as it does but a flat torque curve and great transmission deliver the goods. Economy is very good for the performance and considering this is a real BMW with RWD.
Brilliant handling, performance, sufficient space and functionality.
Needs better speakers and iPod connectivity on the base model. Run flats instead of a spare.

Engine Size1.6
Badge116i
BodyHatch

justice14

justice14AU

  • 2 reviews
  • 7 likes

Ok for city living

published

We have had this car for 3 years now and don't really like it, but it does the job. You feel all the bumps in the road with this car. It's a bit pokey (the Hyundai which looks like it is much more roomier). Every time some red warning light is flashing in the car that is another $1000-$2000 we got to pay to get it fixed!! Not cheap. We appreciate the car much more when we can squeeze into a tight car spot!
Small, strong car (in accidents), easy to park
Hard suspension, expensive servicing

Engine Size2.0
BodyHatch
Badge118i
Stephanie C

Stephanie CSydney

  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes

Lovely car!

published

I owned a BMW Series 118d Sports hatch when I lived in Europe and loved it. It's a really great car, which makes you enjoy driving to work. The start-stop system works great, and will automatically switch off the engine when you're in traffic. As soon as you touch the clutch the engine turns on automatically again. Really regret I didn't ship this car over when we moved to Australia, as they are way too expensive here!! :-(

Some options I really enjoyed:
- sunroof
- cruise control
- cupholders :-) (yes, this is an option for BMW!)

Too expensive in Australia!!

BodyHatch
Badge118d
LineSport
Engine Size2.0

Terrible

published

Shocking value, poorly put together. Service costs are high - $160 for windscreen wiper blades as an example. Dealers don't care as they are more interested in the top end of town. Buy an AUDI or the like.
The concept of a BMW in a hatch. Bluetooth, etc.
Overpriced with poor resale value. The reliability is shocking. For the first 6 months BMW had the car for longer than I did - windscreen leaks, window issues, road noise.

BodyHatch

Paskis

PaskisSydney, NSW

  • 11 reviews
  • 8 likes

Excellent

published
BodyCoupe
Badge125i
Engine Size3.0
1 comment
Paskis
Paskis

Update: run flat tyres have gotten cheaper and can now be patched!


leahcim_01

leahcim_01South East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews

Excellent

published

Had 2005 model for over a year, no problems. The servicing I have had has not been near as expensive as I expected (though I didn't go to a BMW dealership). Not very powerful in automatic but is more than adequate for your every day driving. Nice and quiet on the highway.
Nice, quiet and refined. Excellent handling.
Ride is a little firm on some crappy roads but that is a trade off with the good handling.

BodyHatch
TransmissionAutomatic

Good

published

Excellent. Have had mine for six months now, very reliable, great fuel consumption, looks great, has a great ride. Got it through broker for $5k less than caryards so shop around to get a good deal. BMW for entry-level price and low kms is difficult to find, the BMW 1 series offers this. Fun to drive!
Full leather interior, electric sunroof, great turning circle, acceleration, looks
Windscreen breaks if you let the windscreen wiper drop onto the screen, 2nd cup holder covered by arm rest

BodyHatch

Page 2 of 3

See all BMW 1 Series reviews

Questions & Answers

Andy

Andyasked

Does anyone know if the 56 plate bmw 1 series 2.0l msport is the N47 or M57 engine ?

No answers

Michael C.

Michael C.asked

Hi fellow BMW drivers, I have a 2008 120i 5dr hatch and it has only done 71,000km. I have had it for a year now and recently I noticed it has a blue-ish smoke from the exhaust upon take off only. Do you know what this could be? I'm really concerned as it has low km's. I love the car and am very happy with it. Thanks, Michael.

2 answers
Karen Shep
Karen Shep

No I don't have that??? Do you get it serviced with BMW? Karen

Simon66
Simon66

I have an 2005 e87 120i with 140k on the clock. Just started blowing smoke in a big way after sitting at traffic lights for a bit. That's usually Valve Stem seals. PCV valve is another potential failure point. Google 120i problems you'll be horrified with the problems these things have. Seriously these things are rubbish, had to replace my differential at 85k. It leaks oil from the sump gasket, from the o rings on the solenoids in the front of the head, and water from the back of the engine. They're a fantastic thing to drive...but like most Bimmers once out of warranty they're a disaster.


natural

naturalasked

I'm considering a 2006 model 130i but am concerned about some road tests suggesting the ride is really harsh. I don't know whether this depends on the car having the M sport suspension package (can you get a 130i without that?) but not so long ago I sold a 325ti simply because the ride was uncomfortable (and it did have M sport suspension). Anyone care to offer an opinion on ride quality?

4 answers
Rich
Rich

We bought a 325i in 2007 and the suspension was standard with run on flats - terribly crashy initially. Eventually the run on flats improved and now the ride in the 325i is excellent.
I was worried with the 125i with sports suspension combined with run on flats would be harsh too, but not so - really firm but supple too.
Would suggest the tyres are key.

Steve K
Steve K

Hi Natural most sports suspension have a harder ride softer rides usually confined to normal luxury models . if u like soft rides best to go Japanese or the larger BMW merecedes models .You can get the 130i standard non sports model but then you sacrifice handling and the ride is no different from a equivalent Japanese Honda .Hope this helps

Rich
Rich

The run on flats we now have on our 2007 325i are Continentals. They are provide a much better ride quality than the original tyres. On the new 125i we have Pirelli run on flats - also provide a good ride quality.


Get an answer from our members and BMW representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.