?
? !
18 photos
BMW 1 Series

BMW 1 Series

E81, E82, E87, etc...
4.3 from 46 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.7 (3)
  • Value for Money
    4.7 (3)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.5 (2)
  • Noise Level
    4.0 (3)
  • Braking
    4.0 (3)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.0 (3)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.3 (3)
  • Suspension
    4.3 (3)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.0 (3)
  • Handling
    4.7 (3)
  • Interior Design
    4.3 (3)
  • Boot Size
    3.7 (3)
  • Comfort
    4.3 (3)
  • Features
    4.0 (3)
Previous
Next
Dina

DinaGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 10 reviews

I love this car

published

Bought this car I'm.so in love with it it's very lux and very reliable car my kids love it too I service this car every km that is required never had any issues with this car when I had taken to the service

Purchased in January 2019 for $34,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
SKT

SKTGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews

BMW 118i a fun car to drive

published

Purchased in July 2018 at BMW Dealers for $43,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Jim C

Jim CGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 5 reviews
  • 7 likes

Accomplished entry level compact driver's car

published

Purchased in January 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Cars

Find out how BMW 1 Series compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Flizzby

FlizzbyCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

  • 2 reviews

I am going to love my partners new BMW

published

Great car runs well like handling on road like luxurious, interior car is being serviced so only had a short drive so far. It is my partners car and is at the mechanics as I mentioned Black very smart and easy to park I have not yet had a highway drive at 100kph but my partner has and it ran beautifully.

BodyHatch
Badge116d
Lineunknown
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Martin

MartinSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Very good car for one or two people

published

Handles exceptionally well - I test drove the a-class and the A3 before deciding on the 1 series. A3 had better interior but the front wheel drive skidded out during the wet and didn't feel as planted or safe on the roads. A-class felt cramped and the interior was a bit crap. 1 series felt much safer in the same conditions (tested back to back) and cornered a lot better. Standard equipment is poor against rivals, must be heavily optioned to get a decent level of spec. Residual value takes a hard hit because of this. Back seat is really only for short journeys with the poor leg room and tiny windows. Servicing costs are average. Seems to get a lot of brake dust. Styling is kinda ugly.

BodyHatch
Badge118i
LineSport Line
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size2.0
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
John

JohnRichmond-Tweed, NSW

  • 10 reviews
  • 10 likes

Very good for some

published
Incentivised ReviewNo
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Zaks

ZaksGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 12 reviews
  • 29 likes

F20 116i good prestige car but with flaws

published

I enjoyed the first 500 kms until the issues surfaced: rattles, AC noise, creaks all round when driving over uneven roads. Requires premium 98 for optimal performance otherwise lags. Poor standard equipment: no PDC, no auto lights nor climate control - all cost extra. Fuel economy is average 8 litres/100 km on 95 RON. Still waiting for first service to have my complaints fixed. Otherwise comfort is great and no fatigue or backaches in the drivers seat. The automatic has four modes to select from: eco, comfort, sport and manual.
Atypical look, comfortable seats, great auto transmission, long service intervals.
Very little standard features, some noise inside cabin, requires 98 octane petrol.

Engine Size1.6
TransmissionAutomatic
Badge116i
BodyHatch
LineSport Line
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Good

published

Excellent. Have had mine for six months now, very reliable, great fuel consumption, looks great, has a great ride. Got it through broker for $5k less than caryards so shop around to get a good deal. BMW for entry-level price and low kms is difficult to find, the BMW 1 series offers this. Fun to drive!
Full leather interior, electric sunroof, great turning circle, acceleration, looks
Windscreen breaks if you let the windscreen wiper drop onto the screen, 2nd cup holder covered by arm rest

BodyHatch
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
See all BMW 1 Series reviews

Questions & Answers

Dee

Deeasked

1 Series

Hi my 2005 120i with 140k on clock has started to blow blue smoke on acceleration once car is warm. Car has been regularly serviced and does not seem to be using oil. Any ideas?

1 answer
Max
Max

Sorry Dee, I'm not an expert but if it's blowing smoke it usually Indicates some cylinder wear but my understanding it is usually associated with oil usage as well...have a mechanic look at it before it gets worse.

Rod

Rodasked

1 Series

We have a 120i 2009 m sport (purchased new). The drivers side seat heater has stopped working. I pulled out seat and dismantled, but the pad looks fine and buzzes out (back and seat) on an ohm meter. Replaced, but led's turn on then go off after about 6 or 7 seconds. Swapped connector block from passenger side (which works), but same issue. Checked and only #3 and 10 fuses are in the fuse box. According to the fuse chart the others, (45/46 & 68) are missing and I have never taken them out. Would just 3 and 10 be enough to power up both seats? or should I put in relevant fuses to locations indicated on fuse chart?

1 answer
Max
Max

Sorry Rod, mine never had seat warmers and I not much on electrical

Andy

Andyasked

1 Series

Does anyone know if the 56 plate bmw 1 series 2.0l msport is the N47 or M57 engine ?

No answers
See all BMW 1 Series questions

Get an answer from our members

BMW 1 Series

Details

Compare all 15 BMW 1 Series
CategoryCars and HatchbacksCars and HatchbacksCars and HatchbacksCars and Hatchbacks
Starting Price $42,990$63,990$39,000
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT)Semi-AutomaticAutomatic and Manual
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)All Wheel Drive (AWD)Rear Wheel Drive (RWD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolDiesel and Petrol
Wheels18" Alloy19" Alloy16" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars4 Stars
Fuel Consumption5.9 L/100km7.5 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 50 L50 L
Engine3 Cylinder 1.5L4 Cylinder 2L
Max Power103kW @ 4200-6500rpm225kW @ 4500-6250rpm
Max Torque220Nm @ 1480-4600rpm450Nm @ 1750-5000
Country of ManufactureGermanyGermany
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)3 year(s)
Release dateSept 2019Sept 2019May 2008Oct 2004
Discontinuation dateAug 2013Sept 2011
Compare all 15 BMW 1 Series

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.