?
? !
18 photos
BMW 1 Series

BMW 1 Series

E81, E82, E87, etc...
4.3 from 46 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    5.0 (4)
  • Value for Money
    4.3 (4)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    5.0 (4)
  • Noise Level
    3.7 (3)
  • Braking
    4.7 (3)
  • Acceleration / Power
    5.0 (3)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.7 (3)
  • Suspension
    4.7 (3)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.5 (4)
  • Handling
    4.5 (4)
  • Interior Design
    5.0 (4)
  • Boot Size
    4.5 (4)
  • Comfort
    4.8 (4)
  • Features
    5.0 (4)
Previous
Next
Rebelmonkey1

Rebelmonkey1

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

The complete package

published

Purchased in March 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
From A.

From A.Perth, WA

  • 5 reviews

A Perfect Hatch That Is Deservant Of The Motto, The Ultimate Driving Machine

published

Purchased in November 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Craig J

Craig JSutherland

  • 10 reviews
  • 2 likes

Brilliant little hatch!

published

Purchased in September 2016 for $59,400.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Cars

Find out how BMW 1 Series compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
E M.

E M.

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Best Car Ever

published

Bought my car new in 2017 and I love it! I have never had anything go wrong apart from a nail in my tyre which was easily fixed in 10 minutes and with the run flat tyres i was able to safely drive to the dealership and get it fixed. The car handles amazingly and people don't expect it to be as quick as it is pulling off the lights. I would always recommend someone to pick a 1 Series over an A3 or A class.

Purchased in July 2017 at BMW Dealers.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Andrew

AndrewMelbourne

  • 7 reviews
  • 4 likes

M140i LCI

published
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Matt

MattAU

  • 7 reviews
  • 7 likes

Excellent car - very reliable

published

Excellent car. Very reliable and economical, It has plenty of torque and smooth ride for long trips. Rear leg room is a bit tight. My car has been driven over 180K and I had to clean the intake manifold and replace the DPF. Use after market as BMW charges $3 to 4K for a replacement. Ali Express and eBay has many vendors of people selling DPF's. I have had the car regularly serviced and it has been very reliable. City economy is around 6.5 to 7.5 L/100.
Highway at 110 kmh is around 5.2 to 5.6 L/100 depending on road surface, winds and rain.

BodyHatch
Badge123d
Line(No Line)
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedDec 2010
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Pavel

PavelSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Best car!

published
BodyHatch
Badge125i
LineSport Line
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2014
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
miac28

miac28Sydney

  • 4 reviews

Excellent car, has it all, very comfortable with great headroom

published

Love this car, it has great power, comfort, handling and safety. It's also got a great navigation system with voice control. Can't fault this car at all to be honest. It also seems to have more headroom than other vehicles and is a pleasure to go on holiday trips with.

BodyHatch
Badge118d
Line(No Line)
Engine Size1.6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2015
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Georgina

GeorginaPERTH

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Love this car

published

Always been a fan of European vehicles, so glad I purchased this car. It is very reliable, and is super fuel efficient. I used to have a petrol Fiesta and I spent $70 a week on fuel, now I only spend $70 a fortnight!!! Very spacious in the back for a hatchback so it is fine with the kids. Has never given me any issues, and is really zippy and quick off the mark. Love it!!

BodyHatch
Badge120d
LineM Sport
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Cars

Find out how BMW 1 Series compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
EmD

EmDPerth

  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes

Awesome driving experience

published

If you want a rear wheel small hatchback with plenty of refinement, comfort, safety then consider a BMW 1 series. I had a 2005 120i and it was economical, reliable and incredibly enjoyable to drive. The rear wheel drive enhanced the feel of stability on the road. Servicing cost were within normal limits for car the same age. A very fun,stylish and refined driving experience

BodyHatch
Badge120i
LineSport
Engine Size1.6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Karen Shep

Karen ShepSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great little city car and gentle on the petrol...A+

published

Driving experience is great with flat run tyres and iDrive. Mine is a diesel so a bit more grunt.
Queenslanders BEWARE when I bought mine from Townsville BMW (sent to Brisbane) I asked 15 times is it a 2015 on the compliance plates - yes its a 2015.
They paid the first years rego so the following year when I got the rego car is 2014! They can lie in Queensland as the model is 'considered a 2015' because that's when it arrived in Australia. No other state in Australia can a dealer get away with it.

Took the shine of the car but I still love it.

BodyHatch
Badge118d
LineM Sport
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2015
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
dogbert

dogbertWestern Australia, 6110

  • 20 reviews
  • 21 likes

Ultimate driving machine, it is!

published
BodyHatch
Badge118i
LineUrban Line
Engine Size1.5L
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Fran K

Fran KPerth

  • 8 reviews
  • 1 like

BMW Series 1 with extras

published

No other car in the same price range can compare to the handling of a BMW. I love the interior as I have the upgraded interior beige leather seats and the wooden trim, heated seats and sunroof - feels luxury, comfortable and definitely worth the money. The running costs are cheap! The car is very economical in terms of petrol. However, the best part of the BMW has to be the navigation system, self-parking features and reverse camera. Second BMW owned to date but best one yet!

BodyHatch
Badge118i
LineUrban Line
Engine Size1.6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Mckin

MckinMalvern

  • 7 reviews

Rear wheel with Agile Movement

published

I have the M sport package, it has good performance, love the acceleration, and you can hear a very deep bass exhaust noise. Great for lady driver.
The interior is pretty similiar to all BMWs, its very solid. but the only down side is going through speed bumps i can hear some weird noise coming from the car, like plastic-y sound falling apart. But it didn't bothers me.
Its a lady driver, so not much wear and tear, fuel consumption is 11.5L/100km in urban area on 95 fuel.

BodyHatch
Badge125i
LineM Sport
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJune 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Daniel Huynh

Daniel Huynh

  • 10 reviews
  • 1 like

Very suitable car for a young single person

published
BodyHatch
Badge118i
LineSport Line
Engine Size1.6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Cars

Find out how BMW 1 Series compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Anna G

Anna GPerth

  • 4 reviews

Love this car

published

It has the best navigation system I have ever used in a car. It has all the functionality that a new car has - the automatic features like lights, windows, windscreens, voice control, electric seats, sensors and rear cameras. Would not go to another car brand since hopping on the BMW wagon.

BodyHatch
Badge118i
LineSport
Engine Size1.6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
David Perth

David PerthPerth, WA

  • 9 reviews
  • 2 likes

A ripper

published

The 125i has about 160kw and handles like a go kart. Great fun to drive and can be pushed Sadly RWD is being replaced with FWD and I don't think they will be the same. Leather interior is well finished, outside trim is a step up from the 120i and looks really smart. The car is a pleasure to drive short and longer distances. Road and wind noise well within reasonable limits. Suspension handles the car will.
The not so good..nothing! We really enjoy the car. It's fun, looks great, and is well put together (so far anyway).

BodyHatch
Badge125i
LineM Sport
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSept 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Nick

NickNewcastle

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

An exceptionally accomplished car. Best in class.

published
BodyHatch
Badge116i
LineSport
Engine Size1.6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2015
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Charlie66

Charlie66Perth, Western Australia

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

The perfect small, "family" sports car

published
BodyCoupe
Badge135i
LineM Sport
Engine Size3.0
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMar 2015
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Rich

Rich

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

125i M Sport 5 Door Hatch - Brilliant to drive

published
BodyHatch
Badge125i
LineM Sport
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size3.0
Date PurchasedMay 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Page 1 of 2
See all BMW 1 Series reviews

Questions & Answers

Dee

Deeasked

1 Series

Hi my 2005 120i with 140k on clock has started to blow blue smoke on acceleration once car is warm. Car has been regularly serviced and does not seem to be using oil. Any ideas?

1 answer
Max
Max

Sorry Dee, I'm not an expert but if it's blowing smoke it usually Indicates some cylinder wear but my understanding it is usually associated with oil usage as well...have a mechanic look at it before it gets worse.

Rod

Rodasked

1 Series

We have a 120i 2009 m sport (purchased new). The drivers side seat heater has stopped working. I pulled out seat and dismantled, but the pad looks fine and buzzes out (back and seat) on an ohm meter. Replaced, but led's turn on then go off after about 6 or 7 seconds. Swapped connector block from passenger side (which works), but same issue. Checked and only #3 and 10 fuses are in the fuse box. According to the fuse chart the others, (45/46 & 68) are missing and I have never taken them out. Would just 3 and 10 be enough to power up both seats? or should I put in relevant fuses to locations indicated on fuse chart?

1 answer
Max
Max

Sorry Rod, mine never had seat warmers and I not much on electrical

Andy

Andyasked

1 Series

Does anyone know if the 56 plate bmw 1 series 2.0l msport is the N47 or M57 engine ?

No answers
See all BMW 1 Series questions

Get an answer from our members

BMW 1 Series

Details

Compare all 15 BMW 1 Series
CategoryCars and HatchbacksCars and HatchbacksCars and HatchbacksCars and Hatchbacks
Starting Price $42,990$63,990$39,000
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT)Semi-AutomaticAutomatic and Manual
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)All Wheel Drive (AWD)Rear Wheel Drive (RWD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolDiesel and Petrol
Wheels18" Alloy19" Alloy16" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars4 Stars
Fuel Consumption5.9 L/100km7.5 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 50 L50 L
Engine3 Cylinder 1.5L4 Cylinder 2L
Max Power103kW @ 4200-6500rpm225kW @ 4500-6250rpm
Max Torque220Nm @ 1480-4600rpm450Nm @ 1750-5000
Country of ManufactureGermanyGermany
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)3 year(s)
Release dateSept 2019Sept 2019May 2008Oct 2004
Discontinuation dateAug 2013Sept 2011
Compare all 15 BMW 1 Series

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.