??!
2 photos
BMW 3 Series E90

BMW 3 Series E90 (2005-2012)

3.1 from 29 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    5.0 (1)
  • Value for Money
    5.0 (1)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    5.0 (1)
  • Noise Level
    5.0 (1)
  • Braking
    5.0 (1)
  • Acceleration / Power
    5.0 (1)
  • Gear Shifting
    5.0 (1)
  • Suspension
    5.0 (1)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    5.0 (1)
  • Handling
    5.0 (1)
  • Interior Design
    5.0 (1)
  • Boot Size
    5.0 (1)
  • Comfort
    5.0 (1)
  • Features
    5.0 (1)
Previous
Next
Michael

MichaelHunter Region, NSW

  • 6 reviews
  • 4 likes

BMW 2009 320d E90 turbo diesel automatic sedan

published

Purchased in April 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2008
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Nate

NatePerth

  • 4 reviews

Great car but don’t expect it to be cheap

published
BodySedan
Badge320i
LineExecutive
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2014
Sylvia

SylviaBrisbane

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

My very first car

published

Bought it second hand, but love the car as it’s classy and as diesel car, it saves a lot of money. People might feel it’s a little bit noisy but it is perfectly fine with me. Dashboard is clear, and you can pretty much know all the functions without reading the manual.

BodySedan
Badge320d
LineExecutive
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2017
Sedans

Find out how BMW 3 Series E90 compares to other Sedans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Sarah

SarahAdelaide

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Beautiful car to drive

published

I have recently purchased a 2007 325i BMW with the Msport pack and suspension. I find this car to be very sleek. The navigation, front and rear sensors and multimedia are all easy to use. The shape and size of the car is perfect for day to day driving. I find a slight lag if I need to take off quickly into traffic but besides that the performance is perfect. Very happy with this car. Car is quiet and has lots of room. Runs perfectly.

BodyCoupe
Badge325i
LineM Sport
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2017
Ange

Ange

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Lemon

published

I have wanted to drive a BMW my whole life and after just over a year of driving a 335i sedan on a novated lease I must say I am so disappointed and expected better for BMW. This car is a straight up lemon. 2 major problems which arose in the first year of using the car, first one a crack and subsequent leak in the coolant system. Second one a few months later the car just wouldn't start apparently due to "software problems" affecting the starter motor. We have had to pay around $4000 to date out of our pockets as the novated lease budget wasn't sufficient to cover the rip off prices that BMW service charge. Next car will not be a BMW thats for sure. Crap quality.

BodySedan
Badge335i
LineM Sport
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2016
Alyssa

AlyssaBrisbane

  • 8 reviews
  • 1 like

Perfect car and very comfortable

published

Our car drives like a dream. It is very smooth on the road and doesn't sway when you turn sharp corners (like previous cars I have owned). It is very comfortable and has enough room for the whole family. I wont be buying anything else but a BMW from now on.

BodySedan
Badge320i
LineM Sport
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2016
AL1916

AL1916AU

  • 12 reviews
  • 6 likes

Reliable car with quality

published

What I like about this BMW is build quality and just look elegance. Fuel consumption can be thirsty for the naturally aspirated 2.5 engine. On average it takes about 12 to 14L per 100kms.
you don't want things to go wrong with BMW because it can cost you, especially mechanically when its out of warranty.
Would probably recommend the newer generation for better fuel ecomomy

BodySedan
Badge325i
LineHigh-Line M Sport
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2012
Dennis b

Dennis bGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 11 reviews
  • 8 likes

BMW 323i faultless motoring

published

2010 323i solid great to drive. I change my oil every 10k and yes you can tell the difference if it's left any longer I tried Mobil 1 0/40 but found the Castrol 5w30 seems better nothing bad to say 8.3lts per 100ks serving is the secret to a great BMW yes i do my own oil changes it's easy cheers and happy motoring

BodySedan
Badge323i
LineEditions package
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2015
Heather

HeatherMount Waverley

  • 10 reviews
  • 5 likes

lemon

published

driving experience great, handles good, no noises, stops well. nice leather seats, plenty of leg room. reliability none.always breaking down. running costs through the roof. the most unreliable, expensive car i have ever owned.stay away from this series 3 model. you have to take it to a specialist car mechanic,

BodySedan
Badge320i
LineExecutive
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2014
Sedans

Find out how BMW 3 Series E90 compares to other Sedans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Silverback

SilverbackSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 7 reviews
  • 6 likes

A dream to drive. Sports and luxury combined.

published

2010 BMW 320i 4 door sedan is an absolute pleasure to drive. Quick, efficient and very responsive I love driving this car. The steering is a little heavier than usual but this gives you great road feel, responsive driving experience. Love the leather interior but above just love the solid feeling and safety of this car. This is especially important when your family is on board. Great value for money secondhand. Quality product.

BodySedan
Badge320i
LineExecutive
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2015
Brok

BrokBrisbane

  • 7 reviews
  • 7 likes

My Favourite Car!

published
BodySedan
Badge320i
LineHigh-Line M Sport
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2016
Sparrow

Sparrowsydney

An E90 Lemon

published
BodySedan
Badge323i
LineExecutive
TransmissionAutomatic
hhorvat

hhorvatperth

DON'T BUY .... ABSOLUTE LEMONS

published
BodySedan
Badge320i
LineLuxury
TransmissionAutomatic
DrBob737

DrBob737AU

  • 15 reviews
  • 10 likes

Bring on the Road Pantzer

published

The BMW 320d E90 2008 model signifies sedan 2 litre diesel auto and this is a brilliant car. Solidly built, excellent road handling and brilliant at 5.6ltr/100km fuel economy. Just be careful with whomever you choose to service the car. Forget buying BMW parts from BMW in Australia they are the same as Citroen and Volvo. Whatever the price is in USA or UK triple it for Australia so just buy through eBay. Servicing in minimal once a year. This car is rock solid on the road with my heaps of torque at and above 1500 rpm. Forget the run flat tyres at $350 plus a pop get solid radials and look forward to smooth comfortable quiet driving experience.

TransmissionAutomatic
Badge320d
BodySedan
3 comments
DrBob737
DrBob737
DrBob737
DrBob737
DrBob737
DrBob737

Unsafe vehicles

published

Bought new 2010 320i Executive. Had bad car accident, not 1 airbag deployed after 2 collisions: bounced off a car and then a pole.
Can I sue BMW?

Badge320i
LineExecutive
BodySedan
Sedans

Find out how BMW 3 Series E90 compares to other Sedans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Kimir

Kimir

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

2010 BMW 320i Rubbish

published

Purchased brand new, has been to the dealership on no less than 10 occasions. Added recent invoices up and it has had 14k worth of repairs luckily under warranty. Problem items, 6 months into ownership:
- mechatronics gearbox replacement 11k to fix (6000 km's)
- cylinder head cover replacement and vacuum pump replaced twice (36000 km's and 66000 km's)
- faulty ignition key
Every service was done by a BMW dealership in accordance with the service intervals specified. Car looks great as it is fully optioned. Never done a review before but would like to let people know my experience. It is getting traded asap. The last fault vacuum pump and head cover replacement was covered under Allianz Extended Warranty. No problems with the claim.

TransmissionAutomatic
Badge320i
BodySedan

BMW 2005 320i E90

published

These cars are and absolute pleasure to drive, magnificent but don't purchase one, they are a nightmare mechanically. Just ask any mechanic: water pump, radiator, cat converter, sensors, the list goes on...
Their appearance is second to none but beauty with these machines is only skin deep: I loved looking at my BMW but I was afraid to drive it anywhere.

Badge320i
BodySedan

BMW 3 Series E90

published

I bought my wife a brand new 3 series Executive, paid $65k in 2005, within 10 months the auto blew up, great under warranty, what a Nightmare of a car. Every time we took this car to BMW the minimum cost was $1000. We still have the car, the engine light comes on often, we have replaced that many Valvetronic motors, we continue to get different lights all the time. 2 weeks ago I was offered $4000 as a trade in on a Merc, the dealer apologised to me for the insult, but as he said, the 3 series was the worst car BMW have ever sold. I would agree with him 100%.
NEVER buy a BMW, this piece of ......... cost us a fortune! Not Happy :(

TransmissionAutomatic
LineExecutive

Never would buy another BMW 2008 320i E90

published
Badge320i
BodySedan
1 comment
Never
Never
AndyM156

AndyM156Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 14 reviews
  • 21 likes

Never buy out of warranty

published

I purchased a 2006 320i with 100,000km and full service history. In 14 months ownership I had multiple problems and estimate I would have spent $8,000 on services and maintenance issues including multiple oil leaks. I understand and accept that a second hand car will have faults but I have driven cars with over twice that mileage before that were a lot more reliable - I think it says a lot about BMWs build quality - the BMW specialist mechanics I took it to said this model was notorious for oil leaks. The driving experience was nothing special either. Much happier now I have got rid of it and purchased a Lexus.

Unreliable

Badge320i
BodySedan
1 comment
Cleanskin
Cleanskin
Page 1 of 2
See all BMW 3 Series reviews

Questions & Answers

Muhmmd Z.

Muhmmd Z.asked

3 Series E90 (2005-2012)

Hi,

I’ve bmw 320i e90 2007, the engine oil level light (yellow) went off that engine oil level is below minimum. I topped up with 1L then I checked oil level and the indicator showed that oil level is OK. One week later, engine oil light went off again, i checked oil level and indicator showed that +1L of engine oil is needed to be topped up, I did add 1L. Two weeks later, engine oil light went off again, I checked the level, it was below minimum, then I checked the oil level again just 2hours later and oil level was OK (above minimum) !!!! [There’s no any oil leak at all]. Can I please know what’s going on with engine oil in my car???!!!

Thanks!

No answers
Jez P.

Jez P.asked

3 Series E90 (2005-2012)

Been thinking about getting a 2005 E90 330i, are there any particularly bad known issues with this model, engine wise (N52 engine I think) or with anything else to do with the car? Don't really want to be continually spending money on fixing it.

1 answer
RW1891
RW1891

Hi Jez P, these are wonderful cars to drive. The steering feedback and the road grip of these are awesome. Some of those do suffer from coil pack issues, and injector issues. But my understanding is those are not common and rather common problem is their plastic water pumps rear with time. Check the car with a good independent bmw mechanic. That is worthy. Not buying the car because of fear of these issues at least in my view is like dumping a Victoria’s Secret model because she caught a common cold - happens sometimes, but nothing to split hair upon.

Kaylee F

Kaylee Fasked

3 Series E90 (2005-2012)

I was looking at buying my sister a 2005 320i E90. It has 300,000kms (yes I know thats a lot) but the engine seems great in it. It has had the whole top end replaced recently. It has a new cooling system plus new gaskets throughout. It's a manual too if that changes anything. And the high kms are because they live out of town and were driving into town almost everyday putting at least 1,000kms on it a week.

So my question is, is it worth taking a look at? She will only have it for a year until she gets off her P plates and can afford the car she wants.

1 answer
Larry
Larry

Hi Kaylee, My current 320D replaced my 2002 318i which had 210,000 kms on the clock. It was an ex-diplomatic car which had about 35,000kms on it. My daughter drove it for a couple of years and we sold it to a friend last year who is very happy with it. Our first BMW was a 1986 525e which was still going strong with over 340,000klms last we heard(about a year ago). The bottom line in my opinion and experience is that the mechanicals in BMWs are so good that they will go forever (!) provided they are serviced meticulously. Things like seals, gaskets and suspension rubber boots will of course wear out/perish and can be expensive to replace. Only real problem we had was with the 525e which like your 320i had the top end replaced at about 180,000klms. In summary unless your 320i has very good service credentials at such a high mileage, I would be wary, as repairs might bring tears to her eyes. The engine is not the only costly thing; think shock absorbers, transmission, ball joints, engine cooling system, electricals etc.

Get an answer from our members

Details

Compare all 24 BMW 3 Series
CategoryCars and Sedans
Starting Price A$56,100
TransmissionAutomatic
Drive TypeRear Wheel Drive (RWD)
Fuel TypeDiesel
Wheels17" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars
Doors4
Seats5
Fuel Consumption7.6 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 63 L
Engine4 Cylinder 2.0L
Max Power115kW @ 6400rpm
Max Torque200Nm @ 3600rpm
Country of ManufactureSouth Africa
Safety Features
  • Traction Control
Extra Features
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • USB Port
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)
Release dateMay 2005
Discontinuation dateJan 2012
Compare all 24 BMW 3 Series

Other Sedans

Previous
Next

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.