7 photos
BMW 3 Series F30

BMW 3 Series F30 (2012-2019)

4.2 from 32 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Sedans in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for BMW? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.3 (3)
  • Value for Money
    4.0 (3)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.7 (3)
  • Noise Level
    4.3 (3)
  • Braking
    3.7 (3)
  • Acceleration / Power
    5.0 (3)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.3 (3)
  • Suspension
    4.7 (3)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.7 (3)
  • Handling
    5.0 (3)
  • Interior Design
    4.3 (3)
  • Boot Size
    4.0 (3)
  • Comfort
    4.7 (3)
  • Features
    5.0 (3)
Previous
Next
A. Romano
A. RomanoGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes

Ultimate driving Machine

published

I have been driving BMW CARS for the last 20 years & the 340i is definitely the best 3 series they have produced, it has performance when you need , & economy when driving it like a normal car I bought this BMW as a demo with 3000km & it does not miss a beat, so far it has been the most reliable BMW I have owned with the best performance . If it's a sports car you are after the BMW340I will not disappoint, a true performance vehicle.

Purchased in August 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Sean W
Sean WSydney, NSW
  • 20 reviews
  • 4 likes

Best car yet

published

After 20 years of Australia V8 Holdens bought a 340i Manual M Sport
With the power and sound kit from BMW.
The speed of the V8
300% better handling than any of my HSV's
The only thing missing is the V8 sound that's missed big time0:-(.. The 3.0L 6cylinder undoubtedly best sounding 6.
When driven like an old man uses fuel as claimed than a Toyota Yaris.
Led adaptive headlights, YouTube to understand as incredible , computer controlled lights turn and allows high beam with a car in front shielded.
Too many options.
Electric blinds in rear windows.

$1290 for 5 years servicing. Cheapest car ever.

Purchased in January 2016 at BMW Dealers for $99,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Other Sedans

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
IBB
IBBMelbourne Victoria

Service plan 330i

published

Anyone had an issue where the purchase contract states a service plan of 10years/100,000km but in the BMW system, it is only recorded as 3yrs/60,000km's. Thats the case I have. The dealer acknowledges it should be for 10years, but keeps saying, they are working with Munich to resolve some issue about the code they should use. From Waverley BMW

Purchased in December 2018 at BMW Dealers for $1.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Sedans

Find out how BMW 3 Series F30 compares to other Sedans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
RW1891
RW1891Sydney Surrounds, NSW
  • 15 reviews
  • 10 likes

320d Luxury Line - Excellent Drive!

published
BodySedan
Badge320d
LineLuxury
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2018
Larry
Larry
  • 3 reviews

car Does 5.2 litres for 100kilometres. Car is smoothe and is an excellent vehicle on both highway an

published

Commuting and long distance. Used every day. Service is done as per recommendation. No issues with car. Comfortably seats 4 people. Large boot. Good vision and has parking assist. Paintwork seems far superior to other luxury cars the same age. Very good car for a female also. 5out of 5.

BodySedan
Badge320d
LineLuxury
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJuly 2015

Related Articles

Previous

Our Latest Expert Car Reviews

A complete list of all our most recent car reviews by our resident car expert. Every review has both a detailed article and an accompanying video, so you can find out all the specs and then see them in action. Whether you're looking for a family car, a 4X4, or a performance vehicle, we cover everything in the Australian market.

Cameron S.
Cameron S.12 Jan 2021
our-latest-expert-car-reviews
Next
Chris
ChrisSyd
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

The best car you can have

published

I had just recently sold my 2012 BMW 328i and I can’t stress how much I miss it. The infotainment system of it is so intuitive and the driving experience is just a notch better than all other cars that are in the class with it, I know it is not as good as the good old E46 or E90, but it is still considerably better than other cars by miles. Writing this review makes me miss it more. Wish to see it around the city one more time. And the maintenance for the car is about right if you do not go to a dealership, BMR is where I would recommend. Best car you can ever get.

BodySedan
Badge328i
LineHigh-Line Luxury
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJuly 2016
Tejume
TejumeGreenway
  • 6 reviews

Excellent Car As good as new even after 2 nearly two years

published

It does not take a genius to realise that motto of BMW is exactly what it feels like while driving. Its 'Sheer Driving Pleasure'
Luxury is what you look forward to when you have BMW and it gives a perfect blend of sporty feel as well as conform while driving the car, You are sure not to get fatigue even if you drive around 300 KM.
Running cost can be high but if you have package with BMW service it won't cost you much.

BodySedan
Badge330i
LineLuxury
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSept 2016
BrianG335
BrianG335AU
  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Perfect, 340i sedan

published
BodySedan
Badge340i
LineM Sport
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2017

Other Sedans

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
David H
David H
  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Great driving experience except for the tyres

published
BodySedan
Badge320i
LineModern
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJuly 2013
Sedans

Find out how BMW 3 Series F30 compares to other Sedans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Sue
SueGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 16 reviews
  • 1 like

Best car I have ever owned

published

Perfect!! This Car has everything that I ever wanted in car ... luxury to comfort. Leather seats, sunroof, AI feels like one of Mr.Bond car. Car runs on diesel and powerful engine. Although these A listers are bit high on maintenance, fact is if they are regularly taken care then they remain loyal. Safety for all seats which is best and it’s rated 5 star for crash testing

BodySedan
Badge320d
LineSport
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2018
Xav
Xav
  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great value car

published

Great smooth driving car! For it's price it is an affordable BMW. I would highly recommend purchasing the 330i over the 320i as it has much more power and a sport and sport + mode. 0-100 in 5.8 seconds and with a great interior and exterior with the m sport package.

BodySedan
Badge330i
LineM Sport
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2017
Thomas Samuel
Thomas SamuelAU
  • 2 reviews

This is great car.

published

Great performance & very easy to handle. Petrol consumption is on average 7 to 8 per litre. Plenty of leg room in frond but back leg space is not much.
Disappointed with the rest in the wheels. It is a 2015 sedan,they said it is not the manufactures fault. Not satisfied with that.

BodyCoupe
Badge328i
LineM Sport
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2015
Thomas Samuel
Thomas Samuel

It was rust on the wheels

rohit10
rohit10Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Shocking quality and BMW not willing to cover faults under manufacturer warranty. Really bad custome

published
BodySedan
Badge320d
LineHigh-Line Sport
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2016
Adent
AdentPerth
  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great Drive but iDrive is Crap

published
BodySedan
Badge330i
LineM Sport
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2016

Other Sedans

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Sam Lenny
Sam LennyMelbourne
  • 5 reviews

Not comfortable as it seemed from first

published

Bought this from dealer looked amazing drives pretty smooth power was also good just that after few months of owning it things started get unclear been a daily driver I drive at least 3 hours on the road the car is very hard the seats no longer comfortable always have problem with the back window which they replaced awhile ago and its glass always makes squeeze noise also when traveling between 85-95km/h the side mirror makes unnecessary noise as well dealer had look shake heads dont know what to do the gas paddle starts become jamming some too. Not a good quality one from bmw.

BodySedan
Badge320d
LineHigh-Line Luxury
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2015
Sedans

Find out how BMW 3 Series F30 compares to other Sedans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Read more reviews - page 2See all BMW 3 Series reviews

Questions & Answers

Toni S
Toni Sasked
3 Series F30 (2012-2019)

Thinking of buying a 320d msport deisel (twin turbo with sports shift paddles).....any pro’s/cons?

2 answers
BrianG335
BrianG335

If its brand new, then go for it. Just make sure that you ask for the full specification to make sure exactly which options the car has.
If its used, make sure that that it has a precise service history with no skipped or overdue servicing. Check the 'service requirements' with the I-drive controller to make sure things like brake pads, filters etc aren't nearly due for replacement. Diesel servicing prices are a little more expensive than petrol.
If you have the VIN number, use one of the free BMW VIN decoder websites to check out exact build date,where it was built and the full detailed specifications.

Toni S
Toni S

Thank you so much

Sparrow
Sparrowasked
3 Series F30 (2012-2019)

I have just bought a new 2016 f30 BMW 330i m sport. The car makes creaking noises when driving slowly over an undulating surface. Any comments welcome.

8 answers
Ahmet S
Ahmet S

Sorry I dont have any knowledge on this

natural
natural

If it's new why aren't you taking the car back to the dealer?
If you're already not getting any satisfaction there I would call BMW Australia and make the problem as public as you can on social media.
Creaking on undulating surfaces sounds like a chassis/suspension problem - maybe a suspension mounting or joint that isn't properly seated or tightened, or perhaps a faulty Macpherson strut. You could get a workshop to check it out but this shouldn't be your problem - it's has to be a warranty issue.

Sparrow
Sparrow

I am taking the car back to the dealer, who believes the creaking noise is coming from the door seals, that some coating on the rubber seals was removed in the pre-delivery process. The reason for my question was to determine how prevalent is this issue with other owners.

See all BMW 3 Series questions

Get an answer from our members

BMW 3 Series F30 (2012-2019)

Details

Compare all 24 BMW 3 Series
CategoryCars and Sedans
Starting Price $57,430
TransmissionAutomatic
Drive TypeRear Wheel Drive (RWD)
Fuel TypeDiesel and Petrol
Wheels18" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars
Fuel Consumption5.8 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 60 L
Engine4 Cylinder 2.0L
Max Power135kW @ 6500rpm
Max Torque270Nm @ 1350-4600rpm
Country of ManufactureGermany
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)
Release dateFeb 2012
Discontinuation dateFeb 2019
Compare all 24 BMW 3 Series

Other Sedans

Previous
Next
See all Sedans

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.