??!
18 photos
BMW 3 Series Sedan

BMW 3 Series Sedan (page 2 of 5)

F30, E90, E46, etc...
3.7 from 86 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.5 (11)
  • Value for Money
    3.7 (11)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.4 (11)
  • Noise Level
    3.7 (11)
  • Braking
    4.3 (11)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.2 (11)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.2 (11)
  • Suspension
    4.4 (11)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.6 (11)
  • Handling
    4.6 (10)
  • Interior Design
    4.4 (11)
  • Boot Size
    4.0 (11)
  • Comfort
    4.1 (11)
  • Features
    4.3 (11)
Previous
Next
Sue

SueGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 16 reviews
  • 1 like

Best car I have ever owned

published

Perfect!! This Car has everything that I ever wanted in car ... luxury to comfort. Leather seats, sunroof, AI feels like one of Mr.Bond car. Car runs on diesel and powerful engine. Although these A listers are bit high on maintenance, fact is if they are regularly taken care then they remain loyal. Safety for all seats which is best and it’s rated 5 star for crash testing

BodySedan
Badge320d
LineSport
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2018
Sylvia

SylviaBrisbane

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

My very first car

published

Bought it second hand, but love the car as it’s classy and as diesel car, it saves a lot of money. People might feel it’s a little bit noisy but it is perfectly fine with me. Dashboard is clear, and you can pretty much know all the functions without reading the manual.

BodySedan
Badge320d
LineExecutive
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJuly 2017
Xav

Xav

  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great value car

published

Great smooth driving car! For it's price it is an affordable BMW. I would highly recommend purchasing the 330i over the 320i as it has much more power and a sport and sport + mode. 0-100 in 5.8 seconds and with a great interior and exterior with the m sport package.

BodySedan
Badge330i
LineM Sport
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2017
Sedans

Find out how BMW 3 Series Sedan compares to other Sedans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Thomas Samuel

Thomas SamuelAU

  • 2 reviews

This is great car.

published

Great performance & very easy to handle. Petrol consumption is on average 7 to 8 per litre. Plenty of leg room in frond but back leg space is not much.
Disappointed with the rest in the wheels. It is a 2015 sedan,they said it is not the manufactures fault. Not satisfied with that.

BodyCoupe
Badge328i
LineM Sport
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2015
1 comment
Thomas Samuel
Thomas Samuel

It was rust on the wheels

Sarah

SarahAdelaide

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Beautiful car to drive

published

I have recently purchased a 2007 325i BMW with the Msport pack and suspension. I find this car to be very sleek. The navigation, front and rear sensors and multimedia are all easy to use. The shape and size of the car is perfect for day to day driving. I find a slight lag if I need to take off quickly into traffic but besides that the performance is perfect. Very happy with this car. Car is quiet and has lots of room. Runs perfectly.

BodyCoupe
Badge325i
LineM Sport
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2017
rohit10

rohit10Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Shocking quality and BMW not willing to cover faults under manufacturer warranty. Really bad custome

published
BodySedan
Badge320d
LineHigh-Line Sport
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2016
Ange

Ange

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Lemon

published

I have wanted to drive a BMW my whole life and after just over a year of driving a 335i sedan on a novated lease I must say I am so disappointed and expected better for BMW. This car is a straight up lemon. 2 major problems which arose in the first year of using the car, first one a crack and subsequent leak in the coolant system. Second one a few months later the car just wouldn't start apparently due to "software problems" affecting the starter motor. We have had to pay around $4000 to date out of our pockets as the novated lease budget wasn't sufficient to cover the rip off prices that BMW service charge. Next car will not be a BMW thats for sure. Crap quality.

BodySedan
Badge335i
LineM Sport
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2016
Adent

AdentPerth

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great Drive but iDrive is Crap

published
BodySedan
Badge330i
LineM Sport
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2016
Alyssa

AlyssaBrisbane

  • 8 reviews
  • 1 like

Perfect car and very comfortable

published

Our car drives like a dream. It is very smooth on the road and doesn't sway when you turn sharp corners (like previous cars I have owned). It is very comfortable and has enough room for the whole family. I wont be buying anything else but a BMW from now on.

BodySedan
Badge320i
LineM Sport
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSept 2016
Sedans

Find out how BMW 3 Series Sedan compares to other Sedans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
AL1916

AL1916AU

  • 12 reviews
  • 6 likes

Reliable car with quality

published

What I like about this BMW is build quality and just look elegance. Fuel consumption can be thirsty for the naturally aspirated 2.5 engine. On average it takes about 12 to 14L per 100kms.
you don't want things to go wrong with BMW because it can cost you, especially mechanically when its out of warranty.
Would probably recommend the newer generation for better fuel ecomomy

BodySedan
Badge325i
LineHigh-Line M Sport
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2012
Nick Hass

Nick HassMelbourne

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Best Car Used

published

Amazing car to drive even when they are 15 years old now !!

It is best to buy 320i and above due to the 318i being a bit basic compared to the straight six versions, look for the 320i and upwards

They have amazing performance in the real world compared to the data sheet

They are amazing daily drivers and I can’t fault the reliability, but please make sure that when you buy useful you get a PPI and a HPI check as most of these cars were purchased on finance

BodySedan
Badge320i
Line...
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2014
Sam Lenny

Sam LennyMelbourne

  • 5 reviews

Not comfortable as it seemed from first

published

Bought this from dealer looked amazing drives pretty smooth power was also good just that after few months of owning it things started get unclear been a daily driver I drive at least 3 hours on the road the car is very hard the seats no longer comfortable always have problem with the back window which they replaced awhile ago and its glass always makes squeeze noise also when traveling between 85-95km/h the side mirror makes unnecessary noise as well dealer had look shake heads dont know what to do the gas paddle starts become jamming some too. Not a good quality one from bmw.

BodySedan
Badge320d
LineHigh-Line Luxury
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2015
alex

alex

  • 5 reviews

THIS IS GREAT

published

Driving experience is great. Noise is ok. since my one is diesel. so it's fair enough.

run flat is good since last time i got a puncture in the tyre.

Dashboard is ok but its easy to get boring. legroom is good for the driver but not good for passenger.

BodySedan
Badge318d
LineClubsport
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2012
Dennis b

Dennis bGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 11 reviews
  • 8 likes

BMW 323i faultless motoring

published

2010 323i solid great to drive. I change my oil every 10k and yes you can tell the difference if it's left any longer I tried Mobil 1 0/40 but found the Castrol 5w30 seems better nothing bad to say 8.3lts per 100ks serving is the secret to a great BMW yes i do my own oil changes it's easy cheers and happy motoring

BodySedan
Badge323i
LineEditions package
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2015
Adam

Adam

  • 2 reviews
  • 5 likes

Love this car!

published
BodySedan
Badge330i
LineM Sport
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2016
Sedans

Find out how BMW 3 Series Sedan compares to other Sedans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Heather

HeatherMount Waverley

  • 10 reviews
  • 5 likes

lemon

published

driving experience great, handles good, no noises, stops well. nice leather seats, plenty of leg room. reliability none.always breaking down. running costs through the roof. the most unreliable, expensive car i have ever owned.stay away from this series 3 model. you have to take it to a specialist car mechanic,

BodySedan
Badge320i
LineExecutive
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJuly 2014
Brianjames

BrianjamesMelbourne

  • 2 reviews

330i great sporty drive

published

The new 330i sedan with the M Sport package is a great drivers car, can be eco for great fuel economy or click sport depending on your mood or the road.Heaps of power with the twin turbo and very good handling
Fabulous for long distance driving, no stress driving, good sound system and quietness
Quiet, luxury with all the safety features of active cruise control and more cameras than a Hollywood movie

BodySedan
Badge330i
LineM Sport
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2016
Garry.

Garry.AU

  • 2 reviews
  • 11 likes

Dissapointment.

published
BodySedan
Badge330i
LineLifestyle
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2016
1 comment
Garry.
Garry.

Update.
I have now been driving my Brand New (well it was last Year) Mercedes that I Bought after Dumping the Crappy BMW and have not had any Problems. Just Love the Merc.
Hope my Report on the BMW Helped at least One person.

Curtis

CurtisAdelaide

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Great performance, perfect as a family car

published

BMW series 3 is perfect for my family of four. It is spacious in the inside As well as the boot. The handling is very smooth at turns as well as the performance of the car is really good for the price. Overall it is also fuel efficient so the running cost is not as high as the other similar range.

BodySedan
Badge316i
LineExecutive
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2016
Raz

RazGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

So Damned Fine, But Here Are the Minor Gripes Most Won't Talk About

published
BodySedan
Badge320d
LineLuxury
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2016
1 comment
Raz
Raz
See all BMW 3 Series reviews

Questions & Answers

alexander h.

alexander h.asked

3 Series E46 (1998-2005)

Are the side mirrors powered on a 318i 2004 BMW and lf so how do you engage to make them work

No answers
Muhmmd Z.

Muhmmd Z.asked

3 Series E90 (2005-2012)

Hi,

I’ve bmw 320i e90 2007, the engine oil level light (yellow) went off that engine oil level is below minimum. I topped up with 1L then I checked oil level and the indicator showed that oil level is OK. One week later, engine oil light went off again, i checked oil level and indicator showed that +1L of engine oil is needed to be topped up, I did add 1L. Two weeks later, engine oil light went off again, I checked the level, it was below minimum, then I checked the oil level again just 2hours later and oil level was OK (above minimum) !!!! [There’s no any oil leak at all]. Can I please know what’s going on with engine oil in my car???!!!

Thanks!

No answers
Jez P.

Jez P.asked

3 Series E90 (2005-2012)

Been thinking about getting a 2005 E90 330i, are there any particularly bad known issues with this model, engine wise (N52 engine I think) or with anything else to do with the car? Don't really want to be continually spending money on fixing it.

1 answer
RW1891
RW1891

Hi Jez P, these are wonderful cars to drive. The steering feedback and the road grip of these are awesome. Some of those do suffer from coil pack issues, and injector issues. But my understanding is those are not common and rather common problem is their plastic water pumps rear with time. Check the car with a good independent bmw mechanic. That is worthy. Not buying the car because of fear of these issues at least in my view is like dumping a Victoria’s Secret model because she caught a common cold - happens sometimes, but nothing to split hair upon.

Get an answer from our members

Details

Compare all 24 BMW 3 Series
CategoryCars and SedansCars and SedansCars and SedansCars and Sedans
Starting Price $73,953$73,953$77,105$77,105
TransmissionAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticAutomatic
Drive TypeRear Wheel Drive (RWD)Rear Wheel Drive (RWD)Rear Wheel Drive (RWD)Rear Wheel Drive (RWD)
Fuel TypeDieselDieselPetrolPetrol
Wheels18" Alloy18" Alloy19" Alloy19" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Fuel Consumption4.8 L/100km4.8 L/100km6.1 L/100km6.1 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 40 L40 L59 L59 L
Engine4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.0L
Max Power140kW @ 4000rpm140kW @ 4000rpm190kW @ 5000rpm190kW @ 5000rpm
Max Torque400Nm @ 1750-2500rpm400Nm @ 1750-2500rpm400Nm @ 1550-4400rpm400Nm @ 1550-4400rpm
Country of ManufactureGermanyGermanyGermanyGermany
Safety Features
  • Attention Assist (Fatigue Detection)
  • Autonomous Emergency Braking (AEB)
  • Blind Spot Monitoring (BSM)
  • Electronic Stability Control (ESC)
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • Intelligent Speed Adaptation (ISA)
  • Lane Keep Assist (LKA)
  • Reversing Camera
  • Attention Assist (Fatigue Detection)
  • Autonomous Emergency Braking (AEB)
  • Blind Spot Monitoring (BSM)
  • Electronic Stability Control (ESC)
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • Intelligent Speed Adaptation (ISA)
  • Lane Keep Assist (LKA)
  • Reversing Camera
  • Adaptive Cruise Control (ACC)
  • Attention Assist (Fatigue Detection)
  • Autonomous Emergency Braking (AEB)
  • Blind Spot Monitoring (BSM)
  • Electronic Stability Control (ESC)
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • Intelligent Speed Adaptation (ISA)
  • Lane Keep Assist (LKA)
  • Reversing Camera
  • Adaptive Cruise Control (ACC)
  • Attention Assist (Fatigue Detection)
  • Autonomous Emergency Braking (AEB)
  • Blind Spot Monitoring (BSM)
  • Electronic Stability Control (ESC)
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • Intelligent Speed Adaptation (ISA)
  • Lane Keep Assist (LKA)
  • Reversing Camera
Extra Features
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Parking Assist
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Heads-up Display
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Parking Assist
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Heads-up Display
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
  • 360° Camera
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Parking Assist
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Heads-up Display
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
  • 360° Camera
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Parking Assist
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Heads-up Display
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)
Release dateMar 2019Mar 2019Mar 2019Mar 2019
Compare all 24 BMW 3 Series

Visit official website

Other Sedans

Previous
Next

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.