??!
18 photos
BMW 3 Series Sedan

BMW 3 Series Sedan

F30, E90, E46, etc...
3.7 from 86 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.6 (5)
  • Value for Money
    4.4 (5)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.8 (5)
  • Noise Level
    4.4 (5)
  • Braking
    4.4 (5)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.4 (5)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.4 (5)
  • Suspension
    4.6 (5)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.4 (5)
  • Handling
    5.0 (4)
  • Interior Design
    4.6 (5)
  • Boot Size
    4.4 (5)
  • Comfort
    5.0 (5)
  • Features
    5.0 (5)
Previous
Next
Aidan

Aidan

  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes

Lovely

published

A very sleek stylish and comfortable car best feature adjustable height so if too tall it's a perfect car for you while also providing comfort and extremely well gas mileage

Purchased in October 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Josh

JoshCanberra 2600, ACT

  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes

Class leading model with impressive technology.

published

The new 3 series truly sets the bar for its class and segment. I have enjoyed over 8 months of ownership and there isn’t one thing I could fault nor any issues I’ve faced. The 330i has fantastic power and fuel economy - getting around 850km to a tank and that includes some spirited driving too. The technology that’s bundled as standard is first rate with much of it found only as ‘optional extras’ on the competition (A4, C Class). In a segment that’s shrinking (mid-size luxury sedans) giving a rise to SUV’s, I’m content and glad I made this purchase and wouldn’t consider anything else.

Purchased in July 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
A. Romano

A. RomanoGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes

Ultimate driving Machine

published

I have been driving BMW CARS for the last 20 years & the 340i is definitely the best 3 series they have produced, it has performance when you need , & economy when driving it like a normal car I bought this BMW as a demo with 3000km & it does not miss a beat, so far it has been the most reliable BMW I have owned with the best performance . If it's a sports car you are after the BMW340I will not disappoint, a true performance vehicle.

Purchased in August 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Sedans

Find out how BMW 3 Series Sedan compares to other Sedans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Sean W

Sean WSydney, NSW

  • 20 reviews
  • 3 likes

Best car yet

published

After 20 years of Australia V8 Holdens bought a 340i Manual M Sport
With the power and sound kit from BMW.
The speed of the V8
300% better handling than any of my HSV's
The only thing missing is the V8 sound that's missed big time0:-(.. The 3.0L 6cylinder undoubtedly best sounding 6.
When driven like an old man uses fuel as claimed than a Toyota Yaris.
Led adaptive headlights, YouTube to understand as incredible , computer controlled lights turn and allows high beam with a car in front shielded.
Too many options.
Electric blinds in rear windows.

$1290 for 5 years servicing. Cheapest car ever.

Purchased in January 2016 at BMW Dealers for $99,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Michael

MichaelHunter Region, NSW

  • 6 reviews
  • 4 likes

BMW 2009 320d E90 turbo diesel automatic sedan

published

Purchased in April 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
RW1891

RW1891Sydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 14 reviews
  • 9 likes

320d Luxury Line - Excellent Drive!

published
BodySedan
Badge320d
LineLuxury
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2018
Larry

Larry

  • 3 reviews

car Does 5.2 litres for 100kilometres. Car is smoothe and is an excellent vehicle on both highway an

published

Commuting and long distance. Used every day. Service is done as per recommendation. No issues with car. Comfortably seats 4 people. Large boot. Good vision and has parking assist. Paintwork seems far superior to other luxury cars the same age. Very good car for a female also. 5out of 5.

BodySedan
Badge320d
LineLuxury
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJuly 2015
Chris

ChrisSyd

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

The best car you can have

published

I had just recently sold my 2012 BMW 328i and I can’t stress how much I miss it. The infotainment system of it is so intuitive and the driving experience is just a notch better than all other cars that are in the class with it, I know it is not as good as the good old E46 or E90, but it is still considerably better than other cars by miles. Writing this review makes me miss it more. Wish to see it around the city one more time. And the maintenance for the car is about right if you do not go to a dealership, BMR is where I would recommend. Best car you can ever get.

BodySedan
Badge328i
LineHigh-Line Luxury
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJuly 2016
PerthResident

PerthResidentPerth, WA

  • 10 reviews
  • 8 likes

e46 325i Sedan - Understated beast which i love to drive.

published
BodySedan
Badge325i
LineSport
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2018
2 comments
PerthResident
PerthResident
PerthResident
PerthResident

36 Months update:
Had to replace front suspension and do some work on an oil leak - another $2500.
there cars are pricey! BUT I STILL ENJOY DRIVING IT. HELP

Sedans

Find out how BMW 3 Series Sedan compares to other Sedans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Tejume

TejumeGreenway

  • 6 reviews

Excellent Car As good as new even after 2 nearly two years

published

It does not take a genius to realise that motto of BMW is exactly what it feels like while driving. Its 'Sheer Driving Pleasure'
Luxury is what you look forward to when you have BMW and it gives a perfect blend of sporty feel as well as conform while driving the car, You are sure not to get fatigue even if you drive around 300 KM.
Running cost can be high but if you have package with BMW service it won't cost you much.

BodySedan
Badge330i
LineLuxury
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSept 2016
BrianG335

BrianG335AU

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Perfect, 340i sedan

published
BodySedan
Badge340i
LineM Sport
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2017
Sue

SueGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 16 reviews
  • 1 like

Best car I have ever owned

published

Perfect!! This Car has everything that I ever wanted in car ... luxury to comfort. Leather seats, sunroof, AI feels like one of Mr.Bond car. Car runs on diesel and powerful engine. Although these A listers are bit high on maintenance, fact is if they are regularly taken care then they remain loyal. Safety for all seats which is best and it’s rated 5 star for crash testing

BodySedan
Badge320d
LineSport
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2018
Sylvia

SylviaBrisbane

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

My very first car

published

Bought it second hand, but love the car as it’s classy and as diesel car, it saves a lot of money. People might feel it’s a little bit noisy but it is perfectly fine with me. Dashboard is clear, and you can pretty much know all the functions without reading the manual.

BodySedan
Badge320d
LineExecutive
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJuly 2017
Xav

Xav

  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great value car

published

Great smooth driving car! For it's price it is an affordable BMW. I would highly recommend purchasing the 330i over the 320i as it has much more power and a sport and sport + mode. 0-100 in 5.8 seconds and with a great interior and exterior with the m sport package.

BodySedan
Badge330i
LineM Sport
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2017
Thomas Samuel

Thomas SamuelAU

  • 2 reviews

This is great car.

published

Great performance & very easy to handle. Petrol consumption is on average 7 to 8 per litre. Plenty of leg room in frond but back leg space is not much.
Disappointed with the rest in the wheels. It is a 2015 sedan,they said it is not the manufactures fault. Not satisfied with that.

BodyCoupe
Badge328i
LineM Sport
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2015
1 comment
Thomas Samuel
Thomas Samuel

It was rust on the wheels

Sedans

Find out how BMW 3 Series Sedan compares to other Sedans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Sarah

SarahAdelaide

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Beautiful car to drive

published

I have recently purchased a 2007 325i BMW with the Msport pack and suspension. I find this car to be very sleek. The navigation, front and rear sensors and multimedia are all easy to use. The shape and size of the car is perfect for day to day driving. I find a slight lag if I need to take off quickly into traffic but besides that the performance is perfect. Very happy with this car. Car is quiet and has lots of room. Runs perfectly.

BodyCoupe
Badge325i
LineM Sport
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2017
Alyssa

AlyssaBrisbane

  • 8 reviews
  • 1 like

Perfect car and very comfortable

published

Our car drives like a dream. It is very smooth on the road and doesn't sway when you turn sharp corners (like previous cars I have owned). It is very comfortable and has enough room for the whole family. I wont be buying anything else but a BMW from now on.

BodySedan
Badge320i
LineM Sport
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSept 2016
Nick Hass

Nick HassMelbourne

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Best Car Used

published

Amazing car to drive even when they are 15 years old now !!

It is best to buy 320i and above due to the 318i being a bit basic compared to the straight six versions, look for the 320i and upwards

They have amazing performance in the real world compared to the data sheet

They are amazing daily drivers and I can’t fault the reliability, but please make sure that when you buy useful you get a PPI and a HPI check as most of these cars were purchased on finance

BodySedan
Badge320i
Line...
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2014
Dennis b

Dennis bGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 11 reviews
  • 8 likes

BMW 323i faultless motoring

published

2010 323i solid great to drive. I change my oil every 10k and yes you can tell the difference if it's left any longer I tried Mobil 1 0/40 but found the Castrol 5w30 seems better nothing bad to say 8.3lts per 100ks serving is the secret to a great BMW yes i do my own oil changes it's easy cheers and happy motoring

BodySedan
Badge323i
LineEditions package
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2015
Adam

Adam

  • 2 reviews
  • 5 likes

Love this car!

published
BodySedan
Badge330i
LineM Sport
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2016
Page 1 of 2
See all BMW 3 Series reviews

Questions & Answers

alexander h.

alexander h.asked

3 Series E46 (1998-2005)

Are the side mirrors powered on a 318i 2004 BMW and lf so how do you engage to make them work

No answers
Muhmmd Z.

Muhmmd Z.asked

3 Series E90 (2005-2012)

Hi,

I’ve bmw 320i e90 2007, the engine oil level light (yellow) went off that engine oil level is below minimum. I topped up with 1L then I checked oil level and the indicator showed that oil level is OK. One week later, engine oil light went off again, i checked oil level and indicator showed that +1L of engine oil is needed to be topped up, I did add 1L. Two weeks later, engine oil light went off again, I checked the level, it was below minimum, then I checked the oil level again just 2hours later and oil level was OK (above minimum) !!!! [There’s no any oil leak at all]. Can I please know what’s going on with engine oil in my car???!!!

Thanks!

No answers
Jez P.

Jez P.asked

3 Series E90 (2005-2012)

Been thinking about getting a 2005 E90 330i, are there any particularly bad known issues with this model, engine wise (N52 engine I think) or with anything else to do with the car? Don't really want to be continually spending money on fixing it.

1 answer
RW1891
RW1891

Hi Jez P, these are wonderful cars to drive. The steering feedback and the road grip of these are awesome. Some of those do suffer from coil pack issues, and injector issues. But my understanding is those are not common and rather common problem is their plastic water pumps rear with time. Check the car with a good independent bmw mechanic. That is worthy. Not buying the car because of fear of these issues at least in my view is like dumping a Victoria’s Secret model because she caught a common cold - happens sometimes, but nothing to split hair upon.

Get an answer from our members

Details

Compare all 24 BMW 3 Series
CategoryCars and SedansCars and SedansCars and SedansCars and Sedans
Starting Price $73,953$73,953$77,105$77,105
TransmissionAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticAutomatic
Drive TypeRear Wheel Drive (RWD)Rear Wheel Drive (RWD)Rear Wheel Drive (RWD)Rear Wheel Drive (RWD)
Fuel TypeDieselDieselPetrolPetrol
Wheels18" Alloy18" Alloy19" Alloy19" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Fuel Consumption4.8 L/100km4.8 L/100km6.1 L/100km6.1 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 40 L40 L59 L59 L
Engine4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.0L
Max Power140kW @ 4000rpm140kW @ 4000rpm190kW @ 5000rpm190kW @ 5000rpm
Max Torque400Nm @ 1750-2500rpm400Nm @ 1750-2500rpm400Nm @ 1550-4400rpm400Nm @ 1550-4400rpm
Country of ManufactureGermanyGermanyGermanyGermany
Safety Features
  • Attention Assist (Fatigue Detection)
  • Autonomous Emergency Braking (AEB)
  • Blind Spot Monitoring (BSM)
  • Electronic Stability Control (ESC)
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • Intelligent Speed Adaptation (ISA)
  • Lane Keep Assist (LKA)
  • Reversing Camera
  • Attention Assist (Fatigue Detection)
  • Autonomous Emergency Braking (AEB)
  • Blind Spot Monitoring (BSM)
  • Electronic Stability Control (ESC)
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • Intelligent Speed Adaptation (ISA)
  • Lane Keep Assist (LKA)
  • Reversing Camera
  • Adaptive Cruise Control (ACC)
  • Attention Assist (Fatigue Detection)
  • Autonomous Emergency Braking (AEB)
  • Blind Spot Monitoring (BSM)
  • Electronic Stability Control (ESC)
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • Intelligent Speed Adaptation (ISA)
  • Lane Keep Assist (LKA)
  • Reversing Camera
  • Adaptive Cruise Control (ACC)
  • Attention Assist (Fatigue Detection)
  • Autonomous Emergency Braking (AEB)
  • Blind Spot Monitoring (BSM)
  • Electronic Stability Control (ESC)
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • Intelligent Speed Adaptation (ISA)
  • Lane Keep Assist (LKA)
  • Reversing Camera
Extra Features
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Parking Assist
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Heads-up Display
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Parking Assist
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Heads-up Display
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
  • 360° Camera
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Parking Assist
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Heads-up Display
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
  • 360° Camera
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Parking Assist
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Heads-up Display
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)
Release dateMar 2019Mar 2019Mar 2019Mar 2019
Compare all 24 BMW 3 Series

Visit official website

Other Sedans

Previous
Next

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.