34 photos
BMW 3 Series

BMW 3 Series (page 2 of 4)

Sedan, Touring, Coupe, etc...
3.7 from 91 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Cars in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for BMW? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.5 (11)
  • Value for Money
    3.7 (11)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.4 (11)
  • Noise Level
    3.7 (11)
  • Braking
    4.3 (11)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.2 (11)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.2 (11)
  • Suspension
    4.4 (11)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.6 (11)
  • Handling
    4.6 (10)
  • Interior Design
    4.4 (11)
  • Boot Size
    4.0 (11)
  • Comfort
    4.1 (11)
  • Features
    4.3 (11)
Previous
Next
Ostsee
OstseeSydney, NSW
  • 23 reviews
  • 8 likes

Always a Legend

published

Service price is very fair with independent BMW mechanic after warranty expired. Quality is excellent compare to 4 cylinders 3 series. Always sporty and eye catching. Only replaced the Adaptive Headlight in past five years. No oil leak, no roof leak. I have to say 335i is a good choice.

BodyConvertible
Badge335i
LineSport
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2013
Thomas Samuel
Thomas SamuelAU
  • 2 reviews

This is great car.

published

Great performance & very easy to handle. Petrol consumption is on average 7 to 8 per litre. Plenty of leg room in frond but back leg space is not much.
Disappointed with the rest in the wheels. It is a 2015 sedan,they said it is not the manufactures fault. Not satisfied with that.

BodyCoupe
Badge328i
LineM Sport
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2015
Thomas Samuel
Thomas Samuel

It was rust on the wheels

Sarah
SarahAdelaide
  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Beautiful car to drive

published

I have recently purchased a 2007 325i BMW with the Msport pack and suspension. I find this car to be very sleek. The navigation, front and rear sensors and multimedia are all easy to use. The shape and size of the car is perfect for day to day driving. I find a slight lag if I need to take off quickly into traffic but besides that the performance is perfect. Very happy with this car. Car is quiet and has lots of room. Runs perfectly.

BodyCoupe
Badge325i
LineM Sport
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2017
Cars

Find out how BMW 3 Series compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
rohit10
rohit10Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Shocking quality and BMW not willing to cover faults under manufacturer warranty. Really bad custome

published
BodySedan
Badge320d
LineHigh-Line Sport
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2016
Ange
Ange
  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Lemon

published

I have wanted to drive a BMW my whole life and after just over a year of driving a 335i sedan on a novated lease I must say I am so disappointed and expected better for BMW. This car is a straight up lemon. 2 major problems which arose in the first year of using the car, first one a crack and subsequent leak in the coolant system. Second one a few months later the car just wouldn't start apparently due to "software problems" affecting the starter motor. We have had to pay around $4000 to date out of our pockets as the novated lease budget wasn't sufficient to cover the rip off prices that BMW service charge. Next car will not be a BMW thats for sure. Crap quality.

BodySedan
Badge335i
LineM Sport
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2016

Related Articles

Previous

Our Latest Expert Car Reviews

A complete list of all our most recent car reviews by our resident car expert. Every review has both a detailed article and an accompanying video, so you can find out all the specs and then see them in action. Whether you're looking for a family car, a 4X4, or a performance vehicle, we cover everything in the Australian market.

Cameron S.
Cameron S.12 Jan 2021
our-latest-expert-car-reviews
Next
Adent
AdentPerth
  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great Drive but iDrive is Crap

published
BodySedan
Badge330i
LineM Sport
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2016
Alyssa
AlyssaBrisbane
  • 8 reviews
  • 2 likes

Perfect car and very comfortable

published

Our car drives like a dream. It is very smooth on the road and doesn't sway when you turn sharp corners (like previous cars I have owned). It is very comfortable and has enough room for the whole family. I wont be buying anything else but a BMW from now on.

BodySedan
Badge320i
LineM Sport
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSept 2016
AL1916
AL1916AU
  • 12 reviews
  • 7 likes

Reliable car with quality

published

What I like about this BMW is build quality and just look elegance. Fuel consumption can be thirsty for the naturally aspirated 2.5 engine. On average it takes about 12 to 14L per 100kms.
you don't want things to go wrong with BMW because it can cost you, especially mechanically when its out of warranty.
Would probably recommend the newer generation for better fuel ecomomy

BodySedan
Badge325i
LineHigh-Line M Sport
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2012
Sam Lenny
Sam LennyMelbourne
  • 5 reviews

Not comfortable as it seemed from first

published

Bought this from dealer looked amazing drives pretty smooth power was also good just that after few months of owning it things started get unclear been a daily driver I drive at least 3 hours on the road the car is very hard the seats no longer comfortable always have problem with the back window which they replaced awhile ago and its glass always makes squeeze noise also when traveling between 85-95km/h the side mirror makes unnecessary noise as well dealer had look shake heads dont know what to do the gas paddle starts become jamming some too. Not a good quality one from bmw.

BodySedan
Badge320d
LineHigh-Line Luxury
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2015
Cars

Find out how BMW 3 Series compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
alex
alex
  • 5 reviews

THIS IS GREAT

published

Driving experience is great. Noise is ok. since my one is diesel. so it's fair enough.

run flat is good since last time i got a puncture in the tyre.

Dashboard is ok but its easy to get boring. legroom is good for the driver but not good for passenger.

BodySedan
Badge318d
LineClubsport
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2012
Dennis b
Dennis bGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 12 reviews
  • 10 likes

BMW 323i faultless motoring

published

2010 323i solid great to drive. I change my oil every 10k and yes you can tell the difference if it's left any longer I tried Mobil 1 0/40 but found the Castrol 5w30 seems better nothing bad to say 8.3lts per 100ks serving is the secret to a great BMW yes i do my own oil changes it's easy cheers and happy motoring

BodySedan
Badge323i
LineEditions package
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2015
Adam
Adam
  • 2 reviews
  • 5 likes

Love this car!

published
BodySedan
Badge330i
LineM Sport
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2016
Bruce
Bruce
  • 10 reviews
  • 11 likes

Motor bike on wheels

published

Performance excellent. Handling ditto. Run flat tyres noisy and rough. Replaced them with Pirelli P Zeros. Sound system excellent. 21000k in 6 years. No problems. Dealers too dear for servicing. Oil etc $550??!!!
Midas $150. Condition based servicing schedule a good system. Paint outstanding. Soft alloys. Insurance $750/annum. Roof no leaks.

BodyConvertible
Badge335i
LineM Sport
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJune 2011
Heather
HeatherMount Waverley
  • 10 reviews
  • 5 likes

lemon

published

driving experience great, handles good, no noises, stops well. nice leather seats, plenty of leg room. reliability none.always breaking down. running costs through the roof. the most unreliable, expensive car i have ever owned.stay away from this series 3 model. you have to take it to a specialist car mechanic,

BodySedan
Badge320i
LineExecutive
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJuly 2014
Brianjames
BrianjamesMelbourne
  • 2 reviews

330i great sporty drive

published

The new 330i sedan with the M Sport package is a great drivers car, can be eco for great fuel economy or click sport depending on your mood or the road.Heaps of power with the twin turbo and very good handling
Fabulous for long distance driving, no stress driving, good sound system and quietness
Quiet, luxury with all the safety features of active cruise control and more cameras than a Hollywood movie

BodySedan
Badge330i
LineM Sport
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2016
Cars

Find out how BMW 3 Series compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Garry.
Garry.AU
  • 2 reviews
  • 11 likes

Dissapointment.

published
BodySedan
Badge330i
LineLifestyle
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2016
Garry.
Garry.

Update.
I have now been driving my Brand New (well it was last Year) Mercedes that I Bought after Dumping the Crappy BMW and have not had any Problems. Just Love the Merc.
Hope my Report on the BMW Helped at least One person.

Curtis
CurtisAdelaide
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Great performance, perfect as a family car

published

BMW series 3 is perfect for my family of four. It is spacious in the inside As well as the boot. The handling is very smooth at turns as well as the performance of the car is really good for the price. Overall it is also fuel efficient so the running cost is not as high as the other similar range.

BodySedan
Badge316i
LineExecutive
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2016
Raz
RazGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

So Damned Fine, But Here Are the Minor Gripes Most Won't Talk About

published
BodySedan
Badge320d
LineLuxury
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2016
Raz
Raz
Silverback
SilverbackSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 7 reviews
  • 6 likes

A dream to drive. Sports and luxury combined.

published

2010 BMW 320i 4 door sedan is an absolute pleasure to drive. Quick, efficient and very responsive I love driving this car. The steering is a little heavier than usual but this gives you great road feel, responsive driving experience. Love the leather interior but above just love the solid feeling and safety of this car. This is especially important when your family is on board. Great value for money secondhand. Quality product.

BodySedan
Badge320i
LineExecutive
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSept 2015
Marcia-Grace
Marcia-GraceQueensland, 4552
  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

LOVE MY BMW320D M SPORT "STORM TROOPER" HIGH GLOSS WHITE SEDAN and BRISBANE BMW

published
BodySedan
Badge320d
LineM Sport
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2016
Brok
BrokBrisbane
  • 7 reviews
  • 7 likes

My Favourite Car!

published
BodySedan
Badge320i
LineHigh-Line M Sport
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2016

Think twice before buying another F30

published
BodySedan
Badge330i
LineM Sport
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2015
David P
David PROSSLYN PARK
  • 2 reviews

Sporting Drive

published
BodySedan
Badge328i
LineM Sport
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2013
David
DavidSydney
  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Love it, fun car.

published

I bought it when the 318 was 9yrs old. It still runs good. I can feel I drive it by my thinking. But after 200000kms, sometime light has little problem, the roof was down. I sold it at 230000kms. miss my bmw 318 so much. Will buy an new one when I afford it

BodySedan
Badge318i
LineLifestyle
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2005
Brad
BradBrisbane

GREAT WHILE YOUR BUYING THE CAR, BUT ABSOLUTELY TERRIBLE SERVICE AND BACK UP WARRANTY

published

They are great with the sales process and quick to sell you a car, but seriously absolutely disgusting on their back up warranty and service, especially Motorline BMW Logan, the service manager has the worst attitude and they definitely don't stand by their brand and product which is a real shame and what makes things worse, the attitude of the service manager is 'i don't care that you have had 12 Bmw's if you don't come back and buy a car again i don't care'.

BodySedan
Badge320d
LineSport
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJune 2013
Page 2 of 4

Questions & Answers

Edmunds S.
Edmunds S.asked
3 Series E90 (2005-2012)

Hello! Hope someone can help me
Why my idrive screen starts to function properly as it should work after i drive 15 minutes or so?? Example-i start the car and screen is on but when i press something its reacting after some time but later starts to work properly

No answers
Kris
Krisasked
Coupe

Hi guys.I m thinking to get a 330d E92.What are your thoughts about this vehicle?Thanks

1 answer
Sean W
Sean W

I would choose any Petrol model any day over the desiel.
Nicer to drive in more than one way.
Less issues with filters too,

Janet K.
Janet K.asked
3 Series

Hi. I have bmw 320i series3 touring with 144000km. It's engine oil level drops after some millage,no evidence of leakage.I am using engine oil 5W-30 and serviced on time. When I add oil shows OK but after 500km to 800km show low level.What could be the problem?

No answers
See all BMW 3 Series questions

Get an answer from our members

BMW 3 Series

Details

Compare all 24 BMW 3 Series
CategoryCars and SedansCars and SedansCars and SedansCars and Sedans
Starting Price $73,953$73,953$77,105$77,105
TransmissionAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticAutomatic
Drive TypeRear Wheel Drive (RWD)Rear Wheel Drive (RWD)Rear Wheel Drive (RWD)Rear Wheel Drive (RWD)
Fuel TypeDieselDieselPetrolPetrol
Wheels18" Alloy18" Alloy19" Alloy19" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Fuel Consumption4.8 L/100km4.8 L/100km6.1 L/100km6.1 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 40 L40 L59 L59 L
Engine4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.0L
Max Power140kW @ 4000rpm140kW @ 4000rpm190kW @ 5000rpm190kW @ 5000rpm
Max Torque400Nm @ 1750-2500rpm400Nm @ 1750-2500rpm400Nm @ 1550-4400rpm400Nm @ 1550-4400rpm
Country of ManufactureGermanyGermanyGermanyGermany
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)
Release dateMar 2019Mar 2019Mar 2019Mar 2019
Compare all 24 BMW 3 Series
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.