34 photos
BMW 3 Series

BMW 3 Series

Sedan, Touring, Coupe, etc...
3.7 from 94 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Cars in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for BMW? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    2.6 (7)
  • Value for Money
    3.0 (7)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.1 (7)
  • Noise Level
    3.1 (7)
  • Braking
    4.3 (7)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.1 (7)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.1 (7)
  • Suspension
    4.3 (7)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.3 (7)
  • Handling
    4.4 (7)
  • Interior Design
    4.1 (7)
  • Boot Size
    3.7 (7)
  • Comfort
    3.4 (7)
  • Features
    3.4 (7)
Previous
Next
DMeyer
DMeyerGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

My 5th BMW and my last.

published

I owned a G20 320D M-sport (blue one) for 18 months or so but recently (finally) sold it. Haven't looked back. The power and steering were amazing, but that wasn't enough to make up for the many gremlins and weird operational functions. I did finally manage to get most of the warranty issues resolved before selling it, so as to not burden the next owner, but I won't own a BMW again. It was my 5th, so very disappointing.

Purchased in February 2020.

Build Quality
3/5
Value for Money
2/5
Dissapointed
DissapointedSydney, NSW
  • 5 reviews
  • 7 likes

Fantastic drive, looks great, iconnect could be better

published

I have now had the car for over 18 months. Everything about the vehicle as a vehicle is quite fantastic. I am somewhat disappointed with the remote electronics. I owned the vehicle for 3 months before the remote systems worked! But as a drive, fantastic. But the remotes don't perform all that well. The car gets lost to the BMW internet system all too soon after leaving the metropolitan area. Odd occurrence of quirky unexplained operations of electronic systems inside the vehicle takes the shine of the otherwise perfect vehicle. Buy it for the way it drives, not the electronics. In country drives I get 5.5litre/ 100km, how fantastic is that!

Purchased in May 2019 at BMW Hornsby for $75,000.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Mr T
Mr TSydney, NSW
  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

BMW won't help with a faulty airbag

published

After a BMW recall to fix the airbag in 2019 the airbag light has come on yet BMW won't review the fault without getting paid a substantial amount. I have heard on many instances of this occurring. BMW has continued to not take responsibility for faulty airbags which have been well documented as being a manufacturing issue. BMW product backing is extremely disappointing and will destroy their resale value if they continue down this path. BMW shame on you.

Purchased in July 2001 at BMW Dealers for $75,000.00.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
4/5
Dan U.
Dan U.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Worst car I have ever purchased.

published

I picked up my 2020 BMW 340 Xdrive in March 2020. With the lockdowns in Melbourne - car has only done 3000Km in 8.5 months. During that time the car has been back for repairs than its been anywhere else.
1. Assisted Driving system failed while doing 100km on M1. Car went across 2 lanes.
2. Computer goes offline
3. Assisted parking system keeps failing and throwing errors
4. Rattling sunroof
None of these issues were fixed. BMW keeps reloading the software and handing it back saying its fixed. As a consumer of BMW, you have no other choice but to keep going back to them to get the car fixed. Right now they have had the car for 2 weeks and still no idea on when it will be fixed.
Terrible service, terrible product.

Purchased in March 2020 at BMW Dealers for $119,000.00.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Cars

Find out how BMW 3 Series compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
IBB
IBBMelbourne Victoria

Service plan 330i

published

Anyone had an issue where the purchase contract states a service plan of 10years/100,000km but in the BMW system, it is only recorded as 3yrs/60,000km's. Thats the case I have. The dealer acknowledges it should be for 10years, but keeps saying, they are working with Munich to resolve some issue about the code they should use. From Waverley BMW

Purchased in December 2018 at BMW Dealers for $1.00.

Build Quality
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
ghostwhowalks
ghostwhowalks
  • 2 reviews

Put off BMW for life

published

Purchased in February 2017 for $5,000.00.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Bmwfan
BmwfanWide Bay-Burnett, QLD

Great car if properly maintained, not suggested for winter

published

Purchased in September 2015 at Family.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
4/5

Related Articles

Previous
Smart shopping tips to help you make the most of Black Friday sales

With Black Friday coming up on the 26th of November (and some deals starting well before), we’ve got some smart shopping tips to help you make the most of sales.

Clara V.
Clara V.15 Nov 2021
smart-shopping-tips-to-help-you-make-the-most-of-black-friday-sales
Christmas Gift Ideas for Mum

Since many mothers tend to spout selfless phrases like ‘please don’t spend any money on me,’ Christmas is a great opportunity to spoil your Mum. However, this can be a tricky feat if your mum hasn’t told you what kind of gift she’d be happy with.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.29 Nov 2021
christmas-gift-ideas-for-mum
How to reduce food waste this Christmas, from food-saving products to cooking tips

The pressure to go “all out” when cooking up a Christmas feast often means that a lot of the food we make ends up in the bin. Luckily, there are a variety of ways to reduce food waste these holidays - we’ve got some here.

Clara V.
Clara V.7 Dec 2021
how-to-reduce-food-waste-this-christmas-from-food-saving-products-to-cooking-tips
Next
Nate
NatePerth
  • 4 reviews

Great car but don’t expect it to be cheap

published
BodySedan
Badge320i
LineExecutive
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2014
laalaa14
laalaa14Australia
  • 12 reviews
  • 3 likes

Where do i start?

published
BodySedan
Badge318i
LineExecutive
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2013
Cars

Find out how BMW 3 Series compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
David H
David H
  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Great driving experience except for the tyres

published
BodySedan
Badge320i
LineModern
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJuly 2013
rohit10
rohit10Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Shocking quality and BMW not willing to cover faults under manufacturer warranty. Really bad custome

published
BodySedan
Badge320d
LineHigh-Line Sport
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2016
Ange
Ange
  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Lemon

published

I have wanted to drive a BMW my whole life and after just over a year of driving a 335i sedan on a novated lease I must say I am so disappointed and expected better for BMW. This car is a straight up lemon. 2 major problems which arose in the first year of using the car, first one a crack and subsequent leak in the coolant system. Second one a few months later the car just wouldn't start apparently due to "software problems" affecting the starter motor. We have had to pay around $4000 to date out of our pockets as the novated lease budget wasn't sufficient to cover the rip off prices that BMW service charge. Next car will not be a BMW thats for sure. Crap quality.

BodySedan
Badge335i
LineM Sport
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2016
Cars

Find out how BMW 3 Series compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Adent
AdentPerth
  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great Drive but iDrive is Crap

published
BodySedan
Badge330i
LineM Sport
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2016
AL1916
AL1916AU
  • 12 reviews
  • 7 likes

Reliable car with quality

published

What I like about this BMW is build quality and just look elegance. Fuel consumption can be thirsty for the naturally aspirated 2.5 engine. On average it takes about 12 to 14L per 100kms.
you don't want things to go wrong with BMW because it can cost you, especially mechanically when its out of warranty.
Would probably recommend the newer generation for better fuel ecomomy

BodySedan
Badge325i
LineHigh-Line M Sport
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2012
Sam Lenny
Sam LennyMelbourne
  • 5 reviews

Not comfortable as it seemed from first

published

Bought this from dealer looked amazing drives pretty smooth power was also good just that after few months of owning it things started get unclear been a daily driver I drive at least 3 hours on the road the car is very hard the seats no longer comfortable always have problem with the back window which they replaced awhile ago and its glass always makes squeeze noise also when traveling between 85-95km/h the side mirror makes unnecessary noise as well dealer had look shake heads dont know what to do the gas paddle starts become jamming some too. Not a good quality one from bmw.

BodySedan
Badge320d
LineHigh-Line Luxury
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2015
Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

grant d
grant dasked
3 Series E90 (2005-2012)

what year did bmw resolve the problem with the timing chain in the N47 engine

No answers
Rockinghorse
Rockinghorseasked
3 Series E90 (2005-2012)

what needs doing for a 130k service

No answers
Edmunds S.
Edmunds S.asked
3 Series E90 (2005-2012)

Hello! Hope someone can help me
Why my idrive screen starts to function properly as it should work after i drive 15 minutes or so?? Example-i start the car and screen is on but when i press something its reacting after some time but later starts to work properly

No answers
See all BMW 3 Series questions

Get an answer from our members

BMW 3 Series

Details

Compare all 25 BMW 3 Series
CategoryCars and SedansCars and SedansCars and SedansCars and Sedans
Starting Price $73,953$73,953$77,105$77,105
TransmissionAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticAutomatic
Drive TypeRear Wheel Drive (RWD)Rear Wheel Drive (RWD)Rear Wheel Drive (RWD)Rear Wheel Drive (RWD)
Fuel TypeDieselDieselPetrolPetrol
Wheels18" Alloy18" Alloy19" Alloy19" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Fuel Consumption4.8 L/100km4.8 L/100km6.1 L/100km6.1 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 40 L40 L59 L59 L
Engine4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.0L
Max Power140kW @ 4000rpm140kW @ 4000rpm190kW @ 5000rpm190kW @ 5000rpm
Max Torque400Nm @ 1750-2500rpm400Nm @ 1750-2500rpm400Nm @ 1550-4400rpm400Nm @ 1550-4400rpm
Country of ManufactureGermanyGermanyGermanyGermany
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)
Release dateMar 2019Mar 2019Mar 2019Mar 2019
Compare all 25 BMW 3 Series
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.