34 photos
BMW 3 Series

BMW 3 Series

Sedan, Touring, Coupe, etc...
3.7 from 94 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Cars in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for BMW? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.6 (14)
  • Value for Money
    3.8 (14)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.4 (14)
  • Noise Level
    3.9 (14)
  • Braking
    4.4 (14)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.4 (14)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.2 (14)
  • Suspension
    4.5 (14)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.9 (14)
  • Handling
    4.7 (13)
  • Interior Design
    4.4 (14)
  • Boot Size
    4.1 (14)
  • Comfort
    4.2 (14)
  • Features
    4.1 (14)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
Katherine
KatherineAU
  • 9 reviews
  • 2 likes

Most reliable car I've ever driven

published
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in May 2003 for $37,000.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
DrBob737
DrBob737AU
  • 16 reviews
  • 9 likes

BMW 320D 2008 - The panzer still going strong after ten years!

published

After driving several European cars, my 320D is still going strong at 138K on the clock. In ten years of ownership this car has been extremely economical in all facets. 5.2 litres/100km avg serviced once a year at around $375 per service that’s it. Apart from a petrol station water ingestion in my diesel tank which was an insurance $8k fix the car has been running perfectly all this time. No parts falling off, just specified tyres, filters and battery replacements. No timing belt issues, no turbo issue, it’s called driving the vehicle the way it should.

dmwheelers
dmwheelersGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 7 reviews
  • 5 likes

Unbelievable comfort and quality, fuel consumption is amazing.

published

Daily driver, servicing is not as expensive as you’d expect for a BMW. Had no issues with the car at all. Used as a run around in the city as well as country trips.

  • Thumbnail
Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
DMeyer
DMeyerGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

My 5th BMW and my last.

published

I owned a G20 320D M-sport (blue one) for 18 months or so but recently (finally) sold it. Haven't looked back. The power and steering were amazing, but that wasn't enough to make up for the many gremlins and weird operational functions. I did finally manage to get most of the warranty issues resolved before selling it, so as to not burden the next owner, but I won't own a BMW again. It was my 5th, so very disappointing.

Purchased in February 2020.

Build Quality
3/5
Value for Money
2/5
Cars

Find out how BMW 3 Series compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Dissapointed
DissapointedSydney, NSW
  • 5 reviews
  • 7 likes

Fantastic drive, looks great, iconnect could be better

published

I have now had the car for over 18 months. Everything about the vehicle as a vehicle is quite fantastic. I am somewhat disappointed with the remote electronics. I owned the vehicle for 3 months before the remote systems worked! But as a drive, fantastic. But the remotes don't perform all that well. The car gets lost to the BMW internet system all too soon after leaving the metropolitan area. Odd occurrence of quirky unexplained operations of electronic systems inside the vehicle takes the shine of the otherwise perfect vehicle. Buy it for the way it drives, not the electronics. In country drives I get 5.5litre/ 100km, how fantastic is that!

Purchased in May 2019 at BMW Hornsby for $75,000.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Mr T
Mr TSydney, NSW
  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

BMW won't help with a faulty airbag

published

After a BMW recall to fix the airbag in 2019 the airbag light has come on yet BMW won't review the fault without getting paid a substantial amount. I have heard on many instances of this occurring. BMW has continued to not take responsibility for faulty airbags which have been well documented as being a manufacturing issue. BMW product backing is extremely disappointing and will destroy their resale value if they continue down this path. BMW shame on you.

Purchased in July 2001 at BMW Dealers for $75,000.00.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
4/5
Dan U.
Dan U.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Worst car I have ever purchased.

published

I picked up my 2020 BMW 340 Xdrive in March 2020. With the lockdowns in Melbourne - car has only done 3000Km in 8.5 months. During that time the car has been back for repairs than its been anywhere else.
1. Assisted Driving system failed while doing 100km on M1. Car went across 2 lanes.
2. Computer goes offline
3. Assisted parking system keeps failing and throwing errors
4. Rattling sunroof
None of these issues were fixed. BMW keeps reloading the software and handing it back saying its fixed. As a consumer of BMW, you have no other choice but to keep going back to them to get the car fixed. Right now they have had the car for 2 weeks and still no idea on when it will be fixed.
Terrible service, terrible product.

Purchased in March 2020 at BMW Dealers for $119,000.00.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5

Related Articles

Previous
Smart shopping tips to help you make the most of Black Friday sales

With Black Friday coming up on the 26th of November (and some deals starting well before), we’ve got some smart shopping tips to help you make the most of sales.

Clara V.
Clara V.15 Nov 2021
smart-shopping-tips-to-help-you-make-the-most-of-black-friday-sales
Our Latest Expert Car Reviews

A complete list of all our most recent car reviews by our resident car expert. Every review has both a detailed article and an accompanying video, so you can find out all the specs and then see them in action. Whether you're looking for a family car, a 4X4, or a performance vehicle, we cover everything in the Australian market.

Cameron S.
Cameron S.12 Jan 2021
our-latest-expert-car-reviews
How to be more eco-friendly when you're gifting this Christmas

Christmas seems to go hand in hand with consumption, but that doesn’t mean you can’t be eco-friendly with your gift giving. We’ve got tips for everything from shopping sustainably to zero-waste packaging, so that you can have a greener holiday season.

Clara V.
Clara V.30 Nov 2021
how-to-be-more-eco-friendly-when-youre-gifting-this-christmas
Next
Aidan
Aidan
  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes

Lovely

published

A very sleek stylish and comfortable car best feature adjustable height so if too tall it's a perfect car for you while also providing comfort and extremely well gas mileage

Purchased in October 2019.

Build Quality
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Josh
JoshCanberra 2600, ACT
  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes

Class leading model with impressive technology.

published

The new 3 series truly sets the bar for its class and segment. I have enjoyed over 8 months of ownership and there isn’t one thing I could fault nor any issues I’ve faced. The 330i has fantastic power and fuel economy - getting around 850km to a tank and that includes some spirited driving too. The technology that’s bundled as standard is first rate with much of it found only as ‘optional extras’ on the competition (A4, C Class). In a segment that’s shrinking (mid-size luxury sedans) giving a rise to SUV’s, I’m content and glad I made this purchase and wouldn’t consider anything else.

Purchased in July 2019.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Cars

Find out how BMW 3 Series compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
A. Romano
A. RomanoGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes

Ultimate driving Machine

published

I have been driving BMW CARS for the last 20 years & the 340i is definitely the best 3 series they have produced, it has performance when you need , & economy when driving it like a normal car I bought this BMW as a demo with 3000km & it does not miss a beat, so far it has been the most reliable BMW I have owned with the best performance . If it's a sports car you are after the BMW340I will not disappoint, a true performance vehicle.

Purchased in August 2017.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Sean W
Sean WSydney, NSW
  • 20 reviews
  • 4 likes

Best car yet

published

After 20 years of Australia V8 Holdens bought a 340i Manual M Sport
With the power and sound kit from BMW.
The speed of the V8
300% better handling than any of my HSV's
The only thing missing is the V8 sound that's missed big time0:-(.. The 3.0L 6cylinder undoubtedly best sounding 6.
When driven like an old man uses fuel as claimed than a Toyota Yaris.
Led adaptive headlights, YouTube to understand as incredible , computer controlled lights turn and allows high beam with a car in front shielded.
Too many options.
Electric blinds in rear windows.

$1290 for 5 years servicing. Cheapest car ever.

Purchased in January 2016 at BMW Dealers for $99,000.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
IBB
IBBMelbourne Victoria

Service plan 330i

published

Anyone had an issue where the purchase contract states a service plan of 10years/100,000km but in the BMW system, it is only recorded as 3yrs/60,000km's. Thats the case I have. The dealer acknowledges it should be for 10years, but keeps saying, they are working with Munich to resolve some issue about the code they should use. From Waverley BMW

Purchased in December 2018 at BMW Dealers for $1.00.

Build Quality
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Cars

Find out how BMW 3 Series compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
ghostwhowalks
ghostwhowalks
  • 2 reviews

Put off BMW for life

published

Purchased in February 2017 for $5,000.00.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Michael
MichaelHunter Region, NSW
  • 8 reviews
  • 7 likes

BMW 2009 320d E90 turbo diesel automatic sedan

published

Purchased in April 2017.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Bmwfan
BmwfanWide Bay-Burnett, QLD

Great car if properly maintained, not suggested for winter

published

Purchased in September 2015 at Family.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Page 1 of 4

Questions & Answers

grant d
grant dasked
3 Series E90 (2005-2012)

what year did bmw resolve the problem with the timing chain in the N47 engine

No answers
Rockinghorse
Rockinghorseasked
3 Series E90 (2005-2012)

what needs doing for a 130k service

No answers
Edmunds S.
Edmunds S.asked
3 Series E90 (2005-2012)

Hello! Hope someone can help me
Why my idrive screen starts to function properly as it should work after i drive 15 minutes or so?? Example-i start the car and screen is on but when i press something its reacting after some time but later starts to work properly

No answers
See all BMW 3 Series questions

Get an answer from our members

BMW 3 Series

Details

Compare all 25 BMW 3 Series
CategoryCars and SedansCars and SedansCars and SedansCars and Sedans
Starting Price $73,953$73,953$77,105$77,105
TransmissionAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticAutomatic
Drive TypeRear Wheel Drive (RWD)Rear Wheel Drive (RWD)Rear Wheel Drive (RWD)Rear Wheel Drive (RWD)
Fuel TypeDieselDieselPetrolPetrol
Wheels18" Alloy18" Alloy19" Alloy19" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Fuel Consumption4.8 L/100km4.8 L/100km6.1 L/100km6.1 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 40 L40 L59 L59 L
Engine4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.0L
Max Power140kW @ 4000rpm140kW @ 4000rpm190kW @ 5000rpm190kW @ 5000rpm
Max Torque400Nm @ 1750-2500rpm400Nm @ 1750-2500rpm400Nm @ 1550-4400rpm400Nm @ 1550-4400rpm
Country of ManufactureGermanyGermanyGermanyGermany
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)
Release dateMar 2019Mar 2019Mar 2019Mar 2019
Compare all 25 BMW 3 Series
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.