34 photos
BMW 3 Series

BMW 3 Series

Sedan, Touring, Coupe, etc...
3.7 from 93 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Cars in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for BMW? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.4 (9)
  • Value for Money
    3.7 (9)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.4 (9)
  • Noise Level
    3.9 (9)
  • Braking
    4.3 (9)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.2 (9)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.1 (9)
  • Suspension
    4.3 (9)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.9 (9)
  • Handling
    4.5 (8)
  • Interior Design
    4.3 (9)
  • Boot Size
    4.1 (9)
  • Comfort
    4.2 (9)
  • Features
    4.2 (9)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
DrBob737
DrBob737AU
  • 16 reviews
  • 9 likes

BMW 320D 2008 - The panzer still going strong after ten years!

published

After driving several European cars, my 320D is still going strong at 138K on the clock. In ten years of ownership this car has been extremely economical in all facets. 5.2 litres/100km avg serviced once a year at around $375 per service that’s it. Apart from a petrol station water ingestion in my diesel tank which was an insurance $8k fix the car has been running perfectly all this time. No parts falling off, just specified tyres, filters and battery replacements. No timing belt issues, no turbo issue, it’s called driving the vehicle the way it should.

dmwheelers
dmwheelersGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 5 reviews
  • 5 likes

Unbelievable comfort and quality, fuel consumption is amazing.

published

Daily driver, servicing is not as expensive as you’d expect for a BMW. Had no issues with the car at all. Used as a run around in the city as well as country trips.

  • Thumbnail
Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Mr T
Mr TSydney, NSW
  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

BMW won't help with a faulty airbag

published

After a BMW recall to fix the airbag in 2019 the airbag light has come on yet BMW won't review the fault without getting paid a substantial amount. I have heard on many instances of this occurring. BMW has continued to not take responsibility for faulty airbags which have been well documented as being a manufacturing issue. BMW product backing is extremely disappointing and will destroy their resale value if they continue down this path. BMW shame on you.

Purchased in July 2001 at BMW Dealers for $75,000.00.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
4/5
Dan U.
Dan U.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Worst car I have ever purchased.

published

I picked up my 2020 BMW 340 Xdrive in March 2020. With the lockdowns in Melbourne - car has only done 3000Km in 8.5 months. During that time the car has been back for repairs than its been anywhere else.
1. Assisted Driving system failed while doing 100km on M1. Car went across 2 lanes.
2. Computer goes offline
3. Assisted parking system keeps failing and throwing errors
4. Rattling sunroof
None of these issues were fixed. BMW keeps reloading the software and handing it back saying its fixed. As a consumer of BMW, you have no other choice but to keep going back to them to get the car fixed. Right now they have had the car for 2 weeks and still no idea on when it will be fixed.
Terrible service, terrible product.

Purchased in March 2020 at BMW Dealers for $119,000.00.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Cars

Find out how BMW 3 Series compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Aidan
Aidan
  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes

Lovely

published

A very sleek stylish and comfortable car best feature adjustable height so if too tall it's a perfect car for you while also providing comfort and extremely well gas mileage

Purchased in October 2019.

Build Quality
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Josh
JoshCanberra 2600, ACT
  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes

Class leading model with impressive technology.

published

The new 3 series truly sets the bar for its class and segment. I have enjoyed over 8 months of ownership and there isn’t one thing I could fault nor any issues I’ve faced. The 330i has fantastic power and fuel economy - getting around 850km to a tank and that includes some spirited driving too. The technology that’s bundled as standard is first rate with much of it found only as ‘optional extras’ on the competition (A4, C Class). In a segment that’s shrinking (mid-size luxury sedans) giving a rise to SUV’s, I’m content and glad I made this purchase and wouldn’t consider anything else.

Purchased in July 2019.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
A. Romano
A. RomanoGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes

Ultimate driving Machine

published

I have been driving BMW CARS for the last 20 years & the 340i is definitely the best 3 series they have produced, it has performance when you need , & economy when driving it like a normal car I bought this BMW as a demo with 3000km & it does not miss a beat, so far it has been the most reliable BMW I have owned with the best performance . If it's a sports car you are after the BMW340I will not disappoint, a true performance vehicle.

Purchased in August 2017.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
4/5

Related Articles

Previous
Our Latest Expert Car Reviews

A complete list of all our most recent car reviews by our resident car expert. Every review has both a detailed article and an accompanying video, so you can find out all the specs and then see them in action. Whether you're looking for a family car, a 4X4, or a performance vehicle, we cover everything in the Australian market.

Cameron S.
Cameron S.12 Jan 2021
our-latest-expert-car-reviews
Next
Sean W
Sean WSydney, NSW
  • 20 reviews
  • 4 likes

Best car yet

published

After 20 years of Australia V8 Holdens bought a 340i Manual M Sport
With the power and sound kit from BMW.
The speed of the V8
300% better handling than any of my HSV's
The only thing missing is the V8 sound that's missed big time0:-(.. The 3.0L 6cylinder undoubtedly best sounding 6.
When driven like an old man uses fuel as claimed than a Toyota Yaris.
Led adaptive headlights, YouTube to understand as incredible , computer controlled lights turn and allows high beam with a car in front shielded.
Too many options.
Electric blinds in rear windows.

$1290 for 5 years servicing. Cheapest car ever.

Purchased in January 2016 at BMW Dealers for $99,000.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
ghostwhowalks
ghostwhowalks
  • 2 reviews

Put off BMW for life

published

Purchased in February 2017 for $5,000.00.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Cars

Find out how BMW 3 Series compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Michael
MichaelHunter Region, NSW
  • 8 reviews
  • 5 likes

BMW 2009 320d E90 turbo diesel automatic sedan

published

Purchased in April 2017.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
RW1891
RW1891Sydney Surrounds, NSW
  • 15 reviews
  • 10 likes

320d Luxury Line - Excellent Drive!

published
BodySedan
Badge320d
LineLuxury
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2018
Larry
Larry
  • 3 reviews

car Does 5.2 litres for 100kilometres. Car is smoothe and is an excellent vehicle on both highway an

published

Commuting and long distance. Used every day. Service is done as per recommendation. No issues with car. Comfortably seats 4 people. Large boot. Good vision and has parking assist. Paintwork seems far superior to other luxury cars the same age. Very good car for a female also. 5out of 5.

BodySedan
Badge320d
LineLuxury
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJuly 2015
Cars

Find out how BMW 3 Series compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Chris
ChrisSyd
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

The best car you can have

published

I had just recently sold my 2012 BMW 328i and I can’t stress how much I miss it. The infotainment system of it is so intuitive and the driving experience is just a notch better than all other cars that are in the class with it, I know it is not as good as the good old E46 or E90, but it is still considerably better than other cars by miles. Writing this review makes me miss it more. Wish to see it around the city one more time. And the maintenance for the car is about right if you do not go to a dealership, BMR is where I would recommend. Best car you can ever get.

BodySedan
Badge328i
LineHigh-Line Luxury
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJuly 2016
Girish
GirishNSW, 2132
  • 9 reviews
  • 3 likes

It is an absolutely beautiful car

published

I have 330i series BMW 2016 model with innovation and luxury offers put together in a Tanzanite color. My car was manufactured for me as there was no car available to my requirement. It took 6 months to manufacture and deliver it. I love this car and find its navigation and display in the windscreen extremely useful and convenient.

BodySedan
Badge330i
LineExclusive Innovations
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2016
laalaa14
laalaa14Australia
  • 12 reviews
  • 3 likes

Where do i start?

published
BodySedan
Badge318i
LineExecutive
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2013
Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

grant d
grant dasked
3 Series E90 (2005-2012)

what year did bmw resolve the problem with the timing chain in the N47 engine

No answers
Rockinghorse
Rockinghorseasked
3 Series E90 (2005-2012)

what needs doing for a 130k service

No answers
Edmunds S.
Edmunds S.asked
3 Series E90 (2005-2012)

Hello! Hope someone can help me
Why my idrive screen starts to function properly as it should work after i drive 15 minutes or so?? Example-i start the car and screen is on but when i press something its reacting after some time but later starts to work properly

No answers
See all BMW 3 Series questions

Get an answer from our members

BMW 3 Series

Details

Compare all 25 BMW 3 Series
CategoryCars and SedansCars and SedansCars and SedansCars and Sedans
Starting Price $73,953$73,953$77,105$77,105
TransmissionAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticAutomatic
Drive TypeRear Wheel Drive (RWD)Rear Wheel Drive (RWD)Rear Wheel Drive (RWD)Rear Wheel Drive (RWD)
Fuel TypeDieselDieselPetrolPetrol
Wheels18" Alloy18" Alloy19" Alloy19" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Fuel Consumption4.8 L/100km4.8 L/100km6.1 L/100km6.1 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 40 L40 L59 L59 L
Engine4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.0L
Max Power140kW @ 4000rpm140kW @ 4000rpm190kW @ 5000rpm190kW @ 5000rpm
Max Torque400Nm @ 1750-2500rpm400Nm @ 1750-2500rpm400Nm @ 1550-4400rpm400Nm @ 1550-4400rpm
Country of ManufactureGermanyGermanyGermanyGermany
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)
Release dateMar 2019Mar 2019Mar 2019Mar 2019
Compare all 25 BMW 3 Series
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.