34 photos
BMW 3 Series

BMW 3 Series

Sedan, Touring, Coupe, etc...
3.7 from 93 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Cars in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for BMW? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    2.0 (5)
  • Value for Money
    2.4 (5)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.0 (5)
  • Noise Level
    2.8 (5)
  • Braking
    4.4 (5)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.8 (5)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.0 (5)
  • Suspension
    4.2 (5)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.2 (5)
  • Handling
    4.2 (5)
  • Interior Design
    4.0 (5)
  • Boot Size
    3.6 (5)
  • Comfort
    3.2 (5)
  • Features
    3.2 (5)
Previous
Next
DMeyer
DMeyerGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

My 5th BMW and my last.

published

I owned a G20 320D M-sport (blue one) for 18 months or so but recently (finally) sold it. Haven't looked back. The power and steering were amazing, but that wasn't enough to make up for the many gremlins and weird operational functions. I did finally manage to get most of the warranty issues resolved before selling it, so as to not burden the next owner, but I won't own a BMW again. It was my 5th, so very disappointing.

Purchased in February 2020.

Build Quality
3/5
Value for Money
2/5
Mr T
Mr TSydney, NSW
  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

BMW won't help with a faulty airbag

published

After a BMW recall to fix the airbag in 2019 the airbag light has come on yet BMW won't review the fault without getting paid a substantial amount. I have heard on many instances of this occurring. BMW has continued to not take responsibility for faulty airbags which have been well documented as being a manufacturing issue. BMW product backing is extremely disappointing and will destroy their resale value if they continue down this path. BMW shame on you.

Purchased in July 2001 at BMW Dealers for $75,000.00.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
4/5
Dan U.
Dan U.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Worst car I have ever purchased.

published

I picked up my 2020 BMW 340 Xdrive in March 2020. With the lockdowns in Melbourne - car has only done 3000Km in 8.5 months. During that time the car has been back for repairs than its been anywhere else.
1. Assisted Driving system failed while doing 100km on M1. Car went across 2 lanes.
2. Computer goes offline
3. Assisted parking system keeps failing and throwing errors
4. Rattling sunroof
None of these issues were fixed. BMW keeps reloading the software and handing it back saying its fixed. As a consumer of BMW, you have no other choice but to keep going back to them to get the car fixed. Right now they have had the car for 2 weeks and still no idea on when it will be fixed.
Terrible service, terrible product.

Purchased in March 2020 at BMW Dealers for $119,000.00.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
ghostwhowalks
ghostwhowalks
  • 2 reviews

Put off BMW for life

published

Purchased in February 2017 for $5,000.00.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Cars

Find out how BMW 3 Series compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Bmwfan
BmwfanWide Bay-Burnett, QLD

Great car if properly maintained, not suggested for winter

published

Purchased in September 2015 at Family.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Nate
NatePerth
  • 4 reviews

Great car but don’t expect it to be cheap

published
BodySedan
Badge320i
LineExecutive
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2014
laalaa14
laalaa14Australia
  • 12 reviews
  • 3 likes

Where do i start?

published
BodySedan
Badge318i
LineExecutive
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2013

Related Articles

Previous
Our Latest Expert Car Reviews

A complete list of all our most recent car reviews by our resident car expert. Every review has both a detailed article and an accompanying video, so you can find out all the specs and then see them in action. Whether you're looking for a family car, a 4X4, or a performance vehicle, we cover everything in the Australian market.

Cameron S.
Cameron S.12 Jan 2021
our-latest-expert-car-reviews
Next
rohit10
rohit10Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Shocking quality and BMW not willing to cover faults under manufacturer warranty. Really bad custome

published
BodySedan
Badge320d
LineHigh-Line Sport
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2016
Ange
Ange
  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Lemon

published

I have wanted to drive a BMW my whole life and after just over a year of driving a 335i sedan on a novated lease I must say I am so disappointed and expected better for BMW. This car is a straight up lemon. 2 major problems which arose in the first year of using the car, first one a crack and subsequent leak in the coolant system. Second one a few months later the car just wouldn't start apparently due to "software problems" affecting the starter motor. We have had to pay around $4000 to date out of our pockets as the novated lease budget wasn't sufficient to cover the rip off prices that BMW service charge. Next car will not be a BMW thats for sure. Crap quality.

BodySedan
Badge335i
LineM Sport
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2016
Cars

Find out how BMW 3 Series compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Heather
HeatherMount Waverley
  • 10 reviews
  • 5 likes

lemon

published

driving experience great, handles good, no noises, stops well. nice leather seats, plenty of leg room. reliability none.always breaking down. running costs through the roof. the most unreliable, expensive car i have ever owned.stay away from this series 3 model. you have to take it to a specialist car mechanic,

BodySedan
Badge320i
LineExecutive
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJuly 2014
Garry.
Garry.AU
  • 2 reviews
  • 11 likes

Dissapointment.

published
BodySedan
Badge330i
LineLifestyle
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2016
Garry.
Garry.

Update.
I have now been driving my Brand New (well it was last Year) Mercedes that I Bought after Dumping the Crappy BMW and have not had any Problems. Just Love the Merc.
Hope my Report on the BMW Helped at least One person.

Think twice before buying another F30

published
BodySedan
Badge330i
LineM Sport
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2015
Cars

Find out how BMW 3 Series compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Brad
BradBrisbane

GREAT WHILE YOUR BUYING THE CAR, BUT ABSOLUTELY TERRIBLE SERVICE AND BACK UP WARRANTY

published

They are great with the sales process and quick to sell you a car, but seriously absolutely disgusting on their back up warranty and service, especially Motorline BMW Logan, the service manager has the worst attitude and they definitely don't stand by their brand and product which is a real shame and what makes things worse, the attitude of the service manager is 'i don't care that you have had 12 Bmw's if you don't come back and buy a car again i don't care'.

BodySedan
Badge320d
LineSport
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJune 2013
Sparrow
Sparrowsydney

An E90 Lemon

published
BodySedan
Badge323i
LineExecutive
TransmissionAutomatic
hhorvat
hhorvatperth

DON'T BUY .... ABSOLUTE LEMONS

published
BodySedan
Badge320i
LineLuxury
TransmissionAutomatic

Questions & Answers

grant d
grant dasked
3 Series E90 (2005-2012)

what year did bmw resolve the problem with the timing chain in the N47 engine

No answers
Rockinghorse
Rockinghorseasked
3 Series E90 (2005-2012)

what needs doing for a 130k service

No answers
Edmunds S.
Edmunds S.asked
3 Series E90 (2005-2012)

Hello! Hope someone can help me
Why my idrive screen starts to function properly as it should work after i drive 15 minutes or so?? Example-i start the car and screen is on but when i press something its reacting after some time but later starts to work properly

No answers
See all BMW 3 Series questions

Get an answer from our members

BMW 3 Series

Details

Compare all 25 BMW 3 Series
CategoryCars and SedansCars and SedansCars and SedansCars and Sedans
Starting Price $73,953$73,953$77,105$77,105
TransmissionAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticAutomatic
Drive TypeRear Wheel Drive (RWD)Rear Wheel Drive (RWD)Rear Wheel Drive (RWD)Rear Wheel Drive (RWD)
Fuel TypeDieselDieselPetrolPetrol
Wheels18" Alloy18" Alloy19" Alloy19" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Fuel Consumption4.8 L/100km4.8 L/100km6.1 L/100km6.1 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 40 L40 L59 L59 L
Engine4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.0L
Max Power140kW @ 4000rpm140kW @ 4000rpm190kW @ 5000rpm190kW @ 5000rpm
Max Torque400Nm @ 1750-2500rpm400Nm @ 1750-2500rpm400Nm @ 1550-4400rpm400Nm @ 1550-4400rpm
Country of ManufactureGermanyGermanyGermanyGermany
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)
Release dateMar 2019Mar 2019Mar 2019Mar 2019
Compare all 25 BMW 3 Series
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.