34 photos
BMW 3 Series

BMW 3 Series

Sedan, Touring, Coupe, etc...
3.7 from 92 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Cars in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for BMW? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.8 (4)
  • Value for Money
    3.8 (4)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.3 (4)
  • Noise Level
    3.5 (4)
  • Braking
    4.3 (4)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.5 (4)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.5 (4)
  • Suspension
    4.8 (4)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.8 (4)
  • Handling
    5.0 (4)
  • Interior Design
    4.5 (4)
  • Boot Size
    4.0 (4)
  • Comfort
    4.0 (4)
  • Features
    3.8 (4)
Previous
Next
DMeyer
DMeyerGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

My 5th BMW and my last.

published

I owned a G20 320D M-sport (blue one) for 18 months or so but recently (finally) sold it. Haven't looked back. The power and steering were amazing, but that wasn't enough to make up for the many gremlins and weird operational functions. I did finally manage to get most of the warranty issues resolved before selling it, so as to not burden the next owner, but I won't own a BMW again. It was my 5th, so very disappointing.

Purchased in February 2020.

Build Quality
3/5
Value for Money
2/5
Dissapointed
DissapointedSydney, NSW
  • 5 reviews
  • 7 likes

Fantastic drive, looks great, iconnect could be better

published

I have now had the car for over 18 months. Everything about the vehicle as a vehicle is quite fantastic. I am somewhat disappointed with the remote electronics. I owned the vehicle for 3 months before the remote systems worked! But as a drive, fantastic. But the remotes don't perform all that well. The car gets lost to the BMW internet system all too soon after leaving the metropolitan area. Odd occurrence of quirky unexplained operations of electronic systems inside the vehicle takes the shine of the otherwise perfect vehicle. Buy it for the way it drives, not the electronics. In country drives I get 5.5litre/ 100km, how fantastic is that!

Purchased in May 2019 at BMW Hornsby for $75,000.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
IBB
IBBMelbourne Victoria

Service plan 330i

published

Anyone had an issue where the purchase contract states a service plan of 10years/100,000km but in the BMW system, it is only recorded as 3yrs/60,000km's. Thats the case I have. The dealer acknowledges it should be for 10years, but keeps saying, they are working with Munich to resolve some issue about the code they should use. From Waverley BMW

Purchased in December 2018 at BMW Dealers for $1.00.

Build Quality
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Bmwfan
BmwfanWide Bay-Burnett, QLD

Great car if properly maintained, not suggested for winter

published

Purchased in September 2015 at Family.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Cars

Find out how BMW 3 Series compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Nate
NatePerth
  • 4 reviews

Great car but don’t expect it to be cheap

published
BodySedan
Badge320i
LineExecutive
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2014
David H
David H
  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Great driving experience except for the tyres

published
BodySedan
Badge320i
LineModern
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJuly 2013
Adent
AdentPerth
  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great Drive but iDrive is Crap

published
BodySedan
Badge330i
LineM Sport
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2016

Related Articles

Previous
Our Latest Expert Car Reviews

A complete list of all our most recent car reviews by our resident car expert. Every review has both a detailed article and an accompanying video, so you can find out all the specs and then see them in action. Whether you're looking for a family car, a 4X4, or a performance vehicle, we cover everything in the Australian market.

Cameron S.
Cameron S.12 Jan 2021
our-latest-expert-car-reviews
Next
AL1916
AL1916AU
  • 12 reviews
  • 7 likes

Reliable car with quality

published

What I like about this BMW is build quality and just look elegance. Fuel consumption can be thirsty for the naturally aspirated 2.5 engine. On average it takes about 12 to 14L per 100kms.
you don't want things to go wrong with BMW because it can cost you, especially mechanically when its out of warranty.
Would probably recommend the newer generation for better fuel ecomomy

BodySedan
Badge325i
LineHigh-Line M Sport
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2012
alex
alex
  • 5 reviews

THIS IS GREAT

published

Driving experience is great. Noise is ok. since my one is diesel. so it's fair enough.

run flat is good since last time i got a puncture in the tyre.

Dashboard is ok but its easy to get boring. legroom is good for the driver but not good for passenger.

BodySedan
Badge318d
LineClubsport
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2012
Cars

Find out how BMW 3 Series compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Curtis
CurtisAdelaide
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Great performance, perfect as a family car

published

BMW series 3 is perfect for my family of four. It is spacious in the inside As well as the boot. The handling is very smooth at turns as well as the performance of the car is really good for the price. Overall it is also fuel efficient so the running cost is not as high as the other similar range.

BodySedan
Badge316i
LineExecutive
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2016
Raz
RazGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

So Damned Fine, But Here Are the Minor Gripes Most Won't Talk About

published
BodySedan
Badge320d
LineLuxury
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2016
Raz
Raz

Think twice before buying another F30

published
BodySedan
Badge330i
LineM Sport
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2015
Cars

Find out how BMW 3 Series compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
David
DavidSydney
  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Love it, fun car.

published

I bought it when the 318 was 9yrs old. It still runs good. I can feel I drive it by my thinking. But after 200000kms, sometime light has little problem, the roof was down. I sold it at 230000kms. miss my bmw 318 so much. Will buy an new one when I afford it

BodySedan
Badge318i
LineLifestyle
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2005
por012
por012AU
  • 19 reviews
  • 33 likes

Bmw Navigation - Expensive Annual Cash Drain Or Not Up To Date

published

Yes I have navigation in my BMW 3 series. It does not update unless you visit a BMW dealer and pay them $500. Fortunately the Navigation panel is the exact size of the iPhone and that can be held with a rubber band around the screen. Updated by Apple constantly for free and is much more user friendly than the clunky BMW one and saves $500 a year.

BodySedan
Badge328i
LineLuxury
TransmissionAutomatic
por012
por012
phil67b
phil67bParis
  • 2 reviews

Excellent car but expensive

published

I have this car since 2 years. Excellent car, nice interior.
Driving with this car is very pleasant. Nice options are included. Example : automatic car boot opening when passing the foot under the car.

But the price is very expensive !
I have news & internet in the car but you can only see a few titles when running. It's better for security but it's complicate to use it.

BodySedan
Badge318d
LineLuxury
TransmissionAutomatic
Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

grant d
grant dasked
3 Series E90 (2005-2012)

what year did bmw resolve the problem with the timing chain in the N47 engine

No answers
Rockinghorse
Rockinghorseasked
3 Series E90 (2005-2012)

what needs doing for a 130k service

No answers
Edmunds S.
Edmunds S.asked
3 Series E90 (2005-2012)

Hello! Hope someone can help me
Why my idrive screen starts to function properly as it should work after i drive 15 minutes or so?? Example-i start the car and screen is on but when i press something its reacting after some time but later starts to work properly

No answers
See all BMW 3 Series questions

Get an answer from our members

BMW 3 Series

Details

Compare all 24 BMW 3 Series
CategoryCars and SedansCars and SedansCars and SedansCars and Sedans
Starting Price $73,953$73,953$77,105$77,105
TransmissionAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticAutomatic
Drive TypeRear Wheel Drive (RWD)Rear Wheel Drive (RWD)Rear Wheel Drive (RWD)Rear Wheel Drive (RWD)
Fuel TypeDieselDieselPetrolPetrol
Wheels18" Alloy18" Alloy19" Alloy19" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Fuel Consumption4.8 L/100km4.8 L/100km6.1 L/100km6.1 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 40 L40 L59 L59 L
Engine4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.0L
Max Power140kW @ 4000rpm140kW @ 4000rpm190kW @ 5000rpm190kW @ 5000rpm
Max Torque400Nm @ 1750-2500rpm400Nm @ 1750-2500rpm400Nm @ 1550-4400rpm400Nm @ 1550-4400rpm
Country of ManufactureGermanyGermanyGermanyGermany
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)
Release dateMar 2019Mar 2019Mar 2019Mar 2019
Compare all 24 BMW 3 Series
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.