??!
28 photos
BMW M3
4.7 from 13 reviews

See the Best Convertible in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
10
4 star
2
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0

6 Axis Excavation

6 Axis ExcavationSydney, NSW

  • 8 reviews
  • 1 like

Best car I’ve ever owned!

published

I test drove comparisons before purchasing this beast last year, the AMG C63s and the Audi Rs3 & RS4 however none made me feel like the BMW did. It truly is a “drivers car”.

Purchased in January 2018 at Prestige Auto Traders for $90,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT)
BoughtUsed
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Mike S.

Mike S.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Every time I walk away, I sneak another look

published

There are so many things I like about my M3.

The sound of the V8. It's performance. How it looks.
It's not a cheap car to service or run but given the visual impact and performance potential (and most importantly, the fun it is to drive) I give it a hearty thumbs up.

Tyre choice is important. I'm happy with the Michelin Pilot Sports I have on it, but understand from colleagues that the Continental is a better choice in terms of balance of performance and comfort.

Fuel quality is also important. I've found that the car will 'ping' on 95 so 98 is a must-use. There appears to even be some differences in 98. I've chosen to stick with BP and the pinging has gone away.

Purchased in July 2016.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT)
BoughtUsed
Year2009
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Melisa

MelisaWest Beach

  • 4 reviews

Really beautiful driving car

published

We bought this second hand last year after taking it for a test drive it was very nice to drive and handles very well. The roof attachment is easy to use and great on a hot day and you don't want to crank the aircon on. The only issue was for me it being manual but I'm learning still to drive it

BodyCoupe
BadgeFrozen Silver
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedApr 2016
Ted

Ted

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Looks, performance, sound; e92 M3

published

Now 2 years as my daily drive car, I'm still excited driving this vehicle. I test drove the Audi RS4 and the Merc C63; great cars although all Audis look alike to me and it seems every second or third C-class now is a C63.
I have the coupe and its more than adequate and comfortable to carry 4 adults around.

BodyCoupe
BadgePure Edition II
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2014

Amazing Everyday Drive Car Plus Track Performer

published

BMW M3 F80 is the best and top seller models of the BMW cars lineup specially in the M Power Coupes.
BMW M3 is quiet and impressive car because it can be use as a daily driver car or a track performance car cause it is fully loaded with the Mpower drivetrain which is more powerful than the 3 series of BMW.

BodySedan
Badge(No Badge)
TransmissionAutomatic

BanjoPaterson

BanjoPatersonYarralumla 2600, ACT

  • 54 reviews
  • 65 likes

Superb Car - A Sports Car AND Every Day Driver.

published
Badge(No Badge)
BodyCoupe
TransmissionAutomatic

acerace

aceraceQld, 4521

  • 20 reviews
  • 11 likes

Spare Parts Cost

published

Purchased at private for $13,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year1994
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
1 comment
acerace
acerace

Sold, The BMW ownership is over, Would not buy any/another BMW.. Depreciation and spare parts and service are killers Quality is not there.


Bri 53

Bri 53Blackheath

M3 Magic E46 2001-2007

published

A great all rounder, after 5 yrs with my E46 M3 I am constantly amazed by its abilities. It can take me the 700km from Blackheath to Winton Raceway in comfort and I arrived fresh and ready for a fun track day. Fit the semi-slicks drive the nuts off the car and then head back the next day, and all done with ease. The Regularity at the Targa Tasmania in April this year was further confirmation of its all round abilities. The car is standard with 160,000 kms and has been reliable and rewarding, just racing brake fluid and "RedStuff" pads are the only changes from factory.
The look, the engine!, the performance and everyday usability.

TransmissionSMG
BodyCoupe

Ernst&Young Perth Boy

Ernst&Young Perth BoyPERTH

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Superb! I will sell my house just to own the latest one!

published
BodyCoupe
chapstick

chapstick

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Excellent

published

BMW M3 all the way!! The look, the sound, the attitude, the desire for the best, the answer...BMW M3!!! This car (within its competitors) is unbeatable in many ways!!! Handling (as always), looks, ease to drive, features, options, safety, the badge!!!! Iv'e driven LOTS of exotic and expensive cars and I can tell you that the BMW M3 is my favorite!!! I urge you to go and experience the M3!!!
Absolutely everything!!!

BodyCoupe

ibidonstuff

ibidonstuffsdfe, 3455, British Virgin Islands

  • 84 reviews
  • 16 likes

Excellent

published

This is one of the worlds best cars, there can be no doubt about that. BMW (along with Mercedes and Audi) make the worlds best cars and this at the top. It has a gorgeous interior with wood trim and leather. The seats swallow you and hold you tight as you take corners behind the thumping V8 that produces so much power. The breaks are great and really let you know they are gripping as you slow down. The exterior looks sleek and well crafted with no obvious spaces between panels where there shouldnt be any. This is the coupe that all other car manufacturers would aspire to produce. World class.
A great mix of luxury and performance.

BodyCoupe

BioBa

BioBa

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Excellent

published

My first BMW after 31 years of driving mostly European cars. After six months I am still madly in love with this car. A true high performance car which can be driven in rush hour as well as on the race track. Mine has been 100% reliable with beautiful handling and performance. Great to have the two seats in the back for the kids. Factory muffler dose not sound too good so an upgrade is an option.
Awsome looks, big reliable power, great handling, high quality manufacture, rarely bottoms out
Quite thirsty, interior could be a little more 'upmarket' for such a super car

BodyConvertible

Excellent

published
BodyCoupe
1 comment
Brunhsome
Brunhsome

The style is what i like ,but i advocated environmentally friendly and green ,i would rather have other one .

Questions & Answers

brian

brianasked

I probably couldn't afford one of those cars though as the reviews great if thought I would ask are these cars expensive?

2 answers
BanjoPaterson
BanjoPaterson

It depends on what you mean by expensive. With the new M3/4, the price of these M3s has dropped and a good 2009 one can be bought for as "little" as $70000 as of May, 2015. This will fall as time goes on, however maintenance costs will increase.

However, a new Ford Mustang, or Golf R, or Benz AMG 45, or even BMW M235i can be bought for between $60000-80000. All of these cars will be new with warranty, and all these cars have reviews comparing them favourably with the E9x M3.

Or, for less than $40000, a second hand 2010 Nissan Z370 is within your price range with excellent acceleration and reasonable driving dynamics.

So, yes the second hand M3s are still pricey, although less than the new models, and it has less expensive competition, but it IS a V8 M3, and what price that feeling?

brian
brian

Yeah I was actually reference to a second hand BMW car / thanks again


Get an answer from our members and BMW representatives

Details

BMW M3 F80 Pure

BMW M3 F80 Pure (2014-2019)

No reviews
BMW M3 F80 Competition

BMW M3 F80 Competition (2014-2019)

No reviews
BMW M3 E90
  • Discontinued

BMW M3 E90 (2008-2014)

1 review
BMW M3 F80 CS
  • Discontinued

BMW M3 F80 CS (2018-2019)

No reviews
BMW M3 E92 Pure
  • Discontinued

BMW M3 E92 Pure (2007-2013)

No reviews
BMW M3 E92 (No Badge)
  • Discontinued

BMW M3 E92 (No Badge) (2007-2013)

No reviews
BMW M3 E36
  • Discontinued

BMW M3 E36 (1994-2001)

1 review
BMW M3 E46
  • Discontinued

BMW M3 E46 (2001-2007)

3 reviews
BMW M3 E36 Convertible
  • Discontinued

BMW M3 E36 Convertible (1996-2003)

No reviews
BMW M3 E46 Convertible
  • Discontinued

BMW M3 E46 Convertible (2003-2008)

No reviews
BMW M3 E93 Convertible
  • Discontinued

BMW M3 E93 Convertible (2008-2013)

1 review
CategoryConvertible and SedansConvertible and SedansConvertible and SedansConvertible and SedansConvertible and SedansConvertible and SedansConvertible and SedansConvertible and SedansConvertible and SedansConvertible and SedansConvertible and Sedans
Starting Price $129,529$146,529$179,529$131,945$162,045$14,000$156,000$180,395
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT)Dual-Clutch (DCT)Dual-Clutch (DCT)Dual-Clutch (DCT)Dual-Clutch (DCT)Semi-AutomaticSemi-AutomaticDual-Clutch (DCT)
Drive TypeRear Wheel Drive (RWD)Rear Wheel Drive (RWD)Rear Wheel Drive (RWD)Rear Wheel Drive (RWD)Rear Wheel Drive (RWD)Rear Wheel Drive (RWD)Rear Wheel Drive (RWD)Rear Wheel Drive (RWD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolPetrolPetrolPetrolPetrolPetrolPetrol
Wheels19" Alloy20" Alloy19" Alloy18" Alloy18" Alloy18" Alloy18" Alloy18" Alloy
Doors44422222
Seats55544544
Fuel Consumption8.8 L/100km8.3 L/100km8.3 L/100km11.2 L/100km11.2 L/100km11.9 L/100km12.1 L/100km11.5 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 60 L60 L60 L63 L63 L63 L63 L63 L
Engine6 Cylinder 3.0L6 Cylinder 3.0L6 Cylinder 3.0L8 Cylinder 4.0L8 Cylinder 4.0L6 Cylinder 3.2L6 Cylinder 3.2L8 Cylinder 4.0L
Max Power331kW @ 7000rpm331kW @ 7000rpm338kW @ 6250rpm309kW @ 8300rpm309kW @ 8300rpm252kW @ 7900rpm252kW @ 7900rpm309kW @ 8300rpm
Max Torque550Nm @ 1850-5500rpm550Nm @ 1850-5500rpm600Nm @ 4000-5380rpm400Nm @ 3900rpm400Nm @ 3900rpm365Nm @ 4900rpm365Nm @ 4900rpm400Nm @ 3900rpm
Country of ManufactureGermanyGermanyGermanyGeranyGeranyGermanyGermanyGermany
Safety Features
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • Blindspot Warning System
  • Driver Attention Detection
  • ESC (Electronic Stability Control)
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • ISA (Intelligent Speed Assist)
  • Lane Assist
  • Reversing Camera
  • Seat Belt Reminders
  • Traction Control
  • Tyre Pressure Monitor
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • Blindspot Warning System
  • Driver Attention Detection
  • ESC (Electronic Stability Control)
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • ISA (Intelligent Speed Assist)
  • Lane Assist
  • Reversing Camera
  • Seat Belt Reminders
  • Traction Control
  • Tyre Pressure Monitor
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • Blindspot Warning System
  • Driver Attention Detection
  • ESC (Electronic Stability Control)
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • ISA (Intelligent Speed Assist)
  • Lane Assist
  • Reversing Camera
  • Seat Belt Reminders
  • Traction Control
  • Tyre Pressure Monitor
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • ESC (Electronic Stability Control)
  • Reversing Camera
  • Seat Belt Reminders
  • Traction Control
  • Tyre Pressure Monitor
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • ESC (Electronic Stability Control)
  • Reversing Camera
  • Seat Belt Reminders
  • Traction Control
  • Tyre Pressure Monitor
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • ESC (Electronic Stability Control)
  • Reversing Camera
  • Seat Belt Reminders
  • Traction Control
  • Tyre Pressure Monitor
Extra Features
  • 360° Camera
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Heads-up Display
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
  • 360° Camera
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Heads-up Display
  • Heated Seats
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
  • 360° Camera
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Heads-up Display
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Heated Seats
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Heated Seats
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)
Release dateJun 2014Jun 2014Nov 2008Jun 2018Oct 2007Oct 2007Jun 1994May 2001May 1996May 2003Dec 2008
Discontinuation dateMay 2014Jun 2019Dec 2013Dec 2013Jan 2001Sep 2007Mar 2003Nov 2008Dec 2013

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.