??!
6 photos
BMW X3 F25 xDrive20d

BMW X3 F25 xDrive20d (2011-2017)

4.1 from 17 reviews

See the Best Midsize / Medium SUVs in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.


Excellent SUV - Just brilliant

Purchased as a well priced demo (4,000 kms) in 2016 from Brisbane BMW I was delighted with my 2.0D X3 after a tragic experience with a possessed by the devil Volvo XC60.

The X3 is perfect in many ways - not too big and not too small. The 2.0L Diesel is powerful enough, yet does have a small amount of turbo large.

Inside the X3 is not as plush as the Volvo XC60 was - but it was still a nice place to be and in true BMW form, it was a delight to drive.

Over the 2 years I owned the BMW, I did 50,000 KM's - all trouble free. The servicing was a tad expensive, but no more then my Mazda 6 I owned some years back. Brisbane BMW where also a delight to deal with - a noticeable step above everybody else - nothing was too much trouble.

Having recently traded the X3 in on a new BMW - I still had original tyres on the car. It was near perfect in many ways and I only have praise for the BMW X3.

Purchased in August 2016 for $62,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort

awesome-feel drive

I own this car just over a year and I am in love with it--I use it mostly over the weekends as a family car--Love driving it--though it is SUV but feels like a sedan-I am simply in love with car and highly recommend everyone--Love the panoramic sunroof--SUV but compact !!

BadgexDrive20d
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2017

Sporty Firm Ride mid-sized entry-level luxury X model SAV/SUV

Owned a MY2015 X3 F25 LCI 20d xDrive with M Sport package (panoramic sunroof, 20" M light alloy wheels Double-spoke 310 M wheels) for 2.5 years, traded it in for a F87 M2 in early 2018.

Fuel consumption:
Overall it's a good mid-sized family SUV, fuel consumption is consistently below 10L/100km for Sydney urban driving. Outside of Sydney metropolitan area, it can go well below 7L/100km on the highway.

Chassis / Suspension / Ride quality / Ride Comfort
The chassis/suspension is on the firm side, especially paired with 20" wheels and Run-flat tyres (totally ruins the ride comfort, the only pro is that you can push hard when cornering due to firm suspension settings and wide rear tyres, very little body roll, but what's the point to do that in a X3?). Ride for passengers can be quite harsh, especially when go over speed humps. Seats are not fluffy enough (especially rear). Overall interior design is about 5 years behind Mercedes-Benz and Audi competitors. The G01 X3 is catching up but still not good enough.

Handling is first class in its segment/class (GLC, Q5). Powertrain (4 cyl. diesel) is average, B47D20 + ZF 8HP provides no excitement for its size (1700kg+). In addition, the way a diesel engine works is totally different from petrol engines, people need to understand what they are buying before making a decision. I'd never buy diesel-powered passenger car again (it was my 1st and last), especially with DPF. Even the straight six 30d doesn't offer good NVH (low speed low rev vibration, diesel noise from outside of the cabin. I don't drive enough to benefit from diesel engine (less than 10,000km per year).

If you want to buy a pre-owned F25 LCI X3: my suggestions are 1. pick one with DDC (dynamic damper control - similar to adaptive suspension - VERY RARE in Australia), mine didn't have it and that's why ride quality was so bad. 2. Don't go for wheels larger than 19", it doesn't help to run faster. Last but not least, don't buy if you don't have to ;-)

Reliability issues:
1. rear door window had a window seal rubber failure
2. Door and interior noise (lubricate rubber needed)
3. Front wheel speed sensor failure
4. as a result of #3, electronic parking brake failed (this is my first car with electronic parking brake and it did fail!!! so I rolled back to a F87 with handbrake!).

Out of warranty ownership can be bad for this generation. Consider twice before buying.

Purchased in July 2015.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2015
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort

Very satisfied

Great car. Drives very well with good control. Loads of features and Diesel engine gives great mileage. I tried Merc GLC but I found it a bit delicate ( not my type). The sporty version looks a bit sturdy. I am happy with this car. I might go for a bigger engine next time.

BadgexDrive20d
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2016

Terrible Quality Seat Covers

We purchased a new BPW X3 in July 2012. We wanted to buy leather seats but we were advised by sales staff that manmade leather the default was equally good and hard wearing. Seat cover started cracking in June 2015 (just before warranty expired). Seat cover was replaced by BMW under warranty.
Now in 2018 February Seat cover again has same problems. The standard seat covers supplied with a premier car does not even last three years. It is shocking to see such poor quality material being used by a leading luxury brand car in Australia.

BadgexDrive20d
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2012

Best car ever

Best car we ever brought. Very comfortable and has enough leg room. One of the best features it allows is the pre conditioning where you turn the ventilation of your car on via your mobile before you get to the car, making he temperature inside the car to better suit you. very friendly staff at Adelaide BMW.

BadgexDrive20d
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2014

Great operational single driver

Performance of BMW is unquestionable. IT IS THE ULTIMATE DRIVING MACHINE!

handling is probably the best in its class. very good in maneuvering. just a noise reduction is not as good as the merc.

been using this X3 since July 2013. I would say it does everything quite good.

the only downfall is BMW didnt provide comfort shock or what they call adaptive something which makes the car runs comfortable for bumps.

other than that, amazing 4WD compact car!

BadgexDrive20d
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2013

Some good features, expensive to run, customer service is very disappointing

The engine and transmission are mostly good other than annoying lag at times. Interior is quite OK without being great. Seats tend to be hard which when combined with run flats makes for a fairly hard ride.
Run flat tyres are a pain as they make the ride too hard, they wear too quickly (around 30,000kms) and punctures are more difficult to deal with. I have had more punctures in this car than any previous vehicle.

Brakes also wear comparatively quickly and are very expensive to replace.

3 years 60,000ks warranty and optional service package is poor in comparison to what is offered by other brands. This amounts to about two services which are little more than vehicle inspections. Don’t expect any consideration from dealership once out of warranty.

Waverley BMW are disappointing to say the least, quick to charge inflated prices for doing very little, not to mention not listening to what the customer tells them and therefore repeating work previously done while ignoring what was requested. Repair of blocked sunroof drainage system quoted in excess of $1200 plus $250 to diagnose problem. But didn’t bother to dry out the soaking wet footwell & carpet caused by this fault even though they had the vehicle for the whole day
No urgency in carrying out work, don’t expect a service (inspection) to be completed in a couple of hours.

Sat nav is ok, though updates are a rip off and infrequent.

This will be the first and last BMW I ever buy. Just not worth the premium price tag especially in view of the poor customer service.

BadgexDrive20d
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2013

Incredibly good car

We've had this for 15 months now, replacing our previous X5 and complementing our 320d. It is an ideal size, although rear luggage space isn't as good as the X5.

Driving dynamics are excellent, and being able to switch between Comfort and Sport is ideal when you have two drivers who have very different driving expectations.

The 2.0d engine is very fuel-efficient and refined, although I still prefer the rougher yet slightly gutsier (yet older) 2.0d in my 3-series. The 2.0 turbo petrol (28i) would also be worth a look - this is a cracker of an engine in the 3-series.

My partner liked our X5 but dislikes my 3-series, being an M-Sport version. Although the X3 is an M-Sport, we both find it an excellent compromise.

BadgexDrive20d
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2016

Great SUV

BMW X3 handles well but a little soft around corners. the interior is well build but design is rather simple.
legroom is very good even in the back seats. diesel engine means very good fuel economy but you do feel the
diesel gruff whilst stationary. Go for the panoramic sunroof as it is huge !

BadgexDrive20d
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2014

No regrets!

I am a convert! Not a big fan of BMW outlook to start with, but fell in love during our test drive experience. The comfort and effortless driving pretty much sell itself. Use the corporate program to get 5 years free servicing and warranty. So far it's been great, can't fault the car in any ways!

BadgexDrive20d
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2016

Very satisfied, highly recommended!

Bought from BMW Melbourne August 2016. Excellent service and great car performance. Nothing to complain of. The leather seats are really comfortable (should have chosen the white color interior). Adjustable lumbar support, great and handy control panel, and love the heated seats. The head up display and the drive assist are A MUST features!! A base model would not have any of those. Fuel efficiency with their 2L Diesel engine is also great.

BadgexDrive20d Lifestyle
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2016

Just a nice car to drive.

Traded in a 3 Litre BMW X5. Outward appearance, dependent on color it is hard to differentiate between the X5 and X3, the 2 exhaust at the rear of the X5 is always our decider.
Interior, the X3 is noticeably smaller and took a while to get used to but 6 months on we find there is plenty of room especially for the two of us.
Interior fit is excellent as expected, we opted for the faux leather seats which are great, you miss out on the new car smell. Rear, (boot space) is small but average with the mid range SUV's.
Engine performance is brilliant, we test drove the petrol model first and would have walked away if we hadn't drove the diesel model. I can't recommend this enough, comfort mode gives you heaps of pickup and highway speed but sports mode definitely impresses. I ran the economy mode on an interstate trip and was really impressed with the economy, it sat nicely at highway speed but put the foot down to overtake and the power kicks in. The ability to drive manual gears through either the paddles or shift is nice.
The auto is smooth, highway k's and acceleration certainly doesn't feel like a small 4 cylinder car. Road noise is okay considering it has run flat tyres.
The steering I find has no feel, the power steering takes took much away, having said that my wife loves it (and it is really her car).
One big complaint is the Sat Nav, no where near as good as NavMan, Garmins, no warnings of speed camera's etc. Huge disappointment when you can get an aftermarket one for a few hundred dollars which has free updates on maps. Yes, you have to pay for BMW updates and they are not cheap.
It has the BMW appeal and is probably priced fairly within the luxury SUV market.
Almost forgot, the panoramic sunroof is brilliant!
Salesperson - Excellent

BadgexDrive20d
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedAug 2016

Excellent BMW X3 xdrive 20d, F25 LCI

This is my first SUV prestige car. The car has currently done 17,000kms. It had its first 15,000kms service at the BMW dealer last month. My car has Msport package so it is comfortable, reliable and has top of the range options. The car has been bought as brand new from the warehouse with zero kms on it. The car was built in December 2015 and has been registered in January 2016. I have used the car mainly for driving to work and driving home from Belconnen to Tuggeranong and drop my missus off in Woden. At the weekend, drive my son to private tutoring and my wife to Canberra centre to work. I have found diesel is economical as I fill up every 18 days that means the diesel has about 10kms left on the car. I would give the car as 5 stars as I have not found any faults or anything that I am unhappy with. I love all the options especially panoramic electric sunroof, headup display, surround cameras (front, rear and sides) with live traffic, Hifi stereo with subwoofer. I have been driven to the Coast, Tuross Head last Easter and Queens birthday with half of the tank. In regard to car servicing, I have got 5 years service FREE so I am very happy with this option. This is the best car I have ever driven and would buy it again when the lease has run out.

BadgexDrive20d
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2016

X3 Good drive - very bumpy due to Run Flat tyres - I'd give a 3.5 stars...

First of all, this is my first Beamer X3 2015 to replace my VW Tiguan 20TSI. It is also my first Diesel car.

Pros:
1. Stable drive.
2. Reasonable pickup for a Diesel car
3. Good Torque
4. reasonable space inside the car with a panoramic roof.
5. Vehicle status is monitoring (especially tyre) is a life saver.

Cons:
1. Run flat tires tends to be very bumpy.
2. It is confusing how their climate control works. You have to set the temperature, then there's also a dial you have to set for cool/warm/hot air coming out of the vent. One would think they supposed to be taken care but it's obviously not.
3. The automated wiper is also an oddball. It's not consistent with it's rain sensing capability and randomly it goes fast, slow and hibernate. Pretty strange behaviour.

Suggestions:
1. Get an adaptive suspension. You'll need it.
2. Consider X5 if you think X3 is a little too tight. I have 2 baby seat at the back and it's quite cramp for 3rd person. X5 would have been better option.
3. Make sure you get the Car Service option for about $3000+, giving you 5 years services inlcuded; instead of paying everytime. It'll cost more than just 3 grand.

Thoughts:
My next car will not be X3 or BMW at this stage and might move over to Audi or Merc

BadgexDrive20d Lifestyle
TransmissionAutomatic

XDrive20D - Reasonable family car but struggling on take off

We had our 20D for over a year. We were one of the first people to buy a new model. I bought it for my wife and our 3 year old. So, it's plenty of space for what we are using it for which is mainly driving around city, doing shopping etc.. we don't go away long distance, so no need to transport a lot of luggage. Having said that I think the back storage compartment is more than adequate to fit several suit cases. My wife really likes high sitting position, which i personally dislike. Compared to my BMW 1series i can't go through corners any fast on x3 since it feels like it will roll over to one side. Major issue that annoys us both is that it just hasn't got that much power on take off from still position. When you press it down it takes off but very jerky and you never know how much to press it down because it takes some moments to kick in and if you overdo it then you'll have too much acceleration in few moments and even some loss of control. Basically we often get a kick in our back when we try to merge into traffic or just taking off lights. Once it took off it accelerates pretty fast though.

Also we upgraded navigation system - which is only available as part of some package, can't remember what it's called now. Anyway, it gave us a bigger screen, which is nice. However, their navigation is not that good. It often makes mistakes and gets lost. My old navman beats it hands down. BMW, please get your act together! Also, I think this upgrade allowed us to stream music wirelessly from our iPhone, which is a great feature and I can't advice more anyone considering any BMW to make sure that it's there.

We also upgraded to seats with lumber support, but I must say their standard seats are quite comfy and I don't think lumber is that useful. We did it because I had some back pains and so it was kind of insurance in case if it helps a little, which it does, just not that much difference really.

Another somewhat concerning thing is that apparently it's ANCAP 4 star rated. I wonder why?

Overall, my wife likes this car because of high seating position and lots of space, yet that it's not too big - for us living in Sydney it's easier to cope with traffic and parking. Our friend bought x5 and although it's only a touch bigger they already smashed their mirror twice, and it's 2K to fix a mirror on x5 :)
Also, she really like heads up display, which was an option.
She doesn't like the lack of power and jerkiness on take off from stand still position - it's a major issue.

I don't like this car altogether. I must say that comparing it to my new much cheaper bmw 1 series 118d, my car has much more dynamic drive, no jerkiness on take off and lots of space because it's a hatch and if I fold back raw seats it becomes simply gigantic.

I suspect if we go into top of the range in x3 then probably the more powerful engine will eliminate the problems with take off. But that's up to you to test, unfortunately that was the only diesel model when we were buying it. We would recommend this car if only not for that issue.

Oh yes, last reminder, if you have kids like we do, make sure you get black leather seats :)

I hope this helps and feel free to ask any questions!
Space, optional larger screen, optional heads up display, optional ability to stream music wirelessly, dimensions aren't too huge
Issues with jerkiness on take off from stand still position. Have to take it easy on cornering as it's not a sedan.

TransmissionAutomatic
BadgexDrive20d

BMW X3

I love the quality of this vehicle. It is very nice to drive. It is comfortable, well fitted out with quality seats and instrumentation. It looks good. The 2.0 litre diesel has lots of power and is very economical with an average of 5.5 litres per 100kms.
Styling. Fit out. Diesel power.

BadgexDrive20d

See all BMW X3 reviews

Questions & Answers

Sorry, there are no questions about BMW X3 F25 xDrive20d (2011-2017) but you can read 10 questions about BMW X3.

Details

BMW X3 F25 xDrive20d (2011-2017)
CategoryMidsize / Medium SUVs
Starting Price $67,800
TransmissionAutomatic
Drive TypeFour Wheel Drive (4WD)
Fuel TypeDiesel
Wheels18" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars
Doors5
Seats5
Fuel Consumption5.4 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 67 L
Engine4 Cylinder 2.0L
Max Power140kW @ 4000rpm
Max Torque400Nm @ 1750-2500rpm
Country of ManufactureUnited States
Ground Clearance500 mm
Maximum Towing Capacity (braked)2,000 kg
Maximum Towing Capacity (unbraked)750 kg
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)
Release dateMar 2011
Discontinuation dateOct 2017
Replaced byBMW X3 G01
Compare all BMW X3

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.