??!
8 photos
BMW X5

BMW X5 (page 2 of 4)

E70, E53, F15, G05
3.9 from 67 reviews

Reviews

3.9

67 reviews
5
(29)
4
(18)
3
(9)
2
(3)
1
(8)
  • Build Quality
    4.5 (12)
  • Value for Money
    3.9 (12)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.8 (12)
  • Noise Level
    4.2 (12)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.3 (12)
  • Handling
    4.5 (12)
  • Braking
    4.5 (12)
  • Suspension
    4.0 (12)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.5 (12)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.3 (11)
  • Interior Design
    4.5 (12)
  • Boot Size
    4.0 (11)
  • Features
    4.5 (12)
  • Comfort
    4.3 (12)
Previous
Next
Joerg

JoergSydney

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Classic BMW...

published
Badgei
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2001
Melbourne Australia

Melbourne AustraliaMelbourne

  • 7 reviews
  • 4 likes

It's like a small car in a big shell

published

Easy to drive with its awesome power steering. My wife is a very short woman but she drives this car like a small sedan. The vehicle itself xdrive30d has a powerful engine and you can really feel the power. The seats are comfortable and the ride is smooth. The GPS screen is massive and ever since the first day we owned this vehicle, there has not been any issues.

BadgexDrive30d
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2011
Shubh

Shubhperth

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

A pleasure to drive!

published

The driving experience is absolutely brilliant! The car runs smooth and has many features like inbuilt navigation, TV, Radio, emergency contact services and etc. The X5 is a great car overall with a nice and stylish interior and a nice SUV outer body which makes it look a lot more elegant.

BadgexDrive30d
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2013
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how BMW X5 compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
trievalot

trievalotAdelaide

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Excellent features and build quality

published

This is my first BMW, after driving Mitsubishi, Toyota and Mazda. The driving experience is a pleasure, and despite being a diesel has much more get up than my previous petrol Prado. Mine is a 7 seater, which is OK for children/teenagers in the back row, not so good for a full size adult. Whiie the white leather was a concern at first, it is easy to clean, and the instruments are well laid out. i really like the heads up display for speed and nav.
The service costs have been reasonable, and any non warrant parts have been purchased offline for much cheaper than the dealer.

BadgexDrive30d
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2016
Zues Lives on!

Zues Lives on!Western Australia, 6060

  • 16 reviews
  • 7 likes

Great when new, would not buy again

published

Purchased in May 2006.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2003
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

BMW X5

published

s25d have twin turbo engine and power is excellent considering the size of engine. Also s25d is very fuel efficient
I have a lot of fun to drive this car and BMW service is also excellent. And shape of the car is very attractive. The light is so bright at night.

BadgesDrive25d
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2015
nothappyJan04

nothappyJan04MELBOURNE

  • 47 reviews
  • 32 likes

DON'T BOTHER

published

This car was great until the kms crept up. Once it hit 200,000km then everything started breaking. Fair enough, the car's done a lot of kms, but the cost to replace the parts is insane! I've always serviced the car with a specialist repairer (not BMW as they charge like wounded bulls), and I've always looked after the car.
If you're looking for a great 4WD then I wouldn't say not to buy an X5 but don't buy one second hand if it's got a few kms on the odometer. They're just not worth the massive repair bills !!! It would be cheaper to buy a new Aussie made 4WD.

BadgexDrive30i Executive
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2007
Vvending

Vvending

  • 2 reviews
  • 11 likes

Awesome car!! No complications or complaints so comfortable style quality

published

Fabulous all round.. quality is execeptional
You won't die in a BMW solid as a tank , get in shut the heavy door.. you know your safe and secure unlike the other cheap SUV 4wd on the market . I brought a jeep and sold the jeep and went for the x5.. more luxurious

BadgexDrive30i
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2011
Fred

FredSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 12 reviews
  • 6 likes

Still enjoy our x5

published

Our BMW x5 still is enjoyable to drive and is comfortable . Lots of nice features and air conditioning is nice.
Seats are comfortable and lots of legroom. Great performance on long and short trips and for daily driving to and from my work. Should last us for a while.

Badged
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2016
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how BMW X5 compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Awesome SUV - Love it!

published

Purchased a new 2016 X5 30D with M-Sport, panoramic glass roof and innovations package. Plus 5 year warranty.
Lots of cool features, great performance for a large car and very comfortable. Maybe too comfortable.
Love the active cruise control, head up display, lane departure warning, fuel economy and so much more.
Highly recommend this vehicle.
Previous car was a BMW E92 335i which was great apart from the rattly turbo waste gates.
Loved the car and the performance but the seat belt extenders were a bad design and as mentioned above, the turbos can be noisy.

BadgexDrive30d
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2017
lyh3

lyh3Melbourne

  • 11 reviews
  • 11 likes

Bought the BMW X5 six years ago brand new and...

published
BadgexDrive30d
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2011
Unimpressed

UnimpressedBrisbane

  • 8 reviews
  • 15 likes

What a Brillant SUV!

published

Purchased in February 2017 for A$85,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
janaka

janakaGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 34 reviews
  • 30 likes

Faulty Bmw x5 4.4l

published
BadgexDrive40d Sport
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2002
Siren

SirenSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews
  • 5 likes

A great car to drive but don't expect happy sailing as it ages.

published
BadgexDrive30d
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2006
HoneyJoy

HoneyJoyVictoria

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Still loving my 5 series diesel wagon.

published

Just thought it worth saying that this car is still as good as the day I bought it. Amazing fuel consumption. Sometimes I forget about it all together. It's weeks between fills. It is very comfortable to drive. Some people find the controls a little odd, but I'm used to it. Still looks good after 4 years. This car just makes me happy.

Badged
TransmissionAutomatic
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how BMW X5 compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
JohnNT700v

JohnNT700vCanberra Central 2602, ACT

  • 6 reviews
  • 9 likes

Brilliant! 5 stars once it's all perfect again (BUT getting it that way costs money..read on and

published
Badgeis
TransmissionAutomatic
Mark

MarkMelbourne

  • 19 reviews
  • 14 likes

Disappointed

published
Badged
TransmissionAutomatic
deleted

deletedBrisbane

  • 25 reviews
  • 27 likes

Smooth drive

published

At the start of this year I thought I tried BMW because Toyota had failed me. It is fantastic and always drives a smooth as a car can get. Some cars drive like trucks but this BMW is as sensational as you can get. The service is great and they are always happy to give a helping hand. So Toyota is my 1 stop car shop for everything cars!

BadgexDrive35d
TransmissionAutomatic
graham p

graham p

  • 2 reviews
  • 5 likes

Great drive

published

I have just reluctantly sold my 2012 X5 with sports/innovations packages. Car purchased new in July 2012. (This was my second x5 with first being 2009 model with same engine but with 6 speed auto which was nowhere near as good as the 8 speed). Excellent drive with crisp handling for a car of this size and weight.very comfortable long range tourer but ride a bit rough on secondary roads due to sports suspension and low profile runflats. Have had no real problems with either x5 with servicing covered under service package which I recommend if available. Very professional treatment from the service team at Westside BMW who I would recommend highly.

BadgexDrive30d
TransmissionAutomatic

Great car

published

Bought my e53 x5 facelift in January 2011 with 89k on the clock. Fully loaded , Still going strong . Now on 119k.
The only down point on this I had in the 1st 8months was the amp in the boot , (common fault ) damp so had it sent away from a company on eBay 24hr turn around, £220 not a problem since,
Love this car has it caused me no problems and does everything I ask it to.
Flies through every MOT.
Service is reasonable at local garage..
2 years time I'll but the upgrade one, not to keen on the new x5 on the shape .

Page 2 of 4
See all BMW X5 reviews

Questions & Answers

Denis Smithson

Denis Smithsonasked

X5

What’s the average price on 10000 km service in Brisbane

No answers
Denis Smithson

Denis Smithsonasked

X5

What’s the average price on 10000 km service in Brisbane

No answers
AJOSH

AJOSHasked

X5 E70 (2007-2013)

Driving BMW X5 3.0SI since 4 months, after slowing it down came to stop at signal, suddenly car shuts off and automatically shifts to neutral. scary as i was in the traffic. again i started it and put in D mode.
Happened with anyone here please suggest.. this is for 2 -3rd time..

No answers

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.