??!
8 photos
BMW X5

See the Best Large / 7 Seater SUVs in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
26
4 star
16
3 star
9
2 star
3
1 star
7

nothappyJan04

nothappyJan04MELBOURNE

  • 41 reviews
  • 33 likes

DON'T BOTHER

published

This car was great until the kms crept up. Once it hit 200,000km then everything started breaking. Fair enough, the car's done a lot of kms, but the cost to replace the parts is insane! I've always serviced the car with a specialist repairer (not BMW as they charge like wounded bulls), and I've always looked after the car.
If you're looking for a great 4WD then I wouldn't say not to buy an X5 but don't buy one second hand if it's got a few kms on the odometer. They're just not worth the massive repair bills !!! It would be cheaper to buy a new Aussie made 4WD.

BadgexDrive30i Executive
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2007

Vvending

Vvending

  • 2 reviews

Awesome car!! No complications or complaints so comfortable style quality

published

Fabulous all round.. quality is execeptional
You won't die in a BMW solid as a tank , get in shut the heavy door.. you know your safe and secure unlike the other cheap SUV 4wd on the market . I brought a jeep and sold the jeep and went for the x5.. more luxurious

BadgexDrive30i
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2011
Fred

FredSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 11 reviews

Still enjoy our x5

published

Our BMW x5 still is enjoyable to drive and is comfortable . Lots of nice features and air conditioning is nice.
Seats are comfortable and lots of legroom. Great performance on long and short trips and for daily driving to and from my work. Should last us for a while.

Badged
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2016

Awesome SUV - Love it!

published

Purchased a new 2016 X5 30D with M-Sport, panoramic glass roof and innovations package. Plus 5 year warranty.
Lots of cool features, great performance for a large car and very comfortable. Maybe too comfortable.
Love the active cruise control, head up display, lane departure warning, fuel economy and so much more.
Highly recommend this vehicle.
Previous car was a BMW E92 335i which was great apart from the rattly turbo waste gates.
Loved the car and the performance but the seat belt extenders were a bad design and as mentioned above, the turbos can be noisy.

BadgexDrive30d
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2017

lyh3

lyh3Melbourne

  • 11 reviews
  • 11 likes

Bought the BMW X5 six years ago brand new and...

published
BadgexDrive30d
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2011

Unimpressed

UnimpressedBrisbane

  • 8 reviews
  • 15 likes

What a Brillant SUV!

published

Purchased in February 2017 for $85,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

janaka

janakaGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 28 reviews
  • 30 likes

Faulty Bmw x5 4.4l

published
BadgexDrive40d Sport
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2002

Siren

SirenSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews
  • 5 likes

A great car to drive but don't expect happy sailing as it ages.

published
BadgexDrive30d
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2006
HoneyJoy

HoneyJoyVictoria

  • 3 reviews

Still loving my 5 series diesel wagon.

published

Just thought it worth saying that this car is still as good as the day I bought it. Amazing fuel consumption. Sometimes I forget about it all together. It's weeks between fills. It is very comfortable to drive. Some people find the controls a little odd, but I'm used to it. Still looks good after 4 years. This car just makes me happy.

Badged
TransmissionAutomatic
JohnNT700v

JohnNT700vCanberra Central 2602, ACT

  • 5 reviews
  • 9 likes

Brilliant! 5 stars once it's all perfect again (BUT getting it that way costs money..read on and

published
Badgeis
TransmissionAutomatic

Mark

MarkMelbourne

  • 19 reviews
  • 14 likes

Disappointed

published
Badged
TransmissionAutomatic

deleted

deletedBrisbane

  • 25 reviews
  • 27 likes

Smooth drive

published

At the start of this year I thought I tried BMW because Toyota had failed me. It is fantastic and always drives a smooth as a car can get. Some cars drive like trucks but this BMW is as sensational as you can get. The service is great and they are always happy to give a helping hand. So Toyota is my 1 stop car shop for everything cars!

BadgexDrive35d
TransmissionAutomatic

graham p

graham p

  • 2 reviews

Great drive

published

I have just reluctantly sold my 2012 X5 with sports/innovations packages. Car purchased new in July 2012. (This was my second x5 with first being 2009 model with same engine but with 6 speed auto which was nowhere near as good as the 8 speed). Excellent drive with crisp handling for a car of this size and weight.very comfortable long range tourer but ride a bit rough on secondary roads due to sports suspension and low profile runflats. Have had no real problems with either x5 with servicing covered under service package which I recommend if available. Very professional treatment from the service team at Westside BMW who I would recommend highly.

BadgexDrive30d
TransmissionAutomatic

Great car

published

Bought my e53 x5 facelift in January 2011 with 89k on the clock. Fully loaded , Still going strong . Now on 119k.
The only down point on this I had in the 1st 8months was the amp in the boot , (common fault ) damp so had it sent away from a company on eBay 24hr turn around, £220 not a problem since,
Love this car has it caused me no problems and does everything I ask it to.
Flies through every MOT.
Service is reasonable at local garage..
2 years time I'll but the upgrade one, not to keen on the new x5 on the shape .

lakisjoannou

lakisjoannou

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

I love my black X5 40D 7 seater, bought new 11/2010 ex demo.

published
TransmissionAutomatic
BadgexDrive40d Sport
David_Mc

David_Mc

  • 7 reviews
  • 4 likes

2008 E70 X5 3.0sd

published
TransmissionAutomatic
BadgeSD

TV Tech

TV TechMelbourne

  • 18 reviews
  • 2 likes

2006 X5 E53 3.0d Sports

published

Have owned this car for 6 years
Currently had 244,000k's on the clock.
Its been a fantastic vehicle (especially when compared to a previously owned Range Rover).
Rock Solid road holding, Safe, Economical, seats 5 in comfort, tows, good storage, stylish, still turns heads.
Vehicle is relatively trouble free, with only small and minor issues (as with any car)
Ours has the radio module fail (a common fault, $145 fix)
OEM Battery lasted 8 years

Really i have nothing to complain about this vehicle and don't want to part with it.
As i have no idea what i'd buy next, apart from a newer version.
If you service it when required it will give you years of trouble free motoring.

Badge0
TransmissionAutomatic

anders

andersSydney

BMW X5 30D 2011

published

We love this stylish SUV, look better than the ML or the RRS we had considered.
Driving was joyful, the cargo space was large, and I can leave the HUD now.
The 30d diesel was very powerful, 8 Speed gearbox made it run very smooth, you won't notice this is a car weighing 2 tons.

TransmissionAutomatic
BadgexDrive30d

Murray

MurrayDarlington Point

2003 3.0d, purchased new, now showing 365000 Klm.

published

A country car that does at least 100k at each start up. Got 100,000 Ks out of first set of Michelins, replaced battery after 8 yrs. new CV boots at same time. Replaced expansion tank and cap 18 months ago. Did replace the drivers door actuator a couple of years ago. Have replaced two of the fuel delivery pumps, the one in the tank and the inline one, around $600 each event. Have not serviced the A/C, which must be a record. This car has been a gem, with service costs lower than our 08 Navara, and always taken it to the 25000K interval.
Car still looks fantastic, but it is time to update am looking at a 2013 e70. Can only hope for more of the same. Anyone have poor result from the 013 version?


BMW X5 E53 3.0 D 2006

published

We recently purchased a 2006 X5 and are delighted. Definitely the Ultimate Driving Experience. A dream to drive. Supremely solid and stylish. Diesel is very economical. Amazing acoustics..... it makes us smile every time. If on going costs are a concern find a good mechanic that has appropriate BMW equipment and many $$$$$'s will be saved. Best to get oil change every 7,000 kms or so for maximum protection
The X5 is very thoughtfully designed and definitely sets the benchmark for other luxury car makers to follow.


Page 2 of 4

Questions & Answers

Steve c

Steve casked

X5 E70

I have a bmw 2007 x5 e70 3.0d. I start it and it will tick over for like 10 minutes then shuts off, I remover the key start it again then it starts but dies straight away. This happens over and over . The next morning it did the same. Any ideas please?

1 answer
Dolorado
Dolorado

Hi Steve,
Mine had the same problem and we found it was the MAS (Mass Airflow Sensor) then ran perfectly afterwards. I sold it before something else went wrong. :-)


Striney Pillay

Striney Pillayasked

X5 E70

My E70 3.0 SD X5 loses power after a long trip , I can still drive it but when I depress accelerator the response is poor , like no boost

No answers

Sydney C.

Sydney C.asked

X5 E70

Hi my 2007 BMW x5 3.0 d cuts off while driving. I replaced all fuel related sensors, fuel regulator, fuel pressure, fuel measure and the fuel pump. But it still do the same. It will start and cuts off after some few minutes. It shows the low battery warning signs and lose time and date. Can a low battery cause the car to cut off while running? Please help I am frustrated

No answers

Get an answer from our members and BMW representatives

Details

BMW X5 G05 xDrive30d

BMW X5 G05 xDrive30d (2018-2019)

5.0
(1)
BMW X5 G05 xDrive40i

BMW X5 G05 xDrive40i (2018-2019)

0.0
(0)
BMW X5 G05 M50d

BMW X5 G05 M50d (2018-2019)

0.0
(0)
BMW X5 E70
  • Discontinued

BMW X5 E70 (2007-2013)

3.9
(23)
BMW X5 F15 sDrive25d
  • Discontinued

BMW X5 F15 sDrive25d (2014-2018)

5.0
(1)
BMW X5 F15 xDrive25d
  • Discontinued

BMW X5 F15 xDrive25d (2014-2018)

0.0
(0)
BMW X5 F15 xDrive40d
  • Discontinued

BMW X5 F15 xDrive40d (2014-2018)

5.0
(1)
BMW X5 F15 xDrive35i
  • Discontinued

BMW X5 F15 xDrive35i (2014-2018)

0.0
(0)
BMW X5 F15 M
  • Discontinued

BMW X5 F15 M (2015-2018)

5.0
(1)
BMW X5 F15 xDrive30d
  • Discontinued

BMW X5 F15 xDrive30d (2013-2018)

4.6
(5)
BMW X5 F15 xDrive50i
  • Discontinued

BMW X5 F15 xDrive50i (2013-2018)

0.0
(0)
BMW X5 F15 M50d
  • Discontinued

BMW X5 F15 M50d (2013-2018)

0.0
(0)
BMW X5 E53
  • Discontinued

BMW X5 E53 (2000-2006)

3.5
(26)
CategoryLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVs
Starting Price $112,990$115,990$149,900$93,990$91,155$124,990$109,615$112,990$143,619$144,990
TransmissionAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticAutomatic
Drive TypeFour Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Rear Wheel Drive (RWD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)
Fuel TypeDieselPetrolDieselDieselDieselDieselPetrolDieselPetrolDiesel
Wheels20" Alloy20" Alloy22" Alloy18" Alloy18" Alloy20" Alloy19" Alloy20" Alloy20" Alloy20" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Doors55555555555
Seats55555555555
Fuel Consumption7.2 L/100km9.2 L/100km7.5 L/100km5.5 L/100km5.6 L/100km6.3 L/100km8.5 L/100km6.2 L/100km10.5 L/100km6.7 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 80 L83 L80 L85 L85 L85 L85 L85 L85 L85 L85 L
Engine6 Cylinder 3.0L6 Cylinder 3.0L6 Cylinder 3.0L4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.0L6 Cylinder 3.0L6 Cylinder 3.0L6 Cylinder 3.0L8 Cylinder 4.4L6 Cylinder 3.0L
Max Power195kW @ 4000rpm250kW @ 6500rpm294kW @ 4400rpm170kW @ 4400rpm170kW @ 4400rpm230kW @ 4400rpm225kW @ 6000rpm190kW @ 4000rpm330kW @ 6000rpm280kW @ 4400rpm
Max Torque620Nm @ 2000-2500rpm450Nm @ 1500-2500rpm760Nm @ 2000-3000rpm500Nm @ 1500-3000rpm500Nm @ 1500-3000rpm630Nm @ 1500-2500rpm400Nm @ 1200-5000rpm560Nm @ 1500-3000rpm650Nm @ 2000-4500rpm740Nm @ 2000-3000rpm
Country of ManufactureUnited StatesUnited StatesUnited StatesUnited StatesUnited StatesUnited StatesUnited StatesUnited StatesUnited StatesUnited StatesUnited States
Safety Features
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • Active Cruise Control
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • Driver Attention Detection
  • ESC (Electronic Stability Control)
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • ISA (Intelligent Speed Assist)
  • Lane Assist
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • Active Cruise Control
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • Driver Attention Detection
  • ESC (Electronic Stability Control)
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • ISA (Intelligent Speed Assist)
  • Lane Assist
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • Active Cruise Control
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • Driver Attention Detection
  • ESC (Electronic Stability Control)
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • ISA (Intelligent Speed Assist)
  • Lane Assist
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
Extra Features
  • 360° Camera
  • Automatic Boot
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Parking Assist
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Heads-up Display
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • Sunroof
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
  • 360° Camera
  • Automatic Boot
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Parking Assist
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Heads-up Display
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • Sunroof
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
  • 360° Camera
  • Automatic Boot
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Parking Assist
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Heads-up Display
  • Heated Seats
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • Sunroof
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
Ground Clearance500 mm500 mm500 mm
Maximum Towing Capacity (braked)3,500 kg3,500 kg3,500 kg2,700 kg2,700 kg2,700 kg2,700 kg2,700 kg2,700 kg2,700 kg2,700 kg
Maximum Towing Capacity (unbraked)750 kg750 kg750 kg750 kg750 kg750 kg750 kg750 kg750 kg750 kg750 kg
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)
Release dateNov 2018Nov 2018Nov 2018Mar 2007Mar 2014Mar 2014Mar 2014Mar 2014Apr 2015Nov 2013Nov 2013Nov 2013Nov 2000
Discontinuation dateOct 2013Oct 2018Oct 2018Oct 2018Oct 2018Oct 2018Oct 2018Oct 2018Oct 2018Dec 2006

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.