??!
1 photo
Bosch Optiflow Professional

Bosch Optiflow Professional

26L, 16L, 20L
1.1 from 43 reviews

Reviews

(1)
(0)
(0)
(1)
(41)
  • Build Quality
    1.6 (14)
  • Value for Money
    1.1 (14)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    1.5 (12)
  • Noise Level
    1.3 (14)
  • Temperature Consistency
    2.0 (18)
  • Heating Speed
    1.4 (18)
  • Smells of GasYes (7) · No (10)

Absolute piece of rubbish

published

Today is the 5th time a plumber/gas fitter has worked on this unit.
1. Fluctuating water temps and won't heat adequately
2. Trips the power box
3.Noisey and now randomly activates in the night
4. My electricity and water bill have almost doubled due to having to run so much water to get hot water at all, can't regulate the shower properly. Can hold my hand under hot water in kitchen as it is not hot enough and the system box is 1 metre away.
I would NEVER recommend this unit to anyone and if I could give Bosch 0 (Zero) stars, I would.
Not a company I would ever deal with if I had a choice again.
Many people in this village have had units replaced.
I am not participating in any giveaways or promotions. I am a disgruntled consumer.

Purchased in June 2018.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Household Size 1 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
Dean W.

Dean W.Southwest, VIC

  • 2 reviews

Totally hopeless

published

Works sometimes but mostly not..... replaced under warranty but unit still no good, never again Bosch any other brand must be better than this unit. Please avoid even if the cheapest option.

Purchased in March 2017 at Bev Marks Geelong for $699.00.

Household Size 3 person(s)
Smells of GasYes
Dalya

DalyaGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Horrible!!

published

Purchased in November 2019.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
Gas Continuous Hot Water Systems

Find out how Bosch Optiflow Professional compares to other Gas Continuous Hot Water Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Fred Kroft

Fred KroftMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 4 reviews

Bosch Optiflow 16L - flawed design

published

Purchased in October 2017 at Edward Skibicki for $2,145.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Household Size 1 person(s)
Smells of GasYes
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
1 comment
Fred Kroft
Fred Kroft
nessy

nessyGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews

do not buy this unit

published

switch off all the time reset randomly barely get even one warm shower a day
two visits from warranty 3 under way current 5 days to even get their agent ot call back

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Household Size 3 person(s)
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers

Units Stop Working

published

Have 7 units for motel, a disaster decision, never again. Bosch is a disgrace. The units stop operating and need rebooting off course when guests are in the room & complain

Purchased in October 2017 for $1,100.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Household Size 1 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
1 comment
Bosch Hot Water & Heating
Robert B.Bosch Hot Water & Heating

Dont buy any bosch brands hot w gas

published

new estate with over 100 homes so far and all you hear is the over driving fans hum all over the place. south cairns far north qld MT PETER ESTATE...
they changed the circuit board on our unit 2 times with no fix. then they swapped the optiflow 16 to a brand new one..haha, still hums with the over driving fan and once a day it wont even switch on to heat the water. what a heap of rubbish product...i now see why the property developer puts these in on new homes here..cheap junk. DON'T BUY BOSCH GAS HOT WATER PRODUCTS.

Purchased in November 2018.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Household Size 2 person(s)
Smells of GasYes
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
Phil

PhilHobart, TAS

A load of rubbish

published

This unit seriously is not good.
Its the 3rd unit I have had in various dwellings, and only this one is damn unreliable.
Its in a Holliday home in remote location and I think I will get it pulled out and get a different unit.
Only installed just over 12 months ago and it always switches off and needs re- booting.
Now thats not even working.
My main dwelling has a 15 year old unit going well.
The optiflow 26 is a complete load of crap.
Not good enough in this day and age.
Phil

Purchased in April 2017 at West Hobart plumbing for $1,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Household Size 2 person(s)
Smells of GasYes
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
davidwarwick1979

davidwarwick1979Illawarra, NSW

Exceptionally bad unit

published

The unit stopped working two months after we moved into a brand new house. Found an online guide to fix it but couldn't get it to start again. Real estate to got someone out three days later and got it going. Since then I regularly stops working. Gas bill is now through the roof. Wastes so much water waiting for it to heat up. Worst unit I've ever come across.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Household Size 3 person(s)
Smells of GasYes
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
1 comment
Bosch Hot Water & Heating
Robert B.Bosch Hot Water & Heating
Gas Continuous Hot Water Systems

Find out how Bosch Optiflow Professional compares to other Gas Continuous Hot Water Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Troy

TroyMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 2 reviews

Stay well away

published

Purchased in February 2019.

Noise Level
Value for Money
Household Size 1 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
1 comment
Bosch Hot Water & Heating
Robert B.Bosch Hot Water & Heating

Hi Troy, we are sincerely sorry for the issues that you have been experiencing with your unit. We take these issues very seriously. So that we can escalate this issue could you kindly get in touch with us at hot.water@au.bosch.com.

Extremely disappointing

published

The unit constantly requires to be turned off & on again to work.
Sometimes, the hot water doesnt come on at all.
There have been countless time this has happened over the last 1 year of buying this product. Never trusting Bosch products again.

Purchased in July 2018.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Household Size 2 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
1 comment
Bosch Hot Water & Heating
Robert B.Bosch Hot Water & Heating

Avoid if you can

published

Stopped working on 366th day. Warranty ran out. Had to call these clowns twice while under the warranty as it would not heat the water. Chucking this piece of crap in the bin. Terrible terrible stay away from this product

Jewellia

JewelliaNorth-West & West coast, TAS

Hate this so much!!!

published

This is the worst hot water system I've ever had, unit is right next to bathroom yet I have to run the water for nearly a minute to get it hot when having a shower. Gas bill is ridiculously high as it seems to run all day, I now turn it off when I do not want hot water to try and reduce my gas bill.
Have given one star but would give -5 if I could. Absolute rubbish and Bosch you should recall this product and offer everyone unlucky enough to have this a Rinnai or Rheem anything but your brand

Purchased at Renting property.

Household Size 1 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
1 comment
Bosch Hot Water & Heating
Robert B.Bosch Hot Water & Heating
Jessie B.

Jessie B.Victoria

Avoid like the plague!!!

published

We are extremely unhappy the water comes out Luke warm at all outlets. We can not have a bath with out keeping the hot water tap running the whole time and releasing water. We are washing all the dishes twice and having to boil the kettle to fill the sink to be able to get them clean. When the water gets to its hottest temperature it will then have a section of cold run through then heat back up. The amount off water we are wasting, our time being consumed with re washing and getting in and out of the shower, keeping the bath tap running and the extra cost on our bills is causing a great deal of stress. We have emailed the company to resolve the issue and no response. ACCC is my next step.

Purchased at Reece.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Household Size 2 person(s)
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers

LEMONS X2

published

Changed from Electric storage to Optiflow 16L with high expectations of saving $$$.
Two units installed through warranty period. Errors from install and regular wafts of gas. Will be replacing asap.

Purchased in September 2017 at ELGAS for $800.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Household Size 4 person(s)
Smells of GasYes
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
1 comment
Bosch Hot Water & Heating
Robert B.Bosch Hot Water & Heating
Gas Continuous Hot Water Systems

Find out how Bosch Optiflow Professional compares to other Gas Continuous Hot Water Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Absolute rubbish, inconvenience, not recommended

published

Only rated one star because it wouldn't choose zero, second unit after first one being replaced under warranty due to issues now the replacement has crashed. No wonder it has a 6 star energy rating, super efficient if you can't use the damn thing.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Smells of GasYes
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
1 comment
Bosch Hot Water & Heating
Robert B.Bosch Hot Water & Heating
Rob

RobPerth, WA

C1 error!!!!! So sick of seeing this

published

Purchased the Optiflow 26l, on January 2018, I have had a C1 error twice in 12 months ,and of course each time on a weekend when finding a plumber for less than $200.00 for call out and 15 minutes is impossible. I have taken 2 cold showers and boiled water on the stove for my son to bathe in. Was told the circuit board needs replacing and was even told to just replace the unit cause he’ll be back out in 3 months time to fix other things. Still waiting to hear back from Bosch. Very disappointed, not what you expect from Bosch products. If you are considering a Bosch water heater avoid it if you like hot water in the bathrooms.

Purchased in January 2018 for $800.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Household Size 3 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
1 comment
Bosch Hot Water & Heating
Robert B.Bosch Hot Water & Heating
Bek B.

Bek B.Launceston, TAS

  • 2 reviews

Rubbish, broke after 12 months

published

Unit conked out after 2 mths use, I was told by the company who installed it that they've had constant issues with this and won't install them anymore because they're rubbish and have constant problems.

Purchased in June 2018 for $730.00.

Household Size 1 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
1 comment
Bosch Hot Water & Heating
Robert B.Bosch Hot Water & Heating
shazcam

shazcam

  • 17 reviews

One year of tepid water

published

No high demand in house, 2 people. Can not obtain hot water for 12 months. Water is always tepid, taps and showers run for mins in order to get warm water. First time that I have filled the bath today, nearly full, cold and system is on wall of bathroom. Have had Plumber out months ago to tell me that it is set at regulation temperature and have had a meter upgrade also..Water bills have been MASSIVE as waste water trying to obtain more than warm water in shower and sinks..Worst purchase ever made!

Purchased in July 2018 for $1,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
1 comment
Bosch Hot Water & Heating
Robert B.Bosch Hot Water & Heating
Brent

BrentSouth East Queensland, QLD

Needs restarting to make hot water

published

We brought this product after much research and after talking to the Bosch technical staff for our campground. Had it in for several months and it just starts randomly stopping. No Hot water. All it needs is a restart to make it go again. This has caused extremely bad damage to our Brand name as we advertise having unlimited hot water for the showers. Exactly why we chose this model. Campers contacting me at 11pm to tell they want hot water!!!
Now I find it is a known problem? Whats going on Bosch?

Purchased in June 2018.

1 comment
Bosch Hot Water & Heating
Robert B.Bosch Hot Water & Heating
Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

Dean T.

Dean T.asked

How much

No answers
Sharon C.

Sharon C.asked

Has anyone found a resolution with he issues with this system, It has been replaced, I have tried 2 independant plumbers and Bosch recently came for the 2nd, no third time and changed the Motherboard, the model had Mother board problems apparently ? (made no difference) a year of hell with this thing just no hot water to wash diahes at all, no hot water on bathrooms or bath and $500 and more water bills (double) trying to run taps forever to get luke warm water. What is the solution?

3 answers
Beavis
Beavis

The motherboard was changed in mine the second time with the second unit. The third unit was upgraded by Bosch to the Bluetooth model with assurances all faults have been resolved. I guess only time will tell.

Sharon C.
Sharon C.

Have you noticed.any difference

Bosch Hot Water & Heating
Robert B.Bosch Hot Water & Heating

Hi Sharon, thank you for your question, we're sorry to hear about the difficulties that you have been facing. We believe that you have gotten in touch with our Technical Team already and have organised the replacement of your unit. We trust that this will rectify all of the issues that you have been facing.

If you have not yet reached out to us, could you kindly do so at 1300 30 70 37 on a weekday, any time between 7:30AM to 6PM (AEST), and we will assist you there.

Stam

Stamasked

Optiflow Professional 26L

Hi i have an optiflow unit outside balcony of my unit there was a noise that comes on and off like the water heating which is prob normal however as i was standing around that area thought there was a gas smell sort of checked a few times and it was on and off not sure though but can gas smell come from the unit when its reheating water???thankyou.

3 answers
Bosch Hot Water & Heating
Robert B.Bosch Hot Water & Heating

Hi Stam, thanks for your question. All gas burning appliances discharge flue gases when combustion occurs. The gas you are smelling is probably this, however, we suggest you contact us to arrange for an authorised technician to inspect. To get in touch with an authorised service technician, please contact us at 1300 30 70 37 on a weekday, any time between 7:30AM to 6:00PM (AEST).

Beavis
Beavis

It is normal

Stam
Stam

Ok thanks

Get an answer from our members and Bosch Hot Water & Heating representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.