??!
1 photo
Bosch Hot Water & Heating Optiflow Professional 26L

Bosch Hot Water & Heating Optiflow Professional 26L

1.2 from 32 reviews

Reviews

1.2

32 reviews
5
(1)
4
(0)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(30)
  • Build Quality
    1.6 (17)
  • Value for Money
    1.4 (17)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    1.8 (15)
  • Noise Level
    1.8 (16)
  • Temperature Consistency
    1.9 (18)
  • Heating Speed
    1.6 (18)
  • Smells of GasYes (5) · No (12)
Previous
Next
Shane

ShaneWestern District, VIC

Sadly Disappointed

published

My unit was one month over 2 years old before failing completely.
As with a lot of people on here we had fluctuating water temperature since the unit was installed new. I was on LPG and every time we ran out of a bottle it was a mission to get it to start working again. I'm sure my old unit is very repairable, I just replaced it with another brand. Thus far it works much better..

Purchased in July 2018 at Betta Home Living for A$892.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Household Size 5 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
Meiday

MeidayPerth, WA

  • 6 reviews
  • 6 likes

Stay away from it

published

At first, when it was only few months old, it has already had water heating issue. The water temperature keep flututratrd during shower. We called the maintenance company to have a look at it and the repair man found no problem with it so we had to put up with it.
Fast forward, we have used it for 1 and a half year now, it stopped working all of a sudden yesterday. Thankfully the repair man could come to fix it on the same day. He said it was the computer board issue so he replaced it and said to me " it should be okay for now". And it has somehow fixed the temperature fluctuating issue.
However, the gas heater has started making random noises after he replaced the pc board.
Stay away from it people.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
Dill Dill

Dill DillSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Intermittent hot water.

published

We moved into a house that was under 2 years old. The hot water at times would take at several minutes to heat up and at times not turn on at all and work an hour later. After being fed up the fifth it happened where the heater stopped working, we emailed Bosch to send someone to take a look. Turning it on and off didn't solve the issue, the ignition was not working. The technician updated the circuit board which to me seems like there was a software issue on the original product. Thankfully Rory from Bosch Warranty Service was quite helpful and sent someone out quickly and the hot water now comes out quickly. Let's see how unit performs from now on out.

Purchased in April 2017.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
Gas Continuous Hot Water Systems

Find out how Bosch Hot Water & Heating Optiflow Professional 26L compares to other Gas Continuous Hot Water Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Syed

SyedPerth, WA

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

An absolute waste

published

We have this unit as part of our build. Hot water takes ages to come on. Gallons of water wasted for having to wait for hot water to come on. Never buy this. And if you are offered this as part of your build like ours, don't accept - ask for something else.

Michael

MichaelMid North Coast, NSW

Very happy with this product.

published

The unit was a problem on the first attempt at use probably due to a long time without any usage.plumber came and reset 3 months ago.
Machine is efficient, nil temperature fluctuations and handles extended usage well plus my energy bills are down.
Maybe I'm just lucky but I really like it.

Purchased in March 2020.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Household Size 2 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
Steve

SteveMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

Do not buy one!

published

Hot water is hit and miss, it works sometimes and not others. The unit had just been fitted when we bought the house, we've had the Bosch Plumber out to attempt to and repair it twice, still no improvement. Bosch replaced it, after fitting Plumber said "if this one gives you trouble just turn power off and on to reset" (knowing full well we were still going to have trouble). New one no better! I dont know how Bosch can still be supplying this ridiculously unreliable junk!

Purchased in June 2019.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Value for Money
Household Size 3 person(s)
Smells of GasYes
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
Chris G.

Chris G.

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Absolute peice of @^$/.

published

The unit takes for ever to heat up and water and gas bill was much higher then normal. Temperature fluctuates from hot to almost cold and hot again. Tried on numerous devices to connect and never does. When turning on the hot it even takes a while for the pressure to come up to normal from a slow pour to a fish of cold water. Had a bosch hot water before and was great but never again

Purchased in September 2019 at Tradelink for A$900.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Household Size 6 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
Brendon

BrendonPerth, WA

Avoid this Unit

published

This Unit is completely useless, can take anywhere from 2 minutes to 15 minutes for hot water to come through wasting litres upon litres of water. Bosch used to be good obviously not anymore..

Purchased in August 2019.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Household Size 1 person(s)
Smells of GasYes
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers

Absolute piece of rubbish

published

Today is the 5th time a plumber/gas fitter has worked on this unit.
1. Fluctuating water temps and won't heat adequately
2. Trips the power box
3.Noisey and now randomly activates in the night
4. My electricity and water bill have almost doubled due to having to run so much water to get hot water at all, can't regulate the shower properly. Can hold my hand under hot water in kitchen as it is not hot enough and the system box is 1 metre away.
I would NEVER recommend this unit to anyone and if I could give Bosch 0 (Zero) stars, I would.
Not a company I would ever deal with if I had a choice again.
Many people in this village have had units replaced.
I am not participating in any giveaways or promotions. I am a disgruntled consumer.

Purchased in June 2018.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Household Size 1 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
Gas Continuous Hot Water Systems

Find out how Bosch Hot Water & Heating Optiflow Professional 26L compares to other Gas Continuous Hot Water Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Dean W.

Dean W.Southwest, VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Totally hopeless

published

Works sometimes but mostly not..... replaced under warranty but unit still no good, never again Bosch any other brand must be better than this unit. Please avoid even if the cheapest option.

Purchased in March 2017 at Bev Marks Geelong for A$699.00.

Household Size 3 person(s)
Smells of GasYes
Dalya

DalyaGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Horrible!!

published

Purchased in November 2019.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
nessy

nessyGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

do not buy this unit

published

switch off all the time reset randomly barely get even one warm shower a day
two visits from warranty 3 under way current 5 days to even get their agent ot call back

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Household Size 3 person(s)
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers

Units Stop Working

published

Have 7 units for motel, a disaster decision, never again. Bosch is a disgrace. The units stop operating and need rebooting off course when guests are in the room & complain

Purchased in October 2017 for A$1,100.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Household Size 1 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
1 comment
Bosch Hot Water & Heating
Robert B.Bosch Hot Water & Heating
Phil

PhilHobart, TAS

A load of rubbish

published

This unit seriously is not good.
Its the 3rd unit I have had in various dwellings, and only this one is damn unreliable.
Its in a Holliday home in remote location and I think I will get it pulled out and get a different unit.
Only installed just over 12 months ago and it always switches off and needs re- booting.
Now thats not even working.
My main dwelling has a 15 year old unit going well.
The optiflow 26 is a complete load of crap.
Not good enough in this day and age.
Phil

Purchased in April 2017 at West Hobart plumbing for A$1,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Household Size 2 person(s)
Smells of GasYes
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
davidwarwick1979

davidwarwick1979Illawarra, NSW

Exceptionally bad unit

published

The unit stopped working two months after we moved into a brand new house. Found an online guide to fix it but couldn't get it to start again. Real estate to got someone out three days later and got it going. Since then I regularly stops working. Gas bill is now through the roof. Wastes so much water waiting for it to heat up. Worst unit I've ever come across.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Household Size 3 person(s)
Smells of GasYes
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
1 comment
Bosch Hot Water & Heating
Robert B.Bosch Hot Water & Heating
Gas Continuous Hot Water Systems

Find out how Bosch Hot Water & Heating Optiflow Professional 26L compares to other Gas Continuous Hot Water Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Extremely disappointing

published

The unit constantly requires to be turned off & on again to work.
Sometimes, the hot water doesnt come on at all.
There have been countless time this has happened over the last 1 year of buying this product. Never trusting Bosch products again.

Purchased in July 2018.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Household Size 2 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
1 comment
Bosch Hot Water & Heating
Robert B.Bosch Hot Water & Heating

Avoid if you can

published

Stopped working on 366th day. Warranty ran out. Had to call these clowns twice while under the warranty as it would not heat the water. Chucking this piece of crap in the bin. Terrible terrible stay away from this product

Jessie B.

Jessie B.Victoria

Avoid like the plague!!!

published

We are extremely unhappy the water comes out Luke warm at all outlets. We can not have a bath with out keeping the hot water tap running the whole time and releasing water. We are washing all the dishes twice and having to boil the kettle to fill the sink to be able to get them clean. When the water gets to its hottest temperature it will then have a section of cold run through then heat back up. The amount off water we are wasting, our time being consumed with re washing and getting in and out of the shower, keeping the bath tap running and the extra cost on our bills is causing a great deal of stress. We have emailed the company to resolve the issue and no response. ACCC is my next step.

Purchased at Reece.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Household Size 2 person(s)
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
Rob

RobPerth, WA

C1 error!!!!! So sick of seeing this

published

Purchased the Optiflow 26l, on January 2018, I have had a C1 error twice in 12 months ,and of course each time on a weekend when finding a plumber for less than $200.00 for call out and 15 minutes is impossible. I have taken 2 cold showers and boiled water on the stove for my son to bathe in. Was told the circuit board needs replacing and was even told to just replace the unit cause he’ll be back out in 3 months time to fix other things. Still waiting to hear back from Bosch. Very disappointed, not what you expect from Bosch products. If you are considering a Bosch water heater avoid it if you like hot water in the bathrooms.

Purchased in January 2018 for A$800.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Household Size 3 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
1 comment
Bosch Hot Water & Heating
Robert B.Bosch Hot Water & Heating
shazcam

shazcam

  • 17 reviews
  • 8 likes

One year of tepid water

published

No high demand in house, 2 people. Can not obtain hot water for 12 months. Water is always tepid, taps and showers run for mins in order to get warm water. First time that I have filled the bath today, nearly full, cold and system is on wall of bathroom. Have had Plumber out months ago to tell me that it is set at regulation temperature and have had a meter upgrade also..Water bills have been MASSIVE as waste water trying to obtain more than warm water in shower and sinks..Worst purchase ever made!

Purchased in July 2018 for A$1,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
1 comment
Bosch Hot Water & Heating
Robert B.Bosch Hot Water & Heating
Page 1 of 2
See all Bosch Optiflow Professional reviews

Questions & Answers

Francisco

Franciscoasked

Optiflow Professional 26L

We areusing a Bosh Optiflow Professional 26L installed in our new house since December 2018.
Our experience with the unit is similar to those reported above.
Did Bosh come up with a product recall?
If not what steps should we take to have the product replaced under the warranty conditions?
Thank you
Francisco
Orange NSW2800

No answers
Stam

Stamasked

Optiflow Professional 26L

Hi i have an optiflow unit outside balcony of my unit there was a noise that comes on and off like the water heating which is prob normal however as i was standing around that area thought there was a gas smell sort of checked a few times and it was on and off not sure though but can gas smell come from the unit when its reheating water???thankyou.

3 answers
Bosch Hot Water & Heating
Robert B.Bosch Hot Water & Heating

Hi Stam, thanks for your question. All gas burning appliances discharge flue gases when combustion occurs. The gas you are smelling is probably this, however, we suggest you contact us to arrange for an authorised technician to inspect. To get in touch with an authorised service technician, please contact us at 1300 30 70 37 on a weekday, any time between 7:30AM to 6:00PM (AEST).

Beavis
Beavis

It is normal

Stam
Stam

Ok thanks

Get an answer from our members and Bosch Hot Water & Heating representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.