??!
1 photo
Bosch PIV995DC1E

Bosch PIV995DC1E

MPN: PIV995DC1E
2.3 from 15 reviews

Reviews

2.3

15 reviews
5
(2)
4
(2)
3
(1)
2
(3)
1
(7)
Previous
Next
Andrew

AndrewVictoria

  • 2 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Great induction cooktop after initial issue

published

This cooktop gets used every day and performs really well. The helpful "H" to let you know its hot is a definite improvement over older models.

We had some initial problems with the touch sensor under the glass - it worried me a bit seeing other people have issues. The control board under the glass was fixed quickly and effectively under warranty.

Although this was a bit disappointing the customer service was fantastic and the cooktop has worked flawlessly since.

Purchased in May 2017 at The Good Guys.

This product so so frustrating as we have always purchased Bosch (never again)

published

This is the biggest load of rubbish we have ever had. The cooktop turns off haphazardly all the time. We have only been using this for about a month. Ready to toss over the balcony. What the hell is going on with this product. Would not recommend to anyone. We purchased the appropriate saucepans at quite a cost. What a waste of money.

1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances
Minh H

Minh HSydney, NSW

  • Verified purchase

Do not buy Bosch induction stove top. Total rubbish!!!

published

Purchased in January 2018 at Winning Appliances NSW for A$1,700.00.

Induction Cooktops

Find out how Bosch PIV995DC1E compares to other Induction Cooktops

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Do not buy Bosch Induction Cooktops

published

Same issues as everybody else's review here. Buttons non responsive and now (product less than two years old) completely unresponsive. Once upon a time you bought German brands like Bosch for the quality and this product is defective clearly from all the issues people are reporting.

Purchased in July 2018 for A$2,000.00.

Dave

DaveGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Mostly good, but intermittent issues continue

published

Purchased in May 2017 at The Good Guys for A$1,750.00.

4 comments
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances
Dave
Dave

I've called this morning, and there is a service call-out planned next week.

Dave
Dave
don36

don36Hobart, TAS

  • 4 reviews
  • 5 likes

Never again..

published

I will never buy electronic appliances such as induction cook Top from European manufacturer..

Brought Bosch DW, oven, rangehood, cooktop. And the induction cooktop is so rubbish that you would think it was designed and made in some low tech third world country..

It does not function.. it beeps out and malfunction, and the touch button does not work properly.. Just a rubbish..

N

Purchased in October 2018 at Harvey Norman for A$1,350.00.

1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances
Cliff Kemp

Cliff KempPeel, WA

  • Verified purchase

WARNING: Faulty Faulty

published

Purchased Dec 2017 from Appliances On Line
The Hob will not turn on. Has been working intermittently for several months. Turned off at the mains and wait 60 seconds and reboot shows 'E' error messages across appliance then shuts off.
Unable to use at all.
For a $2000 installed appliance hugely disappointed.
Recommend NOT buying this appliance.

Mandurah Western Australia

Purchased in December 2017 at appliancesonline for A$1,702.00.

1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances

Looks nice, works well...but not for long

published

Purchased in July 2017 at Appliances Online for A$1,800.00.

1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances
Ra_Ra

Ra_Ra

  • 13 reviews
  • 9 likes

Household of Bosch appliances unfortunately this one needs warranty repairs!

published

Purchased in March 2017 at Harvey Norman for A$2,000.00.

Induction Cooktops

Find out how Bosch PIV995DC1E compares to other Induction Cooktops

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Janet K

Janet KAU

  • 3 reviews
  • 7 likes
  • Verified purchase

Badly designed product

published

My husband purchased the induction cooktop because it looked sleek and it was Bosch who normally have a good product. Well this cooktop does not meet expectations. The on/off button is near on impossible to turn on and if he is not home I literally cannot use it with my finger print. Now after reading other reviews I see its a consistent issue. I would not recommend this induction to anyone purchase a stove with knobs!!

Purchased in October 2017 at The Good Guys for A$1,700.00.

2 comments
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances

Hi Janet,
Thanks for your review, we appreciate the feedback. We're sorry to hear that you're having issues with your Janet. If we can be of any help to you feel free to call us on 1300 369 744.
Regards,
Bosch Home Australia

Janet K
Janet K
Marc W.

Marc W.South East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews

Great cooktop with one ergonomic flaw

published

I've been using my cooktop for almost a year and I love it. Beautiful sleek design, scratch resistant and very powerful. However I can't get over the fact that there's only one "power selection" for all hobs. This means you have to select the hob you want to adjust first, before you can adjust power. Very very inconvenient, especially at times something is overcooking. Even after a year of getting used to, this is still annoying and impractical.
Bosch please separate power settings for each hub completely for your future ergonomic design!

Purchased in July 2018.

1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances
Dennis B.

Dennis B.South East Queensland, QLD

Do not buy a Bosch 5 hob induction cooktop

published

Purchased in January 2019.

1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances
  • Verified purchase

Lots of options on installation and power requirements

published
Date PurchasedNov 2018
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances

Hi Richard,
Thanks for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback about your Bosch PIV995DC1E Cooktop.
If you have any future queries, please feel free to call us on 1300 369 744.
Regards, Bosch Home Australia.

Janet K

Janet KAU

  • 3 reviews
  • 7 likes
  • Verified purchase

Do Not Buy Induction - Warning to Others

published
Date PurchasedOct 2017
Saniki

SanikiSydney

  • 16 reviews
  • 6 likes
  • Verified purchase

Intuitive Powerful Wide Induction Cooktop

published

The cooktop is easy to understand without reading the manual. It detects automatically if there is a pot on the top and so one just has to turn it on and then select the degree of heat one wants. It heats fast and also looks and feels sturdy. For the advanced cook, it also has an integrated timer and boost button.

Date PurchasedDec 2017
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances
Induction Cooktops

Find out how Bosch PIV995DC1E compares to other Induction Cooktops

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Questions & Answers

Alex K.

Alex K.asked

Hello. I just purchased PIV995DC1E name late a well as all manuals state that it requires 11.1kw supply. I attempted to do some calculations for circuit breaker size to protect my cooktop and came up with 21amp on 3 phase supply.
On closer inspection 5 core cable supplied is only 1mm2 per core. This would be underrated for current load of 11.1kw line.
My question is it safe and legal to still use cable supplied for installation? And if so what size circuit breaker required?

3 answers
Richard
Richard

Hi Alex,

The supplied cable is rated for the 11kw, the cross section of the cable and the rating also depends on a bunch of other things like the length copper purity covering etc. I can't say I have measured the 3 phase (we only have single) but I did bring it up with our electrician about the single as that's 4mm2 and our run to it for 8kw (explanation below) is 5mm2. He pointed me to the calculation tables involving length, coverings, cable in air or not, inside, outside, ambient temperature etc. That detailed calc sheet confirmed that inside, flexible, 4mm2, not covered (no roof insulation), 2m long, was fine for 11kw.

In general the hob is a seriously flexible bit of kit. You can connect it single phase, 3 phase, anywhere between 2KW and 11KW. Depends on what you have available and how you want to 'de-rate' the hob. We have it connected in single phase with a 40A breaker on 5mm2 cabling and have (in the config of the hob) derated it to 8KW. This means that the hob knows it can only draw 8kw so it never blows the breaker.
We have never (to date, 4 months) ever had it warn us (it does) that it has hit the 8kw limit. This is because it's practically impossible to hit 8kw, let alone 11kw. The thing boils water, stir fries or whatever, so fast that only one (max 2) of the rings are ever on boost at one time, you need all 5 rings on level 9 and 3 of them on boost to hit 11kw, it's just not a realistic scenario.

Hope you enjoy it, it's the best thing we have ever purchased for the kitchen.

Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances

Hi Richard,
Thanks for the question regarding your Bosch cooktop PIV995DC1E.
The cable provided with the appliance has been approved to install with the cooktop.
Base of the information from the standards and the spec provided with the appliance the electrician will be able to determine what safety standards are to be met.
If you need any more help, feel free to contact us on 1300 369 744.
Regards, Bosch Home Australia

Dennis B.
Dennis B.

You have received a typical nonsensical answer from Bosch. All care and no responsibility from the agent. The other gentleman made some relevant comments, but why purchase an 11kw 5 zone unit if it is difficult, if not impossible to get the full power on all rings. At least when we had Brandt and De Dietrich available, they were easy to wire on a dual supply, single phase circuit. Their power share relay put them generations ahead of the competitors.
Maybe Bosch should restrict their sales to 2 hob units. They may then be able to answer the simpler questions that will arise. They are an unhelpful lot to deal with.

Regards

Dennis Brown

Jeni M

Jeni Masked

What does the guarantee cover in relation to the glass section of the induction top?

3 answers
Janet K
Janet K

Hi there unless the cooktop is installed as per the instructions then your warranty on a crack is void. So I would suggest having your installer sign an agreement that they have installed as per the instructions. Personally I will never purchase induction again. Good luck

Craig
Craig

Why won't Bosch respond to these ones when they respond to the positive comments? Seems like a weakness in the product?

Bill L
Bill L

I am an electrician, we provide warranty service for many major brands. The cook top needs to be installed exactly as per the instructions. This also means that the aperture in the bench top is as per the specifications and also that there is adequate ventilation as per the specifications and instructions. This applies to any type or brand of cook top. Almost fifty percent of cook top faults are due to poor installation practices, where the installers have not read the instructions, and especially when retrofitted to existing kitchens, often the hole size is not checked or modified. The problem can be caused by the home owner going to the store or on line to buy a replacement cook top, they then either DIY it or they get someone to install it. Small surface imperfections and particularly joins in stone bench tops at the aperture will shorten the life of a ceramic cook top considerably. Poor ventilation, rodents, insects and ignored clearances will destroy the lifespan of the electronic components. Often the kitchen bench top and cabinetry requires further modification, usually expensive, which is then not done or ignored. My other suggestion is to to get Surge Protection installed in your switchboard to protect at least your cookers circuit from surges and spikes. Makes a huge difference to the lifespan of expensive electrical appliances.

Darren M

Darren Masked

I would like to know what's the power requirements to run this cook top?
My email is [email removed] if you could let me know via email that would be great cheers
Darren

2 answers
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances

Hi Darren M, thanks for your question. The appliance has a 11.1 kW total connected load.
If you have any future queries, please feel free to call us on 1300 369 744.
Regards, Bosch Home Australia.

Richard
Richard

In general the hob is a seriously flexible bit of kit. You can connect it single phase or 3 phase, anywhere between 1KW and 11KW. Depends on what you have available and how you want to 'de-rate' the hob. We have it connected in single phase with a 40A breaker on 5mm2 cabling and have (in the config of the hob) derated it to 8KW. This means that the hob knows it can only draw 8kw so it never blows the breaker.
We have never (to date, 4 months) ever had it warn us (it does) that it has hit the 8kw limit. This is because it's practically impossible to hit 8kw, let alone 11kw. The thing boils water, stir fries or whatever, so fast that only one (max 2) of the rings are ever on boost at one time, you need all 5 rings on level 9 and 3 of them on boost to hit 11kw, it's just not a realistic scenario.
If you select the correct settings you can even run it from a 10A mains socket, although that would be a bit silly at 2kw :)

Get an answer from our members and Bosch Home Appliances representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.