12 photos
Bosch Serie 8 Freestanding Dishwashers

Bosch Serie 8 Freestanding Dishwashers (page 2 of 16)

SMS88TI01A (Silver Inox), SMS88TI04A
4.3 from 226 reviews · View Statistics

Pros

  • Sparkling clean finish on dishes

  • Quiet

  • Spacious

  • 4-star energy rating and 5-star water rating

Cons

  • Premium price

  • Doesn't always dry dishes properly

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.3 (37)
  • Value for Money
    2.6 (38)
  • Ease of Use
    3.6 (37)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.4 (36)
  • Noise Level
    3.9 (37)
  • Internal Layout
    3.8 (33)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
Daniel R.
Daniel R.Perth, WA

Poor at Everything

published

Purchased in November 2019 at Harvey Norman for $1,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
PhilB
PhilBNew South Wales
  • 9 reviews
  • 7 likes

Proud owner of 2 of these, this is how we do it!

published

Purchased in June 2017 for $1,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
2 comments
Bosch Home Appliances
BSH Home AppliancesBosch Home Appliances

Hi Phil,
Thanks for your review, we appreciate the feedback. This has come through an Australian website and you would have to contact customer service in New Zealand to discuss options.
Regards,
Bosch Home Australia

PhilB
PhilB

Cheers for that....problem will be global however....and needs to be fixed at the factory....not the reseller. You should be directing the query UP not SIDEWAYS

Gary C.
Gary C.Metropolitan Adelaide, SA
  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Good dish washer

published

Purchased to replace a Maytag disher that lasted about 20 years and was still going strong. Very happy with it and it cleans well and is very quiet. Wash time is about 3 hours which is a lot longer than old one but is more economical.

Purchased in April 2020 at Harvey Norman for $1,350.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
BSH Home AppliancesBosch Home Appliances
Freestanding Dishwashers

Find out how Bosch Serie 8 Freestanding Dishwashers compares to other Freestanding Dishwashers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Just out of warranty .. power supply

published

We purchased this dishwasher two years ago when our previous Bosch dishwasher (white with a dial and much cheaper) ceased working after 20+ years without incident. This new dishwasher just exceeded its 2 year warranty and the power supply died. Having spent $1400 on this machine we expected it, too, to last at least a few years (estimated 5 or 6) without incident, but to our dismay we were wrong. The service person arrived last week and fixed it at a cost of $450 which is the price of some new dishwashers (different brand and poorer water consumption). However, we will certainly not be fixing this dishwasher again should it have another fault.

Purchased in September 2017 at RetraVision for $1,400.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
BSH Home AppliancesBosch Home Appliances

Hi Steve,
Thanks for your review, we appreciate the feedback. We're sorry to hear that you're having issues with your dishwasher. If we can be of any help to you feel free to call us on 1300 369 744.
Regards,
Bosch Home Australia

bms
bmsPerth, WA
  • 10 reviews
  • 14 likes

Great dishwasher but could be better

published

I do really like our Bosch Serie 8 dishwasher, had it for almost 3 years now and 99.5% of the time, dishes are sparkling clean. It's ultra quiet and dries the dishes really well too. Only flaws are despite being mindful of how we stack the bottom basket, we still see rub marks on some of our plates from where the rotating arm hits them. This is even after ensuring there is ample gap. Some of the basket parts are also starting to split and rub off the plastic covering and rust on the hinge points although to be fair we use it everyday at least, so this is after 1000+ cycles. Besides that, it's a solid dishwasher and our 2nd Bosch, the quality in general is very good.

Purchased in April 2016.

Build Quality
Value for Money
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
BSH Home AppliancesBosch Home Appliances
Related Articles
Previous

The best kitchen appliances in 2020!

Whether you love or loath being in the kitchen, our community of reviewers have determined that out of almost 5,000 appliances on ProductReview.com.au, these are the best available!

Nathan S.
Nathan S.1 Nov 2019
the-best-kitchen-appliances-in-2020

Best Fridges and Dishwashers in 2020!

These large kitchen appliances are the backbone of your kitchen, meant to last you many years. The initial cost of a fridge or dishwasher is high, so to make sure you're not buying a lemon, here are the best fridges and best dishwashers of 2020. Our reviewers have provided detailed ratings for important factors to consider when choosing a refrigerator or dishwasher, such as Noise Level and Internal Layout.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.12 Nov 2019
best-fridges-and-dishwashers-in-2020
Next
Thommo
ThommoGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Not the best

published

Constant E24 errors. Keep cleaning no good for a machine that is 2.5 years old. Will be placing on ebay and buying something else. Used to be quiet, now quite noisy

Purchased in December 2016 at The Good Guys for $1,200.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
BSH Home AppliancesBosch Home Appliances
Sandra F.
Sandra F.Sydney, NSW
  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Excellent dishwasher

published

Really excellent dishwasher, it makes the dishes all sparkling. No smell & I like the design because you can fit large plates!!!
The design is slick & modern which fits modern kitchen. Amazing!!!

Purchased in March 2019 at The Good Guys for $800.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

TinToy
TinToyMetropolitan Adelaide, SA
  • 9 reviews
  • 17 likes

Not up to the job!

published

When I was choosing a new dishwasher two years ago I thought that paying a premium for a product that was both designed and made in Germany would be a guarantee of trouble free performance. How wrong I was. My pots, pans, plates, cups, knives and forks, or any of the other kitchen ware that typically goes into a dishwasher rarely come out properly clean. After two years it is getting worse. Having a variety of settings is useless when even keeping it on the super wash option is not effective. There are times when I have had to repeat the whole cycle twice. Even though I use the recommended dish cleaning capsules they frequently remain undissolved at the end of a full cycle. In my experience this Bosch model is not fit for purpose.

Purchased in November 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
BSH Home AppliancesBosch Home Appliances
Aly_S
Aly_SSydney
  • 22 reviews
  • 2 likes

Quiet and cleans well. Large compartments for big pots and pans. Wish it dried better

published

Purchased in August 2019 at Appliances Online.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Freestanding Dishwashers

Find out how Bosch Serie 8 Freestanding Dishwashers compares to other Freestanding Dishwashers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
craigwreid1
craigwreid1Sydney, NSW
  • 26 reviews
  • 15 likes

Dishes Smell. Eco Mode Unusable.

published

Purchased in May 2019 at Appliances Online for $1,336.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
BSH Home AppliancesBosch Home Appliances
cavara40
cavara40South East Queensland, QLD
  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Worst dishwasher ever made.

published

Bought this dishwasher for $1400 November 18 took 6 months for it to fully stop functioning. Had to get both main boards replaced. After 5 weeks the machine wont turn on again. Worst $1400 ever spent. Should of stuck to a $300 Dishlex at least they turn on and function when you need them. How do i make it 0/5 stars?

Purchased in November 2018 at The Good Guys for $1,400.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
BSH Home AppliancesBosch Home Appliances
Tim L.
Tim L.South East Queensland, QLD

Died.

published

Bought 13 June 2015, expecting to get many years from it. It died two days ago. No lights, no one at home. For a premium product, this isn't what I expect.

Purchased in June 2015 at Harvey Norman Retail Stores - Appliances for $1,399.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
BSH Home AppliancesBosch Home Appliances
Dain
DainSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Terrible

published

My previous Bosch dishwasher died after 2 years and was replaced under warranty. Now, a few years later, the heating element in this one has stopped working. I contacted Bosch (via their website) simply to confirm what part number I need to buy to in attempt to fix this machine that I have the great misfortune of owning. They haven't had the courtesy to reply. Bad dishwasher. Non-existent customer service. Will avoid Bosch for the rest of my days.

Purchased in September 2016 at Under warranty.

Build Quality
Value for Money
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
BSH Home AppliancesBosch Home Appliances
Dan
DanPerth, WA
  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

This would be the Porsche of all dishwashers, and you pay for what you get

published

Purchased in August 2016.

Incentivised ReviewNo
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
BSH Home AppliancesBosch Home Appliances
GrimReaper555
GrimReaper555South East Queensland, QLD
  • 24 reviews
  • 20 likes

You pay for quality and it's still cheap

published

Bought this last year at Harvey Norman on special as I have a back problem and can't do the dishes and also to save water and it is the most amazing product in the world of dishwashers. So many features and it is so spacey and looks very stylish too can't go wrong with this company and engineering.

Purchased in November 2018 at Harvey Norman for $800.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
BSH Home AppliancesBosch Home Appliances
Freestanding Dishwashers

Find out how Bosch Serie 8 Freestanding Dishwashers compares to other Freestanding Dishwashers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Page 2 of 16

Questions & Answers

Tan G.
Tan G.asked
Serie 8 SMS88TI01A (Silver Inox)

Hi I’ve lost my manual. Can you please advise me if and how we can set it to come on in like 8 hrs. TIA

1 answer
Bosch Home Appliances
BSH Home AppliancesBosch Home Appliances

Hi Tan G, Thank you for your question.You can delay the start of the programme by up to 24 hours. Below is a link to where you can download the user manual for your appliance. You will find on page 30. a step by step on how to do this. https://www.bosch-home.com.au/productlist/dishwashers/freestanding-dishwashers/dishwasher-60-cm-wide/SMS88TI01A#/Tabs=tab-3185783/
If you need any more help, feel free to contact us on 1300 369 744.
Regards, Bosch Home Australia

Allene K.
Allene K.asked
Bosch Serie 8 Freestanding Dishwashers

I have a top of the range Bosch dishwasher which should make the dishes extra dry,
How do I achieve this please.
It is a series 8 dishwasher.

No answers
Chelvi
Chelviasked
Bosch Serie 8 Freestanding Dishwashers

Hi i bought sms40e08au dishwasher. Do i connect the water line to hot water or cold water?

1 answer
Bosch Home Appliances
BSH Home AppliancesBosch Home Appliances

Hi Chelvi, Thank you for your question. Water line should be for cold water connection only. Our dishwashers have an inbuilt heating element. If you need anymore help please call us on 1300 369 744 (select option 2). Kind regards Bosch Home Australia.

See all Bosch Serie 8 Freestanding Dishwashers questions

Get an answer from our members and Bosch Home Appliances representatives

Bosch Serie 8 Freestanding Dishwashers

Details

This much-loved dishwasher series by Bosch provides a deep clean on top of an array of premium features such as an automatic water recognition tool which auto-selects a wash mode for you and an EcoSilence drive for a quiet and energy-efficient wash.

Features

  • 15 place setting capacity
  • 4-Star energy rating & 5-Star WELS water rating
  • Full colour TFT display
  • Protective program for gently cleaning and drying glasses
  • Third loading level for cutlery & utensils
  • Adjustable top rack for additional space and tall dishes
  • Child door lock
  • EcoSilence Drive- great for energy-saving and keeping noise down
  • Effortless door closing which self-closes when below a 20° angle
  • SoftTouch electronic buttons
  • 10-year anti-rust warranty

Reviewers thought:

The dishwasher has been praised for being very silent as well as providing dishes with a full and sparkling clean. The design is also very convenient as the foldable racks allow large dishes to be placed easily and cleaned. The control panel is very easy to use.

Compare both Bosch Serie 8 Freestanding Dishwashers
Bosch Serie 8 SMS88TI01A (Silver Inox)
  • Award Winner 2019
  • 2018
  • 2017

Bosch Serie 8 SMS88TI01A (Silver Inox)

4.3
(217)
Bosch Serie 8 SMS88TI04A
  • Discontinued

Bosch Serie 8 SMS88TI04A

4.3
(7)
CategoryFreestanding DishwashersFreestanding Dishwashers
Price (RRP) $2,249.00$2,199.00
FeaturesChild Lock, Cutlery Rack, Eco Mode/Wash, Foldable Racks, Half-Load Option and Height-Adjustable Upper RackChild Lock, Cutlery Rack, Eco Mode/Wash, Foldable Racks, Half-Load Option, Height-Adjustable Upper Rack, Internal Light and Self Cleaning
Number of Place Settings 1515
Water Rating5 star(s)5 star(s)
Water Consumption12 L/wash12 L/wash
Energy Rating4 star(s)4 star(s)
Energy Consumption235 kWh per year235 kWh per year
Control Panel Position TopTop
Maximum Noise Level42 db42 db
Number of Programs88
Dimensions 845 x 600 x 600 mm845 x 600 x 600 mm
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)2 year(s)
Colour / FinishSilver InoxStainless Steel
ManualDownload manual
Compare both Bosch Serie 8 Freestanding Dishwashers

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.