12 photos
Bosch Serie 8 Freestanding Dishwashers

Bosch Serie 8 Freestanding Dishwashers

SMS88TI01A (Silver Inox), SMS88TI04A
4.3 from 226 reviews · View Statistics

Pros

  • Sparkling clean finish on dishes

  • Quiet

  • Spacious

  • 4-star energy rating and 5-star water rating

Cons

  • Premium price

  • Doesn't always dry dishes properly

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.8 (5)
  • Value for Money
    2.4 (5)
  • Ease of Use
    3.4 (5)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.8 (5)
  • Noise Level
    4.6 (5)
  • Internal Layout
    3.4 (5)
Previous
Next
GRV
GRVSydney, NSW

Disappointed!

published

Purchased in October 2019 at Bing Lee for $1,228.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
BSH Home AppliancesBosch Home Appliances
Sofia19
Sofia19Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 20 reviews
  • 19 likes

It’s ok, but my Asko was better

published

I bought this after reading how amazing it is- but have to say, not very impressed. Consistently leaves items unwashed- even when there is only half a load. Really disappointed as it cost a lot. I should just kept my old Asko. The other problem is everything is constantly wet when the cycle is finished.
One good thing, it is quiet. I am going to contact Bosch separately.

Purchased in June 2020 at Harvey Norman for $1,560.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
BSH Home AppliancesBosch Home Appliances
David
DavidSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 31 reviews
  • 36 likes

Expensive, and somewhat disappointing.

published

Purchased in January 2020 at Appliances Online for $1,205.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Freestanding Dishwashers

Find out how Bosch Serie 8 Freestanding Dishwashers compares to other Freestanding Dishwashers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
PhilB
PhilBNew South Wales
  • 9 reviews
  • 7 likes

Proud owner of 2 of these, this is how we do it!

published

Purchased in June 2017 for $1,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
2 comments
Bosch Home Appliances
BSH Home AppliancesBosch Home Appliances

Hi Phil,
Thanks for your review, we appreciate the feedback. This has come through an Australian website and you would have to contact customer service in New Zealand to discuss options.
Regards,
Bosch Home Australia

PhilB
PhilB

Cheers for that....problem will be global however....and needs to be fixed at the factory....not the reseller. You should be directing the query UP not SIDEWAYS

Matthew D
Matthew DPerth, WA
  • 15 reviews
  • 3 likes

Reasonable-ish Cleaning and Drying Performance, Lots of Features and Quiet!

published

Purchased in July 2018 at Appliances Online for $1,599.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
BSH Home AppliancesBosch Home Appliances

Hi Matthew D,
Thanks for your review. We appreciate the feedback about your dishwasher.
If you have any future queries, please feel free to call us on 1300 369 744.
Regards, Bosch Home Australia.

Related Articles
Previous

The best kitchen appliances in 2020!

Whether you love or loath being in the kitchen, our community of reviewers have determined that out of almost 5,000 appliances on ProductReview.com.au, these are the best available!

Nathan S.
Nathan S.1 Nov 2019
the-best-kitchen-appliances-in-2020

Best Fridges and Dishwashers in 2020!

These large kitchen appliances are the backbone of your kitchen, meant to last you many years. The initial cost of a fridge or dishwasher is high, so to make sure you're not buying a lemon, here are the best fridges and best dishwashers of 2020. Our reviewers have provided detailed ratings for important factors to consider when choosing a refrigerator or dishwasher, such as Noise Level and Internal Layout.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.12 Nov 2019
best-fridges-and-dishwashers-in-2020
Next
Andy
AndyMurrumbidgee Region, NSW
  • 14 reviews
  • 12 likes

Average. Go back to drawing board Bosch.

published

I find the dishwasher only OK. It cleans well but only average on the drying department. Plastics as usual have to be manually dried afterwoods. The biggist issue to me is the racks. Who designed these. On the first day clips went flying that hold some of it together. Some already lost. The top cutery tray I like.
The next rack for the cups is not designed for mugs or cups. Can only fit half what old dishwasher could.
The bottom rack for plates and pans is a shocker. There is gaps that bowls falls through. Clips that hold places for plates come undone and plates fall over.
Touch buttons have to be pressed hard on door to choose cycle.

Date PurchasedJan 2018
2 comments
Bosch Home Appliances
BSH Home AppliancesBosch Home Appliances
Andy
Andy
ming
mingPerth
  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

good. but very annoying with E24.

published

this is the first washing machine I ever owned. it works well. clean and dry the dishes well. I was quite happy with it until keep having E24 now. apparently from other review site, E24 is very common. but it is the pain every time needs to restart and clear the drain.

Date PurchasedFeb 2017
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
BSH Home AppliancesBosch Home Appliances
Wally from Woombye
Wally from WoombyeSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes

Good and bad

published
Date PurchasedAug 2016
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
BSH Home AppliancesBosch Home Appliances

Hi Wally,
Thanks for your review, we appreciate your feedback with your Bosch SMS88TI01A dishwasher.
If we can be of any assistance to you in the future, please do not hesitate to contact us on 1300 369 744.
Regards, Bosch Home Australia.

Ronnie
RonnieAU
  • 7 reviews
  • 4 likes

Not terribly happy with it

published
Date PurchasedJune 2016
Freestanding Dishwashers

Find out how Bosch Serie 8 Freestanding Dishwashers compares to other Freestanding Dishwashers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Denise
DeniseBrisbane
  • 2 reviews

Ok, had to take cutlery tray out to get better results

published

Our Techknika dishwasher that came with our Metricon built home had a fault so we decided to buy a new dishwasher rather than spend money fixing, we are subscribers to choice Magazine and we bought the Bosch SMS88TI01A as seemed to have a good revie. It has washed no where near as well as the old cheap machine, stains left in coffee cups etc, we eventually removed the cutlery slide out tray which has given better results but disappointing when we paid a lot of money for this machine and the cutlery tray was one of the features we liked.
Has had no faults though so reliable so far just not the cleaning job we expected from a more expensive machine

Date PurchasedSept 2015
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
BSH Home AppliancesBosch Home Appliances
Telegramsam
TelegramsamAuckland

Error Code E18

published

Has been going great for 5 months then strating having an error code E18 water supply fault. Check the water supply and is fine and problem continued intermittently then got to a stage where error code stays on and diswasher won't function because of the error. Service tech came out replaced something small and left. Problem remained. Phoned them back only to be told they will need to take it away to monitor. I don't think they know what they're doing as the inlet hose has a sensor in it and I reckon it's faulty and the hose needs replacing. I am one of the unlucky ones that paid over 2k for it and are not happy with what is happening.

Date PurchasedApr 2016
Gerryod
GerryodSydney, NSW
  • 4 reviews
  • 4 likes

Its OK, but not up to expectations

published

I have had this dishwasher for several weeks now and have the following observations:
* Drying is poor and uneven across the shelves
* Need to use the Extra Dry setting to even get mediocre drying
* Horizontal cutlery tray is not as good as the vertical basket type (cutlery comes out wet in places)
This machine replaced our 10 year old Whirlpool which died peacefully a few months back, but which served us well and was excellent at the job. I really expected as good a job with this one but I could have gotten the same result from a machine at half the cost. It certainly is quiet and cleans the dishes well, but I need my tea towel at hand when emptying it!

1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
BoschHomeAUBosch Home Appliances
See all Bosch Serie 8 Freestanding Dishwashers reviews

Questions & Answers

Tan G.
Tan G.asked
Serie 8 SMS88TI01A (Silver Inox)

Hi I’ve lost my manual. Can you please advise me if and how we can set it to come on in like 8 hrs. TIA

1 answer
Bosch Home Appliances
BSH Home AppliancesBosch Home Appliances

Hi Tan G, Thank you for your question.You can delay the start of the programme by up to 24 hours. Below is a link to where you can download the user manual for your appliance. You will find on page 30. a step by step on how to do this. https://www.bosch-home.com.au/productlist/dishwashers/freestanding-dishwashers/dishwasher-60-cm-wide/SMS88TI01A#/Tabs=tab-3185783/
If you need any more help, feel free to contact us on 1300 369 744.
Regards, Bosch Home Australia

Allene K.
Allene K.asked
Bosch Serie 8 Freestanding Dishwashers

I have a top of the range Bosch dishwasher which should make the dishes extra dry,
How do I achieve this please.
It is a series 8 dishwasher.

No answers
Chelvi
Chelviasked
Bosch Serie 8 Freestanding Dishwashers

Hi i bought sms40e08au dishwasher. Do i connect the water line to hot water or cold water?

1 answer
Bosch Home Appliances
BSH Home AppliancesBosch Home Appliances

Hi Chelvi, Thank you for your question. Water line should be for cold water connection only. Our dishwashers have an inbuilt heating element. If you need anymore help please call us on 1300 369 744 (select option 2). Kind regards Bosch Home Australia.

See all Bosch Serie 8 Freestanding Dishwashers questions

Get an answer from our members and Bosch Home Appliances representatives

Bosch Serie 8 Freestanding Dishwashers

Details

This much-loved dishwasher series by Bosch provides a deep clean on top of an array of premium features such as an automatic water recognition tool which auto-selects a wash mode for you and an EcoSilence drive for a quiet and energy-efficient wash.

Features

  • 15 place setting capacity
  • 4-Star energy rating & 5-Star WELS water rating
  • Full colour TFT display
  • Protective program for gently cleaning and drying glasses
  • Third loading level for cutlery & utensils
  • Adjustable top rack for additional space and tall dishes
  • Child door lock
  • EcoSilence Drive- great for energy-saving and keeping noise down
  • Effortless door closing which self-closes when below a 20° angle
  • SoftTouch electronic buttons
  • 10-year anti-rust warranty

Reviewers thought:

The dishwasher has been praised for being very silent as well as providing dishes with a full and sparkling clean. The design is also very convenient as the foldable racks allow large dishes to be placed easily and cleaned. The control panel is very easy to use.

Compare both Bosch Serie 8 Freestanding Dishwashers
Bosch Serie 8 SMS88TI01A (Silver Inox)
  • Award Winner 2019
  • 2018
  • 2017

Bosch Serie 8 SMS88TI01A (Silver Inox)

4.3
(217)
Bosch Serie 8 SMS88TI04A
  • Discontinued

Bosch Serie 8 SMS88TI04A

4.3
(7)
CategoryFreestanding DishwashersFreestanding Dishwashers
Price (RRP) $2,249.00$2,199.00
FeaturesChild Lock, Cutlery Rack, Eco Mode/Wash, Foldable Racks, Half-Load Option and Height-Adjustable Upper RackChild Lock, Cutlery Rack, Eco Mode/Wash, Foldable Racks, Half-Load Option, Height-Adjustable Upper Rack, Internal Light and Self Cleaning
Number of Place Settings 1515
Water Rating5 star(s)5 star(s)
Water Consumption12 L/wash12 L/wash
Energy Rating4 star(s)4 star(s)
Energy Consumption235 kWh per year235 kWh per year
Control Panel Position TopTop
Maximum Noise Level42 db42 db
Number of Programs88
Dimensions 845 x 600 x 600 mm845 x 600 x 600 mm
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)2 year(s)
Colour / FinishSilver InoxStainless Steel
ManualDownload manual
Compare both Bosch Serie 8 Freestanding Dishwashers

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.