??!
3 photos
Bosch WAK24160AU

Bosch WAK24160AU

4.2 from 58 reviews

Great Front Loading Washer

We now have 4 of the Bosch front loading washing machines and found them very reliable.
They are economical to use ans always seem to have the perfect cycle to select.
Yes there are several models called series and this year we bought the series 3 model.
Also I believe that there would be other front loader models and we do indeed have an AEG front loader, however I recommend that you use the the Bosch front loaders because it is less expensive and thus allows you to stick with the one brand over time.
We found the Good Guys Oxley were good to deal with and we bought the machine at a run-out price.

Date PurchasedJan 2018
1 comment
Hi Phil, Thanks for your review. We really appreciate the positive feedback about your Bosch WAK24160AU washing machine, we're glad to hear that you're enjoying the appliance. If you have any future queries, please feel free to call us on 1300 369 744. Regards, Bosch Home Australia.

Leaking from the detergent drawer

Got this to replace my 13 year old Bosch washer. Had to change it 3 times due to leak and spin dry not to standard. If I just use the normal full load cotton function it seems to work well but when I change the speed or use the speed perfect at a reduced load as stated by the manual it starts to leak from the drawer. So every time i use it i have a fear it might leak. I think it is a design fault. Cos, the leak comes out through the outlet from the detergent drawer during the spin cycle. But thankfully Applianceonline (where I bought the machine from) and Bosch, was very helpfull give me a refund for this machine.

Date PurchasedMay 2018

Terrible customer service

I am so disappointed with this machine. Bought it a few months a go and it stanis all my clothes. They believe it is not a manufacturer guaranty! The guy checked the powder we use and the amount and he sid tjere is no problem with it and he said he reckons there is some issue with it because the stains aren't normal, it actually is not stain it totaly change the color of clothes one shade darker! Ofcourse cuatomer service trying to just repeat themselves and don't care about the customer and all they do is trying to save money for their company, won't care u paid $700 on a washing machine 7 months a go and expect it to work properly! Would never buy any product from them with that terrible customer service.

Date PurchasedNov 2017

Great Quality Washing Machine

This machine is recommended by my mother-in-law, and I don’t regret buying it at all. It’s more that enough for family of 4 and it’s not that noisy compare to our old one. It cleans and rinse my clothes very well (of course the quality of laundry liquid is also important). It has many different programs to choose from depend on what material you wash. Bosch is very famous for its quality, and I think it will last us for a long time.

Date PurchasedDec 2017
1 comment
Hi Akia, Thanks for your review. We really appreciate the positive feedback about your Bosch WAK24160AU Washing Machine, we're glad to hear that you're enjoying the appliance. If you have any future queries, please feel free to call us on 1300 369 744. Regards, Bosch Home Australia.

Easy to use

First washing machine ever owned. Bought after making positive reviews.

Has over 10 different types of washing options to make it easy for even the most novice user.

Very quiet washing machine as well and very water efficient.

Love the timer on it, can set to run whilst I'm asleep

Date PurchasedJun 2017
1 comment
Hi Garry L, Thanks for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback about your Bosch WAK24160AU Washing Machine, we're glad to hear that you're enjoying the appliance. If you have any future queries, please feel free to call us on 1300 369 744. Regards, Bosch Home Australia.

great product

The washing machine is efficient and quite. i use 15mins quick wash quite well. it's so good. i actually bought two for my family. My family all love it. I have not found the cons of this machine. The price is higher, but the brand and the quality are good.

Date PurchasedFeb 2017
1 comment
Hi LLY, Thanks for your review. We really appreciate the positive feedback about your Bosch WAK24160AU Washing Machine, we're glad to hear that you're enjoying the appliance. If you have any future queries, please feel free to call us on 1300 369 744. Regards, Bosch Home Australia

Excellent Product by Bosch

Very well priced and designed by German Company. Very water efficient and does large enough load for me. Probably too many settings for my usage as I only use three of the functions. The timer is handy as I load in at night and set it to go in the morning. Very good product and highly recommended as it is easy to use and very durable product. Clothes are very clean and ready to dry everytime.

Date PurchasedMar 2017
1 comment
Hi Sim, Thanks for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback about your Bosch WAK24160AU Washing Machine, we're glad to hear that the appliance is serving you well. If you have any future queries, please feel free to call us on 1300 369 744. Regards, Bosch Home Australia.

Excellent washer without german markup

This washer is just as good as the German counterpart (a friend of mine has it) but without the additional cost.

It's got plenty of options to choose from, if you're happy not to be able to choose your own custom wash/temperature combo. That's probably the only downside of this washer, but it really does have basically all the cycles you'd ever need anyway.

Otherwise, the 15/30 quick cycles are great for just your few tshirts for the week, or sweaty gym gear, and the other longer washes will do fine for most clothes.

I haven't had any trouble with the seal or drying it out, but I've made a habit of leaving the door open after a wash, and occasionally wiping out inside the rubber seal (and checking for any socks it might've sucked in. Hasn't happened yet.)

One other gripe is small items (like my wife's washable breastfeeding pads) can sometimes flop up onto the rim of the door, and if toward the end of the cycle will be sopping wet, while everything else has been spun dry. Not a big deal, but a little irritating.

Towels do come out a little crunchy, but that's normal with front loaders, so don't worry about that.

Overall I am very happy with the washer, it's very efficient, and uses much less water than our top loader did.

Date PurchasedMar 2017
1 comment
Hi Readeral, Thanks for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback about your Bosch WAK24160AU Washing Machine, we're glad to hear that you are enjoying the appliance. To assist with minimizing crunchy towels please try reducing the spin speed, shake out at the end of the cycle and hang on the line to dry. You can use a washing delicates bag to ensure small items remain in the drum and are spun out properly. If you have any future queries, please feel free to call us on 1300 369 744. Regards, Bosch Home Australia.

Front loader not really the best!

I should bought top loader instead. First, because it give you more space. Second, majority of them have the option of soaking your clothes, in that case it helps to remove the stain easily when you wash them. Unfortunately, this product doesn't have the option. It does clean and rinse the clothes properly but not with tough stains. I have to soak it separately using my basin. It is loud, so I have to close the door in the laundry. I only love it for saving so much water.

Date PurchasedJun 2015
1 comment
Hi Theresa, Thanks for your review, we appreciate your feedback. We're sorry to hear that you're having issues with your Bosch WAK24160AU Washing Machine. If we can be of any assistance to you, please feel free to contact us on 1300 369 744. Regards, Bosch Home Australia.

Exceed expectations

This is by far the best washing machine I’ve ever had. The number of programs is just right and are all useful. It even has short programs with 15 and 30min cycles for small and lightly soiled loads. The machine uses just the right amount of water, making the washes highly eco friendly yet clean enough

Date PurchasedDec 2017
1 comment
Hi Lester, Thanks for your review. We appreciate your positive feedback about your Bosch WAK24160AU Washing Machine and we’re glad to hear that you’re enjoying your appliance so far. If you have any future queries, please do not hesitate to contact us on 1300 369 744. Regards, Bosch Home Australia.

Disappointing after sales service & returns....

We had our Bosch washer for 6 months before it started to leak from the dish drawer. We strictly measure the washing powder to ensure only small amounts are used, however from 6 months old this 'new' machine has leaked!! however it only leaked about every 5 washes, that was unusual.
On reporting it to Bosch a technician attended and replaced the soap box..... however the problem continued.
On reporting it to Bosch again.... someone came to pick the washer up to check it, only to have it returned with 'no faults' however the problem continued.....
On reporting it to Bosch again, after much frustration, and many many times of mopping our laundry floor. Bosch have arranged a second technician to review, and we're now being advised to use a different powder, that just so happens to be four times the price of a standard powder???

Therefore in closing, a word of warning, be careful what you choose to spend you $720 on a Bosch, as I would have rather take my chances with a second hand washer, that might leak for a fraction of the cost.... Very disappointing.....

Date PurchasedFeb 2017

Superb washing machine

I got one of the WAK24160's to replace my old Bosch Maxx900. The new machine is quieter, a lot faster and washes better which I always thought would be nearly impossible. The new programmes are a real joy and range from a quick clothes freshen to heavily soiled clothes. The 7kg load is more than adequate for my wife and I.

Low water usage and low power usage helped the decision process as did the fact that Bosch is a highly competent manufacturer and designer of a wide range of products.

We couldn't be happier with the WAK24160.

Date PurchasedDec 2017
1 comment
Hi Laowhy61, Thanks for your review. We appreciate your positive feedback about your Bosch WAK24160AU Washing Machine and we’re glad to hear you’re enjoying your appliance so far. If you have any future queries, please do not hesitate to contact us on 1300 369 744. Regards, Bosch Home Australia.

really awesome

bought it i think couple of years back and still going good.. we wash atleast 7 loads a week and nothing has every happend to it.. cleaing the machine it self is a bit trickey but I think money well spent.. would recommend it to any one without any hesitation.. Value for money..

BUY IT and you will not need another for couple of years..!

Date PurchasedSep 2012
1 comment
Hi Suhail Anu, Thanks for your review. We really appreciate the positive feedback about your Bosch WAK24160AU Washing Machine, we’re glad to hear that you’re enjoying your appliance. If you have any future queries, please do not hesitate to contact us on 1300 369 744. Regards, Bosch Home Australia.

Great Water Saver!!!

I loved my old top loader. But it was wearing off and getting louder. So we decided to get a new one. Initially I was reluctant to buy a front loader but everyone kept saying it saves water. And this one was on sale with the Product Review winner 2016 sticker on it!! So it landed in our laundry room. I must say I'm impressed with its performance. It uses so much less water, still clothes come out nice and clean. And it's a lot quieter than my old piece, I even run it at night :)
Very happy with it!!!

Date PurchasedNov 2017
1 comment
Hi Sush Ma, Thanks for your review. We really appreciate the positive feedback about your Bosch WAK24160AU Washing Machine, we’re glad to hear that you’re enjoying your appliance. If you have any future queries, please do not hesitate to contact us on 1300 369 744. Regards, Bosch Home Australia.

Great water saving machine

We were looking for a front loading machine based on water and power saving and also to be of a good size,as we are on tank water.We are very impressed this Bosch front loader as it is effecient and quiet,amazingly quiet.We are very happy with our purhase it washes our farm close really clean.

Date PurchasedSep 2017
1 comment
Hi WO, Thanks for your review. We appreciate your positive feedback about your Bosch WAK24160AU Washing Machine and we’re glad to hear that you’re enjoying your appliance so far. If you have any future queries, please do not hesitate to contact us on 1300 369 744. Regards, Bosch Home Australia.

Great washing machine, would highly recommend!

I'm really pleased with this machine which replaced our previous Bosch that lasted for 12 years. I like the quick wash programs, the fact that the machine stops and you can open the door as soon as the program finishes - unlike the ridiculous 2-minute wait thing with some other machines. It's pretty quiet, the delay-start function is useful, as is the option to easily stop and restart the machine if you want to add something after it's started. I even like the fact that it bleeps a few times at the end of the program to remind me to take the washing out - after about three reminders it goes silent so it isn't a disturbance. Highly recommended!

Date PurchasedMay 2017
1 comment
Hi JulesFP, Thanks for your review. We really appreciate the positive feedback about your Bosch WAK24160AU Washing Machine, we're glad to hear that you're enjoying the appliance. If you have any future queries, please feel free to call us on 1300 369 744. Regards, Bosch Home Australia.

Great little washing machine

Just bought one for the flat. Runs very well, very clean clothes and does what it does. We have tradies in the house and their clothes come out very clean. Very please with the product. 4 star only because have to run spin again after a cycle of fast wash.

Date PurchasedJul 2017
1 comment
Hi Yik, Thanks for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback about your Bosch WAK24160AU Washing Machine, we're glad to hear that you're enjoying the appliance. If you have any future queries, please feel free to call us on 1300 369 744. Regards, Bosch Home Australia.

Simply A Great Mate For Us ..

The bosch washing m/c does a very good laundry job - each time - every time - no worries - its a great mate in our home - does not and will never let us down - makes our days without any hassles whatsoever - the laundry runs are far better than all the rest ...

Date PurchasedMar 2016
1 comment
Hi Rio, Thanks for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback about your Bosch WAK24160AU Washing Machine, we're glad to hear that you're enjoying the appliance. If you have any future queries, please feel free to call us on 1300 369 744. Regards, Bosch Home Australia.

Good washer at affordable price

This washer is a good one which functions well at an affordable price. It can handle as much as 7kg load and it also has very short cycle that is only 15 mins, which is really convenient for small items. At the end of wash, it rings several times to remind you if you don't turn it off, this is the only thing I don't like about it.

Date PurchasedNov 2016
1 comment
Hi Freya T, Thanks for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback about your Bosch WAK24160AU Washing Machine, we're glad to hear that you're enjoying the appliance. If you have any future queries, please feel free to call us on 1300 369 744. Regards, Bosch Home Australia.

The best machine I ever had

I'm very happy with this machine.. it has easy controls ... the clothes come out clean and not much wrinkles unlike other machines.

I like that it alarms me when it's done washing as I sometimes forget that I put it on.

It is very quiet as well ... highly recommended.

Date PurchasedJul 2017
1 comment
Hi Rima Sh, Thanks for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback about your Bosch WAK24160AU Washing Machine, we're glad to hear that you're enjoying the appliance. If you have any future queries, please feel free to call us on 1300 369 744. Regards, Bosch Home Australia.

Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

I have Bosch WAY32540AU - wash level is very low - how do In adjust water level?
4 answers
When you say wash level is very low do you mean that the clothes does not come out as clean? or do you mean that load is low and you wish to save water and reduce the water level in the machine to save water? Bosch washer has an auto load detector to adjust the water level to your load, that is why it has a 5 star water consumption rating. Plus you will not find a button to adjust water due to the auto load detector sensor, as it is deem unnecessary. If you mean that the clothes are not clean, please refer to your manual, as some of the mix wash, dark wash,sports wash has a maximum load of 3-4kg not the full load of the cotton wash cycle.Thanks - I may not have a level problem after-all - but am suspicious that water level is too low - wash water just reaches the glass door - should level be higher? - wash seems OKThe Bosch front loading washing machines are very reliable but some models may not provide enough water (this is also relevant for other washing machine brand) in the drum to ensure your clothes are thoroughly washed. No matter what you are told there is basically two things that ensure that your clothes are effectively cleaned (providing you are using a quality detergent, AND A MINIMAL AMOUNT PER WASH) and that is 1. SUFFICIENT WATER and if your clothes are heavily soiled or have strong body odour in them 2. a WARM or HOT WASH is required. Once the clothes are wet and the drum has stopped you should be able to physically see the water level just reaching above the lower level of the glass door, if you can not see the water then I believe you will not get a good wash. I have been servicing washing machines (as well as doing my own clothes washing!) for over 40 years and have no bias between one brand or the other. I just want to say that I believe the quality of wash will be the best when you have a machine that supplies sufficient water. Do not use rinse aids (or the dryer fluffs) that contain formaldehydes and petro-chemicals, they impregnate your clothes which decreases the fire safety standards and also a make it more difficult for the detergents to do their work of cleaning the clothes. If you wish to have cleaner clothes or ensure your little ones are not wearing chemical filled clothes 24 hours a day, simply add a little more water via the detergent dispenser both for the main wash and the rinse cycle. For cleaner softer clothes and towels, simply Google the use of Bi-carb soda and white vinegar for rinse aids and clothes softening in washing machines. happy washing days! cheers, Gilbert.

Can you use this washing machine with cold water?
4 answers
Well the problem is that the machine change the temperature itself and you don't have any control on it.Thank you for your reply. I think it's rather strange that you can't use cold water only.there are different washing cycles on control with different temperature. I found the long wash always has 40 or 60 degrees as the short cycles 15 / 30 minutes just involves cold water. Hope this answered your question. :)

What is the difference between modelWAK24161AU and WAK24161?
1 answer
Hi Graeme, Thanks for your question regarding the Bosch WAK24161AU washing machine. WAK24161 is an incomplete model number. The full model number for the appliance is WAK24161AU. If you have any further queries, please feel free to contact us on 1300 369 744 to discuss further. Regards, Bosch Home Australia.

Details

Bosch WAK24160AU
CategoryFront Loading Washing Machines
Price (RRP) $1,129
Capacity7 kg
Household Size 2-3 people
FeaturesDoor/Lid Lock (Child-proof)
Energy Rating4 star(s)
Water Rating4 star(s)
Colour / Finish White
Dimensions 850 x 600 x 600 mm
Max Spin Speed 1,200 rpm
Maximum Noise Level73 db
Number of Wash Cycles15
Weight71 kg
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)

Visit official website - Download manual
  • GTIN13: 4242002794112

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.