??!
2 photos
Bosch WAS24460AU

Bosch WAS24460AU

MPN: WAS24460AU
2.1 from 72 reviews

How to buy the best washing machine

A good washing machine is essential to every household, and while they all serve the same purpose, the variety of machines available can make purchasing one a puzzle. This buying guide will take you through each type of machine, and explain what to look for in each to guarantee you’re making the most informed choice possible when shopping.

Read now

Reviews

2.1

72 reviews
5
(11)
4
(4)
3
(7)
2
(11)
1
(39)
  • Build Quality
    2.0 (4)
  • Value for Money
    1.8 (4)
  • Ease of Use
    4.3 (4)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.8 (4)
  • Noise Level
    3.5 (4)
Previous
Next
Jer

JerSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews

Works fine but died in 7 years!

published

Washes clothes alright but most of the time needs to do double rinse.
Not much noticeable variations in the different settings except for the obvious - time, speed, which can be done manually.
Have to clean the dispenser after every wash because there's always leftover that causes mold if left unattended.
Smelly molds grow on the cover rubber lid due to water not properly draining after washing.

Purchased in November 2012.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Dryer TypeLG 8kg Heat Pump Dryer TD-H803CSW
See all answers
Col

ColHunter Region, NSW

2 week wait to repair a new washing machine

published

E23 code water on base plate. Told to wait 14 days for technician. Machine only 6 weeks old. Not good enough . Customer support said it was the best they could do.im not lugging laundry to relatives for this long. Very unhappy I Want a refund

Purchased in December 2019 at The Good Guys.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances
E Black

E BlackGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Motherboard dead

published

Llike the previous reviewer i also purchased this washing machine in 2011 and have been told today by the Bosch service guy the motherboard has died. The replacement cost is $597 Plus labour. Considering the Bosch machines are now retailing for around this amount certainly not worth fixing it. Very disappointed in this product as it cost $1175 and was a low use machine.
Also customer service didn't clarify their call out fee of $110 included 20 minutes of labour (the service guy told me) only kept saying the call out fee plus $9.90 per 6 minutes. Maybe some updates on standard call processes need to be amended.
Needless to say i won't be looking at another Bosch machine.

Purchased in June 2011 at The Good Guys for A$1,175.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances
Front Loading Washing Machines

Find out how Bosch WAS24460AU compares to other Front Loading Washing Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Dead after 8 yrs , Motherboard is gone

published

Model: WAS24460AU . Sadly dead after 8 yrs, Motherboard is gone. I could not turn on the machine, no power, no display, nothing. Power sockets are working fine. The repair guy came inspected and found that the motherboard is faulty and would cost approximately $600 plus another call out fee and labour cost it would be better off getting new machine altogether. Such a waste that the board cost so much and a whole machine going to the landfill after less than 10 yrs. No more Bosch, this model is probably a lemon.

Purchased in September 2011 at The Good Guys for A$1,135.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances
Miki

MikiGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Was good, but lost all power mid cycle.

published

We liked this washer WAS24460AU but now it's lost all power. Reading these reviews it says it will either be a $200 board part or a $600 board part. Really? How can a control part cost so much? That's nearly 2/3 the price I paid for the washer.

Purchased in February 2012.

1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances
Mary

MaryBrisbane

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Failure to replace faulty machine purchased October 2018.

published

I purchased a Bosch front load washing October last year. January 13, the machine malfunctioned spewing water and suds into the adjacent room. Because the carpet now has mould, and spores flying around, that room door must be kept closed. Bosch sent out a technician to review situation, he said Bosch would replace machine and take responsibility for carpet damage.
Feb 4, Bosch has still failed to replace faulty machine. Carpet damage is a separate issue, requiring me to furnish quotes from two carpet manufacturers. But almost three weeks without a washing machine?? Bosch? Never again. Mary

Date PurchasedOct 2018
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances
NC00

NC00

  • 2 reviews

Dish Washer (12 months old failed a few days ago) and today the washing machine

published
Date PurchasedJan 2012
1 comment
NC00
NC00

Follow-up: Received an urgent SMS from Bosch today (4th) to call them. After being on hold for about 5 minutes been told they have overbooked the dishwasher repair for the 9th and now have to wait until the 17th. Really disappointing Bosch.

Nancy

NancyMelbourne

Only lasts 6 years! No recall issued by Bosch on a faulty model.

published

Very, very disappointed with this Bosch model. Bought it in 2012 at considerable cost, expecting it to be a lifetime investment, however within that time it's needed 2 door replacements and right on 6 years, the control board blew mid wash. Reading through the reviews on this site, this appears to be a known fault with this model, where the power board blows on cue. This fault has not been addressed by Bosch. Besides being a potential fire hazard, Bosch has not put out a recall on this model, thereby leaving the consumer at risk. Incredibly negligent. My new washer will not be a Bosch.

Date PurchasedJul 2012
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances
San

SanSydney

Terrible product don't buy

published

Bosh is such mint product. Only last 6 years despite looking after washing machine so well. This machine didn't turned on one morning. Technician advised need board replacement will cost more than $600 + labour cost. My 13 YEARS LG still going. Expensive product but didn't delivered as expected. #

Date PurchasedNov 2012
Front Loading Washing Machines

Find out how Bosch WAS24460AU compares to other Front Loading Washing Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Ange

AngeULLADULLA

It won't last the distance.

published

After six years of gentle, well looked after use this washing machine lost all power mid wash. After reading lots of others reviews I have realised this is a quite common fault with the power board used with this machine. The high cost to replace the power board doesn't make it worthwhile fixing.
I expected to get a lot more than six years from this machine when I decided to spend more money on a Bosch. I thought it was meant to be a quality brand that would last the distance. My old (10+ years) Simpson top loader was still going strong when we made the switch to a front loader for the new house.
I was happy with the way the clothes were washed. But I don't think I'll recommend a Bosch due to the short lifespan and high cost.

Date PurchasedApr 2012
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances
Edward

EdwardPerth

No power

published

This has been a good washing machine until last week. I've organised to have a bosch technician to come out next week, however based on reviews here it appears to be the same problem others have had with it simply not switching on anymore. I've been advised by Bosch there are two control modules with one costing $215 and the other $590 plus call out and the time to identify the issue. I'm really thinking its not worth the time or cost and i'm better off buying a new (non-bosch) washing machine when i'm having to potentially fork out that much to repair it. Although its currently 6 years old, it is disappointing that a control module can cost that much... I guess Bosch never again!!!!

Date PurchasedJul 2012
Spiralfelt

SpiralfeltCanberra

5 years, excellent machine, never a problem

published

Love this machine, it’s so simple to use. Bought it because you can open the door during the wash program (with low water level). Fantastic range of programs for natural and synthetic fibres, is really quiet, gentle on clothes and it has never failed me. Perhaps I handle it more gently than others!

Date PurchasedJul 2012
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances
Tom

TomGungahlin

  • 14 reviews
  • 14 likes

Great washing machine

published

Had for over 5 years. The unit has been absolutely faultless until the door got stuck and obviously the door release part has broken. Will get a replacement part for this but otherwise very pleased with this unit as it cleans clothes very well and doesn't seem to mind being on rainwater entirely.

Date PurchasedJan 2013
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances

Hi Tom,
Thanks for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback about your Bosch WAS24460AU Washing Machine.
If you have any future queries, please feel free to call us on 1300 369 744.
Regards, Bosch Home Australia.

Avoid

published

This washing machine is terrible - doesn't clean your clothes properly, wash time is never accurate always takes longer, door handle breaks off, and finally the power board failure - hopeless. Bosch can come out next week to look at it but am told its a costly repair if its not a fault with the machine. Judging by reviews I have read it is a known failure and should have been actively managed rather than waiting for complaints. I have found all my Bosch appliances have not gone the distance and am disappointed that it was once a reliable trustworthy brand. After 6 years of frustration am off to buy a new machine and it won't be a Bosch.

Date PurchasedMay 2012

Crappy design handle! Don't waste your money

published

This Bosch washing machine is a piece of junk. Not once but twice the flimsy plastic door handle has broken, resulting in a locked door. Handle itself if $105 and labour is $165
I've decided to can this piece of junk and buy a new appliance. Guess what brand ???? NOT BOSCH!
it's unacceptable that a reputable German manufacturer with a long history of quality would
Release a poor quality appliance with blaringingly obvious design faults to the market. The door handle is cheap plastic,flimsy and will break with an impatient force acted on it

Date PurchasedFeb 2013
Front Loading Washing Machines

Find out how Bosch WAS24460AU compares to other Front Loading Washing Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Inthought

InthoughtSYDNEY

  • 4 reviews
  • 8 likes

Disappointed

published

Like many others here, I bought a Bosch (WAS24460AU) on reputation, and have paid for it.
I would have expected a longer life, hey its Bosch, but alas 4-5 years old seems to be its use by date from reading other reviews. (That's what you would expect from a cheap Chinese brand.)
To be fair it was good at washing the clothes, but a poorly designed door handle, which breaks, and cannot open, lock issues, then the repair cost decisions have to be made.
So, I decided to buy a new machine, and it won't be a Bosch.
2 1/2 stars

Date PurchasedFeb 2013
Adrian

AdrianSydney

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Bosch washer filled with smoke

published
Date PurchasedApr 2013
Kim

KimCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Is this a joke?

published

I purchased a Bosch five years ago assured by the salesman at our local retailer that it was in fact as god as if not better than my preferred brand. Five years later $615 plus labour to replace the board. Rang Bosch, loud music on hold followed by a Customer Service officer who didn't care. Its a joke right?

Date PurchasedJul 2012
Suzie

SuzieAuckland

Disappointed but great after sales service

published

After 5 short years my front loader has died $1400 machine Power Control panel died $500 plus GST For part $150 to install really?!!! Oh No what a nightmare! Bosch after sales service has been exceptional though! Waiting to see result. Come on Bosch Please help Great product needs great after sales guarantee Robert Bosch's promise must account for it

Date PurchasedJun 2012
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances

Hi Suzie, Thanks for your review. We appreciate the feedback about your Bosch WAS24460AU Washing Machine. If we can be of any further assistance to you, please feel free to call us on 1300 369 744. Regards, Bosch Home Australia.

Niko

NikoPerth

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Door handle - Poor Design

published

Machine does a good job but I wish they had designed the handle better or at least came up with a better designed spare part. The handle is made of a type of plastic with a tab that activates the Metal/Cast alloy latch mechanism. Plastic against metal is poor design as the plastic tab eventually breaks away and you cannot open the door except with a crow bar. The OEM part is approx 100 AUD plus postage. I have replaced one and now have to order a second within 6-8 months. Unless they change the design (Metal on Metal) then i will need to buy these stupid handles in bulk. :-(

Date PurchasedApr 2016
2 comments
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances
Niko
Niko

Thank you . Request redesign of the handle as the plastic tab breaks off easily. Cheers

Page 1 of 4
See all Bosch Serie 8 Front Load Washing Machines reviews

Questions & Answers

Andrew G.

Andrew G.asked

WAS24460AU

Got a brand new bosh Washing machine used it twice and now it won’t work

No answers
Hayley

Hayleyasked

WAS24460AU

Our door won’t open on our washing machine (model #WAS24460AU). It also often takes longer to finish a cycle than the original time shown on display. Are there ways to fix these issues or is it time for a new machine? It’s about 7years old

1 answer
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances

Hi Hayley,
Thanks for the question regarding your Bosch WAS24460AU.
There would be ways to ix those issues but without a service call we would not be able to advise what it might cost and comparing that to the cost of a new appliance would probably determine your course of action.
If you need any more help, feel free to contact us on 1300 369 744.
Regards,
Bosch Home Australia

Audrey Grace

Audrey Graceasked

WAS24460AU

In what country was it made? Obviously not Germany.

2 answers
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances

Hi Audrey,
Thanks for the question regarding the Bosch WAS24460AU.
All of our appliances are made to strict Bosch standards no matter which country they are made in. This particular model is made in a Bosch factory in China.
If you need any more help, feel free to contact us on 1300 369 744.
Regards,
Bosch Home Australia

Audrey Grace
Audrey Grace

thank you. This was a historical question. My washing machine , WAS24460AU, has worked for almost 7 years before a service was required. THIS IS PRETTY GOOD. As the replacement of 2 parts was to be very expensive I am replacing it now with another new Bosch machine. I have only just learnt that most are now made in China.

Get an answer from our members and Bosch Home Appliances representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.