??!
3 photos
Bose QuietControl 30 QC30

Bose QuietControl 30 QC30

3.3 from 32 reviews

See the Best Wireless Headphones in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
9
4 star
7
3 star
5
2 star
5
1 star
6

Craig

CraigSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Great design, poor quality, waste of money

published

Great design and perfect for my needs, but they only lasted 6 days before a dreadful rustling / static sound started in the right earpiece. Completely unusable. Contacted Bose customer support - post them in and 3 weeks later they will send me a replacement set. Are they kidding, it’s 2019 and I have to wait 3 weeks. Not good enough Bose, very disappointing experience that takes the edge of your other great products that I own.

Purchased in September 2019 for $450.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
Battery Life
Bluetooth
Noise Cancellation
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


Amir

AmirMELBOURNE

  • 3 reviews

Good sound quality...Terrible call quality

published

Purchased in February 2019 at JB Hi-Fi for $399.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
Battery Life
Bluetooth
See all answers
Sandra56

Sandra56South East Queensland, QLD

  • 37 reviews

Noise cancelling ineffective

published
Date PurchasedDec 2018
Lin

LinCOFFS HARBOUR

  • 6 reviews
  • 4 likes

the wireless portability is the key point

published

the wireless range is ok. I can walk around most of my house ok while on a phone call (2 story town house). If I go outside it tends to break up
The noise cancelling is not very strong compared to QC20.
When you are in a call the microphone tends to pick up too much background noise - e.g. if I am at a cafe or at the airport it is very difficult for the other person to hear me properly as the background noise is as loud as my voice. Not sure if mine are faulty or if thats the same for everyone

Date PurchasedJun 2017

Leon

Leon

  • 9 reviews
  • Verified purchase

They were good while they worked...

published

Just like many others, I faced a quality problem - 8 months after purchase, left speaker on my QC30 suddenly started to produce random loud noises, even when no music is played. Updating firmware and reset didn't help, clearly a hardware issue. I was counting on having noise-cancellation headphones for my holiday that start next week since I'll have many flights - given that support is not particularly quick, I don't stand a chance to receive a replacement before my departure. Won't buy Bose again as they should've made a global recall given the high number of people complaining about this issue.

Date PurchasedDec 2017

Ash123

Ash123

  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes

Good Noise Cancelling but couple of issues

published

Best noise cancelling available. I found the headphones a bit tight when adjusted for optimum noise cancelling, and loose and not enough noise isolation when adjusted for comfort. Expensive headphones compared to the wired headphones of same quality. Also you cannot use Bluetooth without the App where as in the store you can. Why is the App being forced on us.

So I have returned the headphones due mainly to it being uncomfortable, I will stick to my older QC 30s

I will try out the Nura headphones an see how comfortable it is, as for same money you can adjust the sound to suit your hearing.

Date PurchasedMar 2017

Bing L.

Bing L.Canberra

  • 7 reviews
  • 11 likes
  • Verified purchase

great product but poor quality

published

it's a great noise cancellation headphone, might not as good as QC35. but you can wear it all day/night without feeling uncomfortable or too hot. the QC35 will make your ears feels way too hot especially during summer.

however, the neckband quality of this production is no good. within 6 months of usage, the rubber starts get off from the main structure.

more disappointed thing is the headphone got terrible noise recently. even though Bose have resend me a brand new QC30 to replace the old one, I still feel unsecured as I can expect the headphone to got issue again in the next 6 month while I will be out of product warranty by then.

Date PurchasedNov 2017

AskMeFor

AskMeForVIC, 3029

  • 2 reviews
  • 9 likes

Very Good product

published

bought first noise cancelling earphones.
plus points
- Comfortable and stable earbud fit.
- Very low leakage.
- Above-average noise isolation.
negative points
- The neckband design won't be for everyone.
- Laggy when watching videos.
- battery could have been bigger, as the neckband can hold a large battery

Date PurchasedApr 2018
Richard

RichardSydney

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Good sound quality, but useless for calls

published
Date PurchasedDec 2017
Jeremy P

Jeremy PNorth Queensland, QLD

  • 11 reviews
  • 2 likes

Premium price for some peace and quiet in public.

published

Great at noise reduction on planes and trains (anywhere with machine noises) and reasonable when it comes to reducing the amount of noise from people talking as well. You can tell it's due to the active noise canceling because when you switch it off while still having the the headphones on, you can clearly hear much more noise. Yes it's expensive, but definitely the best noise canceling headphones I have had.

Too bad there's no way you can plug this into those airplane entertainment systems. You need a QC15 or something with wire for that.

Date PurchasedDec 2016

A.Chin

A.Chin

  • 4 reviews

Great Music, microphone needs work.

published

These are a great set of earphones overall. Good music quality with sufficient bass that isn’t overpowering or distorting the true sound of the music.
The only drawback is the lacking quality of the noise cancelling microphone - it doesn’t seem to filter background noise very well.
This is a major flaw on a product that so many other companies seem to excel at - why doesn’t Bose?
When walking through a busy street while on the phone, the sidetone (sound from microphone piped back into you’re ears) is audibly louder with traffic noise compared to your voice.
Often, recipients of my calls complain that they cannot hear me over the background noise.

Still a great set of earphones, just with one major flaw.

Date PurchasedJan 2017

John Barries

John BarriesYagoona

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Absolute Clear Sharp Music

published

Clear sharp and brilliant music to my ears. Wow. I'm so glad I purchased this product as not only was it on sale and on a great price. But the utmost clarity of the headphones! Awwww music brilliance. I get lost in the sound but you'd expect it from BOSE so I'm chuffed.

Date PurchasedMar 2018

David

DavidMelbourne

  • 13 reviews

Brilliant

published
Date PurchasedJan 2018

Alice L

Alice LAU

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Why didn't I get this sooner

published

My sister introduced the Bose QC range to me. She has QC 25 and 35, my initial thought was so bulky. When I researched into it and found this QC30. Love the compact size, it doesn't take up much room in the travel bag as I have 2 kids and my bag is always full. It works a charm on the plane, blocks out all noise and dampen the engine sound. The only down side is can't hear what the kids are saying to me, my husband this it's an upside! :P

Date PurchasedNov 2017
Microvault

MicrovaultSydney

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Fantastic Noise Cancelation Earphones

published

Bose are the best in the business for Noise Cancellation. I was waiting patiently for them to release an In ear version which I could use on my work travels. The QC 30 are the best In ear Noise Cancellation heaphones in the market. They are on the more expensive end however it is worth it. Battery lasts for over 16hrs and the noise cancellation does not need to be on to listen to music which is useful if you need to conserve battery. I use these as my main headphones on a daily basis. Great product from a great brand.

Date PurchasedAug 2016
Karen

KarenVIC, 3145

  • 8 reviews

Perfect!! Buy!

published

Pro:
great for travellers
most valuable for your precious ears when travelling by air or train
with this, volume can be controlled under certain degree which can protect your ears
great quiet control product

Con:
a little bit more expensive
not fancy looking
not suitable for sports ( running, jogging )

Date PurchasedDec 2017

Jacky

JackyMelbourne

  • 4 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Just OK for its value

published

The sound quality is good but the little buzz sound just can't be gotten rid of when turning on the silent mode. The battery life is quite good as it has an extended battery built in that circle I guess. It's only good if you need it in gym and otherwise just get the headphone version.

Date PurchasedDec 2017

Tidie

TidieSydney

  • 4 reviews

Too expensive for a product that you do not use all the time

published

I got one of these about 3 years ago, by the time it was quite amazing.
I have never compared these against the over-ear QC25 or equivalent, however QC30 cannot block all external sound for me, your experience may vary.
Also, it is not that comfortable to wear on an aircraft, way too expensive for a product if you do not use all the time.
good if you want to use this in a library however any other passive noise reduction earphone will do just fine.

Date PurchasedNov 2015

qtly83

qtly83AU

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Love these, comfy and does the job

published

Bought these last week as a replacement earphones to use at the gym, these are definitely very comfortable and surprisingly it does keep out a lot of noise! I was a bit skeptical about the neck band before I bought it, but it doesn't actually bother me that much, I think it looks alright... but these are comfortable and keep out noise, music sounds really good too.

Date PurchasedJan 2018

J Law

J LawBrisbane

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Good sound

published

I love bose so slightly biased. Their sound quality is above average and the design is nice. I don’t really like the neck brace which holds it in place. Would rather it be less bulky when traveling or trying to sleep on a plane and the whole thing gets in the way.

Date PurchasedJun 2017

Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Mindaugas R

Mindaugas Rasked

How to get the 30QC connected to the on-flight enetertainment system?

2 answers
Alice L
Alice L

You need a bluetooth transmitter (make sure it's transmitter not receiver, some company have both function in one device) and a 2 prong airplane adapter. You can get them cheaply in online shops. Plug the 2 prong airplane entertainment adaptor first, then connect the bluetooth transmitter on that, pair your QC30 to the transmitter. Wala~~ you are connected to the airplane entertainment system!

Mindaugas R
Mindaugas R

Thanks Alice! I thought something as I paid no attention buying a bluetooth adapter. Obviously that is a receiver as I struggled hard and it wpn’t work. Thanks a lot! I need to buy a transmitter!


Get an answer from our members and Bose representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.