3 photos
Bose SoundSport Free

Bose SoundSport Free

MPN: BOS00004
3.0 from 45 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    1.8 (10)
  • Value for Money
    1.2 (10)
  • Sound Quality
    3.5 (10)
  • Bass
    3.4 (9)
  • Comfort
    3.1 (9)
  • Battery Life
    2.0 (10)
  • Bluetooth
    2.7 (10)
Previous
Next
Beachman
BeachmanSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 11 reviews
  • 10 likes

Battery goes flat under 2 hours

published

These are great sounding headphones and at first I had no complaints apart from them constantly falling out onto the ground. But in less than 2 years they are now almost useless as the battery goes flat very quickly. After experiencing terrible customer service with Bose previously I couldn't put myself through another stressful warranty claim.

Purchased at Qantas frequent flyer for $250.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Trent A
Trent ASouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 2 reviews

Good Sound and Fit, Poor Long Term Quality

published

I received these as part of a promotion with my mobile phone purchase in July 2019 (it's now Feb/March 2021). While they're a great unit and very comfortable with good sound quality, the long term quality is extremely poor. The buttons on the buds perishes which means that you no longer use them. Initially it was just the lower volume but now all buttons including the one to turn them on have broken. They only offer a 12 month warranty on these. Considering you are shelling out $200+ on these this product failure is completely unacceptable. Avoid.

Purchased in July 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Harro
HarroPerth, WA
  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Continuously discharges

published

I use these headphones rarely - about twice a week on the bus or when out for a jog / walk.
Due to the nature of the Low-Energy Bluetooth, they are constantly powered on awaiting a signal from a bluetooth device. As a result, the headphones go flat after about a 5 days of not even being used. Keep them in the case and they both go flat.
I would NOT recommend these headphones to anyone, surely you can leave a set of headphones for a week and come back and they've dropped maybe 5% of charge? Not these - these will be flat.
Its a known issue that's all over the Bose website - but Bose even refuse to acknowledge the issue and haven't released firmware to address it.

Purchased in October 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Wireless Headphones

Find out how Bose SoundSport Free compares to other Wireless Headphones

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Adam
Adam
  • 2 reviews

I was a Bose fanboy but after those forget it

published

Really really disappointed with this where do I even start. The input lag? Or how bad they feel in your ears? Or the terrible phone call quality so many big big big disappoints I can’t believe it I loved Bose until this

Purchased in December 2020 at Myer for $300.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Sarah K.
Sarah K.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Honestly they suck

published

Purchased in June 2020 at Myer for $280.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Related Articles
Previous

Best personal electronic devices in 2020!

ProductReview.com.au has analysed a year's worth of reviews to find the best wireless headphones, mobile phones and tablets in 2020. Compare specific reviewer ratings, ranging from Battery Life and Sound / Camera Quality to Value for Money and Ease of Use to help you choose the best personal tech.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.1 Nov 2019
best-personal-electronic-devices-in-2020
Next
Adnan A.
Adnan A.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • Verified

Stay away from Bose, premium price, premium sound, poorly designed products and worst customer service

published

Used the earphones and the buttons fell off after running out of warranty, a common scenario if you search the web. It is design fault but they would not admit.

Purchased for $259.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
sang yun K.
sang yun K.South East Queensland, QLD
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Stay away from this product

published

Rubber button felt off after 1 year and asked 180 dollars for service? What a joke
Do not buy bose. You will see very easy to worn out rubber thing. This is definitely a quality issue..

Purchased in May 2019 for $250.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Duncan M.
Duncan M.Sydney, NSW

Warning - Consider how you will use before you buy

published

Purchased in July 2020 for $300.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Absolutely terrible - would not recommend

published

Without a doubt one of the biggest rip offs I have ever been subjected to. These earphones constantly drop out on the bluetooth connection. One minute they work, the next one of the buds stops working and then it's a rigmarole trying to get them both connected again. Never have I been so frustrated with a product. I just can't believe they would release it with so many issues!

Purchased in February 2019 at Noel Leeming for $280.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Wireless Headphones

Find out how Bose SoundSport Free compares to other Wireless Headphones

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Sam
SamPerth, WA
  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

never purchasing bose again

published

Purchased in July 2018 at Bose for $299.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Killer5000
Killer5000Mid North Coast, NSW

Bose misleading customers

published

Purchased in March 2019 at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores for $295.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Tuc
TucSydney Surrounds, NSW
  • 12 reviews
  • 5 likes
  • Verified

Too large and fall out of ears

published

Asked for best wireless sound earphones for running. Cost $299.00 Didn't realise they were so large. Fell out even before I moved, then I ran on the spot and they fell out almost immediately. They could be ok for people with large ears but probably not suited for females, especially for sport purpose. Look large and cumbersome out of earlobes. JB HiFi were fantastic and refunded me straight away even though I had tried them on. I think I'll stick with wireless and over ear attachment for running in the meantime.

Date PurchasedMay 2018
See all Bose SoundSport Free reviews

Questions & Answers

Sorry, there are no questions yet.

Get an answer from our members

Details

CategoryWireless Headphones
Price (RRP) $299.95
TypeIn-Ear
FeaturesCharging Case, Microphone Included and True Wireless (Earbuds Only)
Weight9 g
Battery Life5 hours
ConnectionsBluetooth
Charging Time2 hours
Manufacturer Warranty1 year(s)
Colour / FinishBlack, Midnight Blue, Bright Orange, Ultraviolet
ManualDownload manual
  • GTIN12: 017817748018 and 017817755023
  • MPN: BOS00004

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.