6 photos
Bose SoundTouch 20 / 30 Series III

Bose SoundTouch 20 / 30 Series III

20, 30
2.5 from 22 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Speakers in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for Bose? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

Previous
Next

App is Cr@p!

published

The speaker itself is very good and has very good sound. The app is extremely poor! I have had many many problems and cannot search for new online radio stations, half the time the stored radio stations do not work and it takes ages to boot up. Definitely not an improvement on the earlier versions!

Incentivised Review No
Bruce
BruceDarling Downs, QLD
  • 4 reviews

Great speaker if you want a bluetooth speaker

published

Utterly useless product if you want to run it off your home wifi. Bose continually change the software which requires lengthy downloads, when all you want is to listen to the radio or some music. Not sure if these speakers are still being sold but if they are and you're considering buying one, don't. You will regret it.

Purchased in February 2016.

Incentivised Review No

Other Speakers

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Nauro64
Nauro64Central West, NSW
  • 6 reviews

Good but only when the WiFi works

published

Purchased in January 2017 at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores for $599.00.

Incentivised Review No
Speakers

Find out how Bose SoundTouch 20 / 30 Series III compares to other Speakers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
John
JohnSydney, NSW
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Dont buy it

published

Sounds good, but connectivity is a drama. WI-fi doesn't connect. The app is useless. Hangs regularly. Have to reboot my phone to resolve.
Online help is useless.
Only way to use it is to plug in, which requires buying adapters if you want to use a phone or tablet.
Its rubbish - dont do it.

Purchased in December 2018 for $599.00.

Incentivised Review No
Damien Lee
Damien LeeIllawarra, NSW
  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great sound, shocking software and support.

published

Purchased at JB Hi-Fi for $400.00.

Incentivised Review No
Aaron
AaronSouth East Queensland, QLD

Rediculous to connect to SoundTouch 30

published

Great sound but it is almost impossible to have both speakers networked. As soon as you change music devices. Eg another phone. You must reconnect to wifi. Its infuriating. Never by bose if you want to network speakers.

Purchased in April 2016 for $700.00.

Incentivised Review No
Andrew-Morisset Park
Andrew-Morisset ParkSydney
  • 10 reviews
  • 6 likes

So close to being great

published

Love the sound and simplicity of the unit BUT (when I use the presets built into the Bose unit) my favourite internet station (from Russia) keeps dropping out. It works fine if I stream it via my 'phone and use Bluetooth to get it to play via the Bose unit, but this is so fiddly (compared with simply pressing a button on the Bose unit). Have contacted Bose who put me onto TuneIn who put me onto the internet station in question... let's hope the Russians read English!

Purchased in June 2019.

Incentivised Review No
Christian
ChristianFar North Queensland, QLD

Connectivity issues!

published

Purchased in December 2017 at Harvey Norman for $1,700.00.

Incentivised Review No

Other Speakers

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Sounak
SounakGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 3 reviews

Sound Quality Great - Terrible Internet Connectivity

published

Sounds quality is good - as expected from Bose. However the internet connectivity is horrible. It keeps disconnecting and reconnecting and therefore interrupting the listening experience. I have got a super high speed internet and have other devices that work perfectly. I have tried calling Bose customer support on multiple occasions and every time they want me to update my router setting - which does not help in the end. In the last setting they said it is a trial an error and keep changing wireless channel (about 20) until it is better. Clearly it is something to do with the product which they don't accept. Did not expect this at all!!!

Purchased in January 2019 at Harvey Norman for $649.00.

Incentivised Review No
Speakers

Find out how Bose SoundTouch 20 / 30 Series III compares to other Speakers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Sound Quality is great!

published

Bought a series I in 2014. I am very impressed with the sound quality. I have since purchased another 2 (series iii) and am now enjoying Play All. I can live with occasional drop outs now because 99% of the time it works perfectly. (I followed advice on the Bose forum about improving wifi reliability and this caused a big reduction in drop outs).

The lack of Airplay on the series iii is annoying but I mainly stream music from my PC and internet radio. Still it would be good if this was finally delivered to series iii as promised by Bose over the last 2 years as I have found it to be a useful feature on the series I.

Overall I am very happy with my soundtouch 20's.

Purchased in April 2014 at Myer Online Store for $400.00.

Incentivised Review No
irritated36
irritated36melbourne
  • 19 reviews
  • 12 likes

Great sound but struggles with wifi

published

Sound is great, functionality with PC and itunes is good. News channels work but all of this is dependant on how well it plays with wifi. My wifi signal is strong but my pc is often on a VPN for security. This is when the Sountouch does not play well. It loses it's connection to the PC and can't play any music from it.

Date PurchasedJuly 2017

Disappointed Owner

published

I bought the Bose SoundTouch thinking Bose is a sound system name and thought it would be brilliant. Sadly it has fallen well short of expectations and now I am looking to discard it for something better.
Whats the problem(s) - upgrades are never straight forward. I have it loaded on a MacBook Air and whenever I try to run an update it consistently fails after its downloaded to update the system without repeated attempts. I find it easier to play through blue tooth rather than WiFi and the sound quality is not so good. There is no provision for stereo speakers so while the box is stereo there is no obvious distribution of sound.

Date PurchasedOct 2016
userid42
userid42Sydney, NSW
  • 13 reviews
  • 15 likes

Absolute rubbish

published
Date PurchasedMay 2015
GAJ
GAJGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 3 reviews
  • 7 likes

Software updates remove features you paid for

published

Buyer be ware. I tested a Bose Sound Touch 20 in the store using my phone, but within months a Bose update removed my phone from the supported phones. Having bought a new phone Bose has inflicted another update which has removed the internet radio preset button function.
I bought the Bose because I like to listen to advert free radio stations and now we must reset all the buttons and run them through a streaming service of Bose choice which will include adverts, unless we pay for an upgraded premium product. You can not ignore the updates, they effectively disable the product and app until you comply.
They have altered the product by stealth to one of a lesser standard than I paid for, who knows what they'll do next.

Date PurchasedDec 2016

Other Speakers

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
paudux
pauduxNew Zealand

Sounds good but limited DLNA support and most radio stations can't be listened to

published

I've owned this and other Bose Soundtouch products for a few years now, and they initially worked well and sounded good, recently with each software downgrade DLNA compatibility has reduced (I can't find one that works at the moment) and with the latest downgrade most of the previously accessible radio stations have been removed as they now only support Tunein. In the past I would have recommended this, but not now, I suggest checking radio stations and compatibility with you music server before buying.

Date PurchasedDec 2015
Speakers

Find out how Bose SoundTouch 20 / 30 Series III compares to other Speakers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Questions & Answers

Heshan
Heshanasked
SoundTouch 30

what is the difference between bose sound touch 30 and sound touch30 series.. which one is great?

No answers
flipper
flipperasked
SoundTouch 30

about to send mine back app wont let me past setup managed to get spotify to work but lousy sound quality , don't have a network so I guess this is useless ! in store demo was great using their connection but too much other stuff required to make this thing work I think

1 answer
Sounak
Sounak

Yes only Bluetooth works although I have a very high speed internet

Get an answer from our members

Bose SoundTouch 20 / 30 Series III

Details

Compare both Bose SoundTouch 20 / 30 Series III
CategorySpeakersSpeakers
Price (RRP)$499$749
Compare both Bose SoundTouch 20 / 30 Series III

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.