?
? !
4 photos
Breville The Custom Loaf Pro BBM800

Breville The Custom Loaf Pro BBM800

MPNs: 1439, BBM800 and BBM800BSS
3.9 from 102 reviews · View Statistics

Pros

  • Produces bakery-quality bread

  • Durable and reliable

  • Simple to use

Cons

  • Paddle sometimes imprints on loaf

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    1.0 (1)
  • Value for Money
    1.0 (1)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • More
    Thumbnail
Andy

Andy

  • 2 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Garbage quality for price

published

Sharp edges and ripples around control model metal work. It has 1 screw but was taped on all sides for transit which says it all.
Main door out of alignment. I doubt it will hold a seal.
Screws don't appear straight at the top of the main body.
Side has not been screwed down evenly.
Looks like sheet metalwork carried out by high school student and even then Ive seen better work from some.
Almost most expensive unit on market. Don't buy i expect no two units will be the same in quality.
Poor quality control.
Extremely lightweight because its sheet metal without insulation unlikely to retain heat.
Haven't used it i wonder how well it will work. I could use it as a heater in winter, with the lid closed!!

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • +2Thumbnail

Purchased in September 2020 at Appliances Online for $398.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Expensive rubbish

published

Looks nice that's about it. The machine doesn't have the power to consistently knead a loaf without sticking all the time, and risk burning out the motor. It has to be constantly monitored and the dough freed up by hand so the program can continue. Happens with a variety of flours so not a wholemeal problem. Can't believe I'm one of the few with this problem. Old breville machine was great, shame the build quality has been overlooked in place of stylish looks.

Date PurchasedMay 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Ozwelder

OzwelderCentral Queensland, QLD

  • 12 reviews
  • 6 likes

Breville used to the the premium bread maker Manufacturer

published
Date PurchasedAug 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Bread Makers

Find out how Breville The Custom Loaf Pro BBM800 compares to other Bread Makers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Gmack_oz

Gmack_ozMelbourne

  • 8 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified purchase

12 months old, barely used in those 12 months, and it totally stopped working

published

Bought it to replace a previous Breville Breadmaker that gave us years of good use. Bought this as it looked like the old model with just a new casing, Had it for 12 months and made less than a dozen loaves and it's totally stopped working. No lights, no nothing, Dead as a doorknob. Would not buy another Breville. Tried but can't get through to Breville

Date PurchasedJune 2016
1 comment
Gmack_oz
Gmack_oz
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
The Expeditor

The ExpeditorNortheast, VIC

  • 10 reviews
  • 11 likes

Three faults. I am sad, but I will return mine.

published

Living some 250 KM out of Melbourne, I have had three problems. 1)Back of menu light stopped working 2) The paddle, which is quite useless as it still leaves a hole in the bread sticks in position at all times, despite cleaning and soaking paddle thoroughly 3) the fruit and nut dispenser stopped working, despite loud clicking noises....As there are no service agents in Wangaratta I will return it as absolutely unreliable when cooking and the costs of sending it back is prohibitive...Has Brevile thoroughly tested these things in the field? I doubt it. The bread, It's like a box of chocolates, you never know what results you're going to get...

Date PurchasedJuly 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Totally useless

published

Great product but within 9 months inside the bake tin the anti stick surface start to flake off.
I contact brevillr support, they said it doesn't fall under wanranty. They even said i was baking bread with it for almost a year, yeah thuugh... what do you do with a bread machine?
Any how.
I do NOT RECOMEND THIS PRODUCT.
very, very poor customer service and warranty.

Date PurchasedMay 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Terrible unless you like eating bricks

published

I was thoroughly disappointed with this product. I bought it last week and have had problems with it not mixing properly, and there seems to be some issues with it sealing and heating properly. I made sure it was not an issue with my ingredients and used fresh flour, yeast etc. I've had bread makers before and have churned out loaves of delicious soft fluffy bread but it's not happening with this. Myer have said I can return it and exchange for another type. Thank you Myer.

Date PurchasedAug 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Nims2011

Nims2011Sydney, NSW

  • 14 reviews
  • 10 likes

Not fit for purpose

published
1 comment
Nims2011
Nims2011

On contacting Breville through their Facebook page, I have now been told the jam paddle can be left in while baking. I suppose I could try it...

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Rubbish designed to fail

published

Three years of very light use. Then totally died. Probably cost $2.50 per loaf for the "privilege " of owning a Breville Bread Maker. Seems to be the way of the modern world. My mother bought a sewing machine in the 50's made clothes for 9 kids and it lasted 30 years. That's 60 years ago. What rubbish. Breville should be ashamed!

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Bread Makers

Find out how Breville The Custom Loaf Pro BBM800 compares to other Bread Makers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Bad machine

published

We bought the machine thinking it'd last us a while. With a year or so, the main button stopped working properly. Since it was under warranty, they fixed it although it took a while. One night, while making bread the machine fell off the bench. Since it's been 2.5 years since the purchase, they wouldn't fix it. We decided not to pay over $100 to fix it but by a panasonic bread maker instead. We hope it's a better quality with better service.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Disappointing

published

The collapsible paddle has never collapsed although it tries but that just means it rips more out of the bottom on the loaf. It's a couple of years old and now won't mix all the ingredients properly. There is so much play in the spindle and the paddle is very worn. I have probably made 150 loaves with it with varying success. Breville not interested in any complaints.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Breville After Sales Service

published

I will no longer buy a Breville product even though they have had some good products over the years BUT their After Sales Service is PATHETIC, they even make you feel like a liar when you report a problem.
Simply put a product is only as good as the back up that comes with it, in this department Breville FAILS dismally & has done for many years. I speak with the experience of receiving the same stand offish & often rude attitude on four separate occasions regarding three products, it's just NOT good enough, speaking as an engineer there are other product manufacturers with products just as good if not better with FAR better after sales service.

Date PurchasedMay 2014
1 comment
Breville
BrevilleBreville

Hi Gra_Sim - thanks for your comments. They'll be flagged with the team.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
jt02

jt02australia

  • 8 reviews
  • 13 likes

Poor quality product, with poor quality customer service!

published
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Disappointed with Purchase

published
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
See all Breville The Custom Loaf Pro BBM800 reviews

Questions & Answers

Diane

Dianeasked

The fruit and nut dispenser does not open. It is firmly closed. Can someone help please?

1 answer
Reviewer R.
Reviewer R.

Sure

Irene B.

Irene B.asked

Our Breville machine’s paddle is flopping over to both sides instead of meeting resistance when in upright position and has scratched the bottom of the pan. It also makes a loud clicking tapping sound while kneading as it taps the bottom of the pan. Any ideas?

No answers
Juzzee

Juzzeeasked

I just purchased this machine and after using it for the first time the collapsible paddle is stuck in the pan and I cannot get it out.. help please!!!

2 answers
Mez
Mez

It can get stuck. Alot of people have that problem. It may need a bit of force to get it out. I fill the pan with hot soapy water and you should be able to remove it easily. Make sure it is free of all dough mix before using it again. I had an old mschine ( not a Breville and had to leave the paddle in it for that reason. Stil worked OK.

Juzzee
Juzzee

I worked out how to release the paddle. I used a small syringe with olive oil and squirted it around where it goes on and it released immediately. Can’t believe I spent hours trying to get it off and it was that easy.

See all Breville The Custom Loaf Pro BBM800 questions

Get an answer from our members and Breville representatives

Details

Features:

  • Breville’s The Custom Loaf Pro BBM800 is a breadmaker that can make 450g or 1.1kg sized loaves.
  • The bread maker has automatic programs - including gluten-free, yeast-free, crusty loaf, dough and pasta, and jam - as well as 9 custom settings that let you store your own customised recipes.
  • It has an automatic fruit and nut dispenser which mixes in any added ingredients at the right time in the breadmaking process, giving you one less thing to worry about.
  • A collapsible kneading blade mixes and folds in your ingredients before the machine starts expanding your dough with its ‘bake’ function.
  • This model has a smart LCD display that gives you a clear overview of the progress of your loaf from the mixing right through to the finished product.
  • It also has 60 minutes of backup power, so that if you have a power outage, your bread will continue to bake.
  • The Custom Loaf Pro BBM800 costs $439.

Points of praise:

  • Most reviewers found that the bread maker turned out bakery-quality bread that smelt and tasted great, and had the desired texture.
  • They also found that the machine was durable and reliable, consistently producing quality loaves over a long period of time.
  • According to reviewers, this machine is easy to use - reviewers appreciated that they could just put the ingredients in the tin and walk away.

A point of pain:

  • Some reviewers took issue with the collapsible paddle in the bread maker, saying that it doesn’t really collapse after the mixing process, and so sticks into the loaf and leaves an imprint on its base. A few of the reviewers who noted this problem said they worked around it by utilising the pause function and removing the paddle before the final raise and bake.
CategoryBread Makers
Price (RRP) $439.00
Max Loaf Size1.1 kg
FeaturesAutomatic Ingredients Dispenser, Gluten Free Setting and Jam & Compote Mode
Preset Timer 13 hours
Colour / FinishStainless Steel
Construction MaterialStainless Steel
Dimensions 273 x 412 x 182 mm
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)
Release dateApr 2011
ManualDownload manual

Visit official website
  • GTIN14: 09312432016896
  • MPN: 1439, BBM800 and BBM800BSS

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.