??!
3 photos
Breville Infuser BES840
3.8 from 96 reviews

Reviews

(37)
(31)
(11)
(7)
(10)
  • Build Quality
    4.3 (9)
  • Value for Money
    4.3 (9)
  • Ease of Use
    4.6 (9)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.3 (9)
  • Noise Level
    4.0 (2)
  • Product is used:
    • Daily (8)
  • Consistency
    4.3 (7)
  • Milk Frothing
    4.1 (7)


Wayneo43

Wayneo43Geelong

  • 7 reviews

Dead in TWO YEARS !!!

published

I really liked this machine. Made great coffee. The steam function is weak and needs improvement however. Overall I would have given this model 5 stars, but for it to be dead in 2 years is pathetic. Hence my 1 star review. Terrible!
××××××××××××××××××××××××××××××××××××××××
Such a shame that appliances like this can't be made to last.

Date PurchasedJun 2016

GourmetEngPerth

GourmetEngPerthPerth

  • 14 reviews
  • 19 likes

My First Serious Model

published
Date PurchasedJan 2018
J L

J LSydney

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great little machine

published

Have been using this machine for nearly 2 years and it is still going strong. It can get a bit noisy but it is not a big issue. The pressure gauge is very useful to see whether or not your shot will be over/under and the steam wand works great. One small minor issue I have would be that the drip tray is a bit small. If you are making several cups of coffee for friends and family you will definitely need to empty it out or it will spill.
Overall I would recommend this machine for anyone who wants to learn about coffee.

Date PurchasedMay 2016
RMB

RMBVic, 3133

  • 14 reviews
  • 3 likes

Coffee addiction is no joke, need a good machine.

published
Date PurchasedAug 2017

Swed

SwedSeattle

Poor Design!

published
Date PurchasedApr 2014

Craig

CraigHighton

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Nice coffee easy to use

published

Previously had a sunbeam cafe series and felt like a change when that one broke down. The breville is more compact and fits nicely on the bench. Its easy to use and makes a good coffee. However it goes through the water very quickly compared to the sunbeam. I think the water tank is smaller and you can’t pour coffee and froth at the same time which I liked to do. Nevertheless I like this machine it’s more compact and looks smart and the coffee pour is good.

Date PurchasedOct 2017

Love it!!

published

So many different options to use but once set up don't need to do anything else. Just push the button and it works. Very easy to clean and can't ask for more from a home machine. Would definitely recommend to anyone needing a new or even used or refurb model.

Date PurchasedSep 2017

Poco

PocoBrisbane

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Make great coffee

published

It’s very good coffee machine if you don’t mind all steps you have to do every morning. you can adjust the strength etc and once you get the right settings it’s pretty simple to use every day. My husband likes coffee but he doesn’t wanna use it as he doesn’t want to clean it up so it could be useless if you don’t have passion for coffee.

Date PurchasedSep 2014
Kent B

Kent BBrisbane

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Great performing machine producing excellent shots and crema

published
Date PurchasedOct 2017
Pete

Pete

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Love it!! Excellent coffee.

published

It is simple to set up, use and clean. Can be used for making the perfect coffee. We nearly use it daily and simple to use, cant live with out. Only regret is that we didnt the the next model up with the double boiler to save time overwise very happy with the product.

Date PurchasedMar 2017

Bill R

Bill RBrisbane

  • 4 reviews

Good Brews, Quick.

published

Great little machine. Has a very small footprint compared to other similar machines, and the coffee tastes great. Simple and fast. Turn it on, fill one of the 4 supplied filters, stomp using the attached stomper, twist the knob and great tasting coffee is yours. Comes with a spare filter, pin to clean filters, and 1 cleaning tablet. A staple of my morning routine for over a year.

Date PurchasedJun 2016

Georgia

GeorgiaMelbourne

  • 4 reviews

Nice piece of appliance to style up your morning ritual and home decor

published

It makes decent espresso, the milk frother is OK but not comparable to professional barista machine. The nice touches are the cup warm on top of the machine and the stomper on the left. It is easy to use and easy to clean, with the water tray easy to disassemble for cleaning.

Date PurchasedDec 2016

Fantastic piece of equipment! Use it everyday without problems.

published

The coffee is always fresh and much better than instant.
It's so simple to use. Only the essentials and everything is simple to follow at a push of a button.
Cleaning is easy as it comes with a simple cleaning kit. The machine tells you to empty the water when needed and tells you when the clean out the machine.

Date PurchasedDec 2017

Broke after 6 months - terrible servicing

published

The coffee was great while the machine worked for the first 6 months. We made 2 cups daily. I'm particular about my coffee and enjoyed this brew. However, after 6 months the pressure dropped and no coffee came out. After taking it to the recommended service shop (warranty states repair not replacement), all tubes as well as plastic around the group head was replaced - all for it to STILL NOT WORK. We now have an expensive milk frother. The tip off that this was a bad brand should have come from seeing the sea of broken coffee machines at the service shop - most were Breville (the same model as ours). Not impressed for what is meant to be a mid-range coffee machine. Customer service and servicing stores are also something left to be desired.

Date PurchasedDec 2016

Love making my own coffee

published

I loved the idea of my own coffee machine. Wirjed beautifully for first couple of years. Now for some reason the machine when i make coffee the preasure dial doesn't work and i don't get the full flavour. If anyone has a suggestion as how to fix please let me know.

Date PurchasedJun 2013
Washed up.

Washed up.

  • 2 reviews

Fast and easy to use.

published

Quick to prepare coffee and to froth the milk. And does so without leaking and being messy as previous makes we've had.
Coffee taste is dependant on the beans and your preference.
Pressure in extracting, apart from the grind size, is dependant on the hardness of the bean grind. Older beans seem to soften and you get reduced machine pressure. Use fresh, and freshly ground beans.
Cleaning procedure similar to previous makes. Drip tray does fill up on you unannounced so you need to keep an eye on how much wash water is in it.
Very pleased with this Breville and recommend it.

Date PurchasedSep 2017

Anna Legrouf

Anna LegroufAuckland

  • 2 reviews

Good machine, but has some issues...

published

The coffee machine isn't all bad, but from our old breville to this new one we have lost water tank capacity, drip tray space and it requires special cleaning tablets every other month. The drip tray fills very quickly and so needs to be emptied far more often. The coffee is still good, and it makes good creama, but the tank capacities are a lot smaller than they used to be.

Date PurchasedJul 2017

portland 404

portland 404melbourne

  • 7 reviews
  • 6 likes

great machine tasty coffee

published

i have had this coffee maker now for 2 years and one of my best ever purchases makes great coffee simply and and tasty all the time ....
easy to master and tasty every time i use it
very simple to maintain ...and clean with automatic warning lights to tell when needed

Date PurchasedSep 2015

Vester

Vester

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

An excellent machine whilst it worked

published

The coffee made was delicious. However, the machine broke after a couple of years, with the pump failing. The machine comes with a twelve month repair warranty, but when a coffee machine comes with a $500 price tag, it can be expected that the machine will last longer than three years.

Date PurchasedDec 2012

Old Engineer

Old EngineerGoulburn Valley, VIC

  • 6 reviews
  • 9 likes

Major Failure after 2 Years

published

Seemed like a good appliance until after two years of light domestic use a solenoid and the warm up system both failed. The Breville service agent charged $35 to investigate this , which is reasonable, but fixing the solenoid will cost another $238 and the warm up repair costs will require further evaluation and incur subsequent costs .So after 2 years of little use this machine's for the scrap heap.

Date PurchasedJun 2015

Page 2 of 5

See all Breville Infuser BES840 reviews

Questions & Answers

sunshine makes me happy

sunshine makes me happyasked

I have had nothing but problems with this machine I bought in August 2019. Right now I am trying to run a descale function....holding the 2 cup button down and then holding the power button just turns off the machine. Please help?

1 answer
bellamy
bellamy

make sure the machine is off first, no lights on, hold 2 cups button, then also power button for 5secs until cleaning cycle starts/cleaning light flashes. I found a youtube clip with 2 lame guys but once you get it right you get it right, happy brewing


Rebekah

Rebekahasked

After steaming milk the machine usually makes a loud noise, like its cooling down. But this morning it has stopped. Should i be worried?

No answers

Valerie L.

Valerie L.asked

My Breville espresso machine has been flawless for almost six years now. I had to replace a parts (seals, etc) about two years ago, but otherwise it has been the best system ever! Recently it stopped working properly, no coffee was being forced through the group head.... I clean my machine faithfully as indicated, but cleaned it again just to be sure it wasn't calcium build up. It still didn't work. I then noticed that the pressure gauge was remaining at 0. I have tried to trouble shoot this with the book, but no luck. Fortunately I found this discussion and am happy I did. I think the coffee is much less robust that when the pressure is forcing the water through the group head....... my coffee (when I could get anything to come out of it) was not at all like decent coffee. I agree that this machine is awesome and makes some of the best coffee I have ever had, and again, I have had my system for almost 6 years! I guess I should be thankful as it looks as if many began having issues much sooner than I. I am hoping I can find a repair place but the USA facility is not too far from where I live, so I might just have to take a drive down there.
I would have bought another Breville system in a heartbeat if mine needed to be replaced, however after reading some reviews where your machines' pressure stopped early on, I am not so sure now. VS Los Angeles, CA

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Breville representatives


Download manual

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.