??!
4 photos
Breville Dual Boiler with Smart Grinder BES920 / BCG820

Breville Dual Boiler with Smart Grinder BES920 / BCG820 (page 2 of 10)

BES920 (Dual Boiler), BCG820 (Grinder)
4.3 from 184 reviews

Reviews

4.3

184 reviews
5
(110)
4
(44)
3
(13)
2
(6)
1
(11)
  • Build Quality
    3.7 (14)
  • Value for Money
    3.9 (14)
  • Ease of Use
    4.4 (14)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.9 (14)
  • Noise Level
    3.5 (11)
  • Product is used
  • Consistency
    4.2 (12)
  • Milk Frothing
    4.5 (11)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

Yili Zhu

Yili ZhuCoombs 2611, ACT

Excellent design

published

It offers settings for volume and fineness of coffee powder. The digital display is useful. The automatic start function is quite handy. The user interface is excellent. I bought it to replace my old Delonghi grinder that can’t make fine powder anymore. It is a pleasant surprise that the coffee is markedly better with this grinder.

Purchased in July 2019 at Bing Lee for A$190.00.

Eric W.

Eric W.Far North Queensland, QLD

  • 6 reviews

Very good grinder

published

Nice small grinder, and best of all the brands, grind nice coffee, and fits perfectly with the coffee machine, and no regreting buying this one, especially during the sale, good price.

craigwreid1

craigwreid1Sydney, NSW

  • 22 reviews
  • 14 likes

Clumpy grinds - awful grinder

published

Bought the dynamic duo and spent about a week trying to get a decent grind out of this grinder. The clumping and channeling the grinder caused was appalling. So much so I took the grinder back (particularly as it was making strange noises). I got another which wasn’t much better which I sold on eBay in disgust! My 9 year old sunbeam grinder out performed this every time. Now happy with a proper grinder (macap).

Purchased in February 2018.

Appliances

Find out how Breville Dual Boiler with Smart Grinder BES920 / BCG820 compares to other Appliances

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Debbie

DebbiePerth, WA

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Love this coffee machine

published

Great machine... I’m pretty fussy with my coffee and after watching a couple of online videos and tweaking my settings this is producing coffee just as good as my favourite coffee shop. And I got it at a great price before it was replaced by the latest model, so great value too.

Purchased in February 2019 at The Good Guys.

Product is used Daily
AdrianandShel

AdrianandShelSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 21 reviews
  • 20 likes

Perfect coffee every time

published

Best machine I have owned. Easy to operate manually or automatic - makes perfect coffee time after time. Steam wand has great manouverability for perfect silky milk. Easy to clean. Recommend!

Purchased in August 2015 at Harvey Norman Retail Stores - Electronics for A$1,499.00.

Nelson Dailo

Nelson DailoSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Perfect Combination!

published

This combo is by far the best we've had. We have owned numerous expresso machines for years and these ones is up there. Very easy to operate. Love the designs.

Purchased in May 2018 at Betta Home Living for A$1,599.00.

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Soviet

SovietAdelaide

  • 10 reviews
  • 7 likes

A great coffee machine three years later

published

Purchased in April 2016 at Harvey Norman for A$693.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used Daily
GrinderBreville Smart Grinder BCG800
See all answers
Melissa S

Melissa SSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Best priced dual boiler espresso machine for home use

published
Caru

CaruSydney, NSW

Great until....

published

Purchased in October 2017 at The Good Guys for A$1,079.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used Daily
GrinderBreville BCG820 (Grinder)
See all answers
Appliances

Find out how Breville Dual Boiler with Smart Grinder BES920 / BCG820 compares to other Appliances

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Paul

Paul

  • 3 reviews

Good machine. Great value. Owner message re descaling included in this review.

published
Date PurchasedJul 2016
happyhippy

happyhippySunshine Coast

  • 6 reviews
  • 6 likes

Best bang for the buck.

published
Date PurchasedSep 2018
John T

John TNew South Wales

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Paid for itself pretty quickly

published

Great machine. easy to use and produces consistent quality coffee.
I would recommend the Breville dual boiler to any coffee lover contempllating a coffee machine purchase.
I believe this particular model is no.longer available but it's replacement is almost identical.
Bought the machine and grinder separately from different retailers which was 200$ cheaper than buying the combination package.

Date PurchasedJan 2018
Amazed

AmazedSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 7 reviews

Cafe experience at home - almost

published

Great machine that is easy to use. Has never skipped a beat and with the right settings and coffee beans provides an excellent coffee. We have tried a number of coffee beans and settings to determine what the ideal brew is for use. The dual boiler is quite handy when making multiple coffees as it allows the coffee to be prepared whilst the milk is being frothed. This model was bought upon a recommendation which it has lived up to!

Date PurchasedOct 2017
Dicko

DickoBrisbane

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Never thought a more expensive machine, would mean much better Coffee

published

After having a couple of the smaller cheaper lower end Breville machines, I decided to bite the bullet, and fork out for the next level.
Never would I have expected the difference from the same beans, to be staggering.
The real time clock is a bonus, allowing you to program it to be on and ready when you awake.
The Dual Boiler is the best part about it, allowing you to steam the milk while you brew the coffee at the same time.
This machine is so good, it turns mediocre beans, into a quality coffee.
I will replace this when it is required, with yet another Breville machine, given that the replacements, are just a face lift of the same tried and proven machines.

Date PurchasedJan 2017
moose

moosete awamutu

  • 3 reviews

A Perfect Grinder

published

Purchased together with a BES840...this grinds the beans perfectly, & the BES pours the perfect cup.
It is extremely simple to operate, takes up minimal real estate, looks good and is easy to clean.
The ease with which one can alter both the dose and the grind is a major point.
Breville did a fantastic job with this machine.

Date PurchasedAug 2018
Appliances

Find out how Breville Dual Boiler with Smart Grinder BES920 / BCG820 compares to other Appliances

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Pettie

PettieVictoria

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Great combo

published

We bought this so we could use our own coffee beans as their much cheaper than buying pods and they are more expensive in the long run. Makes excellent coffee shop style and simple to use and clean. The power cord could be a little more longer but that's all that's bad with it

Date PurchasedOct 2016
Igor

Igor

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great Coffee Machine - Terrible Customer Service from Breville

published

Very consistent coffee machine, and has worked without any issues for 3.5 years.

When the steam tap failed, and the coffee machine was taken in for an assessment Breville would not accept their responsibilities or my claim under the Australian Consumer Law. They kept stating that the 2 year express warranty had expired therefore they would not do anything.

Breville's entire customer service team (including management) need some serious educating on the automatic consumer guarantees that apply beyond and separate to any express warranty.

Date PurchasedNov 2014
Lilly Arnold

Lilly ArnoldAustralia, Darwin

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

What a great combo package!

published

Most of the time when buying a coffee machine you only get the coffee maker itself and have to buy a grinder. The grinder with the coffee machine is optional but it's available with or without. I recommend getting it as it dose a great job saving time having to get a blender out

Date PurchasedJan 2018

Model B has full Power OFF after 20 minutes

published
Date PurchasedJun 2018

Best coffee machine!

published
Date PurchasedJun 2018
Page 2 of 10
See all Breville Dual Boiler with Smart Grinder BES920 / BCG820 reviews

Questions & Answers

Yew

Yewasked

BES920 (Dual Boiler)

My Breville bes920 steam wand has stopped working, I get 3 bi bi bi sound when I open it. I thought it could be non desalting problem, but unfortunately problem persist after I descale. Anyone know what might be the problem? I live in Malaysia, I bought unit from Melbourne, no local agent to help.

2 answers
Yew
Yew

Descaling, not desalting

Ian E.
Ian E.

Hi Yew

I found this thread, there is a link to a possible solution on CoffeeGeeks in the thread.

https://forums.whirlpool.net.au/archive/2728912

deborahltch05

deborahltch05asked

Dual Boiler with Smart Grinder BES920 / BCG820

Hi just descaling my Breville Dynamatic Duo BEP920 and it says there should be a countdown of 20 (assuming minutes) but can’t see anything is this normal do t know if it’s heating up in the boilers or not
Hope someone can help
Thanks Deb

1 answer
deborahltch05
deborahltch05

Worked it out

Lee R

Lee Rasked

BES920 (Dual Boiler)

I have recently completed a descale on my dual boiler. Reset and all good, however, when I turn in machine, with Water tank half full, i can hear machine filling up with water then reaches temperature and extracts well (9.5 bar) and steams milk, however after I turn it off , water must be leaking from machine as within few hours the drip tray is completely full of water and the water tank is empty - didn’t do this before the descale? Any ideas?

2 answers
Dariodar
Dariodar

did you close the steam boiler drain plug???

Lee R
Lee R

Thank you - you are correct, wasn’t quite tight enough - water has stoped leaking

Get an answer from our members and Breville representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.