?
? !
4 photos
Breville Dual Boiler with Smart Grinder BES920 / BCG820

Breville Dual Boiler with Smart Grinder BES920 / BCG820

BES920 (Dual Boiler), BCG820 (Grinder)
4.3 from 188 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    1.5 (4)
  • Value for Money
    1.5 (4)
  • Ease of Use
    4.3 (3)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    2.7 (3)
  • Noise Level
    2.7 (3)
  • Product is used
  • Consistency
    3.7 (3)
  • Milk Frothing
    4.0 (3)
Previous
Next
Mary

MaryMelbourne

  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes

Ok .... til it breaks! Again.

published

Makes good coffee. We unfortunately cracked the head and $450 later got it back. We were told this is due to overfilling. We have been super careful and 3 years later same issue. Again it would be $590 to fix. Decided to buy different brand. It was expensive machine so this is disappointing.

Purchased in June 2015.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Adrian f.

Adrian f.Sydney, NSW

Bad coffee 3 months into use.

published

Bought expresso maker from BingLee in April. Coffee was good at first. After 2 months, each cup of expresso gradually become twice as big, and thin. I tried different brands of coffee beans, grinds size, volume. Non seems to work.
I rang Breville 10 times over 3 days, listening to 'Your call is important to us...' for up to 10 minutes each, before I surrendered and left my phone number. Nobody seem to be care enough to call back for an discussion.

Purchased in April 2020 at Bing Lee Physical store.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Cat

CatMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

machine stopped working just outside of warranty

published

Very disappointed. This machine was great, when it worked, up until a few months out of warranty. Now I have a $1200+ machine that is unusable, and i have to pay to get it fixed. Paying this much for a machine to last a couple of years is absurd, the quality should be much better than that but there are so many people posting stories of similar issues with this machine, Breville clearly have some quality issues to address. Will be getting the repair quoted and going to ACCC if i have to, to ensure that Breville cover the repair costs of their faulty product. Have also had quality issues with other Breville appliances, this is the last straw and i will NOT be buying Breville again.

Purchased in March 2018 at Harvey Norman for $1,224.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Appliances

Find out how Breville Dual Boiler with Smart Grinder BES920 / BCG820 compares to other Appliances

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
craigwreid1

craigwreid1Sydney, NSW

  • 25 reviews
  • 14 likes

Clumpy grinds - awful grinder

published

Bought the dynamic duo and spent about a week trying to get a decent grind out of this grinder. The clumping and channeling the grinder caused was appalling. So much so I took the grinder back (particularly as it was making strange noises). I got another which wasn’t much better which I sold on eBay in disgust! My 9 year old sunbeam grinder out performed this every time. Now happy with a proper grinder (macap).

Purchased in February 2018.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Caru

CaruSydney, NSW

Great until....

published

Purchased in October 2017 at The Good Guys for $1,079.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Igor

Igor

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great Coffee Machine - Terrible Customer Service from Breville

published

Very consistent coffee machine, and has worked without any issues for 3.5 years.

When the steam tap failed, and the coffee machine was taken in for an assessment Breville would not accept their responsibilities or my claim under the Australian Consumer Law. They kept stating that the 2 year express warranty had expired therefore they would not do anything.

Breville's entire customer service team (including management) need some serious educating on the automatic consumer guarantees that apply beyond and separate to any express warranty.

Date PurchasedNov 2014
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Appalling spare parts support

published

A now obsolete plastic part that previously cost $3 is now unavailable and the fix is $500.. complete joke Breville. You force me to buy the spare overseas.
Such a shame as the coffee was quite good from this machine. Just dont expect it to last more than 5 years.

Date PurchasedJan 2013
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Justin

JustinCanberra

Don't waste your money

published

Purchased in April 2016 and performed well until doing a descale in August 2017. After the descale the machine started leaking from the hot water tap. The machine is now in for repair for the fourth time with issues such as leaking from steamer and turning off while heating up. We now have a very expensive paper weight. Do not buy this machine if you want a quality product that lasts. Breville customer service's mantra is "there's a two year repair warranty" and refuse to replace what is clearly a faulty machine.

Date PurchasedApr 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
TOOL-MAN

TOOL-MANAU

  • 4 reviews
  • 5 likes

Don't expect parts backup

published
Date PurchasedJuly 2015
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Appliances

Find out how Breville Dual Boiler with Smart Grinder BES920 / BCG820 compares to other Appliances

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
CHANCHO

CHANCHOGeelong

Descaling kills what is otherwise great machine

published

I bought this machine in 2014 and have had it sent for repair 3 times. All 3 times issue was related to issues caused from descaling. Last time service 3 months ago and cannot descale at all. I'm taking the matter to VCAT. It's a joke that companies can sell and get away with design technical faults and not have to deal with them.

Date PurchasedJuly 2014
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Alan Clay

Alan ClayRichmond-Tweed, NSW

  • 20 reviews
  • 28 likes

Brevilleafter sales service.

published
Date PurchasedJune 2015
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Wizard42

Wizard42Brisbane

  • 3 reviews
  • 7 likes

Good Coffee But Horrible Support!!

published
Date PurchasedJune 2015
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Hal

HalMelbourne

Decent Machine, terrible customer service

published
Date PurchasedMay 2015
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Have used this machine for 4 months, good or bad coffee it made depends on my luck.

published
Date PurchasedApr 2016
4 comments
Breville
BrevilleBreville

Hi Shu Z - please call customer service for assistance - 1300 139 798 - Mon to Fri. Thanks, the Breville team

Shu Z
Shu Z
Shu Z
Shu Z
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Smartly built to wear out in 2 years

published

Disappointed with an inconsistent grind from the "smart grinder" it would seem from googling this grinder after a major failure, the impeller which throws the coffee grinds into the brew head wears out (and is not replaceable) causing the machine to jam up. Sorry just another throw away item, get what you pay for!!!

Date PurchasedSept 2014
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Appliances

Find out how Breville Dual Boiler with Smart Grinder BES920 / BCG820 compares to other Appliances

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Lyndon

Lyndon

  • 5 reviews
  • 6 likes

NOT HAPPY WITH SERVICE SUPPORT FROM BREVILLE !!!!!!

published

We have been happy with this machine, but in June the milk frother stopped working. We took it to the only Breville repairer for coffee machines in Toowoomba, Mercer and Luck. The service has been hopeless and I will NEVER buy another Breville appliance. After multiple phone calls to both the repairer and Breville, I still don't have my coffee machine back. It has been almost 7 WEEKS!!!!! It was an expensive machine and I would have expected better service from Breville. Make sure you find out if there is a decent repairer for your appliance before you purchase, I certainly will in future!!!!!! NOT HAPPY!!!!!!!

Date PurchasedOct 2014
4 comments
Breville
BrevilleBreville

Hi Lyndon - your message has been forwarded to customer service to look into. Thanks, the Breville team

Breville
BrevilleBreville

Hi Lyndon - customer service would like to speak with you about this in more detail. Can you please email your contact details to askus@breville.com.au or call 1300 139 798. Thanks, the Breville team

Lyndon
Lyndon

I've already done both of those things, more than once. Breville has my contact details. Ask Scott on the Breville service line.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

LEAKS AFTER 1 WEEK!!

published

Purchased this machine 1 week ago and it is already leaking from a tube underneath the water tank. No customer service and told to take it for repairs. Given the price of this appliance and the fact that it has problems after 1 week I expected a replacement - no so. I would not buy again. In fact I won't buy another Breville product given the poor after service.

Date PurchasedJuly 2016
2 comments
Breville
BrevilleBreville
Joe
Joe

Thank you. Myer has now replaced the appliance and I have a working machine.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Alb

AlbGold coadt

Great coffee, unreliable

published

We got this about 2.5 years ago and at first it was happy days with excellent coffee and satisfied friends attending our parties...then it broke about 2 months after the warranty ended..got it repaired and it was happy days again until you guessed it...broke after another 6 months.
We are going to chuck it out...no point in throwing good money after bad again..,purchased a Giotto premium plus...significantly costlier but apparently they are bulletproof and often last up to 15 years with only minor repairs. Never again

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Shelly

ShellyPerth

Great product but after dealing with 'Breville Service Agents' It has been a nightmare

published
3 comments
Breville
BrevilleBreville
Shelly
Shelly

I have emailed through the information you have requested

Breville
BrevilleBreville

Thank you Shelly, your details have been passed onto the relevant department for review.
Thanks, The Breville Team
^TD

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
See all Breville Dual Boiler with Smart Grinder BES920 / BCG820 reviews

Questions & Answers

Ken

Kenasked

BES920 (Dual Boiler)

I have a BSS920 about 3 years old and am having a problem with descaling. Have descaled previously with no problems.
Following the manual instructions I empty the boilers and next step is to begin Descale, press 1 cup button to begin to descale and figures 20 (for seconds) show in screen) and press 1cup button. However nothing appears in the screen and nothing happens.
Anyone have a solution?

1 answer
Reviewer R.
Reviewer R.

Breville should have a solution

Paul L

Paul Lasked

BES920 (Dual Boiler)

I complete a descale on my BES920 and the Descale Message remains on. Has been occuring for last 18 months or so. I descale every 2 to 3 months but no change

1 answer
Richo
Richo

Hey Paul, apologies if you've tried this but maybe reset your hardness setting. With machine off, hold down 1 cup button and turn on. reset should appear on display, hit menu to select and then set your hardness.

Steve B.

Steve B.asked

BES920 (Dual Boiler)

Machine only heating to 72° then hovers around that temperature, have checked that the setting is still at 93° , tried unplugging for 60 minutes (as says somewhere in manual) .
Obviously can’t make a coffee at this temperature.

Any ideas please?

1 answer
Reviewer R.
Reviewer R.

See similar complaint below

See all Breville Dual Boiler with Smart Grinder BES920 / BCG820 questions

Get an answer from our members and Breville representatives

Breville Dual Boiler with Smart Grinder BES920 / BCG820

Details

Compare both Breville Dual Boiler with Smart Grinder BES920 / BCG820
CategoryAppliances and Coffee Grinders / RoastersAppliances and Semi-Automatic and Manual Coffee Machines
Pump Pressure15bar
Water Tank Capacity2.5L
Price (RRP) $299.95$1699.95
Number of Grind Settings60
Input Power165w2200w
Width160mm372mm
Height389mm377mm
Depth214mm404mm
Coffee Bean Capacity450g
Replaced byBreville Dynamic Duo BEP920Breville Dynamic Duo BEP920
Compare both Breville Dual Boiler with Smart Grinder BES920 / BCG820

  • MPN: 6098 and BES920
  • GTIN13: 9312432021937

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.