?
? !
4 photos
Breville Dual Boiler with Smart Grinder BES920 / BCG820

Breville Dual Boiler with Smart Grinder BES920 / BCG820

BES920 (Dual Boiler), BCG820 (Grinder)
4.3 from 188 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    1.0 (3)
  • Value for Money
    1.7 (3)
  • Ease of Use
    4.0 (2)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    2.5 (2)
  • Noise Level
    2.3 (3)
  • Product is used
  • Consistency
    4.0 (1)
  • Milk Frothing
    4.0 (1)
Previous
Next
Adrian f.

Adrian f.Sydney, NSW

Bad coffee 3 months into use.

published

Bought expresso maker from BingLee in April. Coffee was good at first. After 2 months, each cup of expresso gradually become twice as big, and thin. I tried different brands of coffee beans, grinds size, volume. Non seems to work.
I rang Breville 10 times over 3 days, listening to 'Your call is important to us...' for up to 10 minutes each, before I surrendered and left my phone number. Nobody seem to be care enough to call back for an discussion.

Purchased in April 2020 at Bing Lee Physical store.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Peter

PeterPerth, WA

Limited life - If you purchase Get the extended warranty

published

I purchased the BES920 in Jan 2017 from Harvey Norman. I thought that it was fantastic producing cafe quality strong coffee. So I encouraged my brother and mother to also get one. Within a year the boiler broke and was fixed under warranty, I think that it should have been replaced. 2 years later (Jan 2020) out of warranty and boilers were totally gone. Repair man said it would cost more to fix. Seems my brother had the same issue and his boilers broke within 3 years also. No coincidence, repairman told him it's a common fault. For $1000 I expect more than 3 years of use. Really annoyed and disappointed. 4 yr extended warranty and all would be fine.
Produces great coffee but make sure you get the extended warranty.

Purchased in January 2017 at Harvey Norman for $1,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Cat

CatMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

machine stopped working just outside of warranty

published

Very disappointed. This machine was great, when it worked, up until a few months out of warranty. Now I have a $1200+ machine that is unusable, and i have to pay to get it fixed. Paying this much for a machine to last a couple of years is absurd, the quality should be much better than that but there are so many people posting stories of similar issues with this machine, Breville clearly have some quality issues to address. Will be getting the repair quoted and going to ACCC if i have to, to ensure that Breville cover the repair costs of their faulty product. Have also had quality issues with other Breville appliances, this is the last straw and i will NOT be buying Breville again.

Purchased in March 2018 at Harvey Norman for $1,224.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Appliances

Find out how Breville Dual Boiler with Smart Grinder BES920 / BCG820 compares to other Appliances

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
craigwreid1

craigwreid1Sydney, NSW

  • 25 reviews
  • 14 likes

Clumpy grinds - awful grinder

published

Bought the dynamic duo and spent about a week trying to get a decent grind out of this grinder. The clumping and channeling the grinder caused was appalling. So much so I took the grinder back (particularly as it was making strange noises). I got another which wasn’t much better which I sold on eBay in disgust! My 9 year old sunbeam grinder out performed this every time. Now happy with a proper grinder (macap).

Purchased in February 2018.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Model B has full Power OFF after 20 minutes

published
Date PurchasedJune 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Katen

KatenNSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Great!

published

This is a really good coffee machine, the 3 star review is because it doesn’t leave room for large cups to be put under it.
Also the grinder is very very noisy at 3 am in the morning. But that’s probably as I am the only 9ne up at that time.

Date PurchasedMay 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Appalling spare parts support

published

A now obsolete plastic part that previously cost $3 is now unavailable and the fix is $500.. complete joke Breville. You force me to buy the spare overseas.
Such a shame as the coffee was quite good from this machine. Just dont expect it to last more than 5 years.

Date PurchasedJan 2013
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Jammy

Jammy

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Worked well for just under 2 years

published

After completing lots of research, we purchased the Dual Boiler as it was meant to be one of Breville's better machines. We were able to make pretty good coffee after a short time. Unfortunately, the steam wand developed a slow leak. I didn't think it was anything major, however, the warranty was about to expire so I took it in for repair. The repairer found that one of the boilers had corroded and many of the internals were rusted. The machine was prohibitively expensive to repair, so it was replaced with a brand new machine of the same model.

We're hoping we'll have better luck this time round.

It's a good machine, until it breaks.

Date PurchasedMar 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Justin

JustinCanberra

Don't waste your money

published

Purchased in April 2016 and performed well until doing a descale in August 2017. After the descale the machine started leaking from the hot water tap. The machine is now in for repair for the fourth time with issues such as leaking from steamer and turning off while heating up. We now have a very expensive paper weight. Do not buy this machine if you want a quality product that lasts. Breville customer service's mantra is "there's a two year repair warranty" and refuse to replace what is clearly a faulty machine.

Date PurchasedApr 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Appliances

Find out how Breville Dual Boiler with Smart Grinder BES920 / BCG820 compares to other Appliances

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Tangent

TangentSydney

Good coffee but failed after 3 years and irreparable, not really good enough Breville

published
Date PurchasedMay 2014
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
CMV

CMVbrisbane

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great machine but it now overflows and coffee goes everywhere

published

When putting the coffee in it is overflowing and dripping everywhere
Think the parts should be more readily available to fix
It is easy to clean and use but must be careful to not over tighten it and be careful what you put the grind size on
We have the matching set

Date PurchasedFeb 2015
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
TOOL-MAN

TOOL-MANAU

  • 4 reviews
  • 5 likes

Don't expect parts backup

published
Date PurchasedJuly 2015
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
CHANCHO

CHANCHOGeelong

Descaling kills what is otherwise great machine

published

I bought this machine in 2014 and have had it sent for repair 3 times. All 3 times issue was related to issues caused from descaling. Last time service 3 months ago and cannot descale at all. I'm taking the matter to VCAT. It's a joke that companies can sell and get away with design technical faults and not have to deal with them.

Date PurchasedJuly 2014
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Ken

KenAuckland, NZ

Disappointing service (NZ)

published

Purchased BES920 & Smart Grinder July 2015. Had a broken disc in group head in Jan 2017, and problem with extraction timer and start button in May 2017. Took to Breville authorised service agent, first repair took 5 weeks, second repair 6 weeks and still waiting. Part of this is I am in NZ and agents have to send to Australia for parts. Happy with performance of machine, but service for repairs is very poor.

Date PurchasedJuly 2015
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Keeps on breaking down

published
Date PurchasedJune 2015
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Appliances

Find out how Breville Dual Boiler with Smart Grinder BES920 / BCG820 compares to other Appliances

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Wizard42

Wizard42Brisbane

  • 3 reviews
  • 7 likes

Good Coffee But Horrible Support!!

published
Date PurchasedJune 2015
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Adam

AdamGold Coast

Parts

published
Date PurchasedApr 2015
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
LouMary

LouMaryGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 4 likes

Descale function very clumsy - took me several hours to get the coffee boiler to work, steam boiler

published

Coffee is great when its all working but we have had several issues, the latest is that the steam doesn't work after we tried to descale as per instruction manual. I was going to leave it, but the descale message was showing up on the display for the past few weeks so i decided to run the descale program. I have spent more than 4hrs trying to reset - let it cool down etc, but it is still not working properly! So at the moment, the steamer has ceased working. Other issues mainly related to the water tap leaking, the group handle breaking and the brew head needing replacement. I am disappointed with my purchase mainly because of reliability issues (all different)

Date PurchasedDec 2013
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Have used this machine for 4 months, good or bad coffee it made depends on my luck.

published
Date PurchasedApr 2016
4 comments
Breville
BrevilleBreville

Hi Shu Z - please call customer service for assistance - 1300 139 798 - Mon to Fri. Thanks, the Breville team

Shu Z
Shu Z
Shu Z
Shu Z
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Smartly built to wear out in 2 years

published

Disappointed with an inconsistent grind from the "smart grinder" it would seem from googling this grinder after a major failure, the impeller which throws the coffee grinds into the brew head wears out (and is not replaceable) causing the machine to jam up. Sorry just another throw away item, get what you pay for!!!

Date PurchasedSept 2014
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Page 1 of 2
See all Breville Dual Boiler with Smart Grinder BES920 / BCG820 reviews

Questions & Answers

Ken

Kenasked

BES920 (Dual Boiler)

I have a BSS920 about 3 years old and am having a problem with descaling. Have descaled previously with no problems.
Following the manual instructions I empty the boilers and next step is to begin Descale, press 1 cup button to begin to descale and figures 20 (for seconds) show in screen) and press 1cup button. However nothing appears in the screen and nothing happens.
Anyone have a solution?

1 answer
Reviewer R.
Reviewer R.

Breville should have a solution

Paul L

Paul Lasked

BES920 (Dual Boiler)

I complete a descale on my BES920 and the Descale Message remains on. Has been occuring for last 18 months or so. I descale every 2 to 3 months but no change

1 answer
Richo
Richo

Hey Paul, apologies if you've tried this but maybe reset your hardness setting. With machine off, hold down 1 cup button and turn on. reset should appear on display, hit menu to select and then set your hardness.

Steve B.

Steve B.asked

BES920 (Dual Boiler)

Machine only heating to 72° then hovers around that temperature, have checked that the setting is still at 93° , tried unplugging for 60 minutes (as says somewhere in manual) .
Obviously can’t make a coffee at this temperature.

Any ideas please?

1 answer
Reviewer R.
Reviewer R.

See similar complaint below

See all Breville Dual Boiler with Smart Grinder BES920 / BCG820 questions

Get an answer from our members and Breville representatives

Breville Dual Boiler with Smart Grinder BES920 / BCG820

Details

Compare both Breville Dual Boiler with Smart Grinder BES920 / BCG820
CategoryAppliances and Coffee Grinders / RoastersAppliances and Semi-Automatic and Manual Coffee Machines
Pump Pressure15bar
Water Tank Capacity2.5L
Price (RRP) $299.95$1699.95
Number of Grind Settings60
Input Power165w2200w
Width160mm372mm
Height389mm377mm
Depth214mm404mm
Coffee Bean Capacity450g
Replaced byBreville Dynamic Duo BEP920Breville Dynamic Duo BEP920
Compare both Breville Dual Boiler with Smart Grinder BES920 / BCG820

  • MPN: 6098 and BES920
  • GTIN13: 9312432021937

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.