?
? !
4 photos
Breville Dual Boiler with Smart Grinder BES920 / BCG820

Breville Dual Boiler with Smart Grinder BES920 / BCG820

BES920 (Dual Boiler), BCG820 (Grinder)
4.3 from 188 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    1.0 (1)
  • Value for Money
    2.0 (1)
  • Ease of Use
    4.0 (1)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    2.0 (1)
  • Noise Level
    3.0 (1)
  • Product is used
Previous
Next
Peter

PeterPerth, WA

Limited life - If you purchase Get the extended warranty

published

I purchased the BES920 in Jan 2017 from Harvey Norman. I thought that it was fantastic producing cafe quality strong coffee. So I encouraged my brother and mother to also get one. Within a year the boiler broke and was fixed under warranty, I think that it should have been replaced. 2 years later (Jan 2020) out of warranty and boilers were totally gone. Repair man said it would cost more to fix. Seems my brother had the same issue and his boilers broke within 3 years also. No coincidence, repairman told him it's a common fault. For $1000 I expect more than 3 years of use. Really annoyed and disappointed. 4 yr extended warranty and all would be fine.
Produces great coffee but make sure you get the extended warranty.

Purchased in January 2017 at Harvey Norman for $1,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Model B has full Power OFF after 20 minutes

published
Date PurchasedJune 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Katen

KatenNSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Great!

published

This is a really good coffee machine, the 3 star review is because it doesn’t leave room for large cups to be put under it.
Also the grinder is very very noisy at 3 am in the morning. But that’s probably as I am the only 9ne up at that time.

Date PurchasedMay 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Appliances

Find out how Breville Dual Boiler with Smart Grinder BES920 / BCG820 compares to other Appliances

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Jammy

Jammy

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Worked well for just under 2 years

published

After completing lots of research, we purchased the Dual Boiler as it was meant to be one of Breville's better machines. We were able to make pretty good coffee after a short time. Unfortunately, the steam wand developed a slow leak. I didn't think it was anything major, however, the warranty was about to expire so I took it in for repair. The repairer found that one of the boilers had corroded and many of the internals were rusted. The machine was prohibitively expensive to repair, so it was replaced with a brand new machine of the same model.

We're hoping we'll have better luck this time round.

It's a good machine, until it breaks.

Date PurchasedMar 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Tangent

TangentSydney

Good coffee but failed after 3 years and irreparable, not really good enough Breville

published
Date PurchasedMay 2014
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
CMV

CMVbrisbane

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great machine but it now overflows and coffee goes everywhere

published

When putting the coffee in it is overflowing and dripping everywhere
Think the parts should be more readily available to fix
It is easy to clean and use but must be careful to not over tighten it and be careful what you put the grind size on
We have the matching set

Date PurchasedFeb 2015
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Ken

KenAuckland, NZ

Disappointing service (NZ)

published

Purchased BES920 & Smart Grinder July 2015. Had a broken disc in group head in Jan 2017, and problem with extraction timer and start button in May 2017. Took to Breville authorised service agent, first repair took 5 weeks, second repair 6 weeks and still waiting. Part of this is I am in NZ and agents have to send to Australia for parts. Happy with performance of machine, but service for repairs is very poor.

Date PurchasedJuly 2015
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Keeps on breaking down

published
Date PurchasedJune 2015
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Adam

AdamGold Coast

Parts

published
Date PurchasedApr 2015
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Appliances

Find out how Breville Dual Boiler with Smart Grinder BES920 / BCG820 compares to other Appliances

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
LouMary

LouMaryGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 4 likes

Descale function very clumsy - took me several hours to get the coffee boiler to work, steam boiler

published

Coffee is great when its all working but we have had several issues, the latest is that the steam doesn't work after we tried to descale as per instruction manual. I was going to leave it, but the descale message was showing up on the display for the past few weeks so i decided to run the descale program. I have spent more than 4hrs trying to reset - let it cool down etc, but it is still not working properly! So at the moment, the steamer has ceased working. Other issues mainly related to the water tap leaking, the group handle breaking and the brew head needing replacement. I am disappointed with my purchase mainly because of reliability issues (all different)

Date PurchasedDec 2013
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
andysgalant

andysgalantAU

  • 10 reviews
  • 10 likes

Good coffee, unreliable machine.

published

Hi i picked up one of these machines just over 3 years ago in that time it has been replaced several times under warranty. on all of the machines the Volumetric pore was inconsistent (this is the button you push to deliver a set amount of coffee, in my case 30ml) I would get results from around 20ml to 50ml or 18 seconds to over 50 seconds on a bad day. if you are prepared to use a shot glass to pore every shot you can get some excellent consistent results. will this coffee machine make great coffee, yes it will. will it make grate coffee in auto, very rarely. Will I get another one, No.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

broke. repaired. Happy. sort of.

published

Great machine. Until we descaled. Then the second boiler blew up even though i carefully followed instructions. Common problem. Repaired under warranty. Only took 1 week. Easy to deal with. No cost. But what happens a year later if it blows up again when I descale and it's not under warranty? Bit unsure.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Marshall

MarshallBrisbane

BES920 Descales?

published
1 comment
Marshall
Marshall
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
See all Breville Dual Boiler with Smart Grinder BES920 / BCG820 reviews

Questions & Answers

Ken

Kenasked

BES920 (Dual Boiler)

I have a BSS920 about 3 years old and am having a problem with descaling. Have descaled previously with no problems.
Following the manual instructions I empty the boilers and next step is to begin Descale, press 1 cup button to begin to descale and figures 20 (for seconds) show in screen) and press 1cup button. However nothing appears in the screen and nothing happens.
Anyone have a solution?

No answers
Paul L

Paul Lasked

BES920 (Dual Boiler)

I complete a descale on my BES920 and the Descale Message remains on. Has been occuring for last 18 months or so. I descale every 2 to 3 months but no change

1 answer
Richo
Richo

Hey Paul, apologies if you've tried this but maybe reset your hardness setting. With machine off, hold down 1 cup button and turn on. reset should appear on display, hit menu to select and then set your hardness.

Steve B.

Steve B.asked

BES920 (Dual Boiler)

Machine only heating to 72° then hovers around that temperature, have checked that the setting is still at 93° , tried unplugging for 60 minutes (as says somewhere in manual) .
Obviously can’t make a coffee at this temperature.

Any ideas please?

1 answer
Reviewer R.
Reviewer R.

See similar complaint below

See all Breville Dual Boiler with Smart Grinder BES920 / BCG820 questions

Get an answer from our members and Breville representatives

Breville Dual Boiler with Smart Grinder BES920 / BCG820

Details

Compare both Breville Dual Boiler with Smart Grinder BES920 / BCG820
CategoryAppliances and Coffee Grinders / RoastersAppliances and Semi-Automatic and Manual Coffee Machines
Pump Pressure15bar
Water Tank Capacity2.5L
Price (RRP) $299.95$1699.95
Number of Grind Settings60
Input Power165w2200w
Width160mm372mm
Height389mm377mm
Depth214mm404mm
Coffee Bean Capacity450g
Replaced byBreville Dynamic Duo BEP920Breville Dynamic Duo BEP920
Compare both Breville Dual Boiler with Smart Grinder BES920 / BCG820

  • MPN: 6098 and BES920
  • GTIN13: 9312432021937

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.