??!
2 photos
Breville Crystal Clear BKE595

Breville Crystal Clear BKE595 (page 2 of 4)

MPN: BKE595CLR
2.9 from 79 reviews

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
19
4 star
13
3 star
9
2 star
21
1 star
17

Tony

TonyGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 19 reviews
  • 55 likes
  • Verified purchase

Nice looking kettle, but broke down within a year, poor quality

published

It was a nice looking kettle, and I have used it for a couple months, but I did realise that quality was a bit poor, especially around the seal with the lid, sometimes, it deforms so much so that the lid cannot be closed.

And after 8 or so months, it failed, stopped powering on, which I then brought back to Harvey Normal Melbourne QV, and they happily refunded it and I replaced with another model one, much better choice I had to say.

Date PurchasedAug 2015

consumer007

consumer007Sydney

  • 12 reviews
  • 7 likes

Great looking Kettle. Nice addition to our home

published

Excellent looking Kettle. Nice to watch it boil and fancy look to it. Looks great. Boils water. What else could you want? I've heard you need to clean these with vinegar but haven't had any issues so far. Looks great if you have a nice kitchen i suppose. Does what any kettle does.

Date PurchasedJan 2018
Neil

NeilPerth, WA

  • 5 reviews
  • 6 likes

Looks good ... that's where it ends.

published
Date PurchasedApr 2016
Chris

ChrisPerth

  • Verified purchase

Disgusting service from Breville

published

Bought new BKE595 for Christmas present to house. Used 3 times then glass cracked and kettle leaked. Phoned through to Breville Australia to ask about 12 month replacement guarantee, was told Breville don't cover the glass so basically not interested in listening further. So that's it a GLASS kettle that is not covered by Breville guarantee or warranty. I would not recommend any Breville product after this experience.

Date PurchasedDec 2017
2 comments
Breville
BrevilleBreville

Hi Chris, although we don't manufacture a replacement glass carafe that certainly does not mean there are no options. We should have taken care of this without hesitation and I'd like to do just that, will be sending a direct message shortly.

Chris
Chris

MB_PR

MB_PRAU

  • 9 reviews
  • 12 likes

Looks nice, but functionally not great

published

This kettle (BK595) looks really good, but the heating element causes the bottom plate to scale up quickly and this looks unsightly. The boil sensor must be poorly placed as sometimes it boils for 30-90 seconds before it switches off. Now, after a little over 2 years, the lid opener has broken internally, so it can't be opened now - and the screws holding it together can only be accessed when the lid is open, so it's non-repairable.
So, while I liked the idea of a glass kettle, rather than plastic which flakes after time, getting only 2 years out of this is very disappointing - though probably all that can be expected these days.

Date PurchasedSep 2015

Boiling doesn't always shut off

published

As others have said, this can have issues and keep boiling and not shut off. I've stopped using the product due to my predicted disaster of someone getting burnt or this appliance boiling dry. I'm surprised, given the other reviews a recall hasn't been initiated. Stay well clear of this.

Date PurchasedOct 2015

Leigh

LeighGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 21 reviews
  • 9 likes

A cup of chlorine to go please..

published
Date PurchasedDec 2016

Rachel Z

Rachel ZAU

  • 5 reviews

good quality

published

bought this kettle as the lid of our last kettle fell off after less than 1yr use,love the soft open lid of this one,and the design looks good too,however there's water mark down the bottom after use it a few times but i think it's the common problem of all kettles,just need descaling regularly

Date PurchasedAug 2017
ShoppersChoice

ShoppersChoice

  • 9 reviews
  • 3 likes

Love it

published

Love the fact that I can see inside for any FBs but never been a problem. And looks awesome while boiling. I sometimes want to add water and the lid will not open when its hot. Must be a safety function but I can add water through the spout. Great XMas gift,

Date PurchasedDec 2015
nic

nic

  • 7 reviews
  • 9 likes

I returned it.

published

The lid pops open at random times during boils cycle. The glass is nice but unless you can ensure stains don't build up on base plate you will get a beautiful view of stained metal. It is quite expensive compared with other similar glass kettles which don't have a track record of problems like this model. I think under consumer law Breville should have stopped selling these until the issue is fixed, it is not dangerous but there is clear trend of faults in this line.

Date PurchasedAug 2017

Sam

SamLaunceston, TAS

  • 8 reviews
  • 7 likes

Not entirely convinced.

published

I bought this kettle about 2 months ago. It boils quite quickly and quietly, and is and attractive addition to my kitchen bench.

However, there are a few shortcomings with this model. The auto-off switch doesn't cut out when the kettle is remove from the base (meaning the kettle will resume boiling once re-docked). The single-walled glass and stainless steel body can get very hot to touch when in use, and are a magnet for airborne grime and fingerprints.

Unfortunately, I have had a couple of incidents of the flip lid popping open by itself when in use that others have reported on here. When this happens, the kettle auto-off doesn't work, and the kettle could potentially boil dry if unsupervised.

Date PurchasedJun 2017

Lid opens while in process of boiling water

published

Only have kettle Breville Bke595 about four weeks and already problems with lid popping up while kettle is heating up the water. Boiling process takes longer because of it- No good.
Good looking kettle- like the fact you can see the water boiling.
Wish I had read comments on product review before my purchase!

Date PurchasedJul 2017

Fong

FongPerth

  • 10 reviews
  • 5 likes

Quick but loud

published

It's nice and does boil the water really quick. It's probably because of that, it is really loud, which is the annoying part. The slow opening is nice, but I felt that the water would spill if it is filled to the max. I always try to avoid filling it to the max.

Date PurchasedJul 2017

Nutcracka

NutcrackaHeyfield

  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes

Lid keeps opening while boiling

published

Very nice kettle to look at but after about 1 month of use the lid opens every time when it starts boiling. Going by the number of comments on here about this issue I would have thought that Breville may have issued a notice about it and offered refunds. It takes an average amount of time to boil water so that's not a real issue but that lid needs to be fixed otherwise I really would not recommend this product.

Date PurchasedApr 2017

Disappointed

published

I bought this kettle yesterday. Was very excited to get it because of the reviews and we have other Brebelle appliances. The kettle steams up inside and does not get clear after boiling. Does not look attractive. Any suggestions on how to prevent the steam from accumulating? I would really like to keep it however if there is no solution, I'll return it.

Date PurchasedJul 2017
DGD

DGDBrisbane

  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

Pain in the backside

published

I do like this kettle, but it is very slow to boil sometimes and and absolute pain to keep cleaning. I would still get it again as I had a shock with finding a dead cockroach in my friends kettle (ew!) and now cant use anything I dont see. I just wish it boiled a bit faster.

Date PurchasedFeb 2017

Nicole

NicolePerth

  • 2 reviews

Excellent

published

This is a great product . It looks attractive and boils quickly and efficiently. It has a large capacity and is easy to use. We have read reviews saying that sometimes the handle separates from the jug but we have seen no sign of that yet. We would recommend it.

Date PurchasedApr 2017

Pri

PriSydney, NSW

  • 19 reviews
  • 12 likes
  • Verified purchase

Handle Came off & lid won't close

published
Date PurchasedFeb 2016
1 comment
Pri
Pri

Jono

JonoSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 5 likes

Beautiful design, terrible quality

published

We bought this lovely looking kettle and after 3 months lid would not stay closed to to handle pulling away from jug. Meyer replaced, but now we have the same issue. I glued the handle back but the lightweight plastic of the lid mechanism is cracked and so the lid won't stay closed. Shame as the rest of the (functionally useless) kettle is great.

Date PurchasedNov 2015

Jess

JessMelbourne

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Disappointed

published

Purchased this less than 6 months ago and the lid won't close properly. It first started popping open by itself when it had boiled, making me think I hadn't closed it. Then it started opening while I was pouring the water into my teapot, nearly burning my hand with the steam. Now it doesn't shut at all. Unfortunately we threw the receipt away just prior to Christmas. Would love a refund or just a better model...

Date PurchasedSep 2016

Page 2 of 4

See all Breville Crystal Clear reviews

Questions & Answers

Dennis F.

Dennis F.asked

Why does the lid pop open when water has boiled

2 answers
Rohan C.
Rohan C.

Ours does the same

A M G
A M G

It’s broken.
If it’s under warranty get it replaced.
Pretty common with this model


Troy A

Troy Aasked

Hi, I bought this less than a year ago and the lid doesn’t close because the handle has separated at the top. How do I fix that?

No answers

Carrie

Carrieasked

Got the Crystal clear Kettle just suddenly wouldn’t turn on, the white light not respond at all, same problem anyone?

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Breville representatives

Details

CategoryElectric Kettles
Price (RRP) $99.95
Capacity1.7 L
Features360° Swivel Base, BPA Free and Water Gauge
Variable Temperatures No
Construction Material Glass and Stainless Steel
Colour / Finish Clear Glass
Power2,400 W
Manufacturer Warranty1 year(s)
Discontinuation dateAug 2019
Replaced byBreville the Crystal Clear BKE750
Compare all Breville Crystal Clear

Visit official website
  • GTIN13: 9312432020855
  • MPN: BKE595CLR

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.