??!
1 photo
Breville Smart Temp BSC420

Breville Smart Temp BSC420 (page 2 of 2)

MPN: BSC420
4.1 from 35 reviews

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
14
4 star
15
3 star
1
2 star
4
1 star
1

CDAussie

CDAussieNortheast, VIC

  • 17 reviews
  • 15 likes

A fairly good slow cooker, with the emphasis on "slow"

published

Replaced our larger slow cooker as our children had left home. Cooks o.k. but is a bit too slow on the low setting compared to its predecessor so you either have to start it up earlier or keep it on higher settings for a while. Outside housing is a bit thin and not sure if it would stand up to long term use without damage. Lid is o.k. but handle is cheap rubbish.

Date PurchasedApr 2015

Reliable hasslefree cooking

published

This product is very reliable i'm busy working woman I prepare my food in the morning before I go to work, when I come home it's cooked to perfection. Cleaning of the slow cooker is simple and easy, after dishing your meal just fill the pot with warm water then just wipe out the crockpot. I have cooked soup's casseroles and silverside with vegetables all meals have been perfect

Date PurchasedJan 2017
Jol

JolBrisbane

  • 6 reviews
  • 7 likes

Great size. Great function.

published

I purchased this slow cooker about 2 years ago. It gets used 1-2 times a month in summer and multiple times a week in winter.
I've never had an issue with it BUT, I wish I had hunted a little harder before buying.
The size of the bowl is fantastic but frustratingly cannot be used in the oven (something many other brands can do).
If this is not a concern for you then I would certainly recommend the model, but I personally prefer multi purpose items. That's on me though. I could have done my research first instead of assuming it would be oven safe.

Date PurchasedNov 2014

Major Hazard!

published
Date PurchasedOct 2016

Chopper

Chopper

  • 3 reviews

Unbalanced

published

Great slow cooker, however, after one use one of the rubber bottom plugs broke off. I got an exchange no problem. Hopefully it's not a design fault. I usually have no problems with any Breville product that I have bought in the past. So far so good with the latest one.

1 comment
Chopper
Chopper

The second one did the same.....Ugh.


Faulty display. Then caused the safety switch to turn off all power to the house.

published

Denise

DeniseMelbourne

  • 4 reviews
  • 4 likes

Digital Display failing

published

I purchased this slow cooker approx. 18 months ago after replacing 2 failed Sunbeams ( non stick insert dreadful quality ) unfortunately the digital display started to fail on one of the numbers a couple of months ago. I notice the panel is starting to come a little loose. I wonder if this might be the reason? Other than that I am very happy with it.


Mum2B

Mum2BPeel, WA

  • 7 reviews
  • 3 likes

Excellent! Just load, set and go!

published

I originally bought this because our 3 L one wasn't big enough for four adults and the amount of cooking we do. I love the digital display though it is more the timer I love most. I start work early and finish work at 5. By the time I get home, sometimes I'm just too tired to cook. With this slow cooker I just dump all my ingredients in it and set. I love the size of it as I slow cook my roasts in it. Beautiful. Well worth the investment.

Connie S

Connie S

  • 2 reviews

Great slow cooker

published

Bought this as a replacement to my Cuisinart slow cooker that died after about 2 years. So far it has been great - does actually slow cook, unlike some others. The timer and warm function make life very easy. The only downside is that the outside can get a little too hot. I've only had it for about 6 months, but it has been used almost weekly in that time. Hope it survives better than the last one.

Happee Monkee

Happee MonkeeKew

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great cooker!

published

I bought this slow cooker just before my baby was born so I could do easy meals post-pregnancy. An excellent purchase. Keeps food warm after cooking time has ended. It has three cooking options (instead of just low/high) but I've only ever used the low so the meal usually takes 8 hours to complete. It's too big for my small family. A 3.5 litre or 4 litre size would have been perfect.


Good cooker but only for 1 year

published

Had this bought for me Christmas 2013 -by Jan 2015 could no longer read the digital panel - was good while it worked but need my slow cooker to last a lot longer than 12 months.


Clare

Claresydney

  • 2 reviews
  • 7 likes

Slow cooker good when working

published

Bought this just over a year ago and it has little use for the year. On the times I have used it it has been good and the stay warm function is great. A year later display has gone and now I can't read how long it is on for, contacted Breville to be told nothing they can do as its outside of the warranty (by less than 2 months) !! Very annoyed as although its not the most expensive its not exactly the cheapest! VERY disappointed in Breville :-(


Johnl56

Johnl56Adelaide

  • 4 reviews
  • 8 likes

Excellent Product

published

Peachkoala

PeachkoalaMelbourne

Fantastic slow cooker, not too fast, not too slow, perfect!!

published

I originally had another breville slow cooker, but it was cooking too fast and I wanted a slow cooker with a keep warm function. Bought this at myer and have been in love with it ever since. I have made pasta sauce and meatballs, Moroccan chicken, soups, whole chicken, lamb chops etc. it cooks meats and vegetables in just the right amount of time, eg. Beef in 8 hours, chicken in 6 hours. Love the keep warm function, it keeps the meal warm at just the right temperature. I highly recommend this slow cooker!!
Cooks at just the right temperature, love the keep warm function
Nothing

3 comments
ALG
ALG

seriously looking into buying this but i wonder if the inner pot section can be used on the stove top and in the oven for browning?

RJL
RJL

Don't believe so. It is a ceramic bowl, so definitely not on the stove top. RJL

Peachkoala
Peachkoala

No, can only be used in slow cooker.

Helen

HelenNewcastle, New South Wales

Bees Knees of Slow Cookers

published

Hasn't left the bench top in the 3 days, just love the programmable feature. Cooks for the adjustable programmed time at either low, medium or high and then switches to the keep warm cycle which is also adjustable. I cooked beef roast, Moroccan lamb chops and chicken bacon potato bake, all turned out to perfection. My family just love it. No fuss, no mess, after the insert been licked (scrapped) clean straight into the dishwasher and ready to start again in the morning. Thinking fish curry tonight, nice recipe in the Breville handbook.
set and forget until it is time to eat


Page 2 of 2

Questions & Answers

JB21

JB21asked

Can this slow cooker be pre set to start?

1 answer
Sue
Sue

No, it cannot.


bree m

bree masked

I just purchased this slow cooker last week and today finally had the chance to try a meal in it.
It made a sort of a loud noise a bit like a cracking noise and all LEDs lit with the timer countdown replaced by ‘C1’. It’s super hot to touch on the handles and smells faintly of plastic. The food inside doesn’t smell though which is great.
What does this error message mean, Breville? Do I take it back or contact you since it’s under warranty?

1 answer
Nassim H
Nassim H

Hi there,
Did you find out what the problem was by any chance.
I had the same issue.
Thank you


Ellie

Ellieasked

Have used this slower cooker only a couple of times and each time noticed a strange smell coming from the main unit (not the ceramic bowl) - a faint plasticky smell. I wiped the inside of the unit multiple times. It is definitely free on any factory greases or oils. Perfectly clean, no debris. What is causing the smell and will it go away with use? Most importantly, is the food safe to eat as the fumes would have gone into the food.

1 answer
mollye6
mollye6

I would take it back, mine never had smell to it.


Get an answer from our members and Breville representatives

Details

CategorySlow Cookers
Price (RRP) $109.95
Capacity6L
Keep Warm SettingYes
Dishwasher Safe PartsYes
Dimensions 370 x 465 x 295 mm
DisplayLCD
Weight6.1 kg
Power280 W
Outer Body Construction MaterialStainless Steel
Cooking Bowl MaterialCeramic
Removable CordNo
Manufacturer Warranty1 year(s)
Release dateFeb 2013

Visit official website - Download manual
  • GTIN13: 9312432019620
  • MPN: BSC420

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.