??!
2 photos
Breville Flavour Maker BSC500

Breville Flavour Maker BSC500 (page 2 of 4)

MPN: BSC500
4.5 from 62 reviews

Lives up to it's great reviews

As a newcomer to the slow cooker scene I relied heavily on the reviews here and this largely influenced my purchasing decision for this model. It is super easy to use and clean, and the fact that I can sauté the onions and brown the meat if required without creating extra dirty pots is just genius. The meals come out full of flavour and moisture. At nighttime I often don't feel like cooking and made poor decisions on what to eat, based on time and convenience, now I can prep it in the morning and know there is a decent hot meal waiting for me at nighttime.

Date PurchasedJul 2017

Love it!

I love this slow cooker and would recommend it to anyone! I use it almost everyday. It makes the most beautiful beef ragu. It is easy to use and great to throw things in and go to work, when you come home your house will smell divine and dinner is ready! Also great when you're having a dinner party.

Date PurchasedMay 2017

Brilliant!

I purchased my Breville Flavour Maker BSC500 when my old slow cooker failed to perform. To say I am thrilled with it would be an understatement. I love it. Being able to saute and brown your onions and meat on the cook top before placing all ingreds into the cooker is a big bonus. Have no hesitation in giving this product five out of five stars *****

Date PurchasedApr 2016

Perfect for winter

I make stews and soups often in my slow cooker. I can buy cheap cuts and the meat is tender. I set and forget and the food never burns. Always very tasty because it is slow cooked. The slow cooker has never had any issues. It's easy to clean which helps too.

Date PurchasedMay 2016

Lives up to its name!

this transforms any cheap old mixture of meat and vegetables into a simmering delight that's tender and full of flavour. Love the ease, timing and versatility of this excellent product and unlike my last Tefal one the food doesn't stick to the bottom if you forget to turn it off.

Date PurchasedMar 2016

Well worth the price

Removable sear pan makes it a one pot wonder! I use the low setting and the meat is always melt in the mouth. Tonight I am cooking chicken and can hardly wait. As we are a family of three I turn the leftovers into a pie a few nights later...delicious. It is very easy to use and washing up takes 2 minutes as nothing sticks.

Date PurchasedJun 2017

Great for winter!

Love this slow cooker!it's great just to throw everything in and not have to keep checking on it!it's made my life so much easier!there is nothing better than comfort food in the winter time.i also love that it's a great size so I can put the leftovers in the freezer!great time saver!

Date PurchasedMar 2015

From stovetop to slow cooker - more flavour!

I love being able to take the meat straight from the stovetop to the slow cooker. You can add some colour to the meat and all of the juices and flavours stays in the pan, something you can't do with the ceramic versions. Thinking about getting another one so we can do even bigger meals for the extended family

Date PurchasedAug 2016

Love it!

I've been really happy with this so far. It's so handy that I can brown meat etc on the hob in the crock pot rather than dirtying a second pan and it doesn't burn food like some can do. I have put the crock pot into the oven to brown off casseroles etc and it has been fine which is great.

Date PurchasedSep 2016

Very useful

Very easy to clean, easy to use and cooks perfectly. I use it for all my slow cooked lamb, slow cooked pork, slow cooked beef dishes and anything else I can think of that can fit in there. Only down side is that you have to wait for six or seven hours!

Date PurchasedApr 2015

this is the reason why I cook

its a great product and It really does what it says, it help me make some great dishes and impress a heck lot of people, the best part about it is how easy it makes cooking and and the way they have designed this product is amazing brevillie always exceeds expectations

Date PurchasedMar 2017

Nice slow cooker

I needed a slow cooker and thought that this would be the one. It had the size (some can be way too small) and the features i was looking for - so i took the plunge.

After using for some time now, i actually prefer to use the stove top, oven or even the Weber for slow cooking. The BSC500 retains nearly all of the liquid, and doesn't let the sauce thicken up. You can reduce on the stove top afterwards i guess - but then what's the point of buying the slow cooker.

I've essentially relegates it to cooking soups - again using the stove top to thicken...

Date PurchasedOct 2016

Can't live without it

Very happy, so easy to use and my recipes are always perfect.
A must have for all families, really useful and saves time.
This was a very good price for the quality, not too expensive.
Really wish I bought one a long time ago would have made life a lot easier!

Date PurchasedNov 2016

Brilliant slow cooker

I purchased this slow cooker about a month ago and have used it for most of my meals since then. So easy to use and clean. Love being able to use the pot to brown meat and saute veg before putting it into the cooker to slow cook. Makes great curries and casseroles.

Date PurchasedMay 2017

Great size and slow cook very well

Very happy with this slow cooker. It is the right size and shape. Fits most family size roast and can still add some veggies around it. Easy way to have a one pot meal, throw everything in the morning and hot tender meat will be ready for dinner. I really love this slow cooker. I can brown the meat or onion in the pan on normal stove, then put it straight to the slow cooker. If in a hurry, I can brown the meat the day before, leave it in the pan, put glass lid on and keep it the the fridge for the next day to start the slow cooking. No delay cooking/timer on this machine. I have used the auto and low setting, both dishes turned out really tender. The rubber handle on the pan was handy. Cleaning up is a breeze, either using hot soapy water and soft sponge or just throw it in dishwasher.

Date PurchasedMar 2017

So easy to use!

Makes great casseroles & pot roasts in its 5LT capacity with ease of use. So handy to be able to sear meat or vegetables in the removable non stick searing pan. I have made pot roast with 1.5kg piece of meat and lots of vegetables and the flavour was amazing. Pasta ragu turns out so flavoursome! You can remove the power cord to bring the cooker over to the dining table for serving. There's no outside mess so all you have to wash is the searing pan and lid.

Date PurchasedJan 2017

Excellent slow cooker

Our first slow cooker, recommended by PR and also by family. Easy to use - ability to sear/brown meat on a stovetop and then transfer the pot to the cooker is very convenient (and saves on cleaning which I hate!) Have used it half a dozen times now and would like to use it more often! As winter approaches, this is highly likely.

Date PurchasedOct 2016

So handy in winter

I love this useful product. So easy to use and the results are always delicious. I have found it to be easy to clean and looks good on the benchtop. Also handy to keep meals warm once cooked and great when entertaining. So nice to be able to prep then leave it to do all the work.

Date PurchasedFeb 2015

Reliableplus super easy to use and clean.

I use this slow cooker at least once a week and marvel at it's ease of use every time. I love that you can go from stove top to the slow cooker in the one 'pan' which means less washing up for this busy mum, it is also ridiculously easy to clean.

Date PurchasedFeb 2016

Labour saver.... Yummee flavor..

More than satisfied with my Breville, I use it almost every day.. The concentrated juices are wonderful. It cleans up like new, Its uncomplicated and so easy to use.. I really don't know what I would do without it.. As I write I am cooking a piece of Ribeye, Garlic.Carrots and Potatoes... I am smiling :-)

Date PurchasedSep 2015

Page 2 of 4

Questions & Answers

Does this pot suit an induction cooktop for searing the meat? Also I have used slow cooker before and my husband complained of lack of flavour. Does this bring out flavour of food or provide bland comparison like other slow cookers?
1 answer
Searing does bring out flavour. However the pan is aluminium so unlikely to work with an induction cooktop (to my knowledge anyway).

Purchase the Breville Flavour Maker BSC 500 today and after referring to the booklet the pages are incorrect the book goes from page 8 then page 17, 1 7 to 24 then page 17 to 32 page 25 to32 page 41 to 47, not much good if I’m unable to look up a guide to slow cooking.
No answers

I’ve had this slow cooker for a few years and have been very happy with it especially in winter- hot meal ready to serve the family when I come home from work. I accidentally burnt the pan (on stove doing some reheating) yesterday. To my disappointment there is no replacement part I can buy! Or am I just looking at the wrong places? Help....
2 answers
A replacement pan is available if you google Breville parts online (e.g. Bigwarehousespares). However it will probably be cheaper to buy a new complete unit.Thank you!

Details

Flavour Maker BSC500
Price (RRP) $129.95
Capacity5L
Dishwasher Safe PartsYes
Dimensions 245 x 440 x 256 mm
Weight4.1 kg
Power230 W
Manufacturer Warranty1 year(s)
Release dateApr 2011

Visit official website - Download manual
  • GTIN13: 9312432016278
  • MPN: BSC500