??!
2 photos
Breville Flavour Maker BSC500

Breville Flavour Maker BSC500 (page 3 of 4)

MPN: BSC500
4.5 from 63 reviews

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
42
4 star
16
3 star
2
2 star
1
1 star
2

Labour saver.... Yummee flavor..

published

More than satisfied with my Breville, I use it almost every day.. The concentrated juices are wonderful. It cleans up like new, Its uncomplicated and so easy to use.. I really don't know what I would do without it.. As I write I am cooking a piece of Ribeye, Garlic.Carrots and Potatoes... I am smiling :-)

Date PurchasedSep 2015

Pen

PenBallarat

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

Makes winter dinners easy.

published

This is my second slow cooker and it does an amazing job, my first cooker was much more expensive than this one but no way nearly as good. The Breville flavour maker can be put on first thing int the morning and then put on the lowest heat so dinner is ready when home from work or you can out it on in the afternoon on the hottest setting so it will still be ready for dinner that night. The best part of it it is that itnis very very easy to clean. Love it.

Date PurchasedMar 2016
Mbna1234

Mbna1234Sydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 15 reviews

So happy with my purchase!

published

My much loved Sunbeam crock pot insert recently cracked and I was devestated as I do a lot of slow cooking. I'm so glad I chose this slow cooker to replace it as it has been fantastic. It cooks the food in a fairly quick amount of time (4 hours for chicken casseroles/curries), without over cooking and drying out. It is easy to wash and much less fragile as the crockery style inserts. My only issues so far is that the black non stick coating is starting to chip around the edges and also when I wash in the dishwasher, it seems to get black stuff on the base which gets all over tea towel. I love the searing feature which can save on time and washing up. Recommend!

Date PurchasedJan 2017
Mary60

Mary60Caloundra west

  • Verified purchase

Easy to use and clean

published

This breville slow cooker was an easy choice, firstly the removable metal pot was easy to use to brown food before we started the slow cooking process, we had a ceramic pot previously and it was showing some cracks way too early in its lifespan, the food cooked easy and tasty it was also very easy to clean even hubby found no problems with using it or cleaning the slow cooker, the price was also affordable and we have had no problems with the breville.

Date PurchasedSep 2016

ChristineS

ChristineSWanneroo

  • 2 reviews

Useful metal removable pot - great

published

I like Breville products and decided to give this one a try. I purchased the Breville Flavour Maker BSC500 because it has the removable metal pot which means I can brown food on the gas before putting it into the machine to complete the cooking. I think this gives better flavour and colour. I can also prepare food in the pot and keep it in the fridge until ready to cook; and put left overs into the fridge in the removable pot. Cooks well, I like the auto / high / low options (Auto = 2 hours on high then switches to low). No complaints whatsoever. I use silicon or wooden utensils and hand wash the pot, very easy to clean - lid can go in the dishwasher. Recommended. (Family of 3 adults with frequent extras to feed)! Makes magic lasagna :-)

Date PurchasedJun 2016

J. Micallef

J. MicallefMELBOURNE

  • 2 reviews

Takes too long!

published

I had 4 slow cookers going at once, varying brands but all the same sizes, this was one of them. This one took the longest, probably about 2 -3 hours longer. It cooked ok but when compared to the ceramic based ones this came no where near in flavour and speed. Easy to clean and heat that you can put it directly on the stovetop.

Date PurchasedJul 2016

J cook

J cook

  • 2 reviews

Love it!

published

Great cooking results, flavour full food, easy to us, no worries about leaving on to cook over night or during the day, comes with good recipe cards and produces same good results each time we cook the same meal, great price, easy to clean with it's non stick surface and easy to store away

Date PurchasedJun 2015

Fred

Fred

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Not good

published

Non stick coating on pan is easily scratched although silicone utensils are used.
It is starting to now to peel, was good for 12 months. The appliance otherwise is good both low, high and auto settings work, also the fact that you can sear in the pan make pre browning.
Easy just the non stick.

Date PurchasedJul 2013
1 comment
Breville
BrevilleBreville

Hi Fred - the design team receives these notifications and appreciates feedback. Thanks, the Breville team

Excellent little (3.5ltr) cooker.

published

I am very happy with the small Breville Flavour Maker. The Braise option is great to brown meat and vegetables before slow cooking stewsand soups. It is easy to get delicious, fluffy rice. Slow cook low setting lets you have a hot meal waiting when you get home at dinner time. You need to stay with the cooker when it is braising, or on slow cook high.
The instructions are very good and include cooking times as well as a few recipes. The light weight cooking bowl is easy to manage when hot, and being non stick, is very easy to clean. I love it.

1 comment
Breville
BrevilleBreville

Hi Chris - thanks for your comments. The Breville team

EssJay

EssJayAU

  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes

I'm hooked on this slow cooker

published

Les Collins

Les CollinsBrisbane

  • 6 reviews

Versatile and efficient. Perfect

published

Love, love, love the stove top browning option pre slow cook, and the stove top sauce making post slow cook. Anything that saves me washing up (ok, I lie) - I mean one less pan to manouvre into the dishwasher. Mine's a newbie so I'll be on the lookout for the teflon thingie mentioned in previous posts. But, all in all, I'm happy. Does a beautifull job.

2 comments
Breville
BrevilleBreville

Hi Les - thanks for your comments. Please note the cleaning and care tips in the instruction book for best maintenance of the non-stick surface. Thanks, the Breville team

Les Collins
Les Collins

This is the best slow cooker ever! I can't live without

published

fantastic slow cooker! Loving the removable pan which can be used on stovetop for searing and general stovetop cooking then paced into Slowcooker for slow cooking. So convenient And versatile I love it.

My food always cooks perfectly and the sauce or soup's flavours are wonderfully rich from slowcooking.

Will upgrade to the 7 litre in the future if family expands but for now the 5 litre is perfect size.


Scott

ScottHighett

  • 2 reviews

Works well - No Problems

published

Angelina

AngelinaMelbourne

  • 28 reviews
  • 6 likes

Great gift

published

We got this as a wedding gift. We use it a lot and love it. Makes dinner perpetration on a busy day so much easier. It would be good if it had a timer or auto on/off function. Also washing the pot can be a bit tricky as it's large and heavy. But all in all great item.

Non stick coating doesn't even stick to the pan

published

I've had this pan replaced twice. Each time the non stick coating has bubbled and peeled- very disappointing as it was otherwise a great product.
Find yourself a ceramic pot- unless you like eating Teflon.

BRETT

BRETTperth w.a

  • 2 reviews
  • 7 likes

No warrenty on pan!

published

Only 4 month old and the two coat non stick for easy cleaning pan the coating is now cumming off . Contacted breville sorry sir but theres no warranty on pan ! The cooker is no good with out a pan


Kitchenhack

KitchenhackToowoomba, Queensland

  • 4 reviews

Love it!

published

I previously had the 6.5L breville and the bowl cracked and I couldn't get a replacement one. So I thought that I'd get one with the ability to sear/brown the meat first, since I was buying a new one. I don't always brown the meat (& recipes still turn out fine), but great option. Also the size is fabulous. I was concerned it would be too small, but it's just the right size for 1 - 2kgs meat, plus veges.
Lightweight bowl, perfect size for the family of 4 plus leftovers.
Not a major issue, but can't stand how the washing up brush bristles get stuck between the glass and metal edging on the lid.

1 comment
AnnV
AnnV

Brilliant product. We have used a trusted old slow cooker for 20 years and recently purchased a Breville. Very classy product. Cooks wonderful stews etc. Thoroughly recommend.
Ann V.


jennya1979

jennya1979Hobart

  • 3 reviews

Makes life so much easier!

published

This slow cooker is sooo easy to use. I am often at work for 11+ hours during the week and it reliably cooks fantastic meals every time even when the cooking time is extended by 2-3 hours. With even heat distribution and a low heat that isn't too hot, the easy sear pan makes cleaning up a breeze. I can't cook very well and my husband says the meals I have made are the best he has ever had :)
Easy sear pan, easy cleaning, flavour, simple to use.

1 comment
AnnV
AnnV

The stove top browning facility is great.


mp44spike

mp44spikeSYDNEY

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great Slow Cooker

published

This is a great slow cooker. The ability to use the pan for cook-top searing is fantastic - keeps all the juices in the pot and saves on washing up! The cooker comes with three settings slow, fast & auto & is easy to clean. It is my first experience with a slow cooker & I cannot recommend it highly enough
Being able to pan sear meats & vegetables in the cooking container.
No 'warm' option - but I have not found this a problem


otzi

otziAU

  • 11 reviews
  • 15 likes

Good for stock

published

Page 3 of 4

Questions & Answers

Kerryn M

Kerryn Masked

Is there an induction insert available for the Breville BDC500 slow cooker (to buy as a spare part)?

No answers

ADobson

ADobsonasked

Does this pot suit an induction cooktop for searing the meat?

Also I have used slow cooker before and my husband complained of lack of flavour. Does this bring out flavour of food or provide bland comparison like other slow cookers?

1 answer
Ronikins
Ronikins

Searing does bring out flavour. However the pan is aluminium so unlikely to work with an induction cooktop (to my knowledge anyway).


Julie S.

Julie S.asked

Purchase the Breville Flavour Maker BSC 500 today and after referring to the booklet the pages are incorrect the book goes from page 8 then page 17, 1 7 to 24 then page 17 to 32 page 25 to32 page 41 to 47, not much good if I’m unable to look up a guide to slow cooking.

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Breville representatives

Details

CategorySlow Cookers
Price (RRP) $129.95
Capacity5L
Dishwasher Safe PartsYes
Dimensions 245 x 440 x 256 mm
DisplayAnalog
Weight4.1 kg
Power230 W
Outer Body Construction MaterialStainless Steel
Cooking Bowl MaterialAluminium
Searing FunctionYes
Manufacturer Warranty1 year(s)
Release dateApr 2011

Visit official website - Download manual
  • GTIN13: 9312432016278
  • MPN: BSC500

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.