?
? !
1 photo
Breville the Compact Kettle Clear BKE395CLR

Breville the Compact Kettle Clear BKE395CLR

MPNs: 749 and BKE395
4.0 from 20 reviews · View Statistics

Pros

  • Ideal kettle size for 1-2 people

  • BPA-free

  • Easy to see the water level

  • Heats water very quickly

Cons

  • Requires maintenance to keep clean

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.3 (3)
  • Value for Money
    5.0 (3)
  • Noise Level
    3.7 (3)
Previous
Next
Zysygy
ZysygyDowner 2602, ACT
  • Verified

Probably the best kettle we've had

published

Boils very fast and it looks good. The clear design makes it easy to see the water level. 4 cups capacity is enough for our 4-person family (it boils so fast, we can fill a succession of hot-water bottles pretty quick) After a year the bottom has a little tarnishing along the inside edge, but it still works very well.

Purchased in February 2020 at David Jones Retail Stores for $62.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
WING
WINGSydney
  • 29 reviews
  • 8 likes

Best for small family

published

I used to have big hot water container to keep the water hot and now we don't need that anymore. Looking for the downsize kettle and this is perfect for us. Easy to see the water level, and quick heating.
However, the glass heat up after boiling, it may get burnt especially for the spout part.

Purchased in January 2020 for $65.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Terry S
Terry SPERTH
  • 16 reviews
  • 10 likes

Everything i need

published

Love this kettle. It’s the perfect size for just the 2 of us and I like the soft closing lid. Kettle boils very fast, it’s stable, and it looks so good!

Incentivised ReviewNo
Electric Kettles

Find out how Breville the Compact Kettle Clear BKE395CLR compares to other Electric Kettles

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Meenz
MeenzSydney, NSW
  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified

Perfect, just what I was looking for...

published

I love my compact little kettle (boils up to 3 cups). It fits perfectly in my small space in my apartment, it looks elegant with the glass and stainless steel finish, has a soft opening lid, and is light weight,

Purchased in July 2019 at Myer Retail Stores for $84.95.

Build Quality
Value for Money
John
JohnSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 14 reviews
  • 18 likes

Best kettle ever!

published

Best purchase I have made in a long time. Love the soft opening lid and the switch on the top of the handle is very user friendly for my 87 year old mum. The design of clear glass and stainless steel is a good look in my kitchen. This kettle boils fast! Lightweight and easy to use. Thank you Breville!

Date PurchasedOct 2018
Related Articles
Previous

The best kitchen appliances in 2020!

Whether you love or loath being in the kitchen, our community of reviewers have determined that out of almost 5,000 appliances on ProductReview.com.au, these are the best available!

Nathan S.
Nathan S.1 Nov 2019
the-best-kitchen-appliances-in-2020

Best Fridges and Dishwashers in 2020!

These large kitchen appliances are the backbone of your kitchen, meant to last you many years. The initial cost of a fridge or dishwasher is high, so to make sure you're not buying a lemon, here are the best fridges and best dishwashers of 2020. Our reviewers have provided detailed ratings for important factors to consider when choosing a refrigerator or dishwasher, such as Noise Level and Internal Layout.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.12 Nov 2019
best-fridges-and-dishwashers-in-2020
Next
wannabuynow
wannabuynowMelbourne
  • 7 reviews
  • 3 likes

Best kettle ever

published

Moved into small unit and not much bench space. Hesitantly, bought this little kettle. It is the best, boils my cup of water by the time I get out the mug and tea bag. Easily fits on the cradle and so far, hasn't marked internally. Quiet and clean. Love and an perhaps the best kettle Ive owned.

Date PurchasedJune 2018
Volvi
VolviGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Perfect For My Needs

published
Date PurchasedJune 2018
Roben
RobenMetropolitan Adelaide, SA
  • 7 reviews
  • 8 likes

Just what I wanted.

published

It is much better than the Sunbeam glass kettle it replaced, which malfunctioned spasmodically, and had too many unnecessary temperature settings. I can't fault this one. The soft close lid is excellent and there is no chance steam can burn your hand, as is the case when pouring with some kettles.

trueblueaussie61
trueblueaussie61Central Highlands and Goldfields, VIC
  • 7 reviews
  • 6 likes

Wow... Fabulous Kettle!!

published

This Breville Glass 1 Litre Kettle BKE395 is quiet, boils quick, light, comfortable handle & easy to clean with the wide opening. Stylish modern design & made from quality stainless steel looks great on the countertop. Excellent for couples, singles & elderly people. If you want a small kettle without compromising style, look no further.

Electric Kettles

Find out how Breville the Compact Kettle Clear BKE395CLR compares to other Electric Kettles

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
See all Breville the Compact Kettle Clear BKE395CLR reviews

Questions & Answers

Tomcat99
Tomcat99asked

I purchased this kettle a few months ago and have enjoyed using it, however the base plate has discoloured in a light brown horse-shoe shaped mark where the element is below the base plate.
I've tried boiling white vinegar 1:2 with water (and have also suffered a boil-over) and left it to stand over night before boiling it again with clean filtered water - unfortunately the stain mark is still there and makes the water appear murky at certain angles.
Is there anything else I can do to remove the mark in a safe and effective manner?

1 answer
printgirl47
printgirl47

Can't help you there. Sorry. Maybe Breville has a solution.

Naveen S.
Naveen S.asked

How long would it take to boil water at an average?

1 answer
John S.
John S.

With the kettle full (4 cups) at room temperature filtered water, it took 2:45 to reach boil, and held it at boil for a further 8 seconds for a total time of 2:53. Keep in mind that 1 cup = 250mL, and most coffee mugs are a bit larger than this, so you may only get about 3 cups.

long c.
long c.asked

The lip has some glue which seem like using for bond the lip with the kettle. The normal one doesn't have it? I am confused about that. I bought it from Harvey Norman.

2 answers
John S.
John S.

I just checked mine, and found that it's true - the spout is attached to the body with some sort of clear adhesive! Not ideal. Possibly it is some kind of clear silicon sealant, rather than glue. If it is silicon, then maybe it's not so outrageous since the base already uses a silicon seal which slightly touches the water. I will send an email to Breville and ask them what the adhesive is made of and if it's BPA free.

On another note, my unit has started making a slight popping noise during the initial phase of boiling. It sounds a bit like the sound of popcorn popping. It goes away after about 10 seconds. It was not doing this when brand new. Does yours do this as well? Speculation: perhaps water has leaked into the base, beneath the metal plate and is wetting the heating element underneath, and the sound is the bubbling of those water droplets burning off?

John S.
John S.

Update: Breville has advised that it is a silicon sealant.

See all Breville the Compact Kettle Clear BKE395CLR questions

Get an answer from our members and Breville representatives

Details

Features:

This glass Breville Compact Kettle can hold up to 1 litre of water, is BPA-free and is quick to heat. In addition, it has:

  • Slow release lid which prevents splashing of boiling water and gently releases steam
  • Illuminated power button for visibility
  • Auto switch off which turns off the kettle once the water has boiled
  • Thermal resistant Schott glass for durability and sleek style
  • Ergonomic handle
  • 360 degree multi directional base
  • 1L capacity which can make 4 cups of tea or coffee
  • Modern glass kettle
  • Easy to clean
  • Durable, stain-resistant glass & stainless steel
  • Cordless convenience

Reviewers thought:

People felt that this was a convenient size for 1-2 people and had a very stylish appearance. The water is interesting to watch boil and it is clear how much water is in the kettle. It heats quickly, is lightweight and perfect for a small kitchen or family.

It contains some plastic in the lid but this is also BPA-free.

CategoryElectric Kettles
Price (RRP) $84.95
Features360° Swivel Base, BPA Free and Water Gauge
Capacity1 L
Variable Temperatures No
Power2,400 W
Manufacturer Warranty1 year(s)
Colour / FinishClear
Construction MaterialGlass and Stainless Steel
ManualDownload manual
Visit official website
  • MPN: 749 and BKE395
  • GTIN13: 9312432021692

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.