??!
5 photos
Breville Eggspert BEG100

Breville Eggspert BEG100

Eggspert (BEG100), Egg Creations (EC40B)
2.4 from 38 reviews

Reviews

(9)
(2)
(2)
(6)
(19)
  • Build Quality
    2.7 (3)
  • Value for Money
    1.3 (3)
  • Ease of Use
    1.7 (3)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.0 (2)

Worked well for only a short time

published

This worked well, cooked eggs as wanted, but after only about a dozen uses caused our power to fuse. Threw it away! It's buzzer was very faint and only went off once, so if you missed it the eggs were overcooked, so you still had to watch it closely.

Purchased in June 2019 at Harvey Norman.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers
Chad L

Chad L

  • 2 reviews

Not functional

published

Inaccurate measuring, no auto switch off, just terrible design and quality. Over cooked and wasted far too many eggs. Save yourself time and money and do not buy it. Thanks

Purchased in January 2019.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
sellett

sellettGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Cant believe its still on market

published

Bad! Doesn't cook eggs as desired, awkward to use, possible dangerous. A very poor product that has in accurate timing, bad switch bad and dangerous lid Spills everywhere burns you.
I cannot believe such a product that does NOT do what it is designed to do can 1/ Be on market and 2? stay on market. Mine gone in Bin
SUNBEAM IS FANTASTIC

Purchased in January 2019.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers
Novelty / Snack Makers

Find out how Breville Eggspert BEG100 compares to other Novelty / Snack Makers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
RADIOMAN

RADIOMANBrisbane

Scale on water measuring cup wrong way round!

published

Hi all. Firstly, I can not believe that Breville customer service have not reported this to everybody who owns one of these. The reason why your eggs are coming out hard is the scale on the water measuring cup is in fact around the wrong way! More water for less eggs? No. Less water means less time, therefore if you are doing just 1 soft boiled egg, only fill the measurer to 7 on the half egg side, 2 eggs to 6 and so on. I had a great soft boiled egg, beautiful runny yolk and nice white outer this morning no need to pick the end, using water to level 7 (lowest).

Date PurchasedJan 2014

Greatest heap of rubbish I have bought

published

Try to cook eggs. Soft boiled eggs are hard. and trying to change water levels is unpredictable. Alarm only gives two beeps and if you are not standing over the you will not hear the alarm. If you miss the alarm there is no safety power Leadercut out. The EC40 B was a gem and lasted for years with no complaints.

Date PurchasedOct 2018

Used every day

published
Date PurchasedApr 2013
Jill K

Jill KMid North Coast, NSW

  • 3 reviews

Disappointing to say the least!

published

Recently replaced my 40 - yes 40 year old Sunbeam egg cooker with the Breville. The suggested water quantities are way out from what you really need. The egg holders for poaching are barely big enough for a regular egg size. Doesn't cook eggs evenly. Difficult to remove from the holder without burning your hand.I am binning this one and going back to poaching eggs in a saucepan .
Very disappointed!!!

Date PurchasedMay 2018
Chainsawversustree

ChainsawversustreeMelbourne

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

It leaks

published

Not even a year old and its leaking. In the bin, it goes but let's not forget it has a retail price of $39.00, so its a $4 build at most. It worked well while it was working I had no dramas, I didn't use the pin at all, the eggs sat well in the holder.

Date PurchasedApr 2017

Terrrible

published

I had an old sunbeam I'd had for 20 years which finally died. Bought this Breville egg cooker and it's terrible. I've tried everything - reducing the water, putting holes in both ends of the eggs, lying them sideways - they are either hard on the bottom and uncooked on the top or totally hard (when I want soft) Chucking it out and going back to the old fashioned method.

Date PurchasedAug 2017
Novelty / Snack Makers

Find out how Breville Eggspert BEG100 compares to other Novelty / Snack Makers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Absolute Rubbish

published

The engineers??? Who designed this rubbish should stick to playing with plastasine.
My 7 year old could do much better.
Never again. I will stick to sunbeam.
I am going to be busy posting on as many websites as i can warning people to stay away
From breville (rhymes with devil) products. If i stop 100 people from buying breville products i will be happy.
Signed never again.

Date PurchasedNov 2017
Matilda

MatildaBrisbane

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Not Too Expert About This "Eggspert"!!!!

published
Date PurchasedAug 2017
Tim

TimGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 7 reviews

What more could they get wrong?

published

First. Buzzer sounds letting you know when eggs are cooked. If you miss it then look forward to overcooked eggs. Why is there no auto shutoff???? Secondly a normal size egg barely fits in the egg poacher cups so must use omlette cups. Easy to burn yourself trying to get them out as no knob or handle. The list goes on. Stay away and try another brand. Seriously coming from a brand name like Breville this us a joke. Throwing it out...what a waste of money.

Date PurchasedAug 2017
Nelson

NelsonPerth

Recommended Water Is Wrong

published

Bought this years ago and never managed to get soft boiled eggs when going by Breville's recommended water amounts. Through trial and error i recently figured out that for 2 chilled 70g each I needed to measure the water to just under the no. 4 mark in the cup provided for perfectly soft boiled eggs the way i like it.

Date PurchasedApr 2011
Rich W

Rich WPerth

No Soft Eggs

published

The main problem with this egg cooker is the water quantities for soft boiled eggs are wrong on the measuring cup and printed on the side of the cooker. Fine if you like your eggs hard, I found for 2 soft eggs use about 32 ml of water (not 50ml as recommended) and they come out perfect. I have tried reducing the amount by about 5ml for each egg eg. 27ml for three eggs and this worked but have not tried for more eggs. I never pierce the eggs as recommend and have rarely had one crack while cooking.

Date PurchasedMay 2017

worst thing ever

published

To much guess work in how much water to use. Needs a knob or handle to lift the lid risk of steam burns. Then how are you suppose to get the eggs out of the poachers without getting burnt. We have an old Sunbeam one that poachers 4 at a time perfect ever time only brought this on to put in caravan guess it will go to OP shop now .

Date PurchasedJun 2017
Novelty / Snack Makers

Find out how Breville Eggspert BEG100 compares to other Novelty / Snack Makers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Linda53

Linda53Perth, Western Australia

  • 5 reviews
  • 17 likes

Fantastic

published

Bought this little beauty about a month ago and it is simply brilliant. I use it every morning and my eggs turn out perfect every time. It makes really fluffy omelettes and lovely gooey poached eggs cooked to perfection. I don't know how I managed without this for so long. Thanks Breville for such a fantastic little machine and for making my breakfast time so quick and easy.

Date PurchasedApr 2017
John

JohnSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 36 reviews

Cannot cook poached eggs correctly. Won't buy Breville brand again.

published

I purchased this appliance to replace an ALDI (brand) egg poacher which I had lost a part for.
I am completely disappointed with it as I cannot get poached eggs cooked with the white part completely cooked without the yoke becoming hard. The cheaper Aldi poacher worked heaps better.
This is the second Breville brand appliance I have purchased in the past 12 months which I am disappointed with and will not buy Breville again and the poacher is going into the bin.
It seems others have also experienced not being able to cook soft yolked eggs with this piece of junk - sorry I have NEVER described anything before as junk but this is.
What has happened to Breville? Years ago their appliances were very reliable.

Date PurchasedOct 2016

Not nearly as good as my old Aldi model!

published

I agree with the other reviews. I can't get soft boiled eggs anymore not matter how I vary the water level and you can't hear when the buzzer goes off. I had one from Aldi purchased over 6 years ago and cost half the price and I had perfect eggs every time. I'll definitely be returning this one!

Date PurchasedOct 2016
monet

monetGold Coast

  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes

Not like the older model

published

I have had an egg creation for 7 years and my soft boiled egg was perfect every morning. Last week it died so off I went and bought another one. What a disappointment. Every 'soft boiled' egg is rock hard and the buzzer is so low in volume that you have to stand next to it while it cooks. My previous one was so loud I could hear it outside which was great. This one is going back immediately. Why have the changed it????

Date PurchasedSep 2016
2 comments
Breville
BrevilleBreville

Hi Monet - thanks for your comments. The feedback will be forwarded to the marketing department. The Breville team

monet
monet

I hope you have also read all the other product reviews as we all have had the same problem. I have returned my egg creation now for a refund. What a shame as I loved my old one and it worked so well.

Ducati mick

Ducati mickPerth

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Frustrating piece of junk

published

Bought this as my 4yr old daughter has just discovered soft boiled eggs and loves them. Have used around 2 dozen eggs of the size specified in the instructions everything comes out hard boiled. Found the measuring cup differs in the recommended volume compared to what's printed on the unit. Going to take it back and request a refund.

Date PurchasedAug 2016
Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Jill M

Jill Masked

Egg Creations (EC40B)

Hi. My granny gave me one of these machines which she had never used but she has lost the instructions and after reading the reviews, the measuring jug as well. I am happy to measure in another jug but can you please forward me the amount of water required and an instruction manual if possible.
Regards
Jill

1 answer
Breville
Breville

Jill, please send us an email to askus@breville.com.au and we will be happy to forward the instruction book to you. The water required for hard boiled eggs is 1 egg = 100ml then reduce by 10ml for each additional egg added. For Medium or soft boiled eggs 1 egg = 55ml then reduce by 5ml for every egg added.

Lucy

Lucyasked

Egg Creations (EC40B)

Is it possible to obtain a replacement plastic water measuring cup?

1 answer
RADIOMAN
RADIOMAN

Hi, I am not sure as I just use the cup the opposite way, i.e, cooking 1 egg use the minimum water i.e 7, 2 eggs 6 3 eggs 5 etc. The funny thing is the printing on the side of the main unit is around the wrong way as well. Not much to be said of Breville quality control:)

ElliJ

ElliJasked

Eggspert (BEG100)

I was given a Breville eggspert but it doesn't have the measuring cup or any instructions . Just want to know how mmany mils or ccups I need to hard boil 6 eggs .

1 answer
RADIOMAN
RADIOMAN

Hi, I have never tried 6 hardboiled eggs at once, as i just di 1 soft centre boiled egg, but I just measured out the max water on the measuring cup that was supplied (which is around the wrong way) and I think 95ml or 3/8 of a 250ml cup would probably do the trick.
Cheers
John

Get an answer from our members and Breville representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.