??!
11 photos
Breville Smart Toast

Breville Smart Toast

BTA845, BTA825, BTA830, etc...
3.4 from 238 reviews

Reviews

1.5

11 reviews
5
(0)
4
(0)
3
(2)
2
(2)
1
(7)
  • Build Quality
    2.8 (10)
  • Value for Money
    1.6 (10)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.0 (10)
  • Even Toasting Yes · No (11)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

Murat

MuratGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Not worth the price

published

Slow to toast. Was content until the left side "Toast" button got stuck & damaged the functionality of the left 2 toasters. Occurred out of warranty. They dont offer parts either. As a consequence, have been using it as a 2 slice toaster for several years. Been through several Breville kettles as well. Will never buy another Breville appliance. Kitchenaid is the best brand for features, quality & therefore longevity; well worth the money.

Purchased in August 2014 at The Good Guys for A$172.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Even Toasting No
Helen S.

Helen S.Canberra 2600, ACT

Slowest toaster, not worth the money

published

Purchased in October 2019 at The Good Guys for A$180.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Even Toasting No
John

JohnGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Very Poor Product - Stopped working after 12 months.... Unacceptable

published

Ive got alot of breville products, and sadly this one has ruined the brand for me, its lasted just over 12 months, so out of warranty... one side just stopped working....

Update - Seems Breville might reassess my units warranty cover as I got such short lifespan. I was told the units are on the whole good, but some fail early.... evidently i got a bad one. Hope they replace! This would certainly redeem my thoughts of the brand.

Purchased in December 2018 at eBay for A$120.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Even Toasting No
Toasters

Find out how Breville Smart Toast compares to other Toasters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Never worked right and only a few months old and doesn’t work at all.

published

We toast regular bread slices. We tried all settings. Bread sometimes got stuck. Didn’t toast evenly. Now doesn’t work at all. This is the most money I ever spent on a toaster and the worst toaster I have ever owned.

Purchased at Bamboo Bed and Bath.

Even Toasting No
Ex-Breville Customer

Ex-Breville CustomerGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

No good. Looks great but too many issues

published

Purchased it 18 months ago. It started by flashing and not being able to pop up on its own without switching the power in and off. This happened a number of times. Now only one side toasts and the other goes up and down but doesnt heat/toast at all. Rubbish. Considering how expensive this toaster was $140. I expect more

Purchased in April 2019 at David Jones for A$140.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Even Toasting No

Worst toaster ever bought.

published

Purchased first Smart Toast just after Christmas. After several months, stopped toasting. Was replaced and now after a similar time frame, one side doesn't heat up at all and the other, just barely. Our Kmart toaster bought years ago now dragged out of cupboard and works so much quicker.

Purchased in December 2018 at Myer for A$170.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Even Toasting No
Norm

NormNortheast, VIC

Disappointed.

published

I purchased this toaster no 19 September, I am sorry to say I expected it to be better than the old toaster but no it toasts unevenly just as the much cheaper one did. I expected better for $169.00

Purchased in September 2019 for A$169.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Even Toasting No
Pete

PeteGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 3 reviews

Brand loyalty goes wrong this time

published

After owning one of these for many years and being totally satisfied with it we bought a new one without hesitation. It is a total disappointment. As others have stated it toasts totally erratically and only on one side generally. It is also so slow it drives us mad. Extremely disillusioned. The old one is almost worn out but works much better.

Purchased in May 2019 at Harvey Norman for A$189.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Even Toasting No
Bel

BelAU

  • 9 reviews
  • 3 likes

2nd replacement in 13 months . Rubbish

published

Purchased in May 2018.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Even Toasting No
Toasters

Find out how Breville Smart Toast compares to other Toasters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
BrettSh

BrettShGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 6 reviews
  • 10 likes

Typical Breville, Can't Be Fixed

published

Purchased in October 2016.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Even Toasting No
shanexu3

shanexu3Perth, WA

  • 116 reviews

Not too bad for a Breville

published

Purchased in April 2017.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Even Toasting No
See all Breville Smart Toast reviews

Questions & Answers

holsum10

holsum10asked

Smart Toast

When you insert the crumpets into toaster and press the crumpet button twice the light blue turns to dark blue, what does this do, i tried it and it didn’t cook the front of my crumpet ??

1 answer
Kev H
Kev H

The 'Crumpet' setting on the toaster directs more heat to the center heating elements, to brown the top of the crumpet & avoid burning the bottom. This is activated by pressing the crumpet button once, crumpet mode indicated by a white light. Pressing the button twice (indicated by a dark blue light around the switch) returns the setting to normal toasting, without the extra heat to the center heating elements. That is why your crumpet top was not browned.

Hope this helps.

Kev

Pauline

Paulineasked

Smart Toast

Brand new toaster first time used and the lever won’t stay down.

2 answers
Murat
Murat

Is it the smart toaster ie the bread is lowered electronically & not spring operated? If its brand new, ask for an exchange or a refund. Dont bother repairing it either way. The Smart toaster doesnt have a lever, hence the question. With mine the toast button got stuck in the 'On' position which eventually damaged the unit. If you can obtain a full refund, do so & purchase the KitchenAid 4 slice toaster. More expensive but far better product.

Pauline
Pauline

Thanks for your info. I returned it this morning and Bing Lee exchanged it for another one. They tested it for me as well so all good.

Ellie

Ellieasked

Smart Toast BTA845

All lights flashing and toast will not lift

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Breville representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.