??!
11 photos
Breville Smart Toast

Breville Smart Toast

BTA845, BTA825, BTA830, etc...
3.4 from 238 reviews

Reviews

3.3

18 reviews
5
(6)
4
(2)
3
(4)
2
(3)
1
(3)
  • Build Quality
    3.7 (18)
  • Value for Money
    3.1 (18)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.6 (18)
  • Even Toasting Yes (18) · No
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • More
DunceNotDux

DunceNotDuxCanberra 2600, ACT

  • 2 reviews

Nice style, junk quality

published

Had this $169 toaster for just over 2 years, not used every day of the week but is now dead. Literally died in a flash, tripped the house safety switch and again when checking whether it still worked. Was a good unit while it worked, but clearly from our experience and other reviews there is a fundamental flaw with the quality of electrical components used and therefore a safety issue.

If we had bought a $9 Kmart or BigW toaster then just over 2 years occasional use would be fair, at almost 20 times the price it's unacceptable, particularly with no service parts available from the maker. In a house where we also have a Breville kettle, sandwich press, blender etc sadly we will not buy Breville again.

Avoid.

Purchased in January 2018 at JB Hifi Home for A$169.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Even Toasting Yes
Kev H

Kev HSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 35 reviews
  • 1 like

Smart Toaster

published

Purchased in May 2020 at eBay for A$145.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Even Toasting Yes
melee

melee

  • 5 reviews

Great looking toaster but ......

published

Purchased this in Jan 2019 and we have been pleased with it. Unfortunately, the element on one side of my toaster have stopped working altogether. We only use the toaster mainly on weekends, maybe that's why mine has lasted 15 months. Looking at the other reviews, the toaster doesn't appear to last beyond 18 months so the one year warranty is pretty useless. Disappointing that Breville hasn't come on line to address customers' issues. Sad that so many appliances don't last long these days nor can be fixed - what hope is there to reduce waste?

Purchased in January 2019 at Myer for A$149.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Even Toasting Yes
Toasters

Find out how Breville Smart Toast compares to other Toasters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Julia F.

Julia F.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Nice toaster but broken twice

published

Sadly our toasters keep breaking! Our first one stopped popping up and we're now on our second and one side has stopped working. Really disappointing because it's a nice toaster, looks great and toasts well but too many faults especially for the price. Luckily we got an extended warranty!

Purchased in May 2018 at JB Hi-Fi for A$179.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Even Toasting Yes
Geoff Costello

Geoff CostelloPerth, WA

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Best toaster we have had in 40 years, versatile and easy to use

published

We bought this toast in December 2018 as I wanted a toaster that could do tings like crumpets and fruit toast properly. We weren't disappointed. The toaster is easy to use, and as really useful settings for things like frozen bread, crumpets and fruit toast. We use it every day. Each half of the 4 slide toaster can be set separately so we can do things like have crumpets on one half and fruit bread in the other and get perfect results.

Purchased at Harvey Norman Retail Stores - Appliances for A$147.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Even Toasting Yes
fog

fogBrisbane

  • 2 reviews

very intermittent toaster !!

published

Have had mine about 2 years - one side drops out regularly - best keep them very keen - no crumbs inside or they jam up - toast ok - but I would not buy another one

Purchased in June 2017.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Even Toasting Yes
Charles

CharlesMelbourne

  • 23 reviews
  • 1 like

It's Toastin !

published

Purchased at Harvey Norman Retail Stores - Appliances.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Even Toasting Yes
thubleau2

thubleau2Hunter Region, NSW

  • 48 reviews
  • 1 like

Not So Creme de la Creme of Toasters

published
  • +6

Purchased in January 2020 at Bing Lee Physical store for A$146.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Even Toasting Yes

Toasts well while it works

published

Whoever the Industrial Designer of this toaster was got the builtin obsolescence bang on. First one stopped toasting on one side after 23months. Replacement one had the same issue after 9months. It's not a cheap toaster so should be made with much better internal components and materials.

Purchased in February 2017 at Appliances Online for A$170.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Even Toasting Yes
Toasters

Find out how Breville Smart Toast compares to other Toasters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
MMM

MMMMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 7 reviews

Great quality 4 slice toaster

published

Purchased in July 2018 at Harvey Norman Retail Stores - Appliances.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Even Toasting Yes
mitchger

mitchgerSydney, NSW

  • 37 reviews

A+ for cool factor but not practical

published

Pretty cool and doesn't throw your toast up halfway to space but there are problems with it. Some items get stuck on the way up and it's very difficult to clear. Far too expensive.

Purchased in August 2016 at Harvey Norman for A$80.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Even Toasting Yes
Tamika B.

Tamika B.Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

If you have this toaster - watch for fires.

published

Purchased in October 2018 at JB Hi-Fi for A$200.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Even Toasting Yes
Don L

Don LGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 4 reviews

Quality toaster, but is it worth the price?

published

Purchased in June 2019 at Harvey Norman for A$169.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Even Toasting Yes
Jill

JillSydney

  • 11 reviews
  • 3 likes

Finally a toaster than toasts crumpets

published

Best toaster I have ever used. Toasts crumpets too perfection. Love the look and see option , plus the 'bit more ' feature is handy. Looks good in kitchen with chrome.Highly recommend this toaster.

Purchased in June 2019 at Bing Lee for A$129.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Even Toasting Yes
Carly

CarlySouthwest, VIC

  • 24 reviews

No issues

published

Been using this toaster multiple times a day for nearly three months. We love it and have had no issues. Love being able to do four slices at once and have different toast settings for each person. Toasts evenly. The crumpet button is cool. I also like the lift and look/toast more buttons. Very handy and you don't risk burning the toast. It makes a cute noise when the toast is done. The toast doesn't pop up but lowers and rises slowly. It's easy to clean and looks good.

Purchased in March 2019 at The Good Guys for A$175.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Even Toasting Yes
Toasters

Find out how Breville Smart Toast compares to other Toasters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
deeson

deesonSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews

Great but unreliable

published

Purchased in October 2015 at JB Hi-Fi for A$169.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Even Toasting Yes
Mejico

MejicoCarrum Downs

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great toaster when it works

published

Purchased in June 2018 at Myer Online Store for A$149.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Even Toasting Yes
Mark

Mark

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Best toaster we've ever had - when it works.

published

Purchased for A$150.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Even Toasting Yes
See all Breville Smart Toast reviews

Questions & Answers

holsum10

holsum10asked

Smart Toast

When you insert the crumpets into toaster and press the crumpet button twice the light blue turns to dark blue, what does this do, i tried it and it didn’t cook the front of my crumpet ??

1 answer
Kev H
Kev H

The 'Crumpet' setting on the toaster directs more heat to the center heating elements, to brown the top of the crumpet & avoid burning the bottom. This is activated by pressing the crumpet button once, crumpet mode indicated by a white light. Pressing the button twice (indicated by a dark blue light around the switch) returns the setting to normal toasting, without the extra heat to the center heating elements. That is why your crumpet top was not browned.

Hope this helps.

Kev

Pauline

Paulineasked

Smart Toast

Brand new toaster first time used and the lever won’t stay down.

2 answers
Murat
Murat

Is it the smart toaster ie the bread is lowered electronically & not spring operated? If its brand new, ask for an exchange or a refund. Dont bother repairing it either way. The Smart toaster doesnt have a lever, hence the question. With mine the toast button got stuck in the 'On' position which eventually damaged the unit. If you can obtain a full refund, do so & purchase the KitchenAid 4 slice toaster. More expensive but far better product.

Pauline
Pauline

Thanks for your info. I returned it this morning and Bing Lee exchanged it for another one. They tested it for me as well so all good.

Ellie

Ellieasked

Smart Toast BTA845

All lights flashing and toast will not lift

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Breville representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.