??!
11 photos
Breville Smart Toast

Breville Smart Toast (page 2 of 12)

BTA845, BTA825, BTA830, etc...
3.4 from 238 reviews

Reviews

3.4

238 reviews
5
(97)
4
(32)
3
(29)
2
(31)
1
(49)
  • Build Quality
    3.5 (33)
  • Value for Money
    2.7 (32)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.4 (32)
  • Even Toasting Yes (18) · No (11)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • More
Richard A.

Richard A.Sunshine Coast Queensland

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great design very poor manufacture

published
Adel16

Adel16Adelaide

  • 11 reviews
  • 9 likes

Finally a Toaster that Works Well

published

We have been living with a cheap 1600W toaster we purchased from K-Mart about 2 years ago and were forever popping it up to check on it and with each pop up the elements turned off and the toast got harder and harder. That has all be fixed now with the Breville Smart Toaster (2kW) , indeed once you have determined your setting it produces perfect toast every time due to the better control it has of the heat and the positioning of the bread evenly between the elements- this is a fantastic toaster and truly produces first class toast. As Wallace says .."Cracking toast Gromit!"

Purchased in August 2019 at Harvey Norman Retail Stores - Appliances for A$150.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
mitchger

mitchgerSydney, NSW

  • 37 reviews

A+ for cool factor but not practical

published

Pretty cool and doesn't throw your toast up halfway to space but there are problems with it. Some items get stuck on the way up and it's very difficult to clear. Far too expensive.

Purchased in August 2016 at Harvey Norman for A$80.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Even Toasting Yes
See all answers
Toasters

Find out how Breville Smart Toast compares to other Toasters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Tamika B.

Tamika B.Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

If you have this toaster - watch for fires.

published

Purchased in October 2018 at JB Hi-Fi for A$200.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Even Toasting Yes
See all answers
wey2go

wey2goGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Failed just after the 2 years warranty.

published

Works well while it is working. Just stopped working with all lights blinking while toasting some bread and will no longer work. This is just past the 2 years warranty. Really poor durability.

1 comment
wey2go
wey2go

Even though the crumbs does not look like clogging the mechanism, give the unit a few firm pats to dislodge any crumbs fixes this issue.

Cathy

Cathy

  • 2 reviews

Lasted less than 12 months

published

Purchased this product in August 2018 and had no issues until I went to use it yesterday. Pressed the button down and an almighty flash came from the appliance. Needless to say it doesn't work and after paying $169 not impressed. Now to do battle in getting a replacement???

Purchased in August 2018.

Don L

Don LGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 4 reviews

Quality toaster, but is it worth the price?

published

Purchased in June 2019 at Harvey Norman for A$169.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Even Toasting Yes
See all answers
Jill

JillSydney

  • 11 reviews
  • 3 likes

Finally a toaster than toasts crumpets

published

Best toaster I have ever used. Toasts crumpets too perfection. Love the look and see option , plus the 'bit more ' feature is handy. Looks good in kitchen with chrome.Highly recommend this toaster.

Purchased in June 2019 at Bing Lee for A$129.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Even Toasting Yes
See all answers
Bel

BelAU

  • 9 reviews
  • 3 likes

2nd replacement in 13 months . Rubbish

published

Purchased in May 2018.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Even Toasting No
See all answers
Toasters

Find out how Breville Smart Toast compares to other Toasters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Carly

CarlySouthwest, VIC

  • 24 reviews

No issues

published

Been using this toaster multiple times a day for nearly three months. We love it and have had no issues. Love being able to do four slices at once and have different toast settings for each person. Toasts evenly. The crumpet button is cool. I also like the lift and look/toast more buttons. Very handy and you don't risk burning the toast. It makes a cute noise when the toast is done. The toast doesn't pop up but lowers and rises slowly. It's easy to clean and looks good.

Purchased in March 2019 at The Good Guys for A$175.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Even Toasting Yes
See all answers
Cait

CaitSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews

I Love This Toaster

published

This toaster cost a lot of money but it will last for years. The first one I purchased lasted over 10 years and am now in my second which is into its third year. The crumpet setting works well and the other settings all do what they are supposed to. I do love this toaster.

LizB

LizB

  • 2 reviews

Love this toaster

published

Was a bit hesitant to get such an expensive toaster but I am glad I did.
I love how it is fully automated and beeps to let you know your toast is ready.
Also love the crumpet (bagel) option

deeson

deesonSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews

Great but unreliable

published

Purchased in October 2015 at JB Hi-Fi for A$169.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Even Toasting Yes
See all answers
BrettSh

BrettShGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 6 reviews
  • 10 likes

Typical Breville, Can't Be Fixed

published

Purchased in October 2016.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Even Toasting No
See all answers
Christopherozi

ChristopheroziSydney

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Works for me

published

Purchased in January 2017 at Harvey Norman for A$149.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Toasters

Find out how Breville Smart Toast compares to other Toasters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
LT7

LT7Brisbane

A toaster has one job!!

published

The only job of a toaster is to cook the bread.
You would think that spending almost $200 on a toaster that it would do that and more.
The look of it is great, the functions and usability is great but it doesn't evenly cook a slice of bread.
One side is always more then the other, you have to keep turning the bread so it cooks evenly and doesn't burn.
The crumpet function, puts all the heat on one side, so doesn't matter what setting its on, you have to stop it or it will burn.
I actually returned the first toaster because it wasn't cooking evenly (thinking it was a faulty one) but the second one was exactly the same.
Definitely not a smart toaster. My mums $10 toaster cooks better.

Date PurchasedJan 2019
Owen T

Owen TBrisbane

  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes

7 years old and still going like new

published

I was told I was wasting my money when I purchased this expensive toaster, however it has been going for over 7 years now and hasn't missed a beat. Hopefully I haven't jinxed it and it keeps going for another 7 years. Love the "a bit more" function and easy adjustment

Date PurchasedFeb 2011
Sam

SamBrisbane

Dangerous

published

Today our 4th Breville toaster automatic caught fire, this the the second one of the same model and all together 4th in 7 years, they were all faulty and the last one today caught fire which could potentially burn our house, I rang Breville but they did not care. We bought the first same model from David Jones which stopped working after a couple of months, we returned it and got a refund, went to Good Guys as they offer an extended warranty and David Jones didn't, bought the second exact same model and this one worked for 6 months and caught fire today, not recommended at all as can burn down your house.

Date PurchasedJul 2018
Tana

TanaMaitland

  • 8 reviews

Not such a SMART toaster at all

published
Date PurchasedMay 2018
tamo

tamoAU

  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

Tech Toaster

published

If you are after a toaster that has cool looking led lights and lowers the toast for you at a click of a button this is the one for you , has some great features like the bit more feature ( which toasts for 30 seconds extra if required ) and the main thing is that it makes great toast.

Date PurchasedDec 2018
Page 2 of 12
See all Breville Smart Toast reviews

Questions & Answers

holsum10

holsum10asked

Smart Toast

When you insert the crumpets into toaster and press the crumpet button twice the light blue turns to dark blue, what does this do, i tried it and it didn’t cook the front of my crumpet ??

1 answer
Kev H
Kev H

The 'Crumpet' setting on the toaster directs more heat to the center heating elements, to brown the top of the crumpet & avoid burning the bottom. This is activated by pressing the crumpet button once, crumpet mode indicated by a white light. Pressing the button twice (indicated by a dark blue light around the switch) returns the setting to normal toasting, without the extra heat to the center heating elements. That is why your crumpet top was not browned.

Hope this helps.

Kev

Pauline

Paulineasked

Smart Toast

Brand new toaster first time used and the lever won’t stay down.

2 answers
Murat
Murat

Is it the smart toaster ie the bread is lowered electronically & not spring operated? If its brand new, ask for an exchange or a refund. Dont bother repairing it either way. The Smart toaster doesnt have a lever, hence the question. With mine the toast button got stuck in the 'On' position which eventually damaged the unit. If you can obtain a full refund, do so & purchase the KitchenAid 4 slice toaster. More expensive but far better product.

Pauline
Pauline

Thanks for your info. I returned it this morning and Bing Lee exchanged it for another one. They tested it for me as well so all good.

Ellie

Ellieasked

Smart Toast BTA845

All lights flashing and toast will not lift

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Breville representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.